IVF Mummies

Stumbled by,
1100504.gif
TTCing or is a surprise? so happy for u.. me also TTC-ing

bb how old now? u muz be shock to see the "+" huh..haha

hui,

bb is 8mths old. Ya...I am shocked to see the + sign.

Now begin to worry what happens at night next time. One parent take care of one child in separate room ? Day care how cos my mother alone cant cope. But I am afraid to let my mother in law come into the picture..

but must still thank God for blessing me with a child again.

TTC'ing but its like 'half hearted attitude' cos i didnt expect to be so fast. I only TTC for 2nd month and strike lottery..

Stumbled by,
u muz be wondering how come 1st one so diff rite?haha..Actuali by the time u gave birth bb is 1 year old plus easier to take care liao
.. i planning for #2 but no news yet
.. if success then will put #1 & #2 in a room and i will slp with them till #2 is 3 years old

hui,

i think 1st one difficult cos of mental stress. 2nd one easy to conceive cos i no stress (to get pregnant) :p

if put both kids in same room then the younger one will wake up older one or vice versa...then u have a hard time making both fall alseep..

I thought u have frozen embryos ? Maybe u can use them after trying for half a year or 1 year. fyi I dont have frozen embroys.

I went for pregnancy test cos I missed my menses for 8-9 days already. It's like 40th or 41st day already. In my menstrual history my menses have never delayed for so long. I think most people test because of missing period right ? In terms of symptoms its like any other month. Got white discharge etc. So far I am feeling okay, hoping i wun have morning/evening sickness!

Hi Stumbled by,
A BIG CONGRATS TO YOU. You have to take care, so you can't carry your girl now. You used to rock her to sleep??

So happy for you.

Probably i will plan in another 3 months, cannot try earlier as c-section got to wait at least one year according to Dr's advice. But i will start at 9 months, by the time succeed might be more than a year...

Hui,
You are really fast, already planning huh.I hope u will succeed soon.

Stumbled By,
1110898.gif
How I wish can be like you... Not need to go thru 2nd round of the process.I really hope to give my son a sibling...
I'm also planning to do FET next year. Anyone has any idea how the procedure like? Need to book in advance??

hey can anyone tell me which is the best .NUH or KKH in terms of cost and service for IVF.just concerned abt it..we had our first visit in NUH and the dr says it will cost 6k to 10k in NUH.Is it much difference than KKH?

ladies....this is Hui. I m here to break a bad news on behalf of stumbled_by as she's too distraught to drop in the forum at this moment in time.

She smsed me saying that her feotus is not developing well and will need to go for abortion today.

Let's wish her and her family well and hope they pull through this difficult time together and emerge stronger. Take good care.

Stumbled_by,
sorry to hear the news... take care!

Stacy, I'm planning for FET next year too... which month are you looking at?

Jeni,
Nice to hear from you. How's everything? Both our boys are 4 mths old.Should b more easier to cope with. I hope to wait till next year around May/Jun.Bcos i had c-section so need more healing time.According to Dr, can only try after 6mths. So for the next few months we may try naturally first. But I'm still very worried due to last incident....sometimes I really miss the one I lost. I regret never have a chance to see him ( was under GA), only can look at photo took by my HB. My bb is so well developed and good looking.....

Stacy,
yah... our boys are already 4 months... time really flies... How's your boy? My boy is fun, active and amazing... at such tender age, he seems to know a lot of things and bring alot of joy to the family. Just last week, my husband and I took him to Genting with my family and all of us enjoyed it so much...Btw, how much milk is your son drinking now and what's the interval like?

I'm sorry about your other precious but I am sure he is in the good hands of God now... so just enjoy the one you have with you and give him the best that you can, which I am sure you are doing now....

The las time I saw Dr Loh and I told him that I want to try for the next one asap, he just smiled and told me to go and see him next July, then we'll discuss about the FET. So, basically, he wanted me to wait for about 1 year before I try for the next one... So, probably will try for the second one around July next year...

jeni,
I din mention to Dr abt FET and he only advised us to try natuarally after 6months. In this case, I will go and see him around July (hopefully we both strike again around the same timing
).Wow! U brought your boy to Genting!!It must be veri exciting...Recently we brought him to do Christmas shopping 2gether and photo-taking.It was really an enjoyable moment. My boy is very playful, talkative ( in his baby language) and cheerful, definitely more fun than his first 2months. We are going to start him with 5oz and interval is abt 4hrly.He sleeps well at nite since we bought him a toddler bed placing beside our bed. No more nite feeding after his 2nd month.*phew*

stacy,
yah... let's do this together again... hahaha... and hopefully, we are lucky and strike again ...I have to as I am only left with 3 embies...

Hey, my boy is talkative too and he knows how to scold people! He's such a darling and knows how to kiss me on the cheeks... My boy is just starting to drink 120ml with an interval of 2.5hr... recently, he wakes up only once around 6 plus in the morning for feeding after he falls asleep around 10 plus at night...

jeni

Wow..your bb is quite co-operative. can sleep from 10pm to 6am..

All,

Thanks for your encouragement. I have no frozen embbies from my fresh IVF round. Now I can only hope for natural TTC. Just like my recent brief pregnancy. Guess I will start trying, after few months of rest.

Stumbled by,
jiayou! Dun give up..

Jeni,
My boi is drinking 120ml for last 2 months, want to increase to 150ml with longer interval as he always take very long to finish his milk, abt 45 mins to an hour.It seems like all the time feeding in the day.However,he sleeps from 12am to 7am, at least we dun have to be his night guard.

Stumbled by
I have told you last time that I rocked him to sleep and played the soothing music for my baby to correct his sleeping habit. It works for him. Eventually when he grows older, I just had to rock him while sitting on the bed and sing to him. Then now as he drinks more per feed, he can sleep longer and only wakes up for 1 feed. Maybe you can try using hammock... it also works wonder for my boy. So now if my boy doesn't fall asleep in my arms while drinking milk, then Iill put him into the hammock and it will do its job.

Stumbled_by
I am sure you can make it. ppl says after giving birth, we are very fertile, so rest a while and try again.Now you have to nournish your body well.

My girl always need to rock than will sleep. HOw wish she can sleep on her own. How to get rid of that habit. Now she is about 7 kg.

My boi is only 6.3 Kg at 4th month and consider as "underweight" when Dr plot it on the graph. I realise my boi take very long to finish his milk and always cannot finish all. His weight gain is only 0.5 kg compare to last month ( suppose to be 1kg every month). How ?

Hi Stacy,
What is your boy's birth weight? Did the weight double that of birth weight? This is how dr gauge. For my girl, she is only at 7.2kg around 6 half months. This is consider a small baby. At four months her weight is only 5.25kg, this is much lesser than yours. But mine birth weight is only 2.5kg, since weight double but it's still alright. She belongs to 25% range. This is consider very small. I do hope that she will increase her weight to 50% percentile.

She also do not like to finish her milk and will play with the nipple and pushes the bottle out after 15 mins. Sometimes i warm up and feed her again. At times she reject.

When you say he takes 45mins to drink, that is very long. You bf? If bottle feed, milk gets cold, not very good for baby.

Hi Jolene,

My boi's birth weight is only at 2.3kg. He also belongs to 25%. Same as your girl, like to play with nipple,push the bottle away or pretend to fall asleep when I feed him. I've stopped BF and he is bottlefeeding. I do warm up milk again for next feeding.If delay feeding interval, he can finish all. Can start cereal from 4 mths?

stacy,

perhaps u want to see a PD. but, PD might just say different bb'ies have different appetites, like adults.(that was what he said to my gal)

Esp after 6mths, their growth will taper off. Urs is still less than 6mths right ? as long as by 6mths+ - , he shd put on twice his birth weight, that is more acceptable.

If he is really uninterested in milk, then perhaps u want to start cereal. But the current thinking is wait until 6mths, or at least 5mths +, to prevent intolerance. There is a list of things to look out for to see if he is ready for solids. Eg : double his birth weight, can sit on his own, can swallow food when putting spoon in mouth. I started solids on my gal at 5.5mths.

Yes, 45min is very long..

Stacy and Jolene,
I have read from the forum that it is not advisable to warm up the milk that your babies have drunk half way and then feed them again as their saliva had already mixed with the milk and that way, bacteria breed faster. So when my boy can't finish his milk, I normally poured it away and wait till he cries for his milk and make new one for him. However, if he or she hasn't drunk it at all, then you can still warm it up for him or put it in the food warmer untill he or she is ready for it.

As for solid food, babies can only have rice cereal(I saw the one from Friso at NTUC) at their 4th month but it is strongly recommended to start them off at their 6th month. From internet, I read that there are a few indications as to whether the baby is ready for solid food... like interested in the food we eat, chewing something like the finger etc...

Stacy,
my boy just had his 2nd dosage of his 6-in-1 injections and he has been having diarrhoea even before the jab. My family and I suspected that the diarrhoea may be due to the teething as he has been chewing on his fingers or even his fists... Is your boy teething now? Does your boy also have the same problem? Does he chew or suck his fingers? My boy is currently about 7kg and 63cm long but then again when he was born, he was already 3.285kg.
Did you check the holes of the teats of the bottles? Maybe it is too small for him and he needs a lot of effort to suck the milk out, hence takes a long time to finish his milk, becomes disinterested and plays with the teats. Mine plays with it too but I always encourage him nicely, sometimes firmly to finish the milk and at the same time pulls out the teats then put it back in again to start the feeding all over again.

Thanks mummies,think may try cereal in next few weeks as most of the factors he has qualified. BTW, what brand of milk formula are you all using? I'm using Similac, and there are alot of bubble foam which I dun like.I 've been driping some wind/colic medicine into it and see the foam dissolving straight away.

Jeni,
Yeah! My boi also just had his 2nd dose (had his weight taken too). He shows signs of teething like salica drooping, chewing his fist, but when I apply gripe water, dun feel he has any teething yet. I've just changed the teat so no problem with the teats. My boi is the playful type,everyone of us encounter the same problem when feeding him. Really need lots of patience in feeding him.Just hope to get some supplement like cereal to improve his weight.

stacy

I am using Friso and Dumex. Similac my child took before for 1 tin, cant remember why i dont like.

A word of warning : your child may/may not like cereal/solid food. even tho my girl is almost 9mths, it still requires a lot of patience for me to feed her solids. Sometimes i spent 'so much' effort preparing she didnt take much, I was seething with anger :p I ended up gobbling down the food myself - not everytime lar...

Stacy,
I can understand where you are coming from...
My boy put his fingers into his mouth while drinking his milk... I got to hold on to his hands to stop him from doing that. I should have been persistance in not allowing him to do so in the first place... Currently, my boy is suffering from diarrhoea, and the PD said he must drink something that is lactose free for 3 to 5 days. So I am giving him Enfalac LF. I may switch him from Nan to Enfalac. Anyone has any comments on Enfalac A+?

Hi Stacy,

Your boy's weight is much better than mine. Got a lot to catch up, hope can be 50% soon.

For me i only start slowly around 5 1/2 months cos she has colic problem afraid can't digest well. It is true that at 6 months is the perfect time as their digestive system will be better. I start early cos want her to take in more since not really drinking much from milk. I start with Heinz rice cereal but this can't digest well, so i switch to Nestle. It was better. Just started her on porridge few days ago. The process of preparing solid is really fun and looking at them eating is really messy and cute.

Stumble_by,
can you share with me your gal's feeding schedule. Sometimes after giving cereal, i dun know if top up with milk will it be too heavy?

7am - milk
10am - 2 table spoon rice cereal + milk
1pm - milk
4pm - porridge
7pm - milk - last feeding

So now if on porridge, do I continue with cereal?
I wanted to attend the talk at polyclinic to know more about the nutrition levels but the location is always a the east side. So sian. So got to serve the forum to search for informations.

Jeni,
Thanks, yes am aware. Trying not to do that. Sometimes just feel that it dun finish and just dun know when to give. No patience to wait for her to cry.... I hope my baby will drink well. Sometimes looking at others baby drinking so fast, really envy. There was once i was at taka, the nursing room was open and a baby boy, quite plump, 2 months younger than mine and drinking so fast, like competiting leh. Ha, really stress feeding also.

Today I brought my boi to see PD and was told his weight gain is still okay, as it is more than double his birth rate. As he was small at birth, so I should have more realistic expectation. She told me the milk drinking problem could be due to teething, so was given a few Nestle cereal sampling to try on. Same as you Jolene, really envy babies who can drink fast. Feeding him is a real "challenge", sometimes he even can perform mini orchestra in public while feeding, and ppl will turn round and smile at me.
1159320.gif
haha... he is really adorable in my eyes.

Hi stacy,
Merry Xmas to you too and your boi boi.
My gal also SING alot when come to milk drinking. However, this is not frequent. Still could not figure out why...but basically she will finish the bottle within 10~15mins.
Indeed, babies are very adorable especially when i see her in her sleeping mode.
This year Xmas will be a very special occasion for us as it is our first year celebrating with our baby.

jolene,

my bb's feeding schedule is not a good example..cos she is small eater, and she gets sick of fish+chinese spinach combi after few days, and somedays she really REFUSE to eat solid food..altho she is 9mths TODAY

I am thinking of starting porridge soon. My mum started once but she refused. So we have been giving her cereal since 5.5mths..

_Schedule - may vary depending on her night feed_

1)2-4am: night feed 100ml
2)about 8am - usually < 100ml. Sometimes even 60ml!
3)11am - 2spoon[those spoon that comes with FM] of EuYanSan brown rice, plus fish+spinach, or Fish+pumpkin/veg. The fish is mostly threadfin. Sometimes I top it with 60-90ml of milk cos i think she eats too little.
4) 12-1 - fruit
5)2pm - milk. Give 120ml, sometimes can finish sometimes cannot
6)3+pm - fruit
7) 5pm - 4-5spoons of Nestle.Again, I try to top it up with milk
8) in between may give biscuit
9) 8pm - 150ml of milk..Zzzzz

All,

Merry Xmas, albeit belated. Ya..our child is our greatest gift. Altho i feel I want a baby more than I like to be a mummy :p hahaha

sorry, been a while since here cos can't rem where this thread is!!! very jialat right. Memory no good after child-birth. nowadays have to set reminder if not sure forget....

My boy is 1yr next month liao. How time flies , man. But he still wants 2 feeding at night - 12am &amp; 4am.... dunno y. a friend of mine advised to add a little of cereal to the 12am feed so that he will feel full and sleep longer.... tried &amp; tested, slightly better but long way to go. am gg for FET in March as i hv 4 embroys left and am 34 this yr. also din want the gap between the 1st &amp; 2nd too far apart but at a comfortable stage....

he only takes cereals, sometimes fruits, baby food from jars, once a week porridge &amp; milk.... my mil will make non-sweet Ju Hua Cha if she found tt his lips are reddish &amp; body feels hot. Boil soup for him to drink or add into the cereal instead of milk powder to give hime another taste.....btw, he has started to take his 1st steps for the past 2 weeks....
if he's not kan cheong, he will walk steadily but not > 5steps.....

stumbled_by, sorry to hear the sad news.... must take care &amp; "bu" ur health....

Hi Rae,
Same here, memory not good after child-birth hehee.. maybe due to the anaesthesia
For my boy, not need to do any nite feeding. He can sleep striaght 6-7 hrs till morning. Before that I had to wake up every 3 hrly, was taught by my aunt who was veri experience that in my last feeding, increased volume of the milk powder, says for 150 ml, put in 180ml required powder with water remain 150ml, so can make bb feel fuller and last longer. Of Coarse, normal day have to give more plain water to bb so it wont be too heaty. Hopes it helps.
I'm also interested in FET. Would like to find out from you, are you from KKH? Any idea that FET need any advance booking? How Long?

Stacy,
I have read from the milk powder tin that we cannot change the ratio of the amount water to the the amount of milk powder just like that without the advice of the doctor. I don't know how true is it. My boy still woke up at 3 to 4 plus in the morning for feed as he sleeps around 10 plus and has his last feed at that time. That means he also sleeps a stretch of about 6 hours... he's drinking only 120ml a the moment every 3 hourly. What about yours? He hasn't started on solid food although I know that he's very keen on solid food. My mom said to start after CNY when he is officially 6months old. How time flies!