Pandawife,
U are right, during milkstrikes, just focus on feeding solid. That is also what the PD advised us during when my gal had blocked nose induced milkstrike. Just get down as much milk down.
When I first fed solid, same thing, she gave me that yucky and puky look when after a few teaspoons. I was feeding her healthy timez (organic brown rice cereal fr NTUC) and I tasted it, quite bland even with milk. Now I gave up and switched to Frisocream cereal. Its not as healthy but much more fragrant and creamy. I just thought maybe get her to enjoy her food first and not develop this thinking that food is yucky as pyschological barrier harder to rid of. She is taking it better now and slowing increasing the amount. Then I also bought Nestle cereal with fruits (read article that it has some heavy metal but I only intend to let her eat limited time as once she moves on to three to four tablesppon per meal, will cook porridge) for her dinner. So lunch time take one type of cereal and afternoon take another type, hope with variety, picky babies yet to become food lovers one day.
Pink-destiny,
I salute you! U are a direct contrast to someone in my family (don't want to write to obvious, scare kena identified) who goes to spa on weekends and paint nails and leave all work to maid. Not once have I seen her feed her bb before. U efforts will reap benefits. That bonding and trust ur build with ur son will build his confidence for years to come.
Like ur boy, when my gal's reflux were at its peak, she often also appeared unhappy and cranky and after reading some children books, found out that its not in their personality, its actually the painful heartburn (reflux bbs suffer quite a bit of heartburn) they are experiencing that is making them cranky and misses our wombs (where they don't have to suck, wear hard hard diaper, suffer from reflux and food just flow to them via the cord) and difficult for them to enjoy their new environment. I am sure ur boy will soon display his true cheerful self after the reflux subsidises (it sure will one, just a matter of time) and u will be too busy taking photos of his cheeky laughters then
I am sure of that.
U are right to burp him many times, its one way to ease the gas and reflux. U might have also propped up his bed a little with newspaper underneath. That was told to me by my daughter's birth gynae. He asked us not to use pillow which could worsen reflux as it causes milk to be trapped at the throat. Instead, prop up the entire mattress to some 10-20 degrees with newspapers underneath. I did mine at about 15 degrees. She still regurgiated some milk upon lying down but not as much as not propping up. Also, can hold them upright for about 20mins after which feed for milk to settle. I used to hold her for 30mins after each feed. Quite siong but can see improvement of reflux.
Yeah, keep that option of no pay leave open. Again, I think u very "wei da" because I cannot be SAHM and heart too "ye". And I also salute all SAHM who do it for the proper development of their babies.
Imp22,
Congrats and hope u can have a good bfing career.
Another Lobang for cheap milk powder is below (free delivery for 200 dollars n above) But during NTUC sale time, milk powder and diaper can be cheaper than them. Good to stock up then.
http://luvbabies.kimsang.com.sg/
Serene,
*waves* how are u!? Happy to see u here.
U are definitely not selfish. If u are selfish, than I must be self selfish. I only intend to have one child as want to focus all resources on her. Daddy is ok with it too. Alto I just want one child myself, I do encourage whoever want to have more child and listen to their heart and make that decision. Somehow, I do see parents with three kids still cope quite well, when the third one come, one will learn how to cope. Its survival instinct. Whatever is ur decision, keep us posted and we will root for u
Eskimobaby
*waves" too
Remember me? Never know who can become moms right?
Update on me is my gal is about 8mths now. With her now, I have no life but no complains, I am her loyal servant
Soulvacation:
Try the website above. Its quite easy to hit $200 dollars as they sell quite a variety of things.
Rainzz,
1. use steriliser much faster for a first time mom. Pigeon rapid steriliser is good, big and can fit all brands including NUK. And faster too, life saver when u need to hurry and baby is crying. Can get bundle ones at Taka fair that has best Pigeon deals. Coming one is in last Aug/earlySep.
2. Latch is the best since its best way to stimulate milk growth. But need to have pump just in case bbs don't want to latch. Medela is user friendly.
Yes, Nuk teats are quite good. Tried pigeon, nuk and avent before. Nuk teats are truly quite anti-colic while Pigeon can be better.
Singapoh,
Quite funny as when my relative CL knew they were not satisifed with her, she said her MIL suddenly died and she need to return home to JB immediately. Could it be a trade practice that when they want to leave, they say someone close has died. Omg..
Gan,
For the first time, I let her taste a bit with the tip of the weaning spoon and once she looks from interested, will give her one weaning spoon serving first. See her reaction, if want more, then give. But don't force as good to make them enjoy the food first. On the second day, I gave one tablespoon and this continue for some weeks. When she can finish all the one tablespoon, I upped to 1.5 tablesppon, up everytime they finish and don't reject.
Saw quite a few questions on starting solid vs milk feed. MJ sent me a weaning guide and it has good guidelines on how much milk vs solid during diff months. I have been using it and my gal is taking more solids with the right amount of milk now. Will write it here.
Besides nuk that has wide neck latex teats, does avent and medela have wide neck latex teats? Thanks in advance.