IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Gan, I was oso at the isetan sales this morning! Went to buy the fp learn n laugh song n story chair. So crowded..I blur in the bb section. Also bought the sesame street soft books. I m like starting a mini playground at home! Toys overflowing in the living room.

Just faith, having gone thru two indon maids I realized tht simple n common sensical things to us r not to them. But attitude n maturity v impt. I had the same laundry problem w my previous underage maid. I din even ask her to keep the clothes.. I just told her to fold, n catagorise betw Hb n my clothes, n tops n bottoms separate. After tht leave everything on a rack. Even like tht she can't manage !

Ru, it's normal to hv milk spilling during initial change of bigger size teat. But bbs v smart, they wil learn adapt to the new flow. ;)

Panda u bot the laugh n learn chair?? I wanted to buy too but the box said for 12 mths onward ... So I drop the idea, will buy when Bb is older. I bot the combi bowl. N spoon... Now I got Avent , pigeon n combo cutlery set for my gal.... =p

Happyhippo think no bulk purchase for manduca carrier but got bp for ergo. Today isetan got discount for manduca.

I bot the ergo carrier.

Grumpus
Im still using no2 teats for my 5mths old bbs... I thk i should move to no3 hor? I tried giving milk cum rice cereal with no3 but bb cannot suck...
Tried giving it in pigeon L size teats.. The flow like too fast.. My elder girl drank 30ml in like a minute..

pandawife and baby how much cereal did u feed ur babies for the first time? will be trying the feeding later in the morning...thks!!

baby,
actually if yr bb is still drinking milk easily then no need to change. unless u see them struggling already.
as for milk cum rice cereal, avent has a variable flow teat which u can adjust for thin or thick liquids.

ru,
i tried for my elder girl. i used a needle to enlarge the existing hole. the prob is that it's very hard to duplicate the result, so if u hv a few bottles/teats u end up with teats of different sizes. the next time u change teats, u will also get the same prob.

kiddy palace sells a teat puncher where u can punch hole S, M, L size. but i dunno whether u will end up with the same prob where S is too small and M is too big.

Gan, I start w one teaspoon, just to test reaction ..for one week. Now I move on to vege purees. My gal started carrot yest..eldest boy starting pumpkin today. Younger boy make puking action at me when tried to feed!

Pandawife ur younger boy so cute! Just like my gal when I make her drink milk at times. I tried my gal rice cereal just now.. She opened her mouth when I bring the spoon near her but made a funny face when she tasted the cereal. So cute!! I think I fed less than 1 spoon, just want her to try eating from spoon. How come ur boy n gal start different purée? U made the purée n freeze? I just bot a set baby food cube online yesterday.

Gan, my eldest boy started first coz last week when i try to feed my gal, she push the food out w her tongue. So boy already taken one week of carrot. Haha..ur gal n mine same..yesterday I gav her carrots she gave me weird face..but after the first spoon, she ate happily!

I got ice cube trays w covers from diaso to store puree as recommended by singapoh..u k go diaso n shop..alot bb containers..only $2 each set.

gan,
bb food cubes is like our ice cube box? got lid? if freezer got raw food ok to put together? can give d link on d cube? so u do one puree n freeze? can last how long? wat puree u makin? i oso gettin excited to feed my bb puree, though she only 4 mths, she seems to b interested on our food. tat day she stared at me eatin strawberry n i brought d strawberry close to her n she opened her mouth! den i touch her lips with d strawberry n she sticked out her tongue...so funny.

Rose
Be careful on strawberries.. Cos berries are on the high risk list for food allergies..

Panda
U mean 1 teaspoon of cereal is based on the dry cereal or the puree?
If based on the puree.. My elder girl ate abt 2 tablespoons..
Later im giving her carrot puree for the first time.. I bought organic carrots.. I also bought sweet potato.. Those purple skin with yellow flesh...
U just add the cereal powder to the carrot puree?
U thk i can add the carrot puree to the cereal mix? The cereal mix is the usual cereal with fm...

I also bought pumpkin... Hahaha i thk i buy too much liao at one go.. Got to let bb try one type for a few days before moving to another new vege... Too kiasu liao.. End up got to eat myself hahaa...

Panda
U make more puree to freeze? I hvt buy the tray yet.. So i guess i have to make everyday fresh...
Btw how do u heat up the frozen cube puree? Defrost then how to warm up? U usually add cereal powder to thicken or u use fm to dilute the puree?

Im using Avent bottles and teats and my boy is 2.5months now.
The next teat size is for 3mths+ and i wonder when I shd change.
He recently keeps fussing during milk time...things improved after I changed his bottle to the bigger one...but he started to become frustrated again...wonder if its coz of the teats?
I burped him many times and its not coz he needs to be burped...

Gan, for porridge, I cook using fire. I usually soak the rice before I steam. I also put a small slice of meat just to give taste to the porridge. She usually finish about 1 to 1.5 spoon. The rest I eat Loh. Cos difficult to cook only 1 spoonful lah. I only steam over fire when I want to feed her porridge. For cereal, I didnt add in milk. I just make one spoonful n add warm water. Frisocrem is not recommended to be added in milk. So far, I fed her using spoon. She's excited.

Pink D, thanks! You haven't seen the naughty side of her. Initially wanted to start later. But we noticed everytime we eat in front of her, she also imitate to move her lips. Super cute! But it is also impt to make sure baby's next is firm before feeding her/him.

Singsong, I m one who encourage helper to use their own method of doing housework. There is no SOP at home. But when I see her do double work or areas are not properly cleaned, I will show her the correct n effective way of cleaning. Yesterday, her attititide improved at least 50%. I praised her n she also happy. For the last 9months with previous employers, she only have $54 with her now and the rest of her salary went towards paying for her loan. I feel so sorry that she has to work at age of 16. So before we went to bed, I told her as long as she follow my instruction n learn new things everyday, I will keep her. Dunno or dun understand my instructions, must ask me again n again.

Just Faith: My maid has 7yrs exp in Brunei and she has gotten the routine with me and BB and can complement us already...

Just to check, did you get her any calling card to call bk? Does she pay this herself or do we pay for her?
I bought her a $10 calling card that time for her to call and report safety bk home...

Gan,
I bought a small slow cooker to cook bb porridge. Can cook just one small tablespoon of uncooked rice. Instead of water I use vege stock so tat the porridge is very sweet.

There r many methods n combinations to cook porridge.
Happy experimenting

My fingers feel very tight since giving birth. Any idea what happened? Tried massaging but no use. Anyone has similar experience and solution?

rose i ordered from here the food cubes with lid.
http://www.babyonline.com.sg/

but seems like diaso is cheaper coz $2, mine is $13.90.....free delivery when u order more than $20. ordered last night, and they called will deliver on sat.

BTW i have a small packet of Nestle brown rice cereal, u want? i am feeding my gal bellamy's and nestle will send me another 3 packets of sample cereal soon as gal is turning 6 months in june.

Gtumpus/ just faith dun think will start porridge so fast, =) will let her eat the rice cereal first...get used to eating from spoon.

Gan, the learn n laugh chair can start using once bbs can sit by themselves..i.e. 6-7mths. i went to google n read good reviews about it. one mummy starting using it from bb 6 mths old n the kiddo loves it.

baby, hehe..u cannot resist buy so much foods! i get one type per week.. my boy loves pumpkin...

i started w 1 teaspoon of dry cereal mix with milk. my bbs hv cows milk allergy, so i cannot giv them frisco cream. i hv to get pure rice cereal n mix with their Enfa HA milk.

for purees, smtimes i giv pure vege puree add water..or add 1 teaspoon of rice cereal to the puree and add water.. too thick difficult for bb to eat esp when they just learning to eat.

i started freezing the purees.. coz no time to be making everyday. i just asked singapoh about thawing...suppose to put the puree overnight in chiller to thaw before heating if u r using food warmer like me. if u use a steam, u can heat it up direct from the freezer.

Can microwave to thaw frozen puree too. Just make sure u stir very well aft heating to remove any hot spots.

Gan,
I only started my girl on porridge at abt 7mths, she ate porridge for one mth only after tat dun want already

Gan
Yr tray cube looks nice mann... Can take out individual cube to thaw right? Dont look like tray.. Look more like individual small storage box cube...
U receive liao? Nice?

Panda
Ya also tot of giving pure vege puree imstead of adding fm.. Cos wana to let them try the pure vege taste..
Pumpkin is nice cos sweet.. Sweet potato also nice..
U got try green vege? Spinach or peas?

gan,

ur cube reminds me of my avent breast milk storage container. think can use tat to store puree too n den can use avent warmer to heat up d puree.

u got four cereal packets? i joined nestle club liao but dun think they will give d cereal sample so early, think 6mths old den they will send ba?

rose, u r right..can use the avent cups too.. i used them until i bought the ice tray... cups abit too big for a start coz eating very small amount..

baby, my next food will be potato..followed by green peas.. started w sweet ones to get him interested to eat..so slowly transit to other tastes..

Rose currently I have 1 small packet of brown rice cereal which was given to me when I bot the motherhood magazine few months back. N nestle emailed me today they will include 3 cereals samples plus the stage 2 powder. I m using medela, the bm storage is like a milk bottle.

Baby only getting the food cubes on Saturday ... Ya looks nice but I m paying 7 times more than panda leh!

Panda alamak now I regret not buying the FP chair... Now must wait for next sale

Prayhard,

May be is due to water retention. My problem solve after I see TCM doc. Or, you can try ruyi oil. Put some oil in yr palm then massage each fingers before sleep.

Pandawife,
U are right, during milkstrikes, just focus on feeding solid. That is also what the PD advised us during when my gal had blocked nose induced milkstrike. Just get down as much milk down.

When I first fed solid, same thing, she gave me that yucky and puky look when after a few teaspoons. I was feeding her healthy timez (organic brown rice cereal fr NTUC) and I tasted it, quite bland even with milk. Now I gave up and switched to Frisocream cereal. Its not as healthy but much more fragrant and creamy. I just thought maybe get her to enjoy her food first and not develop this thinking that food is yucky as pyschological barrier harder to rid of. She is taking it better now and slowing increasing the amount. Then I also bought Nestle cereal with fruits (read article that it has some heavy metal but I only intend to let her eat limited time as once she moves on to three to four tablesppon per meal, will cook porridge) for her dinner. So lunch time take one type of cereal and afternoon take another type, hope with variety, picky babies yet to become food lovers one day.

Pink-destiny,
I salute you! U are a direct contrast to someone in my family (don't want to write to obvious, scare kena identified) who goes to spa on weekends and paint nails and leave all work to maid. Not once have I seen her feed her bb before. U efforts will reap benefits. That bonding and trust ur build with ur son will build his confidence for years to come.

Like ur boy, when my gal's reflux were at its peak, she often also appeared unhappy and cranky and after reading some children books, found out that its not in their personality, its actually the painful heartburn (reflux bbs suffer quite a bit of heartburn) they are experiencing that is making them cranky and misses our wombs (where they don't have to suck, wear hard hard diaper, suffer from reflux and food just flow to them via the cord) and difficult for them to enjoy their new environment. I am sure ur boy will soon display his true cheerful self after the reflux subsidises (it sure will one, just a matter of time) and u will be too busy taking photos of his cheeky laughters then
I am sure of that.

U are right to burp him many times, its one way to ease the gas and reflux. U might have also propped up his bed a little with newspaper underneath. That was told to me by my daughter's birth gynae. He asked us not to use pillow which could worsen reflux as it causes milk to be trapped at the throat. Instead, prop up the entire mattress to some 10-20 degrees with newspapers underneath. I did mine at about 15 degrees. She still regurgiated some milk upon lying down but not as much as not propping up. Also, can hold them upright for about 20mins after which feed for milk to settle. I used to hold her for 30mins after each feed. Quite siong but can see improvement of reflux.

Yeah, keep that option of no pay leave open. Again, I think u very "wei da" because I cannot be SAHM and heart too "ye". And I also salute all SAHM who do it for the proper development of their babies.

Imp22,
Congrats and hope u can have a good bfing career.
Another Lobang for cheap milk powder is below (free delivery for 200 dollars n above) But during NTUC sale time, milk powder and diaper can be cheaper than them. Good to stock up then.
http://luvbabies.kimsang.com.sg/

Serene,
*waves* how are u!? Happy to see u here.

U are definitely not selfish. If u are selfish, than I must be self selfish. I only intend to have one child as want to focus all resources on her. Daddy is ok with it too. Alto I just want one child myself, I do encourage whoever want to have more child and listen to their heart and make that decision. Somehow, I do see parents with three kids still cope quite well, when the third one come, one will learn how to cope. Its survival instinct. Whatever is ur decision, keep us posted and we will root for u

Eskimobaby
*waves" too
Remember me? Never know who can become moms right?
Update on me is my gal is about 8mths now. With her now, I have no life but no complains, I am her loyal servant

Soulvacation:
Try the website above. Its quite easy to hit $200 dollars as they sell quite a variety of things.

Rainzz,
1. use steriliser much faster for a first time mom. Pigeon rapid steriliser is good, big and can fit all brands including NUK. And faster too, life saver when u need to hurry and baby is crying. Can get bundle ones at Taka fair that has best Pigeon deals. Coming one is in last Aug/earlySep.

2. Latch is the best since its best way to stimulate milk growth. But need to have pump just in case bbs don't want to latch. Medela is user friendly.

Yes, Nuk teats are quite good. Tried pigeon, nuk and avent before. Nuk teats are truly quite anti-colic while Pigeon can be better.

Singapoh,
Quite funny as when my relative CL knew they were not satisifed with her, she said her MIL suddenly died and she need to return home to JB immediately. Could it be a trade practice that when they want to leave, they say someone close has died. Omg..

Gan,
For the first time, I let her taste a bit with the tip of the weaning spoon and once she looks from interested, will give her one weaning spoon serving first. See her reaction, if want more, then give. But don't force as good to make them enjoy the food first. On the second day, I gave one tablespoon and this continue for some weeks. When she can finish all the one tablespoon, I upped to 1.5 tablesppon, up everytime they finish and don't reject.

Saw quite a few questions on starting solid vs milk feed. MJ sent me a weaning guide and it has good guidelines on how much milk vs solid during diff months. I have been using it and my gal is taking more solids with the right amount of milk now. Will write it here.

Besides nuk that has wide neck latex teats, does avent and medela have wide neck latex teats? Thanks in advance.

Gan,
I recently tried to let me girl use nuk wide neck latex teat (she was using pigeon wide neck and the drinking was really slow. I tried drinking with it and found out its a hopeless teat, need a lot of effort to suck. I also tried the nuk teat and its much easier to suck vs pigeon).

But I bought the 0 to 6 months as the 6 to 18 month piece looks really big and my daughter 8 months liao but mouth is very small type. Maybe I should have bought the 6 to 18 months one as I initially thought that there is no difference in hole size for M size both 0-6months and 6-18months.

Do u know if the milk hole for M for both 0-6 months and 6-18months is the same size? Thanks..

hi gan
which model of the ergo did u buy? how do u find the support for your back? can you use it by yourself or need another person to help adjust?

Babygalore the teat hole is bigger for 6 to 18 mth. My gal also ying Tao xiao jui but I think as they are bigger they tend to suck faster so a bigger hole makes drinking easier. The teat is same size except the hole

Happyhippo I have not uses the carrier coz only received it last weekend. Will let u know after I tried.

Happyhippo
Hows tins with u? Long time no see!
I been using ergo organic carrier.. Bought frm firstfewyrs...
V useful! My hb and i love it.. I even use it to carry one of my twin and go shopping... My bb fall asleep in it!

Gan
How much is the original price of the exersaucer? I did tot of buying but cos exp so i reject the idea...

Happyhippo, I m using ergo original..fairly easy..I can use it myself without help. My bbs can sleep in it too...good support ..

Pink D, my maid's ex employer bought her a prepaid SIM card. She doesn't have a handphone. So whenever she need to call back, she has to insert into my old Nokia phone. I lied to her that I dun hv spare HP at home. Must borrow from my dad. Hehe. Anyway she only call home once a month. Her ex employer made her pay for each top up. Though we think we can afford to pay for her top up, but I dun wan to spoil her in that day. Better let her pay from her salary. We can reward her in other ways.

Keeping my fingers crossed. She seemed to get better each day......
))

I'm now in my 6weeks, do you gals have any good gynae to recommend? of anyone given birth under S F loh? Any feedback? I'm now trying to compare the pre-natal check-up package between KK and other pte hospital as during my recent visit KK nurse told me that scans at KK can only be done on weekdays and then can choose weekends to see doc. My hb would prefer to accompany me for every check-up sessions but both of us can only make it on weekends. Need advise.
5518151.gif

Gan/panda
The exersaucer sounds like a good bargain! Will go chk it out at taka... Its at the children tOys dept?

The music chair looks like a normal chair leh.. The toys are at the side.. Will baby be entertained?

Btw i gave my girl pumkin puree just now.. She loves it!
I taste it myself.. Sweet!
Tried puree carrots but failed leh... Not soft enough.. Still got bits in it... I aldry steam it for half hr leh... Hmm... Should i boil it instead to make it soft??

Baby
If u boil the carrots, all the nutrients will be lost into the water.
Steaming is still the best. Did u cut up the carrots before steaming?

Grumpus
Ya lor thats what i tot also.. Thats y i steam it.. I also steam the pumpkin.. No problem for pumpkin le.. But carrots i aldry cut into small slices.. Steam for half hr still not vey mashy.. Got tiny little bits in it... Not sure is it i bought the organic range.. Maybe should try those small carrots? Cos i read bigger ones are more nutrienous.. Tats y i buy big ones...