IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

blissful,
ya, but instead of usual 5feeds, she now havin 4feeds. esp the night feed, can drag 5hrs den hungry.

i feed 1teaspoon of gripe water in 40ml of water. since she is likely constipated, i am feeding her twice a day. the instruction on gripe water stated maximum 4times per 24hrs.

baby,
i usually feed only when she may have wind, tummy bloated etc. if she is ok, i dun feed her gripe water. a bit sweet la, n d chinese name for gripe water...err...like drink already will become fat fat leh. :p

rose,
good to hear yr girl finally pooed. u must be so relieved. luckily she can somewhat recover on her own.
must be so stressful these few days monitoring her.

Rostrum hmmm I can't remember the wt was closer to which but dim worry , most impt baby healthy. I was also told my baby was small during my late 2nd and 3rd trimester
Rest N eating proteins do help... My baby delivered at 36 weeks was 2.77kg at birth... Not very big but not that small too.

I have been a silent reader all this while and have learnt a lot of all of you. Was wondering if you can provide some advice based on your experience. My daughter is three weeks old and she has acid reflux. My confinement nanny suggested using Ruyi oil which we have been using for three days. Now her poop comes out in bubble form like fizzy foam. Not sure if its due to the Ruyi oil expelling wind from her system or diarrhea from the change in formula from normal Enfalac to a mixture of normal Enfalac with Enfalac Anti Reflux. My confinement nanny thinks its normal as I also feed her EBM which is mainly water.

Prayhard, I also have the same fears as you do. I have a maid but am not confident letting her look after my daughter. Even now, with my CL, both of us are at wits end at times wondering how to comfort her when she fusses. Also not sure how i will have time to continue pumping when the CL leaves coz my daughter is such a light sleeper.

hopeandfaith,
poop sounds normal if u hv a gassy, refluxy bb.
my elder girl was very gassy and she always had those foamy kind of poop.
my 2nd girl was gassy for awhile and also had tat kind of poop.

if u're feeding ebm, u can try cutting out foods like dairy in yr diet cos that can contribute to gassiness.

Panda
Are u feeding yr bbs every 4hrs now?
Im also trying to feed my girls every 4hrs instead of 3hrs..
How much ml per feed?
Im feeding 130ml... But im abit worried if i do 4hrly.. Means the no of feeds are reduced.. Worried they will drink lesser milk... Dont know will it affect their growth leh/.

Baby, no reason. My parents suggest so I just follow

Rose, Baby, not to worry on the no of feed. Just feed on demand. During the day my gal will cry for milk every 2 to 2 1/2 hr, after her last feed at nite between 7 plus to 9 pm can last till 6am.

hopeandfaith,

for my ger, i realised tat when she was one to two mths old, she is really a light sleeper n i really had a hard time taking care of her n pumping...so end up giving up bf after 2nd mth plus. if u hav a maid, perhaps u can ask ur maid to standby carrying your bb when u r pumping but must be in your presence. if u not paiseh let her c u pump, den shld b ok. if not u pump oso not relax coz u wil keep worryin if ur bb will be awakened in d nursery room...

one mth old bb sometimes really cannot tell whats wrong when they fuss, as they grow older, u will soon know their pattern n it will be more predictable. when ur cl leaves, may be chaotic initially, but you shld be able to cope with it. many of us here pick up ropes n learn along d way...bitter at first but sweetness will come afterwards. Endure n do share with us, its fate to bring us all here though we do not know each other.

Baby, I can't feed 4hrly lately. Bbs milk strike again, intake per feed drop. Smtimes wanna feed they also dun want !

Blissful, r latching or bottle feeding? Wanna know if ur bb always drink the same amt per feed?

Wasted alot of milk recently coz of the drop in appetite. Everyfeed hv to throw milk away.

Pandwife, I bottle feed. Her intake drop too to about 120 to 125ml. Sometime if she can't finish I quickly keep the milk in the fridge keep for next feed. (taught by Grumpus, throw away heart pain :p)

Blissful ur Bb drinking 120 every 2 to 2.5 hrs? That's so good... Mine if take 100 can last her 3 to 4 hrs. Grumpus method has helped me save bm. But fm no choice I have been throwing alot.
I have stop bf le coz the milk Ss dropped slot since cut down in pumping n back to work.

Gan, yes Grumpus method has help me too. I'm going back to work next wed hope I can sustain bf feeling very tired waking at wee morning pump. My gal is a big eater sometime my bf is not enough to sustain

Hi rostrum
When u see doc Paul, did u asks him why doc Loh meassurement is so much different fr his? How he explain?
Sleep well n stay relax k.. So that bb can grow faster.. Usually bb grow faster at last trimester..

Can co reject hl leave which gynea prescribe as we didnt stay at hospital actually?? Or under the labour law, they must accept? Any of ur co reject ur hl leave due to pregnancy? Thk u all gals..

Joanne,
under the employment act:
"An employee is deemed to be hospitalised if he/she is certified by a doctor to be in need of hospitalisation. He does not necessarily have to be warded in a hospital."

however, this portion of the act covers only
"Employees earning not more than $2,000 basic monthly salaries"

so if u earn >$2k per mth, yr company is not required to follow this law and can reject yr HL if that is their policy

I made a post here in Feb but mia as was really busy after starting working in that month too.

Gan, Rostrum, JJ, Liz and Bubblybear,
Thanks for remembering me. I remain very grateful for my little one and learning to be a mom is like a mega lifetiime project just like it is for every mom here.

Rostrum,
The scan results often also depends on the machine used and the person doing the scan. So it may be more useful to compare results with the same machine and scanner, that is if there is growth from the previous scan under the same gynae. If there is growth but absolute weight is low, then its not worrisome since the absolute value varies across dr while growth fr last scan more important. So don't worry too much k..

Bubblybear,
Congrats on ur no 2..

Hopeandfaith,

My bb also on enfalac AR and I am switching her to friso after 2 unsuccessful attempts to switch her to enfapro (resulted in gassy, puking and milkstrike).

Its good if ur bb can take enfapro. But try not to mix enfalac and enfapro in the same feed. It it using the method taught by MJ below as they say mixing the two FM or diff composition is very taxing on bb's digestive system and kidney. Method to switch is attached below:

http://www.meadjohnsonasia.com.sg/products-services/enfa/enfapro-a-plus.aspx

Hopefaith,
Sorry, typo, it is good if ur bb can take the normal enfalac now and I meant try not to mix enfalac and enfalac AR in the same feed as the MJ person told me alto both enfalac, they are very diff in composition. Mine can only take enfalacAR and now friso.

its me again...jus wanting to share my thoughts and seek ur opinions...
i have very mixed feelings abt motherhood...part of me finds it rewarding but most of the time i find it overwhelming... and sad to say while my BB is already 2 months old, I have not enjoyed motherhood.

I feel overly responsible to him and literally "chained" to him...so much so I disliked gg out and did not find enjoyment in things...i did not like frens to visit too as i feel they take up too much time etc..

i have recently got a maid...she is pretty competent in bb-care...however, now im afraid my BB will prefer her to me...and he will not want me...

supposed to go bk to wk mid June...and half of me look fwd to it...yet half of me am scared that I will "lose" my son to the maid and MIL when i returned to wk...very troubled with such thoughts...

any kind advice?

Thanks Grumpus for your reply....good to know that its nothing to worry about. How long did this last with your two girls? Also can you share your pumping method again? I have problems increasing my milk supply. Currently pumping about 2oz every 21/2 hours which is still short of what my girl consumes.

Rose, I agree that I will need to get my helper to help me when the CL leaves. Trying to get the CL to train her so that I will have time to go and take a bath, use the toilet etc. Wished my girl could latch on but had no choice but to supplement and now she refuses the breast.

Anyone has any method to get baby to latch on after bottlefeeding? There was a lactation specialist that told me she knew of a lady which started breastfeeding again after using the bottle for two months.

Hi babygalore, thanks for your advice. I mixed her formula after she had problems drinking the Enfalac AR as it was too thick and her PD confirmed that it was ok to mix. Will try to revert back to the normal Enfalac and see if she responds well now that I am reducing my dairy intake. Hopefully this will stop/reduce her gassiness.

Pink-Destiny, this is just a stage where 1st time mummy has to go thru....I felt the same when my #1 was before 4mths...

Just a few minutes ago, I sms my HB to tell him that our son's smile never fail to make me smile..the older they get (which won't be too long from now), the cuter they are and fun to be with...

My #1 is turning 1yo this month...it wasn't an easy journey from conceiving and taking care of him in the initial months, but the hardship is all worth it when I see his smile and hear his laughter nowadays....you will understand what I mean when ur BB hits 6-7 mths onwards. They are more aware of the surrounding and starting to be more responsive.....

Hang on there....

Rose.... thank you for your words of encouragement. Great to have all the mommies sharing their trials and tribulations relating to their children.

Hopeandfaith,
Hmmm with my elder girl the foamy poo lasted quite awhile. Sometime seems like gone but then it will come back again.
She was an extremely gassy n refluxy bb.
With my second girl she only got it for a few weeks. She's now 4mths n no more foamy poo already.

I only pumped for my elder girl. Religiously pumped every 3 hrs, drank lots of fluids. Mostly soups n red dates tea. Eat lots of fish. Each time I pumped I made sure I emptied my breasts thoroughly n pump a little more at the end to give my breasts the signal to produce more.

I saw a lactation consultant before who claimed she help a mother with a 6 mth old bb learn to latch. I also tried with my elder girl but she simply refused. Scream like Kenna slaughter like tat. End up I gave up trying. Just try yr best to give watever u can. If u hv to supplement then so be it.
There's a lot more to mothering than just bfing!

Dear pink-destiny...i agree with soon-to-be. I was so determined to breastfeed to bond with my daughter after trying for a baby for so long. I felt to some extent that I have failed her when she was dehydrated and stopped urinating for two days because I could not get her to latch on and because my supply had not kicked in yet (then).

My gynae and my girl's PD told me to just express and supplement for her sake. However, whenever I see my CL hugging/feeding/pacifying my daughter, I do feel a bit left out. But i guess I have come to realise that all new mothers will feel a sense of inadequacy to begin with. Don't worry, your son will always know that you are his mommy and that you went through a lot to have him. This is just a period of adjustment for all.

Hopenfaith,
Yes, gassiness is also a phase that bb will outgrow and with ur wise selective diet, sure will improve one

Pink destiny,
Huggzz..can understand how u feel as I have been through that overwhelmed phase between 1st to 3rd mth after bb arrived. During initial months, bb had acid reflux and sensitive startling which made it tough to go out as must prepare for merlion episode anytime. Similar to u, I did not go out and did not receive any visitors as spend a lot of time feeding and patting baby to sleep with little success. The nearest we ventured to was to my heartland shopping area and even that was rare. I was also looking after bb solo 5 days a week till 4th month when I went back to work. Hb helped me on the weekends but bb only wanted me to carry n not daddy. So like u, I was chained to baby, had to hurry up even when need to go toilet, lunch was a 3 min affair everyday when I had to gobbled down the food before bb cries from startling again.

During those months, I followed the Oct MTD 2010 thread to learn things from the ladies there alto I did not participate. And just by reading, u know many moms have lots of help n some travel with their babies with relative ease. Then, I disallowed myself from camparing as everyone have diff circumstances and every baby is diff. If u ask me if I had enjoyed motherhood then, answer is that I switched gear from focusing on enjoying motherhood with the much publicised image of a sexy mom carrying a well-groomed bb in her arms and both mom n bb grinning at the photographer (found on all parenthood/baby mags) to enjoying motherhood simply as long as my happy reflux baby puts on weight despite the fact that for those months, I looked like a piece of rag n zombified everyday So a change of expectations there.

I did not follow ur story as only started rereading this thread but from the fact that you feel very responsible toward ur baby, I am sure you can find your source of joy somewhere and pls be proud of yourself so much so that you can enjoy motherhood with the pride in u. The fact that u dislike going out and find friends depriving u of time that u can spend on taking care of ur baby tells a lot about what kind of mother u are and that is a fact good enough for u to enjoy motherhood. Pls be proud of urself
I know someone personally who feels very sian with the baby that she can go overseas with her friends during her confinement and left bb to grandmother. From what I can see, she has enjoyed motherhood in her own way which I am not in a position to judge but as a personal choice, that is not how we choose to enjoy motherhood.

Regarding leaving ur bb to ur maid and MIL and that she might be alienated with u later, pls do not worry a single bit! I said earlier that my bb only wanted me and not her daddy since I have been the primary caregiver. Now her daddy is her favourite playmate despite not being the caregiver. I believe the change is because as babies grows older, they will come to know that this person must be someone important as he is always seen in the house. So as long as u ensure every in the evening after work, u be seen around, or do something for her such as wipedown, ur bb will still acknowledge u as a very important person in the house. And don't forget, ur baby will always remember the heartbeat she/he has been hearing for 9 months, the heartbeat that can calm him/her down more than any other things - your heartbeat.

One last thing, what many would think as a old wife's myth is actually true. That is many times, once a baby reaches 3/4 months (that kind of coincides with being able to support his/her own head), all the fun will set in. Babies then startle less, cry less, and start to show their jovial side as they feel more in-charge, being able to look at this world from an upright prespective. That is what happened for my gal. And believe me, as u return to work, u can get to enjoy motherhood in a different way, u will get to buy nice clothes for ur bb during lunch, get to buy make up for yourself and enjoy motherhood like those mag covers. U will get there one..Sorry for the long story as I feel ur concerns that I went through a few months ago. Jia you, u are a great mom

Pink-destiny,

I eyeballed through some earlier posts. Similar to ur boy, My gal was a typical catnapper (3 x 0.5 hours per day. 1/2hr in the morning, 1/2 in the afternoon, 1/2 in the evening and colicky in the evening from over fatigue. Want to sleep but cannot sleep, always woken up by the startling hands. We thought of using yaolan but in the end, swaddling work. With swaddling, she still woke up fr startling but freq is lesser n while swaddled, its easier to pat her back to sleep. Swaddled her from 1mth to 4mths. She kind of outgrown startling at 3mths. Now she sleeps quite long during daytime at predictable hrs. Swaddling and consistency helped somehow but I know it does not work all the time from reading other forums.

Pink-destiny, not only you have this kind of feeling me too and this is my 2nd child. Sometime I ask myself what did I get myself into...but when my gal give me a big simle I think it is all worth it.....

Not to worry that you will "lose" your son....anyone can be close to your son but in the end he will sure look for you as you are his MOTHER

Hi moms,

For those who have already fed their babies one full meal of solid, is 4 tablespoon of porridge/cereal considered one full meal for a 7/8 month old? Thanks in advance for ur advice.

My gal is not very keen on solid. She would makan two tablespoons of cereal and refuse to take more during the noon feed. That is why after 10 mins, I will given her another 150ml of milk which she will take. Am keen to make her take one full meal of solid without supplementing with milk immediately after but as said, she does not like to take so much solid at one go. Been stuck with 2 tablespoon of cereal for about 2 mths liao.

Hi grumpus
Thk u for ur advise on hl.. My pay is more than 2k so looks like they may reject accept my hl if i request fr gynea to rest...;(

babygalore,

i hv the same solid problem.. i just started feeding for a couple of days...n worse can never get past 2 TEAspoons... bb will cry for his milk already...

i gav up trying to giv cereal today coz my other 2 bbs are having milk strike.. just trying to get them to drink their milk is taking up all my energy,..

Dear soon-to-be and hopeand faith, blissful fate and babygalore,
i really appreciate your advice and sharing.
Like you hopeandfaith, my son was dehyrated as my milk supply only kicked in on day 3...since then i felt very sorry towards him...as i felt i was the cause of his dehydration...i had subsequent "failure" too when he did not want to latch. I took it personally as a rejection.

babygalore, thanks for your heartfelt words.
I am glad i managed to strike a chord with a few ladies who have experienced more than me...

i try to be very involved..feed my child, bathed, played,night feeds...basically wanna do everything and pretended i dun hv a maid...of coz there are times i need to pump and need a rest...so will ask maid to help me... i dun wanna get too reliant on her u see...

my boy has reflux too...he is very gassy and would need to be burped many times...he also is a restless and noisy sleeper as he would arch and stretch to rid himself off the gas to sleep better...im manly kept awake at night cos of him...
like you, im hoping to look fwd to a more responsive, happier and more playful baby...as he is rather cranky and grumpy at times...
jus hope that time passes and he will grow up healthy...and that i will soon be more adjusted in my role as a mother...i realy thought i would be very well-adjusted but im wrong...looks like i cant force myself to...but will take this as a valuable life-changing experience...as motherhood humbles me alot...

im not sure of i would be taking unpaid leave to take care of him for long...shall keep that plan open.
Right now I just wanna embrace this experience...coz shd i not hv a second kid, this experience would be sthg i wld not have again... (trying to be upbeat)

Also, thanks Singapoh for chatting with me.

U ladies are wonderful!

Panda
Yr boys on milk strike?
My small girl also same.. Feeding time is always a war..
She will scream and struggle when i try to feed her.. Then i find a way... I will craddle hold her... The way when i wana rock her to sleep... Then she will feel v secure... I will then put the teats into her mouth... And she will bottoms up the milk!

No one can successfully feed her... Even my hubby also cant feed her... Only i can.. Cos i aldry master the way! U can give it a try...
My pd says cos she is teething so feeding time is uncomfy for her... Thats y she will always cry...

Pandawife, u feed ur babies cerals with them sitting on the bumbo or rocker?
I just bot a preloved bumbo ...wonder if i should feed with my gal sitting in it or rocker better.

rose, i have not tried...my hubby just went to collect from a forum mummy...she also mentioned her boy can't fit in the bumbo. Think my gal not so chubby. =P
oh dear, so u r going to sell yours away? else abit xin tong right coz quite expensive when buy new.

baby, my eldest boy n gal on milk strike. my younger boy already over the phase... i tried all kinds of positions to feed.. coz i hv been thru it w my younger boy..

gan/rose, my eldest boy's thighs also stuck !! haha.. he v chubby..n he will try to push himself out of it when i put him there.

i feed him in rocker before... but he dun wanna sit there for long nowadays.. so i hv to get maid to carry him sittin on her lap..then i feed... i wanan try feed him when he is in the exersaucer.. just collected today.. washing the seat...tmr can try...

personally i tink rocker is better than bumbo.. but u hv to try n see which one ur gal prefers..baby always know better than us!

pandawife i have also collected my exersaucer today but my gal is too short!!! i have to put a packet of diapers below so that she can rest her feet! i think the baby will be very distracted to feed in the exercsaucer coz too many toys and he can move around.

Gan, my exersaucer the seat is external...so might b easier to feed compared to the usual one. Hmm..I compared the height to the walker tht my boy is playing in...same height...hopefully he fits well in there..

Gan,
Hahaha...now u know why I had phone books below my jumperoo for my elder girl. Looks like my younger girl will need phone books too. At her 4 mth checkup, height only 10th percentile!!

Gan
U also started feeding yr girl cereal?
How was it?

I gave my girls cereal few days ago... These two days cos i went out so i didnt feed them... Only tried feeding once

grumpus, hehehehe nvm girls petite cute cute and will look younger.

baby have not start feeding yet....1 more month to go when she is 6 months... just got the stuff ready..such as weaning spoons, bowl, blender etc. now got the bumbo chair so thinking if i should feed her with her sitting in it.

Gan, rose, pandawife,
My boy's leg also kena stuck in the bumbo chair. And the chair seems a little too tight for him to sit. That's why he doesn't like to sit in the bumbo chair at all. My girl is smaller size and she enjoys sitting in bumbo.
My babies are getting very difficult to feed nowadays. We tried all means and positions from sitting in the bumbo/ rocker to lying on cot, carrying them and feed around the house. Eventually we found that they drink best when sitting on the rocker with the feeder holding a colorful blanket/ cushion/ handkerchief in front of them to distract them.
My babies love the exersaucer! They can sit there and entertain themselves for many times a day, each time about 20min. It's really a gd buy.

Bing which Exersaucer u bot? I bot the evenflo megasplash... Later when she gets bored with the toys, going to buy the otter toys from amazon to intechange.

Just let my girl try on the Bumbo... Ok for her. Not tight.

Looks like alot of u got the bumbo chair... How much is it?
Where to get?

It can only use for a short period right? Cos the space seems quite constraint...

Im thinking to buy those feeding chair where it can attached to normal chair...

Where to buy the exacsuacer?

Baby my Bumbo is preloved, $35. dunno what is original price ... Saw Robinson selling before.

I bot my Exersaucer from eBay, from us seller. Plus shipment still cheaper than sg coz mine on sale is $199, I paid $177.