IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Baby..i oso puzzled lor...when he says see u in 4wks time...I went HuH?! Hahaha... He says if I feel any discomfort k call him anytime ..of coz I hope tht dun happen... He says less stress less chances of contractions.. No need check so often since no complications n bb growing well..he looked so confident tht I m convinced..lol

Grumpus - I also want to get frm frens but like abit pai sey .. they bought it then i take it & use then give them back ...

I'm trying to balance what needs charity, some items def can't get 2ns hand I believe. like my breast pump i want to get 1st hand but will ask favour frm fren to get frm USA where its cheaper

bottle sterilzer also i getting myself

Panda
Aiyo the ctg shows im having contractions again... Some pt is quite high... Think higher than yday... I can feel it myself..

Dont know how... Abit worried... Cos i cant be on the drip.. Just nw dr already say even off drip my pulse rate still on the high side... Hmm.. Maybe the oral med not working...

Dont think today can be discharge...

Gals, i really scare that i have to deliver my bbs so early leh.. Im only 29 weeks now... Somemore if i really have to deliver early.. My dr sure send me to kkh... Then dont know which dr on duty will c sect for me... I really hope my dr can deliver for me... Sigh... Nothing much i can do now.. Except to hope for the best...

JJ,
Haha tat's wat my cousin did to me. Every few mths she will drop by my hse to pick up new batch of clothes n toys and return me the old batch. All nicely washed and packed

Actually it's ok one lah, my friends also used to offer me their stuff to borrow.

The WTS thread sometimes hv ppl selling off stuff tat are still new in packaging. Of cos breast pump, bottles, and sterilizer shd get new lah. No harm just looking out lor.

baby: Jus read your post and I hope all is fine with you!
Will pray for you. In the meantime be positive ok? That will be very important for you and babies

baby, u must try to relax..the more u worry, the worse the contractions according to dr paul leh.... stay calm. Talk to ur babies, and listen to some soothing music...

dr paul told me if babies wanna come out, the pain will be very extreme leh....i dun tink ur babies will pop so early.. dun worry... trust ur doctor too...

JJ, some of the items tht i had handmedowns from frens are cot bumpers, playpens, rockers, high chair, plenty of cloth nappies and baby clothes....

i also saved a good amount on maternity wear...coz 95% of my clothes are also handmedowns from gfs....

there are quite a number of sellers on forum letting go of new things tht they receive as gifts...so worth checking out.

Baby, hang in there. Do try to relax ok?

Did doctor say that these are Braxton Hicks? I've read that BH contractions can start in early third trimester all the way until due date.

Good thing you're in hospital so that doctor can monitor you closely.Just focus on each day as it comes... for every day your bbs in your womb, is an extra day for them to grow stronger. Take care, will pray for you.

You mentioned bb turning is actually a contraction? When you feel the bb turning sensation, is it across the whole tummy? I sometimes feel bb turning kind of pressure too, but only one spot, like I can focus on that spot and I know bb is there making his/her turn. Is that what you're feeling too?

baby, to share some of the qns n answers from today's session w Dr Paul:

1)I checked with him regarding future visits to KKH, phew! no need to go anymore. He says he will track the babies' growth from my monthly visits, so dun hv to go KKH to do the growth scan.

2)He is ok for me to be taking the oral med (nifedipine) and also continue my proluton jabs... so long as i dun find the jabs too painful..hee...

i will hv to take nifedipine until 34weeks...after that he will review .. he says triplets babies develop 2 weeks ahead of singletons...so when i m 34 weeks, the babies are already as developed at a 36wks normal bb...safe to be delivered.

3) The Braxton Hicks hor, he says its normal if i experience it now...coz i m like full term singleton size already.... but no concern.. unless there is alot of pain... then hv to call him.....

4)i asked if i need to bed rest...he says no need..but dun be overactive too... hv plenty of rest and relax......

5) No need to monitor bb movements too! he says it will be very confusing for me n stressful coz i cannot tell which one is moving...LOL....

6)Re: Eating more to increase bb weight.. he says its not necessary...eat when i feel hungry.. increasing bb weight does not mean the babies are as developed..might just end up w fat chubby babies... which will be very uncomfortable for me....

7)tummy itch, he prescribe a vit C tummy cream to relieve the night itches....

8) I asked if my tummy will get higher, coz now its causing discomfort just below my bust... the answer is OF COZ! hahaaha...opps... he ask me to sit straight..dun slouch coz will put pressure on the tummy.....

9) No need to book C sect date yet.... so continue to aim for my 37 weeks..heee.....

10) i hv heard of water membrane leaking..so checked w him how to differentiate betw normal discharge n water membrane breaking.. he says if its water membrane, i will feel a gush of fluids.... quite obvious one...

baby
yes pls relax, watch tv, read mags, etc just do sthg to get distracted. soothing music will help, esp those instrumental ones.

why go kkh? glen e dont hv facilities? anyway dun worry, bbs wont come out so early. u dont worry too much okie.

yak again tonite, these 2 days very bz at work.
take care

Thanks gals for all the concern..

An unpdate frm me, dr put bk the drip.. The contractions stopped... The drip is at low dose cos scare my heart cant take it... So got to see how.. Looks like the oral med not working too well.. Hmm.. Then like that how to go hm...

Panda, thanks for the qns and ans... Hehe...
Yr dr same as mine.. I ask my dr whether need to monitor movement.. He say no need.. Cos will have confusion.. Dont know which one is moving..
So now u no need to go kkh anymore? Go once to have file there can liao?

Happyhippo
Dr f mention if i deliver too early he will send me to kkh cos much cheaper as bbs need to stay in hospital for quite some time... And kkh has the full facilities to handle premature bbs..
But the bad thing is our dr cant deliver for us.. So i still hope to deliver at glen e...

baby,

yup..i tink our doctors style quite similar...

yeah... no need go kkh liao.. dr paul says so long as i m registered there ..hv a record with scans done before... good enuff... at least in the event of emergency, there is smthing to fall back on.....

hmmm.. how many times u took the oral med? the one tht i m given, hv to take 3 times a day leh.... dr paul says hopefully the med can keep the babies in there... if i can make it to my next checkup, i will be 32 weeks liao... safe to deliver at TMC.. n hv to pay gynae's delivery deposit.

Panda
So far i only took twice.. 2 tabs each time..
Its a dirty yellowish colour tab.. Sticky one.. Is it the same as yrs? Cos i dont know the name of the med...

32 weeks safe to deliver at tmc liao ah? Bbs no need to stay long?? Cos if bbs not 2kg cant go home right? Usually by 32 weeks bbs can reach 2kg? So another 3 more weeks or so will be our safe zone?
My dr says the best ideal is 2.5kg at birth.. Cos bbs reduce weight after delivery...

baby, coz triplets will be 2 weeks ahead...so 32 wks will be like normal 34wks..

not sure if babies weight will hit 2kg by then..but smtimes even if weight is good, might also hv complications..so its gd to try n keep them in there as long as possible....

usually after 32wks, even if need to stay NICU, will not be for long extensive periods...so still alright...

i hv to count 4 more weeks to 32weeks...

i told Dr Paul tht the KKH doc laughed when i told him i aim for 37wks... Dr Paul smile at me and said, "we shall see.." hahahah.....

yes yes, 2.5kg is the ideal weight.. angela also said to try aim for tht.....

my tablet is 1 tab 3 times a day...very small slight pastel yellow in color..powdery type..not sticky....

I just did my 6 week scan and saw two heartbeats!

Dr Loh asked my dh to take thalassemia blood test. Does anyone know y is it DH testing is sufficient? Also I've to do thyroid blood test as he noticed mine's slightly bigger than norm. What's the effect of this on pregnancy?

Also I'd like to check which brand of stretch mark cream is recommended. Thanks in advance for answering to my queries!

Syrah - That's good !! Always a good feeling to see the bb's

I wasn't asked to take this thalassemia BT lei ...

Most ladies feel that the Clarins oil is a good buy. Pandawife using olive oil, for me i'm using the clarins stretchmark cream until finish then will switch to oil

Hi Singapoh,
When u were on your GD diet during pregnancy, were the readings within the range? Do u hv readings below the lower limit?
After the 2-day finger prick tests, did u hv to do 1-day or 2-day a week? Were u on insulin jab?

JJ,
Hmm... Wonder y he asked my DH to take then. Will try googling to see if I can find any answers.

Okie, I'll buy a bottle of Clarins to try first. Oh there's a cream & another oil? Didn't know that. Thanks anyway!

Babyhopeful,

My readings were average, sometimes too high/low. Either one also no good.

When I was in 3rd tri, my reading after dinner was too high. Nurse said I might need 1 insulin jab a day. I went to consult Dr Loh. He said NO NEED! Just continue with what I was doing ~ GD diet. His wife kena GD in both her pregnancies.

I did 1 day a week only. How abt u?

Singapoh,
My 1st day readings were ok. But some of the 2nd day readings seem low, although i ate almost same portions, with all the healthy food like brown rice, low fat food etc. Tmr will review with dietician, so not sure whether 1 or 2 days a week yet. But if too low, cannot possibly be jab insulin rite?

Panda
Ya we hope to keep the bbs in our tummy as long as possible... One more day inside is a bonus!
Tml i will be 29 weeks... U not the same as me?

Syrah
Cos as long as yr hubby tested negative for thas then even if u have.. Its ok...
When both parties have thas.. Bbs have chance he/she will be thas major. Means need blood transfusion for lifetime..
Im thas minor myself... So if my hb also is thas minor.. Then bbs will have chance to be thas major...
Thas minor has no problem at all.. Only have slight anemia..
U wont know if u are thas minor unless u went for blood test to check... Yr red blood cells count will be lower than normal..

Singapoh,
Actually my OGTT test was juz a bit higher than the upp limit and i kena the GD diet. I dun mind following the diet coz i dun feel so bloated after lunch/dinner as before.
Wah, Dr Loh's wife also kena GD in her pregnancies...din expect it..

Baby,
Yes my red blood count was slightly lower than norm. I was googling too n read up on thalassemia. Now I understand y need DH to test. Gosh... Let's hope he's fine.

Getting pregnant was a hurdle in itself but now that preggie, realize that it's an even bigger hurdle to conquer! There's so many concerns & worries.

Babyhopeful,

Are u seeing Dr Loh?

Just take note of the food that give u bad reading. GD is very common so no worries. Just control yr diet. My appetite was really bad and I got to force myself to eat 6 meals :s

Syrah,

After give birth, we worry about our baby. Then worry when they go to school, graduate, career, get married, etc Never ending..

Singapoh, i din write anything funny today leh..hehe..why u say i funny? sure sure, add me [email protected] ...

baby, yeah.. it seems like the way our gynae calculate is different leh... today i m 28wks4days...29wks 1day will be Sat... the official EDD i was given is 15 Jan... both CARE and Dr Paul gave me these dates....

Singapoh, may I know how high was yr after dinner readings? And what was the range of readings u had? Just wondering what is deemed ok to Dr Loh that he felt no need insulin. Nowadays, my reading fluctuate, sometimes ok, sometimes high. I always feel v worried when reading is high cuz dunno whether its affecting bbs or not.

Singapoh,
Yes, I'm with Dr Loh. Nurse told us to record the foods that gave readings outside the range.
My readings are seldom vv high, at most 1 slightly higher (ard 7.5) after meal, esp lunch. Dinner readings r ok. Usu the others r more of lower or with range.

Working wife,
How high were ur readings? r u doing the pricks daily?

Singapoh,
I din know some foods r not allowed till i attended the course. Been eating the 'wrong' foods, that's why no wonder i was down for OGTT.

just did my growth scan, at 29 weeks, bb is 1.2kg, still below 50% will see what dr loh says tomorrow when i see him.

Gan, huh..how come still below 50%??

mine also around there leh... dr paul says all growing well....my ger only 1.1kg lor...

Gan, thts strange leh... hmm..i also dunno how they plot the chart or how to interpret leh.....if its 1.2kg, its healthy weight...

Working wife,

Mine was like 8.3 after dinner. I think coz I was abt to pop that is y no need insulin jab.

Babyhopeful,

Dietician said nothing to do with the food we eat that cause GD. just that our body can't break the sugar down anymore so need to watch our diet. If can't control by diet then insulin jab.

Thick sauce should be avoided ( cornflour is very high in sugar)

Babyhopeful - yeah i'm pricking everyday cuz i just started insulin so need to monitor the response. Sometimes my high especially after dinner is in the 8s

Singapoh, wld really wanna know how yr readings are.

panda, kekeke hearing what singapoh said, ur ger ger must look like u!

I am not sure abt the charts...but i am happy she put on more than 300g the past 2 weeks plus. Was happy to see her kicking. =)

baby r u still on the ctg?? I am now at kkh clinic d ctg coz i emailed dr loh asking him abt the on off tightening feeling on my right tummy, he asked me come for ctg if worried.

Panda,
yrs is multiples and Gan is singleton mah. cannot compare. if yrs already 1+kg, dr expect Gan's single to be more.

Gan,
dun worry too much. below 50% is still ok as long as she keeps growing consistently. after all bbs all born at different sizes, yr girl will just be a bit small size. but we can't all hv 3+kg bbs right?

Singapoh, hahaha... where got panda pretty one!
before preggie, i call myself pandawife..coz only hb is panda eyes... ever since preggie, both of us panda liao...LOL...

i joke w hb, tht we will hv 3 panda kids...heee.....

grumpus, actually i m confused..coz i read tht multiples term is shorter..so babies will develop n grow faster....

i see the other mtb threads...most babies seems to be slightly over 1kg at 28weeks....

Thanks Singapoh! I need to be on insulin cuz was only 24 weeks when discovered GD... so still long way to go. Doctor said very stressful to keep monitoring diet, furthermore it will become harder to control as pregnancy progresses.

Singapoh, you're on FB too
Can add you? really wanna see your darling twins

Babyhopeful,
what are the types of food that we shld eat and should avoid? I didn't attend any dietician class... maybe you can share some tips?

Panda,
i also not sure, i know most other mtbs around 28wks bbs also 1kg+
last time my elder girl was much less than that at 28wks, but my dr just say she's small size.

i guess dr loh must hv his reasons why he's concerned abt Gan's case bah. lets see wat he says tom.

grumpus thanks, now i just hope she will continue to grow consistently and i can keep her in tummy at least to 37 weeks.

Petite for girls ok, at least she not giant size like me...fat fat.. Kekeke. Just now nurse who do ctg for me said i got thick tummy skin. =s