IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

grumpus, i was amused, i asked her how does she tell i got thick tummy skin. She just smiled. =p
just now nurse checked, said everything ok. Maybe my tummy expanding, so the thick skin gives me the tightening feeling??

Working wife,

Mine was discovered at 20 weeks. Reading after dinner went up towards the end of my pregnancy.

Going to pm u my email add

Gan
Ctg ended... No more contractions..
Will do ctg again at 10pm... Got to stay one more night.. Dr wants the drip to run overnight.. Then morning stop.. Convert to oral drip med..

Panda
I hvt buy the pillow yet... Still thinking..
I know locally selling mybrest friend twin pillow.. Abt $150... Local also selling E2 pillow?

Singapoh,

I see, so you discovered at 20 weeks. Did you find that despite eating the same food, the reading increase as the pregnancy progresses? If that's the case, means I will have to keep insulin dosage despite eating the same diet.

Baby,
good to hear that all is ok. Rest well tonight ya...

Gan,
Yr bb weight seems ok leh. Even though its below 50% percentile, at least she is still within the normal range. Some bbs are just smaller. My girl is also in the lower percentile... like just made it into the normal range.

i am having a backache sitting at clinic d waiting for more than 2 hrs for them to trace my file....=s nurse said dr want to see my file before releasing me. Shld have ask kk let me have my appt today at clinic d instead of tomorrow since already waited.

baby, the link i send u is also My Best Friend...

i read from the thread tht one lady ordered via VPOST and paid a bomb for the shipping coz of its bulky size.....

hopefully u can go home tomorrow... glad tht contractions have stopped

Star Night, i did take some jap green tea, but only from 2nd tri onwards....

in moderation..1-2cups a day is fine...but not more...

pandawife, just saw dr loh, so tomorrow no need come kkh again. Dr loh said no contraction but at some pt the heartbeat of bb dropped. Cld be lost of detection coz bb move but he asked me to monitor bb movement. Will see him 2 weeks later and do CTG again. He said bb abit small size but ok. Asked me continue with aspirin.
I asked when is he on leave in dec so that i can time my bb to deliver when he is around. he said i dun time my bb, he will time the delivery. Btw i got low placenta! Dr loh said maybe c section.

Huh? How come suddenly low placenta? Hmmm..I read tht placenta can still move up towards end of pregnancy ..so not confirm c sect..still got chance. Good thing tht ur ger weight is ok... I hv to take one more mth of aspirin...after tht got to stop already.

At least ur two hrs wait is worth it...tmr no need go back again... U need to continue to rest or going bk to work?

panda dr loh didn't give me mc and i didn't ask too. He just ask me dun stress.

During the growth scan, the sonographer indicated low placenta.

Working wife,
How come u didnt attend the GD diet course? KKH arranged for us to attend once we failed OGTT test. Which hospital r u with?
Like Singapoh said, gravy(starchy type) will raise blood glucose. Little oil/fats allowed. No Vitagen/Yakult, as i hv been taking b4 that. No durians. Certain fruits are allowed at a limited quantity, depending on the fruit. Best is eat wholemeal bread, foods with low fats label, clear soups, beehoon in soup, brown rice, steamed instead of fried etc.

Gan
So strange to detect low placenta at this stage.. Usually should have found out much earlier..
If yrs is partial low placenta.. High chance it will move up at later stage nearer to delivery.. Unless u dont mind c sect then nothing to worry...

Good to hear yr ctg is ok...

Panda
Just nw i ask my dr is it braxton kicks.. He say mine is little more than that... He say he aims for me to deliver above 34 weeks... If below 32 he will send me to kkh... Cos too costly here... Then he ask me whether i got buy insurance not.. I say yes.. The ge ivf insurance.. Then he say good...
But i tot that one cover v little only? Hmm... But i didnt ask in details...

The one working wife bout.. I think less than $100... Too exp to buy my brestfriend pillow here..

Working wife, yr pillow arrive liao? How is it? Rem to update me ok...

Baby dunno why but it doesn't matter to me whether natural or c section at this stage now. just want my bb to grow well and i can carry her when the time is right. Actually during my detailed scan at 21 weeks, it was also indicated low but i didn't think much of that coz dr never say anything. The insurance we buy is only $100 per day if i remembered correctly. You can go home tomorrow?

Baby..the insurance cover is 100 to 300 cash benefit per day... Not much..but better than nothing bah. Is ur blood test result out? U oso did the infection culture right?
so after discharge u hv to continue w the oral med to relax the uterus?

Just wondering if ur contractions hv anything to do w the previa condition?

Today scan.. My two boys both head down leh... Dr Paul says i will feel more weight n lower tummy sensitive...

Gan
Dont know whether can go hm tml... I hope so..
Even need to go c sect its ok lah.. As long as bb is healthy!

Panda
The insurance cover so little... Yet the premium so exp..
Hmm... Like defeat the purpose of buying the insurance in the first place..

The thyriod bt shows normal.. But the vaginal swap results not out yet.. Maybe tml...

Dr say after i go hm.. He will give me the yellow med and the drip med in oral form... So i really hope no more contractions or bleeding... Its quite scary leh... Imagine im only 29 weeks.. If im 32 weeks or more i will feel better... I will guai guai bed rest at home...

But my dr dont quite believe in bed resting.. He still ask me to walk around.. Go loo.. Whereas the nurses tell me not to walk around.. Bathe also must sit down.. Go hm must bed rest... Hmm...

Yr boys so early head down??? Did dr say how come?
I tot head down means v soon will engaged and labour soon?

Baby..yeah..the insurance for use in pte hospital is v little..Thts y we opt out...

The two notti boys wanna play w each other..haha... Dr says they will still move...just now he check by pressing my tummy..i asked him still got space for them ...he smile n say yes...they will only make me uncomfortable.

I bathe sitting down since preggie.. I think no need total bedrest..but dun do anymore housework or cooking Lah. I walk to go toilet, get food or drinks. Other activities i will do sitting down if possible.

Working wife,

Only my profile pix is pretty coz I used MoreLomo apps in my iPhone to take. Keke.. When did u "land" in Singapore? Me here since 1994.

Avocado also not allowed in GD. also no oily hawker food, food cooked in coconut, etc Look at the bright side, u will hv a healthy pregnancy :p

Panda
I long time nvr cook lo... Too lazy..
I only walk around the hse.. Most of the time i lie or sit on the sofa to watch tv.. But i bathe standing up lah.. Abit difficult to bathe while sitting down leh... Still got to stand up to take shampoo and shower gel... Mafan le...
Hmm... I will try to shorten my bathing time.. Bathe chop chop... Haha..

Put two chairs in the bathroom? One for u n one for toiletries .....bathing time is relaxing time...I always enjoy ..heheh.. My wall mount toiletries rack just nice sit down can oso reach...

today go out few hrs in the morning...feel so tired...took 2hrs nap in the afternoon...but dun seem to help...going to zzzzzzz very soon..

Morn ladies,
Didnt come in for a few days liao... Got miss me?

Baby,
Glad to see that u're alright. Think just bed rest ba. Safest..

Gan,
What happened? Baby weight too low huh? Erm.. Try chix essence, Maybe drink daily lor. Angela told me to do so when my tummy was really small that time. Then I started drinking alt days and my tummy ballooned. Regarding low placenta. I realised that seems like IVF mummies like us got such prob leh. I also got low placenta, that why initial stage I kept bleeding too. The time it was blocking the delivery passage. But now it has moved up le..

Went Dr Tan's clinic last sat for check up. I put on 3.4kg the last month. Current weight is 55.3kg.. Alamak! Wishful thinking on my part that I want to hit 55kg only when I deliver lor. Now at 32 weeks already 55.3kg liao. Now I aim not to exceed 60kg le.. Keke! Baby is at 1.6kg now. Only put on 0.5kg since my last visit.
Oh, Dr Tan took a very clear 3D pic of my girl's face. I'm really impressed. Shall post it up on FB so that u all can see.. My frens also feel that its very very clear.

Tickles - U preg weigh 55.3kg , now my weight is 66.9kg & I'm just 3mths only. Think i hope i do not hit 80kg !!

Any of u used baby carriers before ? Which is better ? Ergo / Bjourn ?

con of Bjourn is the bb will sweat profusely when strapped inside, pro is the sleek look of the carrier.

But I've read that many users preferred Ergo

JJ,
Ya. My pre preg weight is 44kg. So now already put on 11.3kg.. I was looking into the mirrir on Fri(1 day b4 my gynae visit) and was thinking why my face suddenly look so rounded. Then on sat when I weigh myself, then I told hub, no wonder my face look so round. Cos I put on 3.4kg 4 wks. Then most of the extra weight goes to me. Think I ate too much biscuits, snacks and sweet drinks already. Thus this month I told myself must eat healthy food. No more tidbits and salty stuff.. I never use baby carrier b4, cos dun like. But i tot bjourn ones are nice.

Oh, DR Tan ask me to go back and see her in 4 wks time, by then I'll be 36 wks le. I was surprised cos tot usually by now the consultation should be closer. But she say ok leh...

JJ,
baby bjorn can carry front facing. but bb position is sort of dangling so cannot last as long cos as they get longer their legs get in the way and is not as comfortable. they're sort of being supported by their crotch.
ergo cannot carry front facing but bb position is more of sitting down. more comfortable for them and can last much longer. up to toddler also can. when they get bigger u can strap them onto yr back.

up till now i'm still carrying my 3 yr old in an 'upgraded' ergo.

by front facing i meant bb face outwards
http://www.babybjorn.com/products/baby-carriers/baby-carrier-synergy/synergy/

all carriers bb legs will be dangling but for the ergo the support is from the butt all the way to the back of the knee. bb leg dangle only from knee down.
for bb bjorn the butt support is less so bb leg dangle from abt mid thigh down.
doesn't make a very big difference when they're infant. but as they get bigger their legs get longer than the ergo is more comfortable

tickles i put on 8kg plus todate i think...put on another 1.2kg for the last 2 weeks when i see doc yesterday. 300 plus grams go to bb, rest go to me. =( i suppose to put on less weight since my bmi is higher. Hopefully not more than 12kg when full term.

Does ur bb stretch alot? I can feel my bb stretching her legs quite frequently these few days. She is in oblique position now, her legs on my right, she seems to be pushing against my right tummy coz will bulge out.

JJ check out the feb 2011 mtb thread, they also mention another brand of bb carrier seems good review too. Starts with m but i can't remember the brand

Grumpus - ah .. i see my fren got bjorn so we see if can loan or buy over at cheap rate frm then .. then the Ergo is for the other parent ...

I've see Bjorn in use before .. for front facing the bb will drool all over the front padding hahaha... non stop salvia sia.

Tickles
Same here, no time to come in here, super busy with work, was sick for a few days last week too, now 3rd tri, dare not cheong too much also, scared early labour.

Same as you, put on 11kgs already, I think will be another 2 kgs to delivery. Don't worry about your weight now, after delivery sure slim back one, now just eat what you wanna eat, if not baby not satisfied.....

JJ,
good idea! cos bjorn is better for <6mths but ergo better for older bb. so if can share share like that is good.

Gan,
When I did my growth scan last week, also found out one of my placenta is low. When I asked the sonographer during the scan, she said all ok, normal. But in the report she put that its low. When I asked doc, he said its ok cuz report only says low and nothing else, so no concern. I guess that means its maybe partial low or something. Anyway, he didn't seem concerned.

Singapoh,
I came to SG two years ago. Hb and me work in same company and got transfered to the regional office here. Wah, you have been here for so long... already a true blue Sporean!

Babyhippo,
I am with TMC. I am seeing a diabetes specialist now, but I did not attend any diet course. Just ask the specialist what I can eat etc.

Babyhippo, Singapoh,
When you were controlling your diet, did you still manage to put on weight? I noticed since I control my diet, my weight has not increased. But bbs still growing. I'm a bit concerned also that whilst I am watching what I eat, I should still eat enough to put on weight.

Gan,
dun worry abt weight liao. my bmi also higher so last pregnancy when i put on only 8kg i so happy. but u see my girl how small.
this time round my dr told me i HAVE to put on at least 12-15kg. i was like HUH!!!!
she told me no choice if i want bb to be a good size.

breastfeed can lose weight very fast, dun worry

grumpus yes! That's the shop the feb 2011 mummies were talking abt.

bubblybear i am ok, have been a roller coaster ride since preggy but my baby being a fighter, is well just a little small in size. =) hopefully i can beef her up these few weeks. How r u doing? Urs is bb boy or girl?

nancy i do sometimes have urge to pee when bb press against my bladder. but now i think she is taller?? she is stretching against my tummy. kept feeling that movement lately

Gan - Yup I went to see the bb carrier u were talking abt .. but ergo looks better design then the M one ... furthermore I got fren going US so will get direct frm there ...

The M one is from Europe = P

I remember u guys were talking abt bb tub stands any of u bought in the end ? I want to get the collapsable bb tub I saw at mothercare. Save space when not in use

nancy,

its normal..haha..smtimes i feel like my babies are kicking the bladder leh... hahaha...the urge to pee comes very often...
esp these two night..i m like pee machine...

Nancy,

Yes, I feel that too especially at night. Pee already, then half hour to one hr later, can pee again even though never drink water in between.