IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

dear Mommies,

I am enquiring on behalf of a friend in US. She is above 40 and did a couple of cycles in US already to no avail. She would like to compare how much it is to do an IVF in Singapore.

My only other comparision is my SIL who estimated that her IVF with Ann Tan in total (meds and all) cost about S$25-30K. (she couldnt be sure as her insurance covers IVF)

If any mommies here can give me advice, my friend and I would be most grateful.

Meantime, all the best and take care!
Pam

Working wife,

Err... Me never give up my nationality wor unless I hv no choice la.

My weight gain was slow until I hit 3rd trimester. My twins gained enough throughout the pregnancy. I only gained 12 kg in total (36 weeks + 3 days) Dietician said I undergained and I hv to take extra protein. During meal times I got to force myself to eat :s

After I popped, I was hungry all the time especially during confinement and I lost the 12 kg in 18 days! Breastfeeding is good. Hehe... Now I m abt 1.5 kg lighter than pre preggy.

Gan/Panda/Workingwife
Thanks for sharing. Was thinking how come pee so often though maybe in between didnt even drink any fluids.

Panda
Ur babies weight are very good
Imagaine a total weight of 3.6kg inside u excluding the fluids, placenta and others. Not easy for u....Jia you !!

Oh yesterday was watching discovery and saw this program that a mum of 5 babies in a delivery room. The mum was fully awake during her c sect while the gynae operating on her..... Amazing

Gan
Babies are tougher than we think, as long as they are healthy, small size is ok. They will catch up when they are out.

I'm good so far, pregnancy has been smooth except for some staining for a few weeks during tri 1. I guess we all have some things to worry now and again, but since sometimes its beyond our control just try our best to manage. I'm sure your bb will be alright. I'm having a bb boy.

Gan, 1.2kg sounds very acceptable to me leh. I m wondering why still below 50%. At 28 weeks, my little one measures 1.1kg. Since yours was measured at 29weeks, i think 1.2kg is "reasonable" growth.

Also regarding low placenta, i dun think it is serious, if it is, Dr Loh would have brought this up during your past visits.

Dun give yourself unnec stress. Just enjoy your last trimester, just like me.

Gan,
At 29 weeks your girl is 1.2kg arh? Mine at 28 weeks is also 1.1kg and its already above average liao leh. erm.. Maybe diff protocol ba..

Singapoh,
Did you see a dietician at KKH? I am interested in seeing a dietician, trying to find one cuz Thomson doesn't have.

So you had to eat more meat, egg, milk etc to get more protein?

Hey Tickles,
You mentioned drinking chicken essence to boost bb weight. Did you take those ready made Brands essence of chicken or home cooked double boiled chicken essence?

Nancy, thanks! my need to get horizontal is getting higher...hee..and the babies seems to be more active than usual....even when i m sleeping, they continue to move n play inside.... feels like they "suck" all my energy..

working wife, Angela is referring to home cooked chix essence... she also ask me to take... i drink it once a week now... its also a very gd source of calcium ...

Hi gers,

I have seen the cardiac specialist and was told that have to wait for baby birth to determine the next course of action since now baby heart is small...but the prof said should be moderate case. Nothing I can do now except to wait for baby to be born to see how serious is her valve narrowing.

Gan,

You also low placenta? Then must minimize walking too much in a day. Try to lie down more often may help to move placenta up. Btw, when you gers know the weight of the BB? The sonographer and Dr Loh never mention the BB weight to me...

Also what should the BB position in week 25? My scan shows baby head is down...means in labour position???

just faith and tickles, dr loh said yesterday abt bb being smaller in size coz the head circumference, tummy circumference is below the 50% line. But ok lah, at least she is gaining weight consistently.

Just faith not worry abt the low placenta as dr loh didn't ask me bedrest becoz of that but he just mention likely is c section.

Gan, so long as BB is developing and gaining weight consistently, should be fine. Keep yourselves upbeat and baby will feel mummy's love and strength to grow healthier and bigger.

rose, u can ask dr loh abt the bb weight during next visit, he will measure the tummy size and femur length to determine the wt. I think bb is small now so still can move around, dun worry dun think ur bb is engaged. My bb is in oblique position yesterday.

Dear Rose,

Thanks so much!! Will do.
Meantime if any other mommies can provide a ballpark figure it'd be great too. My friend exhausted her insurance in US and it is apparently super expensive to undergo IVF there.

Pam

Pamela - My recent cycle est amt spend is abt 6K+ (based on receipes tabulated, this amt was medisave deducted too) understand that sporean couples have an additional 3K govt grant. So abt 9K-10K total if u go with kkh.

Not too sure if yr fren is entitled to this govt grant.

I've enquired with TFC (thomson fertility centre) & they quoted me at 15K onwards. TFC does deal with overseas patients maybe she want to start off there 1st. Mostly done by Dr LC Cheng

Just Faith,
My baby's weight is 1.6kg at week 32. Today marks my day1 of week 33.

Working wife,
Angela actually told me to drink home cooked ones. Need to double boil. But then lazy me.. Still drinking the bottled ones from EYS.

Panda,
Yes I received. Thanks! The wardrobe very nice and the drawers so colourful... How much did u say u spent? I think I will go wardrobe shopping this weekend..

Gan,

Agree with you. As long as baby is gaining weight consistently, there is nothing much we can do too. hehe. My nx growth scan is on 10/11. Still a long way for me.. Sigh. Btw, when is your nx appt with Dr Loh? Izit in 2 weeks time or 4 weeks?

tickles.. wardrobe i tink is $500plus..the drawers very nice right..keke.. love at first sight when i saw it! it comes in different heights leh...i plan to get the whole set slowly when the babies hv more things..keke.... the one i bought is the tallest...200 plus if i remember correctly...

Panda,
icic.. ya.. the drawers very nice... i like the colours. but me want to get wardrobe then can hang my girl's dresses.

Munching on oreo cookies now.. yums yums..
I have been eating magnum mini also.. Jialat.. Say dun wanna put on too much weight, wanna eat healthy. Yet I'm eating all these...

Ladies from KK,

Can I check... Now that considered preggie, I was told the next visit (8 week) will be considered as new patient again. Not sure how kk works. I'm seeing Dr Loh all along. Does this mean he'll be the one doing the delivery for us too? Is there a package? Also what's the difference with seeing him at the private suite?

tickles..ok lah..u so skinny..can afford to indulge ...keke..

i ate half my lunch at 11plus..the other half at 2plus... now hungry... hmm... going to eat my da mai dessert... my mum's friend staying nearby cooked n pass to me just now... very kind lady..

Panda,
I aim to keep my weight below 60kg till delivery time...
So I keep reminding myself must eat healthy must eat healthy. But, after lunch just now I ate a small pack of cheezels and a small pack of chips. Then I just ate oreo cookies. Hahah! Hard to control... Cos its so nice.. salty and sweet...

tickles.. hehe.. ur ger ger likes titbits! haha...no choice..

my checkup yesterday, weight was 68.8 leh! i already weigh more than my hb! hahaha... i cant imagine wht it would be in the next 2 mths....coz babies will be having growth spurt....

just faith, my next visit is 12 nov, dr loh is seeing me 2 weeks later guess becoz yesterday during ctg, at the later part, my bb heartbeat dropped. Cld be lost of contact as bb moved so dr loh just want to be careful and check on me again 2 weeks later and i will do ctg again. U r how many weeks on 10 nov?

Syrah, waiting time at private suite is better though pay slightly more. No package with dr loh, pay as u go but u can signed up fast scheme, where u pay 488 upfront and kkh will just deduct from this amt. U get a $100 vouchure for signing up the scheme. Can use at kk pharmacy only.

Gan,
What's Dr Loh consultation rate at the pte suite? Also there's a timing for private suite? I supposed he can't be at both clinics at the same time.

Hi Working_wife,
Juz came back from doc's visit. Think the "babyhippo" was referring to me? Lol. I'm not hippo lah.
Anyway, I do gain weight even when on GD diet. Only that the gain is at a steady rate. Dietician was pleased with the rate of wt gain and most of my wt gain goes to bb. Till now i only put on ard 3kg compared to pre-pregnancy wt although i lost abt 5kg in Tri 1. Maybe the GD diet helps coz at least the wt gain is steady and most of it goes to bb actually.

The dietician did mention i shld gain wt steadily even on GD diet. Maybe u wanna check with ur diabetes specialist ur food intake. Mine did run through what i usually eat and advised accordingly.

Rose,
Dr Loh first measured my bb's wt from last visit. That was abt 22.5 wks. Today he measured too. Think 80% of my wt gain goes to bb coz i only put on abt 500g in 3 weeks.

Pandawife,
I'm also heavier than my hubby now. I can't believe that I'm already 75.6kg when I weighed myself yesterday! Have put on more than 20kg during this pregnancy! Luckily it's coming to an end in 2 days time!

Tickles,
I was telling my hubby that you look so petite and pretty even after giving birth to your daughter. Don't worry too much about weight gain. Pregnancy is the time you can eat and enjoy yourself without worrying about gaining weight

YOu are already 33 weeks? That's fast. It will be your turn to pop after us

Fashion spree,
How was your appointment with Dr Loh today? Fixed your date for C-section?
I saw Dr Loh yesterday and was rather disappointed that I have to go for C-section instead of having natural delivery as I've last discussed with him. The reason being that my girl, though is head down now, is now low enough for a smooth delivery. Secondly, the boy, who's 2.7kg now, is bigger than the girl but is on top. It's always better to get the bigger twin out first so that the second one can come out smoothly. Dr Loh was saying that if I were to induce, the success rate is only 50-50. I may have to risk going for C-section after many hrs of labour. After weighing all the pros and cons, my husband and I decided to go for C-section this fri.

Are you having epidural or GA? I haven't really decided which one to take. The injection of epidural itself was very painful according to my friend who had twins as her tummy was rather big and she couldn't bend her back to form a C-shape. The thought of being cut up when I'm conscious is also quite scary..

Bing,

hee.. just now i was still wondering if u hv popped!

i hv put on 18.8kg even though now only 28wks plus..... i will definitely exceed 20kg....opps...

wow... 2 more days u will get to meet ur babies! feel very excited for u!!

dont worry too much about the c sect process..i tink the anticipation of seeing your babies will be so overwhelming tht u will not even think about being cut up! esp the moment baby appear in front of u!

Babyhopeful,

Dr Loh never measured...the last visit, when I asked him how's my BB weight, he just said ok...
-__-'''

Bing,

Wow, you finally can see your babies face to face in 2 days time! So excited for you. Dun worry, everything will be perfect!

Syrah,

Dr Loh only has consultation at The Private Suite on certain days, think its wednesday. Think only ten dollars difference.

For me, even while I opted for TPS, many a times, I still have to see him at clinic D due to my ADC scan appt in the morning as usually the nurse will try to schedule scan and doc consultation on the same day.

Do sign up for the Fast Scheme, no need to wait for payment after Dr Loh's consultation, can just walk off. Can ask for Fast Scheme sign up at the registration counter at Clinic D.

Rose,

I dun remember going to ADC for scan that often leh. In fast, most of the scans were done at his clinic. Whether TPS or Clinic D.

Syrah,

KKH dun have package unlike those private hospital. Just pay as you visit Dr Loh. Since it is still early, you do not have to decide now if you want Dr Loh or other doctors to deliver your babies. You can decide that when you are in yr last tri. For now, just enjoy your MS. LOL.. *so bad hor?*

Gan, officially, should be 32 weeks. I think this growth scan is ordered by GUSTO. That's why I purposedly request for my nx visit on 10/11. Now I try to remember I am 3 weeks behind tickles and 1 week ahead of you... something like that lah.... I cant remember too many things these days.

just now cook rice, I forgot whether I put 2 cups or 3 cups. end up, i pour the rice back into a dried bowl.

syrah, dr loh will be at TPS on wed and fri afternoon.
Just checked my bills, seeing dr loh at clinic d is $62 + 7 for routine test, TPS is $68+10 for routine test.
If u see dr loh, he will deliver for u unless he is on leave. I asked him yesterday he said he is away in dec, when he is away, john tee or h h tan will cover him in delivery.

Bing must be excited to see ur 2 baobeis!

Rose the mummy at other thread seems to be keen on origins...will check out these other 2. Kekeke i try first and let u know whether good then u can book for urs since u delivering in feb

Ladies, so after tickles, whose turn to pop? Me ah? Or pandamummy?

Baby, how are you doing today? Din see your posts. Hope your angels and you are doing fine.

Rose, from week 25 onwards, Dr Loh started to measure baby's weight. Maybe you want to check back your scan pictures, sometimes the weight is printed there.

Just Faith,

if u go all the way to 39/40weeks, i will probably pop first

baby and I shld b due around the same time....

Gan,

When is your EDD? I really getting forgetful...

Just Faith,

Coz I always kena something for my eery ADC scan, so end up having repeated scan very often...first is oscar scan, then repeated oscar and doppler scan, then 3 times cardiac scan...last few scans, sonographer stop giving me the scan pictures.

I see, I just 25 weeks.

Syrah,

I feel that TPS waiting area is far more comfortable than clinic D. Has nice sofa, cool aircon, hot milo...makes your waiting more bearable.

Babyhopeful - sorry! got mixed up with the Jan MTB thread
heheee, sorry so paiseh.

You put on 500g in the last 3 weeks? I think in the last 3-4 weeks, I also put on about 500g. Seems so little to me especially since I have been piling on so much earlier. I guess earlier the weight gain was unhealthy cuz I was snacking so much!

Baby - are you back home and resting now? Hope all is ok.

Yeah, actually hard to keep track of who is due when too. Saw the spreadsheet which was sent out but not many ppl update that.

Everyone mind to update here? I think this should be the order bah...

Bing - Oct 29
Nancy - ?
Tickles - ?
Grumpus - ?
Pandawife -?
Baby - ?
Just Faith -?
Gan - ?
Babyhopeful - ?
working_wife - 7 Jan 2011 (assuming 37 weeks)
Rose -?
JJ -?

Hello gals...
Thanks for asking for me...

Im still in hosp... Thought can go home this evening but dr ask me to stay one more night... Cos ctg still can detect mild contractions after the drip is stopped...

Dr will increase my oral med to 4 times a day.. And he might put me on patches... Hopefully tml can go home.. Been in hosp since monday... The hosp bill sure gonna shock me.. Haha...

Later 10pm gonna do ctg again... Hopefully no more contractions... I miss my home... Miss my bed...

Working wife,

Bing - Oct 29
Nancy - ?
Tickles - ?
Grumpus - ?
Pandawife -?
Baby - ?
Just Faith -?
Gan - ?
Babyhopeful - ?
working_wife - 7 Jan 2011 (assuming 37 weeks)
Rose -14 Feb 2011
JJ -?

baby do rest well. Will ur mum or in laws come by ur place to take care of u when home so that u can rest more?

Rose my EDD is 10 jan

Baby, jia you...better to make sure all is well before going home.. Hopefully we will hear from u when u r back home tmr

Working wife, k help me update coz using iPhone...dunno how to copy n paste. Assuming 37 weeks, mine is 25dec. But I got feeling I will pop before tht...Hee...