IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hazel, I also do not mind let her call home or her cousin when she's free as long as she pay for her own pocket. But she just joined us for 3 weeks so we do not want to give her the impression that we will be paying everything for her. In fact, i already paid $20 to get the IDD card for her to call home. As of now, she still doing fine but we will continue to monitor after my bbs arrive.

Soon-to-be, you even loan her money to pay for her daughter's school ar?! Wow...then this maid is really being ungrateful! I also ensure that my maid have something for breakfast, wun let her go hungry and slog like a slace. Some people just take it for granted what we offer to them.

Stb, bbhp, dun get upset over this. No gd change. There r good Helpers around. Just luck. Dh's first maid from Philippines was bad. This current one who has worked here for 10 yrs is gd. So can explore those who r already working here also.

Zara, 'assistants'? That is a gd one!

bbhp - my maid also very fortunate now as there is really nothing much for her to do with the house ...we also ensure that she had enuf to eat and we let her read her books whenever she is free and all her job done ... the only prob with my maid is when she starts watching TV it's like she's being glued to the screen and wld not do any work ... and she is the forgetful type ... tt is y i will raise my voice @ her ....

Hazel - ya lor, the 1st time he mention that and I was like who is that?????

Zaza...hahaha...my ex maid aso glued to TV....when we are talking to her or my MIL was teaching her how to cook, her eyes can still be watching the TV...and also super forgetful, and she can tell me in philippines, women after giving birth are forgetful.....so I asked her shld i send her back and employ 1 who has not become a mother yet?

Bbhp, yup, we didn't wan her to worry abt her daughters so my dh quite readily loan her the money...during her last day w us, she can only remember all the things that my MIL gave her.

Stb,
Your ex maid is really too much. You treated her so well yet she didn't appreciate and run away instead!
I interviewed a few potential candidates over the past few days and just confirmed my maid today. An Indonesian who had worked in Sg for 4 years taking care of toddlers. I hope we are lucky this time to get a good one. Keeping my fingers crossed.
My husband and I feel that we should treat maids well as they are away from their family and work in foreign countries. They are quite pathetic as they can work for the first half a year without getting any pay in order to pay back the agency. But after listening to your story, I think we can't treat them too well from the beginning, otherwise they wil take everything for granted.
We have come to the agreement that I'll be the gd guy and my hubby be the bad guy. If she does anything wrong, my hubby will not hesitate to show her some colour.

BBhp, zaza,
I think my maid will be very fortunate like yours for the first few months. I wanted to bring in the maid around week 30, closer to my EDD so that she can have some time to learn cooking and clean up all the baby stuff. However, this maid that I've selected is already at Batam training centre and the agency said that they can only hold her until 1st week of Aug. I'll be 25weeks by then. It's kind of early but we don't want to miss this maid and realise that we can't find a suitable one later.
What are your maids doing at home now? Basic household chores? I think there's really nothing much for my maid to do at home for the initial 2months. Do you mind sharing with me your timetable for the maid?

Rose, Hazel, thanks. I actually heard from some friends that their docs ask them to take throughout. But I guess no harm taking since it's just a vitamin right.

My dr also ask me to stop my folic acid after first tri.. But the prenatal vits he gives me contain folic as well... Maybe cos the vits has it so ask me to stop my own folic..
Folic is a normal vit so its ok to take thruout..

Fruitree,
My gynae asked me to start taking prenatal multi-vitamins from the beginning of Tri 2. I asked him whether it's necessary to continue taking folic acid and he said it's not necessary since the multi-vitamins tablets contain folic acid.

Pandawife, grumpus, ur obimin is obimin plus or new obimin?

Dr Loh gave me new obimin yesterday...packaging different from the obimin plus. but new obimin dun have DHA

Zaza, how old is your maid? From phil too? Mine also can be quite forgetful at times. Left her things in the toilet after bath and we got to remind her.

Bing, glad that you found a suitable maid. From which agency? I brought in my maid when I was week 30. I have the sample timetable from soon-to-be and Singapoh, just made slight changes and gave it to my maid on her first day of work. Maybe you can pm me your email? She helped me to clean the whole hse and wash bb stuff. You are right, there's nothing much for her to do for first few months till bbs arrive. So recently I brought her to my mum's place to learn cooking from her.

Stb, how the maid repay u the loan money to u since you have returned to the agency? If it is not a huge sum then still ok.

Gan, Dr Loh prescribe Obimin & Natal Care Plus for me since Tri 2. However, pharmacy ran out of Obimin and gave me Obimin Plus instead. Both Obimin has folic acid in them.

Bing - yup, she does the household cleaning and assist me with cooking ... since we wld be moving to a new place next week, she is also the one packing most of the stuffs into the boxes with our monitoring of course ....I do not have a fixed time-table even though Singapoh has given me hers as we want her to be initiative and do things on her own ...

bbhop - my maid is 32 this year and she is from Indonesia ... I had just reminder her on her forgetfullness when I gave her salary ytd ... I even warn her when she make mistakes in handling the twins then I wld not hesitate to send her back ... must instill fear in her if not she will be "boh chap" and continue making her mistake ...

Ladies - for those who is currently using nappy cloths for your baby, do you purchase the nappy liners also? How many nappies do you standby in a day?

Zaza, u pay ur cash? A relative's maid accused my relative once tt she nv pay her! N the relative has to pay twice in the end coz there is no evidence tt she has been paid.

From this incident, dh always transfers the maid's pay to her account. At least there are some traces that she is paid. This relative now resorts to having the maid signs on the official receipts bought from bookstore.

Hazel - yup, we pay her cash as my maid does not have a bank account yet ... the maid agency had prepared an official receipts where bth us the employer and the maid signs as proved that we had paid her salary ... anyway I also track separately whenever we pay her ...

The folic acid found in prenatal vits are quite low, i think about 0.5mg compared to the normal dose of 5mg in 1st trimester. Some docs will ask you to continue while others said can stop.

Anyway, by 2nd trimester, the neural tube would have been formed so no need folic acid as it is required to prevent neural tube defect.

zaza,
u need to get nappy liners if not the poo will be quite difficult to clean off.
i started with 20 nappies for my girl, but later added another pack so had 30, but she's a singleton.
cos when very young can use up to 10 nappies a day, then we also use the nappies for swaddling, laying on the sofa before putting her there etc.

i do laundry everyday so i hv additional to buffer for incase no time to fold, rain cannot dry in time etc.

gan
There are some studies saying DHA causes hyperactivity in young children. So some Drs now don't recommend taking DHA while pregnant. When I had #1, Dr ask me to take, now with #2, he say not neccessary. Even my GP say DHA is not neccessary.

zaza
WHen I was using cloth. I use nappy liners also, keeps baby bottom drier and if they poo, with liner, less poo to scrub from the nappy. I check cloth nappy every hr.

zaza,
oh, that type of cloth nappy i dunno how many u'll need, dunno how long they take to dry. unless everytime there are 2-3 soiled ones u get yr maid to handwash them.

zaza
Wow, u use state-of-the-art nappy cloth. U can check if bb bottom is dry without using liner. If u change frequent enough, it should be ok. But is it easy to clean off poo ?

grumpus & bubbybear - we only need to change the insert every 3-4hrs ... the outer cover can change once a day if not dirty ... advisable to still use nappy liner so easier to remove when baby poo .... i only intent to use during night time as during day time will still use the normal cloth nappy

zaza, is the whole nappy with the insert thick?

i was tinking of ordering some too...but looks like very thick n bulky from the pic......

Bbhp,
I got my maid from Amorie Employment Services. A friend's recommendation. Did you get the runaway bond for your maid? Mine is optional and have to top up another $50+ to get the bond. I was planning to open a bank account for the maid and tranfer her pay to the account every month. Everything will be transparent and she can't run away so easily since I'm holding on to her pay. I wonder whether it will work this way.
I've pm you my email addy. Pls email me the timetable for reference. Thanks!

Zaza,
My maid is also 32 this year and from Indo as well. You are also moving house? Seems like alot of preggie ladies here are moving house before delivery. Actually it's easier to move before the bb pop. Can do up the nursery at the smae time. I'll be moving next year. It won't be easy when my babies are only a few months old. Given the choice, I would prefer to move before the babies come but my new place is still not ready yet.

Bing - yup we are moving house before I pop if not we wld have to wait till the confinement period is over before we can shift ... so we decide to shift next week and slowly can used to the new house

Bing, check your email. Yes, I got the runaway bong from the insurance. It's inclusive in the package. To open a bank account, you will need a minimum amount of $500 leh. I also intend to bank every month's pay to the account but yet to check if my maid is agreeable.

Talking abt maid, my maid went and tell my mum that she wants to fast during hari raya. She hasnt approach me I wonder whether I shd agree to this or not. if she fast will she have strength to take care of my bb???

Bbhp,
Thanks for the house rules and timetable. I bought the runaway bond in the end just in case. The agent told me that alot of indo maids want to remit money back to their family every month and may not want to bank in their pay. We'll need to arrange with them and see what's their preference.

Twinstars,
From what I know, when these maids go overseas for work, they need not fast anymore. So far none of the Indonesian maids my mum employed fast. If they fast, how to have energy to do work? Maybe you can check with your agency on this.

Twinstars, my ex-maid said she want to diet coz she gained 1kg within the 1st mth she was with me...I told her up to her as long as she had the energy to work, won't faint and won't fall sick...