IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Pandawife, Gan, Baby79 - so happy to see that most of you already know your babies' genders! So exciting!!

I finally finished my work, am now on sabbatical leave till I deliver! Now can focus on just resting at home.

Just did my NT scan last Friday. Next appt is 4 weeks later, and shld be able to see gender then. Really looking forward to it!

Do you find that your symptoms have alleviated after first trimester?

tickles,
since u're getting a CL this time round it should be better. ask yr CL to take care of everything else so that yr only job is to latch and pump, pump and latch. get yr CL to boil all soups etc which are good for supply.

family support is very impt if u want to bf. during confinement, my hubby used to get ready my pump for me every 3 hrs so all i need to do is sit up in bed and pump. when i'm done i pass everything back to him he will wash, sterilise and store for me

if yr bb can latch well then is much easier. my girl didn't latch at all so i pumped exclusively. i keep up the 3hrly pumping for the 1st 2 mths, after that once supply established can start dragging the hrs in between pumps. my girl was on full bm for one yr.

my cousin in law was also having probs latching her girl, one wk after her bb born her breasts still soft and never get engorged at all even though she never even pump out the milk. her bb was almost on full fm. she came to me for help and i told her the exact same thing. she bought a pump and started pumping every 3 hrs. soon her bb was on full bm and she managed to fully bf her bb for 8 mths.

so go for it cos it definitely can be done!!

(if really bf fail, then just sell off the pump 2nd hand or keep for #3 lor :p )

Dear ladies- Anyone under SF LOH see him at TPS before? Is the q better than clinic D? Yest i had my 1st f/u with him at Clinic D, after waiting for 3.5hr, i did not get to see him! My hubby was like so upset. We see another young lady for 3min then bye. Luckily did see my own pte gynae earlier. Now we are debating if we should continue with him. I wann to 'cos he is the one who give me my miracle. But we are concern abt the attn he can give me. Any advice? Thks

working wife, for me symptoms slightly better...i m still throwing up on a daily basis... but at least can eat abit better...n dun feel nausea the whole day.

how are u feeling? much better?

grumpus,
Your post really gave me light on pumping leh.. Erm.. Ok, i shall try your method.. opefully I will succeed this time..

bb rabit,
Erm.. I think if I were u, I will change to my own pte gynae, cos if Dr Loh cant give u the attn that u need, why not change to another doc who can.. Just my thoughts..

Panda..
Yes. gg on 31 Jul.. But actually, everytime I do my scan with Dr Ann, she is always quite detailed. Will scan the spine, fingers, see the face etc. My hubby say she always do detailed scan for me..

tickles, i tink thts the good thing about going to her. Her scan machine is very good.

i m looking forward to doing scans at Dr Paul's clinic... the one at CARE is a small scan machine...images abit blur-ish.....the good thing is angela can do weekly scans for us with it.....

BB Rabit
I echo Tickles thoughts. 3.5 hr wait just to see a Dr is absurb. I have better use of my time. Once you BFP, it is like other normal pregnancies, other Dr can also monitor and do delivery just as well. He has more than enough patients to look after.

bb rabit, seeing dr loh at TPS, waiting time shorter compared to clinic d. I also must wait at least 2 hrs to see dr loh at clinic d. Tonite seeing hime at TPS. The last time i see dr loh at TPS, waited for abt 45min i think,

bb rabit; i agreed with tickles, I rather to have a Dr who has time to monitor and sometime give some advices. My IVF Dr has told me feel free to change to normal Gynae. Asked to go back to my previous gynae. After 1st tri, we can stop the support medicine and will be same like normal pregnancy. I thought your pte gynae is good. Btw, which pte gynae you are seeing?

Live- I am with Fong Yang. The waiting time is long as well. But he is quite detail and i did my soiui with him. So went back to him for immediate support after BFP.

Gan- THKS. I shall try the it one more time at TPS. If the q is still so bad, think i will stick to Fong Yang

Tickles/ Bubbybear- THKS. I also find the 3.5hrs wait funny. I still got to go 1 hr earlier to scan at a difference place. Best part is i dun get to see him after waiting for so so long. But no doubt, He is good, i love him. "cos he give me my miracle

bb rabit: His clinic at Tiong Bahru right? I have heard about him, he is quite famous too. You see him every week or alternate week? You are how many week now?

Live- He got 2 clinics, on tue and thur, he is at tiong baru, the rest of the days at Paragon clinic. I usually go to Paragon clinic, bigger and nicer. Me onli wk 6.5, long way to go. Been seeing him 1 per wk since i BFP, go for BT and injections 1 and 2 times per week respectively.

Pandawife - on certain days, my symptoms seem to be better. Appetite is slowly returning. Though i still have very bad heartburn and gastric problem. I've had this since 6-7 weeks, doctor gave me Mylanta to take. And also, I have ALOT of wind, stomach v bloated and sometimes alot of gassy pain. I have nausea still off and on, but no puking.

I remember you mentioning you will switch to TMC gynae? So which gynae are you with now, who will deliver you?

Baby79 - you shld be about 15 weeks now? Looking forward to your twins' gender scan? So exciting!

Panda: Ya.. Her scan machine is good. She will always zoom in and let us see clearer too. She already told us there is no visible cleft on the lips. So we very happy..

bb rabit,
Ya. if wait for long see him still nvm, wait so long and never get to see him, I think its abit too much lor. Think he gt too much patients to look after le.

working wife,

At CARE, Dr Paul Tseng is the one monitoring us.. so i will follow him to TMC... he delivers most of the triplets at CARE..so was recommend to continue ....

Dr Paul has his own clinic at TMC, but also concurrently works with CARE.

tickles... ohh.. thts good news! another pretty princess on the way.

Panda:
ya.. I'm happy to hear that too. At least 1 less thing to worry abt.. My gynae for #1 never tell me such things when she do scan for me.

Live- My last scan was yest, just heard the bb heartbeat. For a moment, i feel more relieved. Just singleton. How abt u? How many weeks and how many bbies?

Can any ladies advise me. KKH told me to confirm with them if i want to go for DS testing and do it ard wk 11. She did not even tell me the pros and cons, just tell me we are giving u a few week to think. Do we really need DS testing? I intend to do the detail test at Camden as well. Which week wil that be? I think i read before that DS testing got a possibilities of M/C, is that true?
My Hubby was so amazed by that young ger that he tell her upfront, we will consult our pte gyane next week.

tickles, the scans tht dr paul has done for me hor.. always very brief and fast leh.. he will just measure the babies..then tell me everything ok.. thts all...

i m hoping when i go to his clinic, will hv like a proper consultation session ....

Panda: I think will ba.. When Dr Ann do the scan for me she will say, look at the little fingers then she'll start counting, then she will tell me, this is the what what what... Think will have de..

bb rabit: How come they never take your blood then do NT scan first before asking u if u want to do DS testing? Mine, they did blood test and combine with the NT scan results, they told me mine is very low risk so no need to do DS test leh. I did my blood test and NT scan at my 1st trim scan which is ard 12 weeks. But dunno if its a norm at KKH thou..

BB rabbit,
i think the DS test they are talking abt is the oscar test. bt plus NT scan to measure risk of DS. this one has no risk of m/c. usually done abt 11-14wks.
but i think is quite bad that they never explain to u properly wat the test is abt.

the other test u are talking abt is amnio done much later around 20wks. that one has some risk of m/c but is 100% confirmation whether bb is DS or not.

Nctgrace, it will stop on it's own if u dun squeeze ur breasts. When I m/c, I didn't take med to stop the BM also. Breast pain I used cold cabbage from freezer to soothe it. After a few days, pain subside. But BM took a while to cease even when I didn't express

Bbrabbit, when u register for oscars test at AMC, the person there will explain all these to u. At this pt, u shld hv been given a phamplet of oscars test to tell u wats is abt. When u decided n register u will be briefed

tickles
Now can feel bb movement liao??
How many weeks will we able to feel the movement? I dont feel anytin yet le...

Working wife
Yup.. Im 15 weeks as of today..
surprise u know how many weeks i am now.. Hee...
Quite excited to know the genders.. I believe will know next
week...

bb rabit the ds test the girl ask u is oscar test, i.e. Bt and nt scan. From the results, get the combined ratio for risk of ds. If ratio higher than 1:300, u maybe advised to go for amino but decision is up to u. Kkh test do before 14 weeks. Usually 11 weeks to 13 weeks

I did both scan at kkh and camden and find that camden is more detailed. Camden u do the scan at 14 weeks

grumpus and rabbit,

I am also with KK and will be doing my DS scan next week.

Grumpus, may I know, which package you took? I took package A as the lady explained that the scan itself is 80 percent accurate, can tell if got DS.

But then package B includes blood test.
So I asked her if there is any diff in cost if I would to take package A and later take a blood test to double check, assuming the scan shows some risk of DS (which is the same as what package B offers). She said no diff for cost. Makes me wonder why need packages in the first place if there is no cost diff between the packages? Also got package C which covers everything...think this is the one Rabbit mentions may have risk of M/C.

Tickles, dr loh cld be called away for a delivery which he can't plan. The young dr cld be dr Kelly loi.. Quite an experienced doc also. Some mummies here r her patients.

tickles, next monday morning going for scan at TMC... i hv a long list of qns to ask Dr Paul..keke...

baby, i can also feel bb movement ... initially more obvious at night when i lie down...now day time when i m sitting up, also i feel them moving...

rose,
sorry i'm not with kk so i dun know the different packages.
but wat my dr told me was the NT scan alone gives abt 80% accuracy, the BT gives abt 70% accuracy. when they combine the 2 tests together to compute the risk factor, the accuracy is abt 95%.
so maybe for cost reason, some ppl just decide to take package A which is just the scan, whereas some may choose upfront to go for the higher accuracy which is package B, BT plus scan.

baby,
usually for first bb u'll take longer to identify the bb movement. and also individual ladies will feel differently. my girl and now this bb both also very good at 'hiding'. my girl i think i didn't feel here movements until 18wks onwards. but mine was singleton lah.
2nd pregnancy ppl always say will feel earlier but so far i dun feel anything also :p

baby,
I started feeling bubble bursting like feeling ard 13-14 weeks. Quite early. Maybe cos its my 2nd pregnancy. Then I started feeling real movements maybe ard 16-17 weeks.. can feel baby kicking etc. Mine also esp active at night and in the early morns.. At times, I will wake up then cant slp after that cos keep feeling the movements..

Panda: Can see that u are really excited abt it..
Think should be able to cfm the other sexes too le..

Hazel: Icic.. Think Dr Loh really gt a lot of patients.. Very popular.. Read abt his miracle hands. Thats why I feel maybe after strike liao, if want more attention, should change to private.. Else really need to wait super long..

Tickles, I agree with tt. Wanted to change gynae after 1st trimester Tat time also.. But my mum said no.. She said I shld not ditch him ESP when he helps me to get pregnant.. She said wat if I needed his help again n then go back to see him tt time very paiseh loh..

tickles, i dun hv the bubbles popping feeling already... now i can feel movement in there...bt i cannot tell if they are kicking, waving hands or playing somersault in there...hehe....

Hazel: icic.. Sometimes its like that. That time I was complemplating changing my gynae cos her charges very ex. Plus she dun go by packages. I pay for every visit and every visit I pay like $300 - $1k depending on whether I do BT or what types of med i take. Plus cos of my bleeding, I go quite often. Then was thinking if should change. End up also cos we feel she help us to strike so never change. Luckily now cos more stable liao so less jabs and BT and other test so every visist is ard $300plus and visit are ard 3 weeks apart liao. So still not so bad..

Panda..
Me too. No more bubbles, Thats why at time I'm awaken by the movements then after that cant slp liao. I feel its kicks cos at times its very sudden and powerful.

tickles, i tink ur movements are more obvious..coz baby is bigger already...hee...

mine are still gentle movements...tht feels ticklish ... and when it happens..its a series of it..like kick kick kick kick..hehehe...:p

Hi ladies, I went to see doc yesterday and all babies are fine.

Tickles, you're right. Dr Loh is a very busy man. I know of a few friends who switched from him to pte gynae after BFP. For me, I'm still sticking to him. Mainy cos mine is high-risk pregnancy and since he's got a lot of experience with multiples I thought I should stick to him. Plus, since i am on the CSC card, it makes more sense for me to stick with government hospital. I go to TPS, the wait is not too long there. I think you should also see how comfortable you are with the doctor.

Panda, how are you now? My MS seems to be reducing but nowadays at night, i always have indigestion problems.

Fruitree,

CSC card can use for such consultation???
Glad ur MS has reduced, mine too. But had severe diaharrea on Monday, think I anyhow eat after appetite came back a bit. Took laksa, curry etc...my bad.

fruitree, glad to hear tht the babies are fine.

my MS is still seasonal...yesterday was extremely bad.. today so far so good.... it seems to help if i get the food that i wanna eat..if i force myself to take otherwise, i end up throwing up...n tht sort of makes me feel lousy the whole day.

but hor, my entire tummy is now all bloated n hard...from just below the bust area onwards...dunno if its normal...

Fruitree, u got CSC card? Gd leh, no need to pay money when see govt doc. My parents have the cards. With the card, most things r free..

Tickle, ur gynae really ex.... Pte rates really much more ex.. At KKH I nv spend beyond 150 bucks until do detailed scan like oscars