IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bing - thanks for the address.... I had started buying some stuffs and gg progressively since now is GSS ... yes im carrying twins but the genders still unknown

mummies and mtbs, i remember reading here abt kk doing the bt too early for the ds screening? Actually how many weeks when we r preggy will provide more accurate result? I am seeing dr loh this sat when i am abt 9weeks 4 days, i guess he will ask me do the ds bt. Can i ask for retest later?

Gan this is kinda subjective. Those with a good result will say it isn't too early...those who didn't do so well eventually went to Camden for a second opinion.
When you're counselled, there will be 3 choices open to you. I opted with the early full test... if i remember correctly there was another test that was similar but done quite a few weeks later. If your result - touch wood - isn't good, then you can choose either amniocentesis or if that sounds too scary due to the risks, then perhaps go Camden for a detailed scan.

thanks singapoh and spiffy i asked coz i am 38 this yr, so i guess with my age factor considered the results maybe pull down. Will see the bt plus first trim scan combined and if the result not ideal *touch wood!!*, will think of next step.

gan,

i agreed with singapoh, do it together with your scan. early bt is really not that accurate bcos the blood stream may not carry's baby's blood yet. thats wat i read.

u can call up to change appt together with your scan..

Bakaholic, no lo. Prof never give me anything when I told him I'm going to TMC once he gave green light. He asked me to stay with Nuh as he said they have better equipment n all but with only two times scan thru out pregnancy I think I will go crazy. N also hubby prefer TMC as it is nearer too.

Btw of course if u feel lethargic then sleep more. U have enough iron?
I'm pretty energetic thru out pregnancy.

N also that time is sunflower who asked me what I eat during pregnancy right? Left out that on top of blacksmore prenatal vit I everyday take spirulina. I think this def help lo.
Even from ivf time I started already as it is high in protein too.
N I eat little veggies so spirulina really good source for all gut for me. ;)

Vi4n,
I think Taising is between lavender and bugis mrt station. Should be nearer to lavender station but still two or three bus stop away. The best is to take bus cos alot of buses go north bridge rd.
You still got energy to go Taising? What do you need to buy?

Bing, thanks I'm thinking either to go nearest mrt then cab or what. Bus I don't know where to stop.
I wanna get the baby chair.
they have one on promo only $199 ;)

stb, the range is from that promo price $199 to $400 plus. So I wanna compare n see which one should I get. Won't get the $400 one la. ;)

Gan,
Dr Loh also scheduled for me to go for the NT scan when I saw him at around week 9. I asked him whether I can do the BT and ultrasound later as I heard that people who did the tests too early may get inaccurate results. He said it's not true. In fact, the tests shouldn't be done too late but before week 14. Otherwise results won't be accurate.
There are 3 packages offered by ADC. I asked Dr Loh which package is better. He was not very willing to make any comment initially but eventually he said the one which test for PAPP-A and free beta hcg is better. So we signed up for that pkg.

Bing NT scan not done around week 12?when singapoh and sunfl@wer said bt with scan i was thinking do bt in week 12.
The package u chose, u did during week 9? It's also a BT? if I choose this package no NT scan? Thks

Vi4n,
My iron level is fine. Just that my blood a bit thick so blood circulation not as good thus will feel tired.
I have never taken spirulina so I dun think i dare to start. I only take the blackmores prenatal and balanced diet only. I got 1-2 mths more so i just rest as much as I can.

Gan,
I signed up for package B. This pkg includes a blood test from 9 weeks and u/s scan between 11weeks to 14weeks. I did my BT at 11weeks and u/s at 13weeks.
Dr Loh will write a referral letter for you to go ADC to make appointment. The staff there will give u a short counselling session to explain to you the purpose of the tests and different packages. Probably you can arrange your BT and u/s scan to be done on the same day if you don't wish to do the BT too early.

I think I do both on week 11-12 then review on week 13 then clear to switch to other gynae liao.
The Nuh advice is to do between week 11-13. I do find kkh practice of testing on week 9 is too early.

Bakaholic, did u take additional calcium or drink 2glass of milk daily? My gynae said blacksmore calcium not enough after 2nd tri. So if u are in 3rd tri better have more calcium ok. I took extra 1 tab of caltrate in 3rd tri.
Ya don't start spirulina if u never take before.

Gan,
You must be excited to see your bb again tmr? Don't worry too much about your NT scan. Alot of women in their 40s also give birth to healthy babies ;)
I'm seeing Dr Loh again on 29th and doing the week 20 detailed scan on the same day. I can't wait for that day to come so that I can confirm the genders of my bbs. Really hope for a girl since the other one is a boy.

My scan is at 8.30am I think. I booked the earliest slot available. Will be seeing Dr Loh at 10+. What time is yours?
All the best for your coming amnio test! Don't worry too much yeah ;)

Bing,
mine was 9.30am for my 20week scan. Ya next tues will be doing my amino test.
I will pray hard for the good result too. I believe my bb will fight through with me.

Bakaholic, indeed calcium will caused constipation. Since I started caltrate slight issue with pooping but still can go daily. Then do increase your milk intake to 2 glasses a day. Now baby needs lotsa calcium if u read. ;)

fashion spree dun worry, am sure ur amino result is good.

Bing wow u coming to 20 weeks le! Long feng tai will be cute. =) how come u know the sex of one and not the other bb?

Hi Bing, are your twins sharing the same placenta? Mine are in 2 different placenta hence was told oscar test results won't be accurate. I only did NT scan and am contemplating amnio test. Did Dr Loh share with you the risk of amnio test for multiple pregnancies?

Fashion spree, why u need to do amnio ah?
jus keep on praying for good result for u n bing.
Very fast 20 weeks details scan already.
I only relieved after seeing the result of 20 weeks scan ;)

Gan,
I'm only in week 17 now. You will reach this stage in no time ;) My dh just commented that I'm probably half way through the pregnancy and I thought time really flies once you get preggie.
Dr Loh said that one is a boy and the other a girl when he did u/s scan for me at week 10 and week 13. He said still must confirm again later but he's quite certain that one of them is a boy. So we take it as one is a boy and the other one TBC ;)

Bubbly me,
I think if we conceive twins through ivf, they should all be fracternal twins and will have different placenta. Having different placenta shouldn't give you inaccurate results as the u/s scan are done separately on the 2 babies? And the same blood from the mother is supplied to both babies?
How's your NT scan results? If it's good, is it still necessary to go for amnio test? Have you discussed with Dr Loh? I think drs won't do amnio test unnecessarily.

bubbly,

yes i heard from some other sisters that fracternal twins will have less accurate oscar tests.

Gan,

my scan was scheduled at wk11 i think. then i call up to change my BT from wk9 to wk11 too..when i was there, i opt the package without BT bcos the cost was cheaper by half.. haha

hi bing,
the NT u/s scans are done separately and should be accurate. as for blood test, it is less accurate because can't tell for certain the results are contributed or more affected by the genetics of which baby.

my NT scan results are ok... for 1 twin at 1/518 and 1/259 for the other, for my age...the statistics is 1/189. but i am just a little paranoid because NT scans are just 85% accurate and i am skipping oscars test. So am contemplating doing amnio test. my gyane is not dr loh.

Hi Sunflower, yes...that's what my doc advised and some websites also say the same.

bubbly,

i have a ivf fren..her statistics also ard your range for singleton.. not very optimistic.. she gave up amino test becos its her precious son, she will not give up..she just delivered her son in may, and everything is normal!

Hi Sunflower,

Thanks for the lovely news which is certainly an encouragement for me!

Am keeping my fingers as well as my hubby's crossed that our babies would be healthy and normal!

Vi4n,
my result for oscar test is high risk that y doc ask me to go for amino test. My bb neck is slightly thicker which is 3.4 mm and according to
my age 35 the cal turn out to be high risk.

I also feel sad n cry when I first knew the result that my risk is high. But I told myself I'm not going to cry as I don wanna to affect bb. I believe my bb will be healthy n will fight through with me as we have gone so far.

Fashionspree, wish u all the best ok.
From what I know the age factor actually will pull down the ratio though it may not accurate lo.
Jus keep on pray for the best ;)

bing week 10 can tell the sex of bb?! Amazing!

Vi4n this age factor thing is what i worried coz i 38 le. Next time if i have a daughter will tell her must give birth before 35! Else go thu unnecessary stress

fashion spree, wat is ur oscar risk? Mine was high risk at 2-3%, initially wanted to do amino..but in the end, cancelled the appt and went to camden for detailed scan.....my risk was subsequently reduced with the detection of the impt features....quite glad that i didn't take the risk to do amino.....

Gan,
agreed with what u say. It's always good to give birth to the 1st kid before 35 to avoid uncessary stres

stb,
I went to Camden to seek 2nd opinion too. After the scan doc reduced my risk to my age group risk.but the dr at Camden did detect my bb feAture like nose bridge, chin and heart are all normal. He also advise me to go for amino test. But he say most likely bb is ok. Just that the neck is too thick that wat worry us.

Anyway, in kkh doc also the water that cause the thickness of the neck may affect my bb heart also. That y now beside the normal scan of the bb,I still need to see heart doc to monitor my bb heart to make sure everything is fine. As per the last detail heart scan of bb is fine. But heart doc say wanna see me again after my 20 week detail scan again to scan my bb heart as most of the veins is form and he can check again.

Singapoh, my monster is a nite owl!!!! I every nite only get to slp 1-2 hrs...last nite really too tired that I gave him formula for both feedings......

Sigh, bb still prefer bottle than my breast leh...maybe I simply too smelly...my MIL jus refused to let me shower everyday and my DH is supportive of that, saying it's for my own good...even threaten me if I dun take care of myself, can forget abt having 2nd one....sigh.....bo pian.....but at least my milk supply increasing, 130-140ml for both breasts....hehehehe...so super happy......now starting to slowly slowly freeze them in preparation of me going back to work in August.....

Fashion, Prof advised you to go amino? I'm surprised coz he was against it.....u sure he really asked u to do that? DH and I felt that he was sort of sitting on the fence - verbally he told us not to coz of the risk, but in the report, he asked us to discuss w our gynae on taking the amino......by the way, to share w u, my cousin-in-law 1st son was detected w thick NT scan too, she didn't do the amino....the son is a healthy n chubby 4 yrs old boy.

Spiffy, how to keep him up during the day? He will cry on top of his voice..he's the little emperor at home now, we are all at his mercy, so the moment he slp, we are sooooooooooooooooooooo happy!

Stb,
yes even dr loh also surprise cos he give me a report to pass to my gynae. Dr loh comment wow this guy always sing the opp and say he confident no need to do amino but for my case he say better to do. I don know y too. But me n dh decided we will go for the amino test since 2 doc suggested that.
But prof did say most likely is a normal bb as my risk for t13 and t18 is rule out. Except t21 for the neck thickness. But I'm been praying hard to god to bless me with a healthy bb.

I believe my bb will know that. Been talking to my bb everyday to prepare him/ her for the amino test. So that on that day the needle will not scare my bb.

fashion spree dun worry, everything will be fine. My colleague did the amino, was done by prof tee and she said not as scary as she tot.

I just seen dr loh, guess will try to fix my 1st trimester screening and bt when i am week 12.

Bing dr loh didn't even tell me what package is there for ds leh, just ask if i want to do ds screening...and i said yes he just filled up a form

stb
u onli managed to sleep 1-2hrs? then try to catch some nap during afternoon time.
me last week still energetic can woke up every morning 730am, but tis week after feed my son the 7am plus feed, i will sleep with him until the next feeds

my total bm still only 50mls..but i think i m quite happy though...usually when the feeding time come, i will let him latch as much as he wants, then i supplement with formula milk

fashion spree
wish u all the best for ur coming amino test, i m sure it will be normal eventually

Gan,
the briefing of the package is by a counsellor in Amc. They will brief u on the charges of the 3 diff packages. I think mine was the package b if I'm not wrong. I paid about $300 plus.

Linda,
thank u.

Stb I know exactly what u mean. Becos they're so young, cannot see well and cannot play much, when they r awake they seem to only want food... But after a feed I'll sing and talk to bb for a while to try to keep 'em awake... What was alvis' birth weight?

Stb,

You must rest well if you don't wanna collapse. Ask your dh to take over night feeding at nite, at least during weekends.

During the day, do nothing but zzz.

Fashion spree, bubbly me,
Don't worry too much. Sometimes NT scan is not 100% accurate. I just met up with a friend yesterday. She told me that her down sydrome risk was very high when she did her first tri screening. She went on to do the amnio test and everything turns out fine. Her girl is already 2 years old and is healthy and intelligent.

Gan,
The counsellor at ADC will explain to you about the packages. It's not Dr Loh's responsibility to explain to you. After doing the tests at ADC, you'll be seeing a doc or prof there and he'll explain to you the results based on a software calculation.
Dr Loh was able to see the gender at week 10. We were quite shocked when he suddenly revealed it. I guess he must be so experienced after seeing so many patients that he can tell straight away by looking at the u/s scan.