IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Ladies, I m having brown spotting today. My 6th week scan is next tues. Shld I go to 24hr clinic? Dunno if I've lost the battle. Haiz.

Juju, cut completely I mean in sugary stuff. U dun need sugar from sugary stuff like desserts, durians, sweets, chocolate, soft drinks, etc. All other food we eat other than high fibre n protein food like veg n meat, all turn into sugar. Fruits N carbo food also contain or turn into sugar. All these r sufficient for the body. No need any other sugary stuff to add on. Even carbo, got restriction in quantity amt. Eg one full bowl of rice will exceed the sugar required for tt meal already. If u eat outside, almost every dish hv sugar other than those steamed food.

Even a cup of tea or coffee. Can only take kosong kind.

Is tough but dn hv a choice. Unless one dun mind insulin jabs. Like Singapoh, really admire her determination. In my view is a miserable process coz we r pregnant, n as far as possible no medication. Singapoh is very disciplined so her blood sugar is under control now. If not, need to do insulin jabs already n tt is very inconvenient if we work coz insulin needs to be kept in the fridge.

Starbabies, pls go 24hrs clinic. No u did not lose the battle. Don't panic. U go clinic to take more support n take MC. U need to rest in bed. It shld be okay

Hazel, I do not have the glucose meter. I'll watch my diet from now onwards and cut down on oily stuff. Thanks.

Juju, u are right too. During my 1st trimester, I often have the faint feeling and I thought I'm low in sugar. Thus bought a pack of mentos and kept in my bag. Whereas I feel faint, i'll take one. Perhaps that's the killer too. Everything just take moderate shld be ok.

Starbabies, u're not alone. I also had brown spotting during week 11 and even 2 weeks ago. Doc said I "dong le tai qi", need to rest more and have medicine support the foetus. During my appt yesterday, doc nagged at me to rest MORE again. I went to 24hrs clinic when I had my first spotting and the duty doc said BBs are fine are cervics closed. I ever called KKH to ask about brown spotting, the nurse advised me to go dwn immediately to 24hrs clinic. I advised u to do so too, at least you will feel more 'fang xin' after doc check the foetus.

StarBabies, would recommend u to go to 24hr clinic, or speak to your IVF gynae, is it Dr SF Loh?

Singapoh, the moment I read the words "buy", "fair", my eyes brighten up! Who's buying wat? Wat good lobang to get?

Bbhp,

better do yr glucose test soon. If u really hv GD, u will attend a full day course. U will hv a better idea in how to control yr glucose level.

My glucose level is a bit low 2 hrs after lunch. Maybe not enuf meat.

Soon to be,

wah u mean those words are better than caffeine? Keke...

I thought of getting the baby cot with free goodies like, foam mattress, musical mobile and 7 piece of bedding at $199. Worth it lor. UP is $399.

StarBabies, u can call him @ 6293-4044 or email him @ [email protected]/[email protected] he will take a while to reply emails...so perhaps u may want to heed the rest's advise to jus go to the 24hrs clinic instead....

Singapoh, definitely! Nothing beat shopping! I was thinking of asking u whether to meet up to go expo fair tomorrow...me still thinking coz there's a briefing for me to attend in the afternoon...if i dun go hor, the IT director is going to suan me...so me still thinkin thinkin....

Bbhp, feel faint needs not be low sugar. I checked b4 with a glucose meter when I feel faint. It cld be a result of low blood pressure or anemic. Anyhow, u can't pop sweets now. U need sugar u get from natural source like fruits. Put some apples in ur office

Soon to be,

I m not sure if I m going tmr coz meeting the kitchen people, shopping for the house and fetching my mum from railway station in the late afternoon. Not sure if I still hv energy left to go the fair.

Most probably will go on Sun with dh and leave son with my mum.

Soon-to-be, thks. I called the number you've given me and the nurse told me Dr Loh does not have any clinic today. I've just sent him an email. Called the KK Dial a Nurse but she just ask me to bedrest. Sian.

Bbhp,

after a main meal, I hv to walk around or do housework to burn the calories. If I laze around, glucose level will be high.

I also hv to avoid food with thick gravy coz cornstarch is high in sugar. I can hv unlimited amount of leafy veg but need to limit starchy veg like pumpkin, lotus root, melon, carrot, water chestnuts, etc I guess all root veg.

All this I learn from the course.

StarBabies, can get ur hubby to accompany u to the clinic? They may not be able to detect anything now, but likely to give u mc or further med support.....

Singapoh, I will be dragging my hubby to go there on sat coz going to bedok to visit my mummy.....but was thinking of going to shop shop on my own on Friday first...find it difficult to shop at my own pace/leisure when hubby is around...i can walk to and fro the taka baby fair and keep lookin at the same things without feeling bored...but then hubby will look a bit sian, then I have to be automatic and suggest to leave since there's really nothing more to buy

Soon to be,

men r like that lor. U can ask him to sit and hv a drink while u browse. So many makan joint there.

FYI, first 1000 visitors will receive a goodie bag.

Hazel n Babyhopepath. Thanks for the advice. Waiting for hubby to come back now n mayb we'll go 24hrs after this.

Haiz. All my fault for not taking care of myself. Have been working like mad for the last two days, conducting work review for my staff. Now I regret.

Soon to be,

Oops keep thinking tmr is Sat. Anyway will wait for my dh to go together. Can't shop in peace with my son screaming. Lol. Dun really trust my maid to tc of him.

Soon to be, thks. Waiting for hubby to come back now. Actually last fri I also had a similar scare and I went to a private gynae to check. He did a scan for me and cld c the embryo attached to the lining but cld not detect the hearbeat yet.

Soon-to-be, share with us if there is any good buy after your trip to expo tomorrow ok?
I stay at north side and expo is rather far for me.

Hazel, perhaps I ate too many sweet stuff during 1st trimester..haiii.

Singapoh, I m scheduled to do the glucose test in 3 weeks time when I have to do the 20 weeks scan and see doctor too. Seems like i gonna stuck there for the whole day. Hmm...thanks for the advise. I'll cut dwn on Hagen-daz ice-cream and take more leafy veg.

No prob, StarBabies...jus give urself enuff rest after that...

Singapoh, err....he will jus walk along w me lor..I think I mentioned once, he's 1 almost everything must do together one..so he won't wan to sit somewhere when I shop ard. And I feel paiseh to make him walk w me even though I know that I am not going to buy anything...jus window shopping

Singapoh, u really very disciplined!! If I were u, I think tea break will just be wholemeal multigrain bread for me.. Coz watever I buy outside will contain sugar! No curry puff, no pancake, no cakes, no juices, etc. I think I will be very miserable

singapoh eh i love all the root vegetables you mentioned..

zaza, i haven't bought my pump yet but im thinking electric cos i might use it in my office and would like my hands free.

starbabies, all the best and take care.

spiffy - that what i intend to do too so now sourcing whether to buy the electric or manual one ... i ask ard my collegues and the party is split into two - one which support electric and the other chooses manual... aiyah ... avent having promo @ baby fair but it's for manual set

Bbhp, Hazel,

after my last review, I m allowed to eat ice cream. Dietitian taught me how to read labels ( total carbo, not sugar )

Actually not that bad, I m just avoiding unhealthy and oily food. It's actually a good thing. Just take awhile to get used to it. Normally I would eat Assam fish or pasta outside. Both my fav

can still take diet soft drinks.

Bbhp, dun hv to blame urself. Your body just can't break down sugars as well as b4 since u r pregnant With twins now. Age n family history play an important part too. If our body can break down sugars, by 2 hrs after consumption it will be broken down. It does not matter how much we take.

Ur kidneys hv to work 3x harder now to service ur body n ur twins. Thus, is weaker under normal circumstances now. Coupled with age n family history, it will be worse. Thus, need to eat sensibly. Is tougher when we r working coz outside food r usu mOre oily n contain sugar added. But still possible, just take soupy stuff with mee hoon or kwey teow. In between, the safe bet is 1 or 2 slices whole meal multi grain gardinia bread.

actually, u r not supposed to take ice cream also..... :p

Singapoh, u r in gd controls now. So can indulge in some ice cream. But if sugar is not within healthy range, no ice cream.

I can't take diet drinks. I m very sensitive to artifical sweetners. I can't take tt n will end up feeling unwell thereafter. Anyway I rarely take soft drinks like coke which is actually very very high in sugar content. Nv my fav.

I ask for water when dine outside. If not some homemade drinks of they do sell

Bbhp,

at first I thot it's because of all the sweet stuffs I hv been having in my 1st tri. Dietitian said it's not. It's just that my body is unable to break down the sugar.

U can do the test anytime before yr next doc visit. Just call to make appointment. Better go early so that u dun hv to fast for too long.

1st blood test then u will be given a glucose drink. Return 2 hrs later for 2nd blood test. Can only eat after both blood tests are done. U need to fast the nite b4. Small sips of water is fine.

Hazel,

can make yr own frozen yogurt ma but must be only "Yogplait For Me fat free" That's the only yoghurt I can take now.

Ystdy was a bit hungry so I had a slice of wholegrain roti wz ham and milk.

i think we will all be shopping at the expo this weekend but not knowing its each other. what a funny thought. if you see this small girl with shoulder length hair next to this tall lean guy, try saying spiffy! and i might turn around.. haha.

Singpoh, I can't take yogplait brand. I bought I tub from cold storage previously. Coz it put there low sugar low fat etc. I didn't check the labels. After taking I mouth, I tastes the arificial sweetners inside! Yes, I m ver sensitive to that n lolled at the ingredients n confirmed tt it contain artifical sweetener. I threw the whole tub away in the end.

My mil will get the maid to put artifical sweetener in the food n dessert at times. But the moment I tasted I know n I wun take after tt. I rather take it bland meh.. Artifical sweetners make me sick.

Bbhp, the purpose of the glucose test is to check ur blood sugar after fasting. Then u r given large amt of very sweet drink to take. 2nd BT is taken 2 hrs later. If u dun hv GD, ur body will hv broken down the sugar. So, by cutting on sugar stuff on ur own wun help u to pass the test. U can eat sensibly now with little sugar. But U can still fail the test coz if ur body is weakened already, it wun be able to break down Tat sugar drink the Doc gives u.

Eskimo, your bb so cute..

fashion, I'm one who change to private but my gynae now even longer wait compare to Prof (my ivf dr). Reason of transfer because current gynae is my regular n TMC is nearer compare to Nuh from my house.
I think if u have multiple better stick to kkh. If singleton then when stable can transfer.
Starbb, just go to 24hrs lo. Rest well. Common to have spotting. As long not red. Take care.
I'm stlill thinking whether to go to the bb fair or not. Very far lo

Whether good buy or not I don't know but because my good friend is buying that for me n I don't want her to spend too much so this is good price lo

My rice for dinner not even 1/2 bowl. But I will take dishes to supplement to make mr fuller. Followed by fruit. I eat home cooked dinner by my mum. So dun hv to worry abt sugar other than rice which can turn into sugar