IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, I rarely take potatoes. Not healthy, high in GI n causes sugar level to rise quickly. Sweet potatoes r better

Singapoh, yes is starchy but it releases sugar slowly due to its low GI n is healthier ESP steamed n baked without seasoning. We tested out already.

Directly after dinner sure will be high even more pp with no GD. So dun sigh. U r eating very healthy already

Singapoh, u ate home cooked meal right? So meat n veg shld hv no sugar. Just carbo with will turn into sugar.. Wat do u think causes the high sugar?

Oh chix rice... Tt one cannot eat coz is oily though not as bad as outside.. But coz of the way it is cooked... Since u know now, next time ask her dun cook chix rice

turnout tomorrow early am I need to go airport then sun bian after that I will go expo la. ;) but alone haiz

Well, my dh's reading is bad whenever he eats chicken rice. So I know chix rice Will raise sugar level. Next time u try again loh, with smaller amt of rice. Chix rice itself is unhealthy from the way it is cooked. if not, how can the rice smells so nice?

Same for fried n oily food. They dun give good readings after he ate them.

Glucose meter reading wun lie. If readings r high after 2 hrs n at fasting it just means that The food is not healthy n can't take. My dh also tells me oily food dun raise blood sugar or he is careful with his diet. But then facts r still facts. Meter shows high after eating means he can't take. That is more accurate.

Sweet potatoes he can take for tea break but no problem

Hazel,

the guide says so. Too much oily food will increase weight. Therefore difficult to control glucose level.

I believe research has been done before they print out the guide for the patients. Also u can't compare with someone with GD coz u dun hv it.

Dietitian told me it's trial and error. If the food give me bad reading then avoid it.

Doc always take average sugar readings over a period of time. So patients can't cheat. If a patient eats unhealthy all These while but a few days b4 check up eats healthily, he will still fail the doc's test.

By now, my dh knows wat food is a no no but of course he choose not to follow at times. eg He knows potatoes cannot take but he still will take with steak.

But 1 or 2 meals indulge abit wun die. Blood sugar has it's lows n highs everyday. Doc is just interested in avg readings. So as long tt is fine, dr is happy. It is different from when I test myself which is the blood sugar at tt pt in time.

Yes I dun hv GD. But I hv a diabetic dh. So I know wat food results in bad readings. Like wat I say, I only look at gluscose meter readings. High means high through no matter wat the books say.

Fried rice also will coz sugar to rise rapidly.

Some root veg like sweet potatoes r starchy but is a healthier version than potatoes. For the simple reason tt sweat potatoes turn into sugar at a slower rate n wun release too much sugar into the blood stream at one go. So the organs wun not be as taxing.

Same reason applies to white rice n brown rice. Latter is healthier not coz it has less sugar but coz it turns into sugar at a slower rate.

So if I need to take, I will choosE sweet potatoes over potatoes.

GD may not be as bad as those who r really diabetic like my dh. Is takes alot of efforts for them to eat right. I dun check his readings every day but I random check once a wk when I feel like it. His readings hv not been gd since am pregnant coz I was relaxed wih him. He avoids certain types of food that turns into sugar at a fast rate like potatoes. N his avg reading at the doc was gd. But since am pregnant, I dun nag as much he resumed!!!

His nxt doc visit will not give gd readings.

Hazel,

I think argue till tmr also u dun get my point. U always wanna win hor. Should become a lawyer instead. Ha...

Yr dh is a diabetic but he's not preggy. Our conditions r very different. I hope u understand that.

I would listen to my dietitian and consultant coz they are trained to guide those with GD. Maybe 1 of these days u can go to their office to challenge them.

Dietian told my dh diet coke can take. But too much of artifical sweetners r bad for the body. Best is just drink water. Dun need sweet drinks or diet drinks :p

I also should be there around 11.30 spot me ok wearing navy blue dress with white cardi n black prada backpack short bob hair and fat ha ha

Gd morning ladies! Thanks to all for your advices yesterday. I went to 24hr yesterday night, was given an injection. Doc said ytd cld be abit unstable n like what babyhopepath said, dong le tai qi. Although the scan cld not c the fetus ytd, we cld c the waterbag n yolk sac.

But doc said it's ok since it's still early n said 4 wks only. Huh? Now I'm confused, I thought shld b 5 wks now, since my 6th week scan is next tues. But she said shld count from the embryo transfer date, which was on 19 Feb. So this week shld b 4 wks. Is this correct?

i'm new here. just strike BFP 3days ago and still very excited about it. as my hCG is quite high (1031.5), i suspect that i may be carrying twins, but still need confirmation at 6th week scan. any sisters here changed gynae once you BFP? my ivf was done at KKH but i prefer to deliver at TMC instead. i am thinking of changing gynae after week 12. do you think it'll be a good time as i'm not sure whether other gynae are familiar with ivf and possibility of multiple pregnancy for my case? pls advise.

Starbabies,
did u have your ivf at kkh? according to the nurses, when we go for BT on D19, it should be already 4weeks. which means that ET is week 2. we are doing our first ultrasound scan at week 6. take good care now.

Bing, congrates...
more good news to come.
Actually once we are stable go normal gynae is not an issue. Jus that if u are having multiple will have higher chance for premature then govt hosp will be cheaper n more equip. N if u want more hospitalization leave kind I feel your ivf dr is more accomodating as he or she knows well what u went through up till this stage. Whereelse like my gynae get mc also difficult no need to hope for hl lo.

Vi4n, woodlands not far from expo lar...take TPE can liao. I used to stay in woodlands n travel to my mum's place at Bedok every weekend.....

Hazel, y u so worry abt GD when u dun even have it? *faint*.....enjoy ur pregnancy lar...err...but dun follow my example coz I'm 1 bad one who is simply indulging in watever I feel like eating...hehehehe......but I believe that my son is a happy baby coz sometimes when i eat my fav snack/food, he will move v actively and doesn't make mummy feel sick..8)

Singapoh, twins?!!? Hehehe..I don't mind, at least I know that my hubby is "with me" at all times......

Despondent, they can be so sweet sometimes..but when u feel like window shopping, they are a nuisance...heheheh

Soon to be,

I think we will our car at the airport and take a train to Expo on Sun. Sure difficult to find parking lor.

My dh prefers me window shopping than real shopping. Ha!

Bing congrats! It seems like u gonna have twins. For me,IVF done in KKH n changed gynae after week 12 to TMC, but mine is singleton. No issue at all to change gynae. But having twins I not sure liao. Take gd care of urself ya.

Me likely to go expo today evening

soon to be, i'll be going tm....
my DH gets distracted all sorts of things when shopping and we always end up spending hours at the place!

bing, congrats!

Vi4n, Twinstars, Spiffy, Singapoh,
thanks! i'll have alot to learn from all of you down the road. the baby stuff you guys are talking about seems very foreign to me. i'll start to read up some pregnancy and babycare books. maybe i should listen to your advice and stay at KKH if i really get twins.

Twinstars,
my ivf gynae from KKH is also Dr Loh. he's good but i think he's really overloaded with patients and i agree with you that he's waiting time is very very long. that's why i'm thinking of changing gynae. who's your gynae at TMC? i heard that Dr WK Tan and Dr Cheng Li Chang are good.

Vi4n, i stayed in Woodlands too! I also feel that from woodlands to expo is indeed far but if u have a car then different story liao.

Singapoh & Hazel, thanks for the advices. Will take note what are the food I should avoid.

Starbabies, hope u're getting better now. When I had spotting and went to 24hrs clinic, the doc did not give me any injection as she said BBs are fine. You better have more rest and dun over-exert. Any mc given?

Bing, ya you shd do some reading up.
I was with Dr LC Cheng b4 I went to Dr Loh. His charges are ex man.
Dr WK Tan is my fren gynae, she said she is very gd n motherly, but she is very old liao.
My gynae whom delievered my boy is Dr TC Chang

Thanks for your well wishes. Both babies and myself are doing fine at home now. Having twins are not as bad as I think. Not too sure will I say that after both starts to crawl. Hee... At this moment, they basically only cries for 3 things; hungry, poo poo or wants to be cuddle. I'm currently on partial bf as I still do not have enough milk to bf 1 bb.

Anyway, here's a glimpse of my twin boys......

The Big Brother, Aloysius
url]

The Little Brother, Alesgo
url]

Starbb, glad that it is stable now. I was also told by KKIVF nurse that the BT date is 4 weeks. And scan is on 6weeks. You can check with the Dr next week.

Bing, Congrats! for my 1st pregnancy i went straight to my own gynae after BT confirm positive. It is a singleton and my gynae knew i went thru FET. I didn't hv any problem. But like what other advice, if twin, may want to consider staying with KK. All voice down to your comfort level and other consideration factors. E.g. gynae, cost, hospital facilities, etc. If twin, u will have more consideration and concern.

Bing, congrats n thks for the info.

Singapoh, thks.

Haiz, ladies, this morning woke up started to bleed, not brown but red. Now at clinic D waiting to c Dr Loh. Hopefully everythg will b fine. May God be with me.