IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Spiffy, yes there is a leafy smell

Soon to be,

things I prepared for my maid before she arrives:

Toiletries like toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, shower foam, deodorant (if u give her this after few weeks, she may feel offended)

Towel, Sanitary pad

Breakfast like a loaf of bread, crackers, Milo, coffee, jam, butter, etc

Zzz place, pillow, blanket, extra bedsheet set

House rules, timetable

Etc.

Chech the contents of her luggage. If she has some of those things like towel, u can just give her 1 extra instead of 2

Singapoh, wahahahahah.....deodorant!! I was still feeling a bit stressed on how tell my staff off for slacking in her work then i saw ur reply....so funny!!

Have to prepare breakfast specially for her too? My family eats these too leh...so I ask her jus to take herself?

Any brand of sanitary pad or wait till she comes in then buy?

Singapoh, hahaaa....your twins are very cooperating unlike mine! My bb either back faced us or keep moving around, refused to let us know the gender. My gal is more obedient...quickly re-positioned herself when doc take a 2nd look.

I just got my result BFP result yesterday. Just some question to ask?

Is it advisable to change gynae to a pte hospital doc ?

Anyone do ivf in a gov hospital but choose to deliver in the pte hospital?

I need some advice on this. Thank you.

Soon to be,

later she got armpit smell how wor? I also use the same deodorant brand.

My maid is not used to eat breakfast so she just have a hot drink in the morning. If u r eating the same bread, can share the same loaf.

Can buy her 1 pkt of sanitary pad first or wait for her. Up to u.

Spiffy,

I have no problem with DR Loh at KKH. Just that i hate the long waiting time to see him.

I was just exploring also cos mine pregnant is through IVF and had some concern too.If i change to other gynae will it have issue.That y wanna to seek some advice anyone to that here.

I also have heard bad service at the delivery suite n the nurse in KKH. Some of my friends who give birth at kkh had bad exerpience.

I personally had no prob with the nurse at KKIVF. They are all wonderful pple.

fashion spree,

U r thinking of changing to private n I'm thinking of changing to govt.

When r u gg for your scan??

My friends advise me to stick to d same gynea coz he knew my history so might b easier. But yet I'm fraid if d charges will be ex esp if bbs need to b warded for few days. Think I'm worrying too much. Juz want to find a gynea is good w multiple births..

Skies,

my 1st scan is 1st apr with DR loh. He is a good gynae i must say.

Yup i have friend advise me to stick to same gynae too as his now my history well.

Just get confuse with the kk delivery ward feedback from some of my friend.

Anyone here had given birth in kkh before and have no issue. pls share with me to give me some confident.

singapoh, my next appt is end of this month. i've a scan and also the glucose test. when's yr appt with dr loh?

bbhp, was kelly loi who is now on maternity so i've changed to Dr Irene er cant remember her surname. She's great!

fashion spree, you can see him after hours, would that help? i had some grouses about the long waiting time since i'm paying private patient rates too but decided to stick to kkh when i found out i'm having twins cos in case of complications, they'll have the best care.

Singapoh and Spiffy, I also need to take the glucose test on my next appt. The routine test showed that my sugar level high. Doc said i've sweet tooth.
I din have this problem in my past annual medical checkup leh. Perhaps recently i've been taking cold sweet drinks and ate durians thus sugar level is on the high side. Got to watch my diet from now onwards...sob sob.

Fashion,

Dr Loh delivered my son in KKH It was a pleasant experience. The midwife was always smilling and cheerful. Other nurses were great too.

U won't be seeing Dr Loh as often as in 3rd trimester unless u hv complications.

Waiting from 1 to 3 hours to see him is ok to me.

fashion, I did my IVF with SGH, but switched to pte Dr Fong Yang after my 6 week scan. The long wait at SGH for scan and consultation was just too much for me. I'm happy under Dr Fong's care. (he delivered my elder boy 3 years ago).

fashion,
i just gave birth late last month... i would say so far i have no complaints... delivery suite is ok but just that when some of the nurses check for dilation, it is painful... i told my gynae abt it and he said it shouldn't be painful and inserted the inducing pill for me instead and when my gynae did it it's totally painfree... i think that's the advantage if u go for the premier package.. cos gynae will come check on us more frequently.. at least my gynae does...

experience at labour ward was ok but i didnt spend too much time there so can't comment much... i chose A1 ward... the nurses were attentive and pleasant and some were really nice...

i had a c-section done... actually had to opt for c-section last minute since cervix refuse to open so can't go for normal delivery... i thot this is considered emergency c-section... but my gynae told me this is not considered as emergency..maybe becos there wasn't any immediate danger?... but i was operated on 1/2 hr after i made the decision since my gynae was already there for another c-section...

i thot my bill would be quite substantial since i had inducement for more than 24 hrs + 3 pills + pain relief injection on the thigh + c-section with epidural... but my bill was abt 6k and i paid only 2.3k in cash after medisave deduction including my baby's bill

for my case, i'm glad that i was in a govt hosp with a good gynae...

Bbhp,

Gestational diabetes is very common. I m controlling mine with diet. Some got to take insulin jab when dieting fails. No durian or avocado hor. Avoid oily, food cooked with coconut, fastfood, etc.

Better get the test done early so that u can control early. If yr glucose level is too high/low, it can harm u and yr babies.

I didn't get GD in my previous pregnancy. Age and family history play a big part too.

esk, she's so cute!!!! now, i can't wait to see my son! hv been thinking whether my son will look like me or my hubby...hehehee

Eskimobaby,

it was painless when midwife checked my dilation but when Dr Loh did it, wah very painful lei. I always think coz ladies hv smaller hands so it's painless

Vi4n, Is the sterilizer considered a good buy? I was so tempted to go, but wasn't feeling too good and was carrying my laptop so I didn't go in the end. Anyone know if they have sterilizers at the bb fair tomorrow?

she looks like this when she's contented... if she's grouchy... no more big eyes... kekeke

bbhp, her double eye lid more like nei shuang... hidden one... i was hoping she could have daddy's eyes...

singapoh,
there was one nurse at the delivery suite who did the 2nd pill for me... wahh that one the pain can kill.... but it was painless when gynae did it for me... i realise he did it slower... that nurse just push and didn't care if i was in pain...

spiffy,
her cheeks were even puffier when she was born but after that she lost the water retention

soontobe,
i was like u when i see other babies' pics.. but i miss the time when she was still in my tummy and i didn't have to share her with anyone :p

berrybaby,
her head is quite big.. i wonder if it would be successful if i went for normal delivery... :p

fashion, lina,

fashion, my first pregnancy was through kkivf by Dr Shelia Loh. Didn't stay with her for delivery cos 1) the wait is too long and 2) i did a lap-scope 3 mths b4 the FET by the Mt E gynae. Thus I decided to go back to the Mt E gynae for delivery as she hv all my records.

Now expecting 2nd one also thru FET by Dr SF Loh. I also struggle abit before deciding whether to go with Dr SF Loh or Mt E gynae. I'm staying with Dr Loh cos 1) I rec'd gd feedback on Dr Loh fm this forum, the only downside is the waiting time, 2) Mt E gynae charges has increased since my last birth and 3) i like the support fm KK's lactating consultants. I still hv other concerns esp after hearing negative feedback on KK but I'm staying by my decision. To be fair, i also hv friends who given birth in KK and they are pleased with the service for the premier package.

Saw Dr Loh at TPS last Fri, i'm the first appt, 2pm thus didn't wait very long. He is engaged in the operating theater and was delayed by 30 minutes but I was done and out by 3.15pm. My next appt is 3.05pm so hopefully don't hv to wait long also.

Most impt, is how comfortable you are with the gynae and feedback from friends on the gynae. Actually Dr SF Loh was recommended by my Mt E gynae after telling her that Dr Shelia Loh has left KK. I trust her recommendation.

Eskimobaby, your gal is very adorable! Thanks for sharing your experience on KK. It boost my confident!

diveera,
kkh has a pretty supportive lactating environment but it can be quite scary at times esp it's my first time and i dun have any milk for the first few days...

juju,
yes... and she already know how to bully her daddy...kekeke

Eski, she is so cute!!

Bbhp, generally, our blood sugar readings shld not be affected by the sugary stuff we eat if our body can break it down properly.

Do u hv a glucose meter at home where u can do self check? Mine is okay from my own test. For the meantime u hv to cut down ur sugary food if not completely. N is not just these food, carbo n oily food too. Eg mee hoon is better than yellow noodles than rice. N for bread, u shld not take white bread. Shld take wholemeal multi grain. Gardina brand one is gd as it has low GI.

eskimobaby, ur bb is so cute and i like her big eyes

fashion, i think the most impt factor is you must be comfortable with the gynae. i did my treatment at thomson fertility centre (TFC), waiting time was good usually less than an hour (certainly much better than KKH, I was with KKH for a short period and hated the wait). i went back to my own gynae whose clinic is also at Thomson as I am more comfortable with her. At TFC, we are advised to change doc only after 8th weeks when pregnancy is more stable

bbhp/hazel,
cut but dun totally cut. if body not enuff sugar, can faint or even go into coma

esk,
ya lor! u build ur immunity yet?