IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, at 9 wks, next wed. Doing oscars blood test on that day also. Can't help but worry leh... U pp puking here n there.. But here I m can eat leow

Despondent, 1 box of chicken essence at road show is only 11.50. Original price is abt 18.

I got bad break outs on my back.. red n painful pimples. I apply antiseptic cream n oxy5 also no use.. Haiz..

N bowels not smooth...

Just to share,

Boom in C-section births
 Top Stories|Updated 8 hrs ago
By AP

HANOI - NEARLY half of all births in China are delivered by cesarean section, the world's highest rate, according to a survey by the World Health Organisation - a shift toward modernisation that isn't necessarily a good thing.

The boom in unnecessary surgeries is jeopardising women's health, the UN health agency warned in the report published online on Tuesday in the medical journal The Lancet.

Unnecessary C-sections are costlier than natural births and raise the risk of complications for the mother, said the report surveying nine Asian nations. It noted C-sections have reached 'epidemic proportions' in many countries worldwide.

The most dramatic findings were in China, where 46 per cent of births reviewed were C-sections - a quarter of them not medically necessary, the report said.

The WHO, which reviewed nearly 110,000 births across Asia in 2007-2008, found 27 per cent were done under the knife, partially motivated by hospitals eager to make more money. That mirrors similar results reported by WHO in 2005 from Latin America, where 35 per cent of pregnant women surveyed were delivering by C-section.

In the US, where C-sections are at an all-time high of 31 per cent, the surgery is often performed on older expectant mothers, during multiple births or simply because patients request it or doctors fear malpractice lawsuits. A government panel warned against elective C-sections in 2006.

Any pharmacy or from plant. Just ask the staff. 1 of my twins is stll awake

a good morning to everyone! hope that all the mtb is bright and cheery and healthy too!

i went with wifey to see dr loh yesterday at tps. had 2 occasions of happiness. the first one was seeing the end credits of re-runs of Growing Up on the tv after enduring close to an hour of andrew seow.

of course, the 2nd one was seeing bb in the scan
9.5 wks, 2.8cm. edd changed to 15 aug 10.

but there is one thing that spoiled the day. wife told dr loh about her creamy discharge. dr loh said that its fungal infection. suggested to wife to eat more yoghurt. wife then asked dr loh if she can use lactacyd, dr loh suggested eve instead. so while driving off, wife wanted to save $$ by using some lactacyd we have at home, i became over protective and said no. argued a little over feminine wash. sigh. i am too protective and stupid.

but happy to see the bb scan

will be seeing dr sf loh again before CNY. but the next appt after that is in end-mar. wah, dunno how to endure one month plus of waiting

think its time to tell my parents that wifey is preggy
thinking of popping the surprise to the old folks during reunion dinner

Hi H-O-W, wat was e original Edd?

How come u got two straight appt dates? Ya, it's difficult to endure till next appt..

I personally thot CNY then release news to parents may be too much a surprise. Me doing tat only for relatives, IF they ask.... Parents know already and happy for me.

hazel,
when is the eys roadshow until?
they got chix essence @ $11.50?

oh, jus to share wif u. when i was in my 1st tri, i din puke, no ms, nothing at all, no bloating also. and all the mtbs in this thread were puking their guts out. plus thr was so sac seen during my 2nd scan & dr din do v-scan to assure me. i was freaking out dat i lost my gal! in the end, my preggie was smooth & she's now 8 mths old.

pls do not think dat healthy preggie must have ms. stay happy & healthy for the time being... u shld be happy u dun hv ms. very xin ku de...

despondent,
i think H-O-W calculated the one after cny. cos review is once every mth mah. so once is before cny(mid-feb), the next one shld be mid to end mar, rite?

some ppl may feel pantang abt releasing the news during 1st tri. but up to personal comfort level la

juju, eys road show is until fri. Hey, thanks for the reassuring words.

I hv been using oxy5 pimples cream for 2 days. Now am worried. Coz dunno safe or not.. How ah?

Singapoh, Wat's ur view?

hazel, dont worry... i was also just hungry and tired only at your stage, not much MS to speak of.. but it's a blessing, can eat as much as you want to build your reserves..

singapoh, hazel... usually 3 level cot can be converted to bed. due to the layout of the house, i need to do many point turns to move the cot from bb room into our room. the width of the door is just nice for the cot.. maybe new house has wider door

singapoh, oic, i thought i was told BM supply will stop if there is no latching. tks for the clarification

haha, Dr eve, u do sound like a pet pro..

Hazel,
just stop using oxy5 and dun worry anymore... u didn't drown urself in oxy5 and it's not a long term usage throughout ur pregnancy so it will not affect ur baby much... dun have to be overly cautious until u are paranoid... when u find out things that u think that u've done wrongly just change and have peace of mind... dun change already and still worry... u are doing ur baby more harm than good if u keep worrying over little things...

singapoh,
i'm also using that aloe vera gel u mention... on pimples and rashes and even healing cuts/wounds... it's good and won't leave scars behind...

HOW,
all parents would be anxious to see their babies on the scan esp the 1st trimester when we can't feel any movement... but just think of it this way... even tho scans are safe but it will still cause some disturbance to the foetus so if can dun scan too many times... in some developed countries... their gynae dun even use ultra-sound scans... gynae will just make their calculations and assessment through examining the tummy only... it's good that u are so participative but remember to show care and concern to ur wife too as an individual, lover and wife and not as a mother to ur child only :p

eskimo, thanks! The pimples r very painful.. Can feel it when I lay on my back.. Antiseptic cream shld be okay right?

spiffy, u twins still not much MS? So good...

Des: initial edd is 12 aug, so change by 3 days. i think the new projection is done referencing the current growth of the bb, currently at 2.8cm. when i check the whattoexpect website, it seems to be slower.

juju: yep, i counted the one in Mar 10. dunno why i got 2 days at one go, but the nurses at tps arranged for us. the blood test for DS was also done yesterday and the scan for DS will happen in end-Jan. another chance to see the scans for the bb

eskimobaby: yep, i admit that i have been guilty of neglecting wife after being so excited over bb. but its good that my wife has been reminding me of it
so i must put in more effort to focus on my wifey

as for the release of the news to my parents, its not the pantang portion, its more that my parents are the super traditional and easily excitable type. i assessed that my wife can do without all these additional pressure at this initial stage. sometimes good to bask in the excitement, but at times, they can be overbearing. for me, i can deflect their words, but wifey is still quite "ke-qi".

how to say leh.... i think, the bb is good newss, but do not want the whole bb episode to get out of control
because at times, my parents still treat me like a kid ( i think all parents do lah...)

HoW - just release the news when you're ready..i didn't tell my in laws until first tri was over. As for my own family, i told them not to spread the news to the relatives until 1st tri was over too. i didn't want to deal with the added stress of 1001 ppl calling to congratulate and wanting to meet up for dinner (as was the case when the news finally broke), so i'm glad i waited.

hazel,
no probs. i was so scared dat time too

do drop dr loh an email to chk on oxy 5... not sure whether safe or not
agree wif eskimobaby, jus stop using oxy5. see dr loh or a skin specialist for ur skin. shld be ok de. dun worry so much.
maybe bcos i worry a lot during preggie, my gal dun smile as much as her peers

HOW,
it depends bah. for me, my mil din hv much reaction. hb's relatives din noe i was preggie till they saw me during cny.
my mum din tell relatives cos i ever had miscarriage. so ppl only noe when i turned up for xmas party (ard 4 mths).

Morning everyone, finally gotten a chance to log in....

Singapoh, my son quite quiet last night. He was moving a lot when I was in the hospital yesterday. But night time when he's usually active, movt was little...i guess he was really tired after a day of activities...

Hubbyofwife, no need to worry abt the infection. Recently, I was given an insert due to my infection too.....it's v normal for women (regardless of preggy or not) lar....

Hazel, ur baby is going to be "worrier" like the mummy if you continue to worry non-stop like this....

Eskimobaby,

the aloe Vera gel is very good for insect bite. Always use that for my son. He gets swelling when bitten like baluku.

Hehehe...my baby is active now....u can imagine the smile on my face now ..8))))) look like I might have successfully "transformed" him into a day active baby....8)

Oh Singapoh, by the way, I weighed myself jus now and realised weight drop within 2 days...so meaning the last time that I said the weight gain of 4-5kg, a certain portion of it is likely to be due to water retention lar..phew, didn't gain that much after all

Bee,
no lah, as long as the bm is being expressed out(be it pumped out or suckled by bb)regularly, the ss will not drop or stop.
My sis did total pumping out of her bm for both her sons for 2 to 3 years each, never latch on once. They were on total bm for those years, no fm at all. So it is possible to keep the ss enough by purely pumping out, but then the work and time is double, coz need to feed bbs separately and cleaning of the milk pump parts. I think this is method is more convenient for working mothers with maid at home to do all the washing and sterilising.

Singapoh, active early morning good...at least u can get a good night of rest...i heard that when they are delivered, they will be used to this routine, right?

Ya, he has a busy day..I rushed to visit the auntie in the hospital...sigh, sad to say, the doc officially cert that she has passed away within an hr I reached there....i dunno coz my son can feel it, but he was really having a lot more movts than usual at the hosp....it was so sudden, the aunt jus went into coma in her sleep and passed on...my MIL was v upset and kept crying...my whole family (except me) was at their place last night helping to set up the wake. Such a pity coz she is still so young and we are only 1 mth away from CNY..life is jus so vulnerable...and so, I had a lesson for my son, I told him that when he's delivered, he has to learn to cherish people ard him and cherish life too......8)

Soon-to-be, how u know u got infection? coz itchy?

ny immediate family side most r worrier. If baby takes after daddy then wun be.. Haha

singapoh,
yeah i use it for insect bites too... it's soothing but yet not those type of biting feeling like mopiko when apply...

Hazel, nope, no itchy, no heavy discharge

But last week, when I went in to see the doc at the 24hrs clinic for my pain, she did a check to see any possible sign of miscarriage, she realised that I have a thick discharge, and so she took a sample of it for testing...i knew my results the next day so went back to get the medicated insert for it lor....

Errr........but ur baby emotions will still be affected and influenced by you...not trying to scare you lor.

Soon to be,

so sorry to hear that. My dh just attended his army buddy's funeral. He had a stroke while watching tv. Just died like that. He was only 45.

Not necessary. When bb is out, u will still need to train him to differentiate between night and day. Eg. Use dim light if u hv to change his diaper in the middle of the night.

managed to see Dr Loh yesterday despite my schedule appt with him is on 22/1. Really hving pain MS, throw out everytime when i consumed food and even drink. Feeling giddy and headache. Surprising he gave me HL from yesterday till 3/2. Now really can have a good rest. Hope i can recover from this MS.

Eskimobaby,

aloe Vera gel is safer than mopiko. At least I dun hv to worry if my son scratch and put into his mouth. Very good for rashes too.

Hazel,

more worth it to get the big tube. $19 + for a 120 ml tube. A 30 ml costs $10+

Singapoh, I didn't feel the impact as great as the rest of my family...but jus feel sad coz she's really nice to me since the 1st day I was introduced to her....

Nctgrace, at least now u can get some proper rest....dont think of work for the moment...u shld feel better towards the beginning of tri 2..hang on there....

Soon to be,

I was 9 months preggy when FIL passed away. I had to wear a red string over my belly to "protect" my baby from dirty spirits. I was really exhausted at the funeral and went for my scheduled check up on my own. Dr Loh saw me and said I looked so tired. FIL didn't get to see his first and only paternal grandchild. Sad lor.

Develyn/Serene
Congrats and welcome the beautiful princesses. Must continue to take good care of yourselves during confinement.

Zaza
Welcome! How are you? Any morning sickness so far? Do update us after your 1st scan.

Cat/Soon To Be
I love Kimchi too! Have cravings for spicy stuff like curry too and Junk food like KFC/MacDonalds too, ate at least once a week, really shiok but definitely must eat in moderation.

Hazel
I'm same like you quite worried if baby is growing well, as I also started off with not as high HCG nos. like others. Mine was 262 on D17. 3 weeks ago, my scan shows that baby is only 1.6cm, and EDD is 03-Aug-2010, but ytd baby has grown quite a bit to 5.3cm. So don't worry too much, baby will definitely continue to grow very well in us. Have faith in our babies.

Bee
I met Dr Jocelyn Wong ytd. Waited for an hour, but seen her for 35 mins. She's really very patient and detailed. Am very happy that I'll be sticking with her for my pregnancy. Can you help me update my EDD 01-Aug-2010 and change my gynae to her? Tks! Was told IVF baby EDD is fix.
I'm so happy to see baby is quite active moving his/her hands and knees and changing to different positions when I was doing the scan. I will be doing my BT and Oscar next Tue, and was told results can be known next day. <touchwood> If results not favorable, I will go to Prof Ananda for 2nd opinion.

Zaza
Just rest and relax, maybe you will have a surprise to get twins!

My MS seem to be getting worse, supposed to get better once reaching 12weeks, but am still puking almost everyday now.. But it's ok lah, as it's also an indication that baby is doing well. My appetite has been very good all along, and already put on 2kgs, must control control..

libby - I dun mind whether singleton or twins as the impt thing is the baby to be hapy and healthy .... u hang in there... as long as appetite gd that the baby are getting all the required nutrients even though u MS .....

Zaza
I'm ok with the puking.. to me it's still bearable, i have read many MTB are even more poor thing, their MS many times worse than me..

Good luck for your scan!

Singapoh, my mum didn't say much when I told her that I'll be going for the wake...but i likely won't send the aunt off in her "last journey"...perhaps will stay at the wake area instaed..

Libby, some's ms will start later...so may stretch into early tri 2...I remember mine really really end ard wk 16 ..after that was so much easier liao.....

Haha.. My current favourite is Chicken Ramen soup now.. more appetizing..

Just take in moderation. My Gynae told me her korean patient cannot live without kimchi at all, and her pregnancy is very good.

spiffy,
i want bibimbap! dunno if this is how u spell it... kekkeke..

soontobe,
it can't be helped esp for close relatives... i'm sure ur baby can understand and feel the warmth surrounding the family too... when i was in my 6th or 7th month i went to visit old folks home... it was a CIP project by my company... so all employees have to go... i told myself that my baby will be blessed esp if the old folks touch or sayang my tummy or even wanna hug me... and not worry abt the h1n1 or watsoever..