IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hello ladies! a good morning to u!

i am hubby of my wife who underwent the painful process of daily jabbings of ivf and is now preggy with 8 weeks of baby!

we went to dr loh also and had the et on 3 dec.

and now, its such a nerve-wrecking experience just waiting to see dr loh next week
nerve-wrecking, but a happy problem

can i check how long do u vist your gynae during the 1st trimester? i am bursting with excitement to see the scans everyweek! but have to contain my excitement as i do not want to stress my wifey also

hazel,

during my 6 weeks scan, i was seeing covering doctor, yap i did went for the reg & counselling. I thought FTS scan was something different from DS.

Singapoh, he did not give me then.

Nctgrace, u r given a phamplet during registration. Maybe u can refer to wat the tests r for

Hubbyofwife,

congrats! Didn't she go for her 1st scan @ 6 weeks? Nothing much in 1st visit. After yr scan, Dr Loh will just review briefly.

hey singapoh! thanks!

ya, did the 1st scan @ 6 weeks, was so anxious, as the ultrasound scan could not find the baby. so while waiting for the v-scan, wife was very worried.

but the v-scan soon revealed a hb of a single bb.

so happy.
so happy for my wife too, she went thru alot during the months leading up to that moment

we met dr hh tan as dr loh was on leave then. so it will be our first time seeing dr loh next week after confirming the pregnancy

so right now, just keep counting down the days until can see bb scan again
hehe, i tried to hear the hb thru my wife's tummy, but all i can hear are the stomach sound! ha!

Singapoh, that's a phamplet or book har? If book, I definitely don't have it....or will I be able to learn the information from antenatal class? If yes, i will jus wait to attend the lessons in Feb...

Nctgrace, at this stage, u and baby are most impt...u got to learn to let go of work...i know may be tough but u got to give urself and baby the priority......pardon me if I'm too blunt...aren't u prepared for these and the change of priority when u decided to IVF?

Dev, jia you....and enjoy ur remaining day of freedom before the babies arrive....8)

Congraz hubbyofwife....

I presume that you will be seeing Dr Loh again v soon, coz u were saying now i 8th week? If yes, u shld either start to see the heartbeat or the shape of ur precious little one during the upcoming scan...

Have fun and enjoy the moments with ur wife....8)

nctgrace, i know how it is like to have colleagues or be in an work env like yours..my boss is not really the most gracious sort. i didn't tell them until my 4th month which is very recently, when i couldn't hide anymore. at least now i dont have to take 1/2 day to see doctor here and there.

I have learnt to be thick skinned and tell her i'm taking time off to see the doctor or go off early for antenatal class. No one covers my work so like yesterday, i came back to the office after the appt at 545pm and worked till 8plus. i didn't need to come back since work's officially over, but there was lots of work plus i felt i needed to 'show face'. i know that's wrong cos why should i feel this way, but ah well.

It's a thin booklet. When I registered, I was given a stack of phamplets plus the booklet. Did u go thru all of them? I saw in Dr Loh's room in TPS and Clinic D. Can just ask from the nurse.

Antenatal class will have more details.

Singapoh, tt's coz this is ur 2nd time pregnancy lar....

Me 1st time, my hubby aso not that excited either..jus kept telling me to be more careful....was so angry with him yesterday...Dr Loh nagged at him (couple of seconds) coz he can smell the cig smoke from hubby though he wasn't talking...so on a way home, we had an argument over him quitting smoking which he has been promising for years...really give up on him.

Nctgrace, the counsellor explained to me wat FTS scan, wat number is considered high risk, etc is abt n gave me a phamplet for details. I am surprised u Nv ask what all the tests are for, when we will know the results, etc even if u were not told. I asked so many qns..

soon-to-be, dont give up! this is your best chance to get him to quit. i'm trying to get mine to..so he has 5 months left haha.

nctgrace, don't panic now....u need to learn to relax. i quite at a loss on how to console u further "seeing" u like this.....

Spiffy, I wish! Since we started to partok, I have never asked him to quit coz I believe this should be self initiated. He was the one who always told me that he's quitting for me..and he can give me deadline somemore...but it never happen, even i now preggy..

Was quite upset w him last night coz I felt it wasn't easy for us to have this baby. I had to go thru the sufferings (though for a good cause) of MS, sleepless nights, itchy legs and etc etc, y can't he jus quit smoking for the baby...I refused to talk to him last night. Was telling my MIL jus now abt this. And she asked me to be firm with him this time so that he will really quit for good.....

spiffy, how did u cope with work when u r tired n not feel good initially?

Soon-to-be, dr loh has a very sensitive nose for cig. my dh used to smoke also.... Always wanted him to quit but he Nv did coz is tough n will powder not strong enough. But my fil passed away suddenly in his sleep a few mths b4 our wedding. The night b4 he died, he told his son he quit smoking. that was his last wish then though dh did not know. dh stopped smoking the next day when his dad did not wake up.. Surprising, he just stopped like that. No assistance, no nicotine patch, nothing. From then on, he Nv touch a stick any more.

Men are like this. At times, something drastic must happen b4 they will change.

Soon to be,

I was referring to my 1st pregnancy la. Now it's time for him to quit smoking. Even if he doesn't smoke in front of u, U already a passive smoker when u sleep beside him every night. Also when he speak close to u. Tell him for baby's sake

soon-to-be, where does DH smoke in the house? balcony or kitchen or he steps outside? mine isn't a heavy smoker and usually steps outside but it's still baaad. i read that offspring of smokers have a propensity to smoke when they grow up.

hazel, i had nausea from time to time but it was mild. Honestly, when i was very busy, i just pushed it out of my mind. no choice, work is work.

Singapoh, I have already explained all these to him but no use.

2-3 years back, I was coughing v badly for 7-8 mths and was diagnosed with bronchitis. Back then I already urged him to quit smoking for my sake. But he was still unable to quit except to smoke at more remote areas such as toilet.. On off, I still get the problem and have to rely on nasal spray to recover but it jus didn't get into his head that his smoking is affecting my health...

Now, w the baby on the way, i really hoped that he will change but I don't see a drastic move to stop completely except reducing from 1 pack to 15-16 sticks per day.

I was so angry w him last night that I told him if the baby is affected coz of his smoking, I will never talk to him again...truly upset w him this time..hopefully he will see this as a wake up call....

spiffy,

i have not inform office yet prob till i cannot hide my tummy or when they ask me to do stressful thing then i will reveal.

Hazel,

she did explain to me abt what the test abt and result etc but i dun rem she gave me the phamplet.

soon-to-be,

i will learn to relax and do planning for myself. I really must learn to be thick skinned, since i will not be see my collegues few mths down the road.

Spiffy, balcony lor. But when I'm in the living room, can still smell lor...

My MIL was saying that she can even smell it in her room though she has closed the door....

My hubby is a v heavy smoker and drinker. And he uses work stress as a reason for unable to cut down. So, I told him the higher he advances, the more stressful he's going to get, so does that mean that he's going to smoke and drink more? When I rationale this w him then, he agrees...but when come to action, I see nothing.....

Aiya aiya, don't wan to discuss abt my hubby's smokin problem liao..jus make me upset...and I don't wan to upset my baby either..let's talk abt something happier...

I saw the Robinson ad on baby stuff this morning....so tempted to buy all new ones for my son, but now we are getting a lot of stuff from frens relatives liao...look like i won't need to buy baby cot, car seat, stroller at all......If i have more money, will sure buy all new ones for him!

Stress is just an excuse. I was exposed to smoking, gambling and drinking all my life ( from my dad and flying) I don't do any of of them. In fact I hate it coz my dad gambles.

hi soon-to-be, hope that things will turn out fine for u. most guys eat-soft-dun-eat-hard, so try the soft method? things like, you wanna grow old with him to see baby's graduation etc and that you hope that both of you will remain healthy.

jia you!

for the baby stuff, i also very crazy! 8 weeks only and i begin to go to baby hypermart. just went to robinsons over the weekend and walk walk. but sometimes, i think too early hor?

i have a tendency to take a mental note of the strollers that other parents are using when they push it past me. i am proud to say, i can notice a maclaren or a combi or a pre perego from 10m away.
i siao liao...

hubbyofwife..thanks..tried but didn't work either...i have used all mtds lar.....

wah, u really kan cheong hor? but i can understand coz we did the same thing too....it's too early to buy lar, must aso think where to store them..and by the time u baby is going to arrives, there shld be some other newest and latest designs...so dun rush now.

So, when ur is wife's EDD? Aug, national day baby?

nctgrace, I probably think u got to take ur time to adjust, cannot force...but dun take too long coz it wont be too long when u will be holding ur baby in ur arms.....

Oh, by the way, i thick-skinned and asked for mc yesterday. So, I'm having my super long weekend this week....hiak hiak....my hubby said y dun i jus ask for 1 week mc..if i have so many days of mc, I probably would..hehehehe

Hubbyofwife, you're just like my DH! he has an amazing memory and can tell what is what brand. Anyway, it's too early to buy but good to do homework first so you can budget for it. Wait for baby fairs/GSS. i'm buying a piece of furniture a month.

soon-to-be - the smoking and drinking go hand in hand. mine smokes around 6-7 a day but when he goes drinking on weekends, it can be a whole lot more. But some of his friends quit so i dont believe he can't too. Breaking the routine is key..

haha! singapoh you hit the nail. it's frowned upon!! he has to hide it so he doesn't smoke at work at all. You would think why not quit, easier right? drinking is just a casual beer or two only once a week.

hi soontobe, the edd is 12 Aug 10. today just entered the 9th week.

singapoh, my wife is not having MS at all! but she gets tired easily. yep, will try to stay at home more and rest.

visually, when we did the ET, can see the tummy quite big (because of the bloatedness), now the tummy like flatten alot leh, is it the same for everyone?

Howife,

lucky woman! Btw u won't be able to hear bb just like that. U can feel him when he starts moving. In 3rd tri, u can even play with him. Press yr dw's tummy Gently and he will push back if u hit the right spot

nctgrace, I jus asked from Dr Loh whether can give me 2 days to rest..and he jus smiled and said ok....

hubbyofwife, if earlier, can celebrate national day with singapore lor..

Soon-to-be,

u so good, i will be seeing him on fri, thus no chance to ask for MC except for that day.

so he cover you with MC too on the day you see him rite ? Becos i will nt be applying leave thus need to make sure he will issue MC....

can i check... i went to take a shower and found a spot of blood on my pantie... but when i wipe with toilet paper there wasn't any blood, just some colourless discharge... so i'm kinda confused if i was spotting or not? any advice from mummies who have been thru last trimester?

nctgrace, ya, u can ask him to cover for the day too.....why dun u ask him for HL coz of ur MS.......I didn't ask him for mc yesterday coz my appointment was 6plus and I jus told my boss that I was going off slightly earlier for gynae appt....

hi vi4n, soontobe, spiffy, oxidise and nctgrace

all of u have a good memory though..

yes, nctgrace i was on 5 weeks no pay leave during my 1st trimester in 2009 (after clearing all my annual leave)...btw, i m also in govt sector, u jus need to ask dr loh to write u a memo to excuse u from work in 1st trimester can liao...stay happy

jus back from my follow up with dr loh appt (tis appt was scheduled after i got spotting in dec)...dr loh told me don work too hard, and also asking me if i need mc, i said i took day off today, so no need... in general, i find him quite generous to give mc if u reali needed...
tis week is my week 17 liao...when he did the routine scan for me he jus told me "nah, baby's head there, see see heart beat there" and let u listen the heartbeat, and he jokingly said baby crossing leg cant see gender yet...keke..i said nvm la, wait till next appt la..

develyn
excited for u tmr
do post ur both little princess photo when u have more time later..jia you ..hooray