IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

singapoh aiyo that sounds very uncomfortable. at least there's no fever or cold. p.s. nasal congestion is a pregnancy symptom too, even for those not ill.

Spiffy,

b4 preggy Nose blocked already here. Now preggy plus this .. Damn siong..

My son can zzz thru even when I m coughing so hard
Only dh is suffering

Yum,

don't u need a pump to bring in your supply? Besides direct latching, u need to pump in between to increase supply in the first weeks

Singapoh, go buy 6 to 8 red apples, peel them, remove the centres n cut into quarters, throw inside a pot of water n boil. Cook until apples r soft, throw the apples away. Put in a thermal flask, drink the apple water thereafter. It will help u to remove the phelm by coughing them out.

my dh used to make that for me last time when my cough is persistent n medicine dun work. ask ur maid to make n every day u drink. 2 to 3 days, u shld see improvement. Apple water is neutral, not cooling, so will be fine for bbs.

i just came back from my detailed scan at camden and everything is fine and i am expecting a baby girl
, hopefully not a fierce tigress.

hi libby,

i paid $380 for the scan. the scan took about an hour plus, and scheduled a next scan during week 22.

hi mik mik, this is for the DS screening yes?

Will you still be doing a detailed scan with Dr Loh (the 20 week detailed scan)?

thanks Singapoh! i din know that. how do i clean the pump/parts after removing it from the packaging?

hi ladies, what should we expect for the week 20 scan? For my week 16 scan, the sonographer measured the femur bone, the humerus bone, the skull, the stomach, placenta flow, size of placenta sac. All i got from the doctor during the evaluation is "all is normal" and "what questions do you have for us?" What questions should I be asking?

Mik Mik
Congrats to having a princess :) and happy to hear your scan goes well. Can I check how many weeks are you today? I called Camden to make appt, and they say must be at least 14 weeks then can do the scan. How come KKH and TMC can start their oscar and nuchal scan on week 12?

Are there any difference in these scans compared to Camden? I only know at Camden results can be known immediately, but KKH think must wait for 1 week?

Singapoh
I also downloaded what to expect on my iphone as per you.. can I check is the measurement of baby average expected size?

Last Wed when I went for my scan, it shows I was only 8w 1d, and baby is 16mm.. Today, I am 9w 3d, and the website shows baby should be abt 3.81 cm long. Even if I add 1mm to baby each day, also far from this measurement :-(

hi yumyum, i thought the 16week scan you described is only done at week 20? fyi, i've no scan scheduled from now (week 16+3)till my week 20 detailed scan. is it cos you're carrying triplets...which develop more quickly?

Spiffy
Thanks for your link :)

Sorry, first time mummy here abit kiasu.. Cos when i use online IVF calculator, my EDD shd be 29 July base on my ET date, then go see Dr Loh, he told me shd be 1 Aug, but check up shows slower growth, and pushed back to 3 Aug. Am just concerned if baby is growing well accordingly :p

hi spiffy,

yes, the scan at camden is to access the down symdrome risk. from the scan, the doctor can check the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, etc, to know if the bb is normal.

i will not be doing the detailed scan at KKH on the 20th week, I will go to the camden one.

gosh, dr anandakumar really has his work cut out for him doesn't he? he's found a good niche at camden doing these specialised scans.
Mik Mik - costwise is it a lot more over at camden?

Spiffy, Soon-to_be, hazel, Singapoh,

Juz back from the scan. Im now 7.5 weeks, really dunno how they calculate as i done ET on 25/11. And my EDD is 14 Aug 2010.

Already sign up for the DS test, is it sufficient to do it in KKH or must go Camden?

hi libby,

camden will do the test only if u have reached 14th weeks, i am 14 weeks 1 day. for KKH and TMC, they do at week 11 to 13, as that is the window period for nuchal scan.

i am not sure how soon the scan results at KKH take, but at Camden, you know immediate the results during the scan as the doctor will give his review as he scans and that gives you the assurance.

today, the doctor showed that i had another sac, and that concluded i could be carrying twins initially, but lost it through bleeding during week 5. the thing is, at KKH, after so many scan visits, i was not told of the other sac...

hi libby,

dun worry about the bb size or the EDD, as long the doctor says bb is growing well, we should feel at ease.

when i went for my 9week scan, my bb growth was only 2.4 cm. however, as each scan comes, you see your bb growing bigger, really happy le.

Mik Mik
That explains the mystery of your bleeding.. Were your previous scans done by sonographer at AMC or by Dr Loh? Dr Loh should be able to detect the other sac.

I have also decided to go Camden now for the scan, since the machines are more high tech and can get instant results. Thanks for sharing.

Indeed, i'm very grateful baby is growing bigger at each scan and seeing the flickering heartbeat do put me more at ease

So, what will happen to the other sac now? Just let it be?

mik mik that's not a lot more. i thought it would be.

At KKH the scan results are immediate too. It's the blood test that takes a week or two to come back, but they will deliver the combined results on the same day as your nuchal scan.

nctgrace, based on your ET you are 8 weeks today. But based on the size they scanned, your bb's around 7.5wks. Cos it's a 'dating' scan which basically tries to correlate the size with the time of conception.

hi libby, singapoh,

strangely, dr loh did not show me the other sac; when i had bleeding during week 5, i went to him, he said probably the bleeding was due to the other embryo being unhealthy and expel as blood and clots but no mention of the sac. however, at camden, the doctor showed me the sac, that measures 19by44mm and the fetus papyraceous at 13mm, he assured that it is no cause for concern, does not affect the other growing bb and not endanger to my pregnancy.

tks singapoh, shall do that.

hi spiffy, i am not sure abt what to expect for my scans. everytime i am scheduled for it, i am happy to see the bbs but they seem stressed by the ultrasound. i tot 20 week scan is to determine gender?

Singapoh, think he happens to be online..

Spiffy, my ET was 3rd dec, my scan form put 6.5 wks pregnant on 6 jan leh... Nurse told me is counted as 4 wks on my blood test date, 18th.

I remembered Prof Anandakumar was telling me that since ours is by IVF, our EDD shouldn't change, thus, my EDD has been brought forward to 9 Jun according to my ER date....

I am likely to do my 20th/22nd week scan with Camden too. Will be telling Dr Loh when I see him next week...Wonder will he insist that I need to do with KKH too.....

wow. you gals very free leh.

Yesterday went for the 1st tri screening review. Prof said can feel my uterus already and finally he used the things to hear the baby heartbeats.

Singapoh, based on the review now i knew the baby size on 15 Dec 12wks 5 days was 6.6cm.