IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Soontobe, great to read the news..

Have a great Christmas and New year now..

Spiffy, I am not starting my shopping so soon lar..no place to store them. Will still wait till Mar to start buying the stuff.....but jus v excited with having a son...last night "arguing" with my hubby over the name for the son now....hehehehe

Thanks Vi4n. Now, I can really enjoy my Christmas & New Year..

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all!!!

Hi Lina,

Yeah... time really flies from the day u visited me in hospital.

My foot becomes "very smooth and chubby" lately (Swollen lah.. haaaa). I think I've been shopping too much. Is there a way to reduce water retention? Any cream to apply? I've tried to raise both foot while sleeping but doesn't really helps much. Maybe, I should continue with the maternity socks?

Spiffy,

still not enough shopping in USA? Did u buy any stretchmark lotion from there?

Soon to be,
u got to register early for KKIVF antenatal class coz good time slots will be snapped up very fast. We r in kiasu land :p

Singapoh, will check their schedules for Sat class.....if I wan the lessons to only end in early - mid May, I wonder whether they have the class schedules liao

Jan, oops.. sorry, blurr bee. so u r now at s/n 38 :>

<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug)</TD><TD>24 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug)</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD> 1 boy (delivered on 1 Nov)</TD><TD>1 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 9 Nov)</TD><TD>18 Nov 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 Dec)</TD><TD>7 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Pau le</TD><TD> In France</TD><TD> </TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 25 Nov 09)</TD><TD> 12 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>ximi</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 girl 1 boy (delivered on 10 Nov)</TD><TD> 16 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 22 Nov)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 16 Dec)</TD><TD>17 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys (delivered on 10 Dec)</TD><TD>25 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>WY Koo</TD><TD> In UK</TD><TD></TD><TD>1 girl (delivered 16 Dec)</TD><TD> 28 Dec 09</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Suresh Nair</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>28 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Develyn</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 8 Jan 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Eskimobaby</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>22 Feb 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Fresh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Sadhana</TD><TD> 2 boys</TD><TD> 30 Mar 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Orangey</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 10 Apr 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Maggiemee</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Marianne</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 8 May 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Yumyum</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> triplets</TD><TD> 7 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Soon to be</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 1 boy</TD><TD> 12 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 14 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Spiffy</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Kelly Loi</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 16 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Oxidised</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> 2 girls</TD><TD> 17 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Singapoh</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> twins</TD><TD> 22 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Vi4n</TD><TD> NUH</TD><TD> Prof PC Wong</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 23 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Mik Mik</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 30 Jun 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>berrybaby</TD><TD> SGH</TD><TD> Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 25 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>January</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 27 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Libby</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 29 Jul 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh </TD><TD> singleton</TD><TD> 12 Aug 10</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

soon to be,

Why choose so late? Should go earlier. You can learn how to take care of yourself now eg. What to eat, what not to eat, which medication is harmful/safe, exercise, etc. Have you started your pelvic floor exercise?

If I remember correctly, they have 9 am and 11 am on Saturday. So better book early if you want the 11 am slot.

soon-to-be, i agree with singapoh, dont wait till too late. i've read that some MTB waited till too late and in the end delivered early so ended up not attending the essential classes after all. KKH recommends 16 week to start part I.

Spiffy, I m thinking of starting in 22 week, shld be early Feb. So i think shld end around late Apr/mid May...it will be 1 mth before delivery

Hey ladies, any one of u have motion sickness? I'll always vomit after traveling in my hubby's car, despite him trying to make my ride as smooth as possible. Any remedy on this?

Aso, do you always more uncomfy in the middle of the night? My stomach seems to harden and uncomfortable every night, making the rest disturbed. I wonder is it my son's work?

i am getting more uncomfy at night..not used to sleeping on my sides but have no choice cos getting backaches sleeping on the back and i read it's no good to do so too. Stomach hardening - yeah well i guess that's the uterus that's ever expanding.

Btw, not related but here are 3 websites i check for fetal devt - just click on the relevant week you're in.
it's nice to know what's happening to your baby week after week.

http://3dpregnancy.parentsconnect.com/calendar/1-week-pregnant.html
http://www.i-am-pregnant.com/Pregnancy/calendar/week/1
http://www.pregnancyhut.com/1-week-pregnant/

week 16 seemed early.. at TMC, we can only register after week 20. i think week 22 is abt right to start

good to do pre-natal yoga/exercise too, esp those that could help ease backache and strengthen the hip area

spiffy
me too has not sign up the antenatal course yet.. will wait till january then sign ba
and when is ur next appt? shld be able to now bb's gender by then

Hi Lina ,

Yupz, super patient... 2weeks in counting..

Hi TNT ,

Hope u are good.. btw, antenatal course is better to go when u are 5-6mths preggy..=)

Singapoh, is ur babies! Cld be one of the bb's legs or knuckle sticking out... Serious, am not joking. You massage on that area, the bb knows n hence retract.

Soon-to-be, try to close ur eyes n rest when he is driving n breathe slowly. I do that when I hv sea motion sickness n it always works.

Hazel,
at this stage, I won't be feeling babies' kicks yet, only movement like butterfly in your stomach. They r still very
small.

I called the KK hotline. She asked me to return if it happens again even without pain.

Singapoh, it was USD5.49 for the 250ml pump bottle.

hey linda, my next appt is first week Jan. No U/S scheduled until the next next appt in Feb, but i wonder if my dr will use the machine in her room. Cos Feb is too long to wait!

btw, i think i'm gonna switch drs in view of Kelly being 5 mths preggie herself. i'll ask her to refer me.

Soon to be,
u will be given a manual. U can refer to it.

Spiffy,
very cheap. Here $27 a bottle. How many did u buy back? Make sure u r not allergic to it

Linda, I m seeing Dr Loh on 6 Jan..coz was planning to go for amino soon...but now I went to Camden for 2nd opinion, I have decided not to go for the amino...and I'm carrying our crown prince!

Hazel, closing of eyes don't work for me. I tried liao but feel even more giddy. Now hubby wan to use this as an excuse to change car.

Spiffy, I can't sleep on my back, got to sleep by my sides, mainly on my left hand side....

Singapoh, daytime, my stomach area will soften. it's usually in the mid of the night when i wake up to pee, i realise it has hardened and uncomfy

Bee, thanks for the tips...but I guess i will call earlier to book coz I wan a sat slot....

i only got 1 in case of allergic reaction. the kiasu singaporean in me wanted to buy in bulk but my hubby stopped me.

linda - when's yr next appt?

spiffy
my next appt on 7/1, tis appt was slot in after i got my spotting earlier on..
the detail scan will be on 26/1..

soontobe
glad tat u went ahead for ur 2nd opinion and it all turns out well
... i also love to sleep on my left side. in fact i couldnt sleep on other side...

hi fresh,
i also had very bad water retention on the legs since 2nd tri, nothing much to relieve that. I tried elevate legs most of the time as i was not working but does not help at all. Doctor only said not to worry.

Singapoh, I will check with Dr Loh during my 6 Jan appt. I kept telling my hubby that his son is quite active at nite....

And yeah, I got my frog leg porridge for dinner, finally!

Soon to be,
wow yummy wor. If I m not wrong,the antenatal class has a 2 weeks break in between. So if u start from 16 weeks, will be just nice. Can ask Spiffy .

I went to a GP. I got a throat infection. My voice is gonna be really sexy tmr... Ho ho ho. : p

Yeah Singapoh...at least get to eat it after thinking for so long....

Prob call KK to see any Sat class starting in end Jan, early Feb and when they will end then make a decision.

Aiyo, u sore throat again? Must be heaty is it? Drink a lot a lot of water lar...

develyn... another 2ww for you, but this one is certainly more exciting and with joy!
btw, can u also choose the time of delivery? well, since this is ox year and if u believe, u may want to choose an auspicious time when ox is resting

Hi Bee ,

Yupz.. we chosen afternoon which is the best time... ya and super excited but abit scary when thinking of the operation... keke...

Ladies : Anyone has First Few Years membership cards ?

hi develyn,
you got the timing...
which date is the operation going to be?

Hi ladies under Dr Zou,
like to know if anyone intend to visit Dr Zou together with babies? I was thinking of giving Dr Zou a cake or something for her help. Maybe we can go together. So far I only gave the kkivf department nurse a cake voucher for them to share.

hello... I'm with Dr SF Loh. ET on 28 Nov and going for my FIRST scan on 30 Dec. However, can anyone tell me what scan this is for?

I also read in the thread about DS risk.. What is this? And how to interpret it?

Getting worried after reading some threads that my baby/babies still at risk till after 1st trimester huh?

despondent, 9 mths of pregnancy is not easy. There is a risk throughout the entire pregnancy. Whatever the risk is...

Your 30 dec scan will be done by dr loh's cover as he is still on leave. You should be 6 wks plus pregnant then, from the scan, the doc can see how well the bb is growing and to detect heart beat. but at times bb's heart beat can be detected later at 7 to 8 wks pregnant.

There are a few tests for DS screening. Depending on which package u choose. DS stands for down syndrome. Usually, a woman will do a blood test n a detailed scan to determine if she is of a higher risk to hv DS bb. There is specific timing these tests need to be conducted. So doc will advise. if woman is high risk, she has a choice to whether she wants to do amniocentesis test which is a more accurate n conclusive DS test. But amniocentesis carries a risk of miscarriage.

if you want to find out more, u can go get a magazine on pregnancy from borders or surf the web for more information. There's a wealth of information out there.

can i ask if anyone has super bad MS that last for 2 weeks, and suddenly on the verge of recovering? im feeling better recently, but im worried bcos i had 3 consecutive days of brown spottings. I only increase my duphaston dosage.

Thanks ladies..

but i thought brown spotting is normal? cos the last time i had spotting, dr loh increase my duphaston dosage, thats all.. today it stop already, i will monitor and see how..

hi sunflower, have not log in a few days and just read your post. Take care and rest,k?

hi mommies, where do you get those baby stuff? got little hand me downs so looks like i got to buy/ find:
1) mittens and socks,
2) cots - buy 1 first or buy 1 each for bbs?
3) bb monitor
4) Changing mats
5) car seats
6) bbs buggy (twin type)
7) car seats
8) equipment for breast feeding - my gf told me to buy this later as bbs initially will need to latch on
9) equipment for bottle feeding

i just hop by Baby Hypermart in the weekend and using medela electric pump as an price index, it is cheaper than Spring maternity. Should I visit Taka instead? There is another Baby Kingdom that I was too tired to walk across after 1 hour of shopping at Baby Hypermart.

I am concerned that I will be on bedrest after week 20 so have to hurry with the shopping. Thank you for your advice!

Hi Yumyum, its not easy to latch on more than 1 bb at the sametime. My friend with twins wanted to latch on both at the same time but becoz she is just too tired, she end up expressing the milk using the dual breastpump. But the dual breast pump is not cheap. If you dont mind 2nd hand, maybe you can try to get from friend/relative so you can save a bit of money.

Hi Yum Yum, I'm not an expert here but to share my experience with you. My twins are coming to 1 month and these are the things we have for them:
1. Mittens and socks - I find myself using socks more as their toes get cold very fast esp during this weather. When I find that their nails are too long, I will use my nail filer and file for them. Beter that cutting.
2. Cot- I have 1 for them to share at this moment. So far ok.
3.BB monitor= Got the philips one. Very good as they do not sleep in the same room as us.
4. Changing mats- I have the changing table from Ikea and bought the changing mat from there. You will need to blow it up and there's a pair of cotton coverings for it as well. Since i attended Parentcraft, got a DUmex plastic changing mat free. I put this on the top as when changing especially their poo, accidents do happen.
5. Car seats- got mine from the taka sale. Britax brand which can be used till they are two.
6. Buggy- two singles, combi brand, my sister sponsored. So far ok lah. We don't really go out anyway, still too small. When we do go to the poly, usually carry them.
7. Breastfeeding pumps- I'm using Medela freestyle which I got online. I bought this very early in my pregnancy. Must still latch on otherwise, I find my BM decreasing.
8. Bottle feeding- Have both Avent and pigeon bottles. Interestingly, my boy use Avent better and my girl use pigeon better. Have about 4 bottles for each of them.

Hope this infor is useful for you.

Spiffy, Singapoh, Hazel, Nctgrace, here here....

Nctgrace, u can jus tell the gynae that you don't feel well and ur office is doing reno, so whether he can give u mc to stay at home and rest instead...

Hazel, u were saying 18th is 4weeks right? In that case, I would count Jan 8 (friday) as 6 weeks lor....wat the rest of the gals think?