IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Ms Hae,

Prof PC Wong stops doing delivery to concentrate on IVF. So Mary Rauff will be the one doing my delivery unless I pop these 2 weeks when she is on leave, then Prof will take over.

Btw, do you stay in Punggol, near Meridian LRT? I might have seen you before.

Hi Sophia,

I supposed that is the main problem with KK. There are too many patients, so the service is not so personal and the waiting time is long. Unlike NUH, Prof & all the nurses actually knows me by my name. I was quite surprised that he actually calls me by my name when we met at the corridor. I wasn't expecting him to remember me. When I was admitted coz of OHSS, he actually visited me more than once per day before & after he sees his patient. There was once he came almost 9 plus in the nite coz I was in great pain. There again, I've been with NUH since 2005.

Yap, agree with you cactus. It also doesn't help with the bad publicity regarding the wrong drug dosage.
Told myself that if (and that's a BIG IF) I am pregnant again, I will not want to go back to KK. If the pregnancy is simple without problems, I guess it's alright.... but not when it's IVF and laden with unforeseen problems during these 9 months journey.

Hi Sophia,

Our edd is the same, did your gynae mention when you are likely to deliver? My gynae told me it will not be later than 10 Dec. They will induce at week 38 if I've not given birth by then.

When I was 9 months preggy, I had some swelling on my feet and I went to KKH 24 hour emergency. Dr Loh left his clinic and attended to me. That was back in 2007. Maybe now he has too many patients. He still remembers my son's name now.

bliss - thanks for informing the sis here on my condition... i can get up and off the bed myself and can walk withput using the frame now
lesson learned : bb size matters, i think ideal weight shd be 3-3.2kg for my size. It was only after epi subsized then i realised i cant walk. after much discussion with gynae, she told me it was "symphysis pubis dysfunction" which will take 4wks or a few months to fully recover

all
a quick update since mil and hb are bathing bb yan4 jun2 :

28 Oct : zero dilation. gynae suggested induction on sat afraid that bb jun's head would grow bigger and mummy would hv diff pushing. i agreed. cant wait liao, tummy really heavy

30 Oct
1.30pm : 1 cm dilation. gynae put a tablet into V and told me to tahan till 11pm if i can, cos there would be additional day charge if i admit before 11pm

9pm : cannot tahan the frequent (<5min) and acute constraction, asked hb to send me to hosp immediately.

9.30pm : at labour ward. i was the only one screaming. immediately ask for epi cos pain was like every min. nurses told me to do the deep breathing as they say still early, only 1cm dilation... believe me, deep breathing not effective by then!! was told to clear my bowel and take a shower though i hardly could stand up myself!!

10pm : finally injected epi...

10.30pm : phew! much better. Gynae came and said it was 4-5cm dilation. was sent to another room where me and my hb can rest and wait for stage 2.

8am : the worst wait! finally, 10cm dilated but both legs already numb and i couldnt feel any contractions. epi dosage was reduced. (maybe they shd hv reduced it much earlier when i complained abt the numbness)

9.30am : nurses said cannot wait, must start pushing liao... i tried pushing for one hour, cannot

10.30am : gynae suggested to cut off epi and wait for 30mins b4 i try again

11.05am : this time i can feel the contraction, but still not successful. gynae advised forceps and i agreed...

11.20am : with 3 hard pushes, forceps and 2 nurses pressing on my tummy...

11.28am : i heard bb cries... bb jun is born at 3.725kg, head cir : 34cm and length 51cm. tt feeling was amazing and relieved too!

will find time to post some pic in fb shortly... bb was mild jaundice, yellow sticky eye discharge (almost recovered), diaper rash at annus and backside, look longer and skinny as compared to born (Is this normal?). otherwise, he is well.

cheers!

ju - where to get nepia? i am using pampers and giant... but bb poo quite watery, so there were leaks at times.

tintedsky - congrats to your newborn... Lina, you will be next. hope ur delivery will be smooth.

someone mentioned mil vs confinement lady.. well, really depends on individual and circumstances. if i knew i need to be taken care of as well, i would hv opted for a CL. there are a lot of things i cant simply ask MIL to do. lucky hb is on 3 weeks leave. i am now worried abt next week when he is back to work.. its really really hard to close eyes and ears for things u dun believe! i tride not to talk back as i dun want to put hb in diff position

btw, how long is confinement? 28 days or 30days? cant wait for it to be over and i can get some peace and do things the way i want it to be.

a ver y sincere thanks to all for the support and encouragement thruout the journey...

its not a farewell statement, u will still see me around

hi bee,
congrats! do you have any side effect from epidural? Thanks, i am next in the queue.
i only did confinement for 28 days, the shorter the better.

i'm miss hae.

cactus
yes, i stay in punggol but near kadaloor lrt.

oh, he's no longer doing delivery? he is really a great gynae. he was also very kind to let me check into the b1 ward, the 6bed and even though the nurses told me that since i chose 6bed, prof wong will not be delivering me but HE chose to deliver me. i am eternally grateful. he even visited me daily at the ward and at night, he will call the ward to check on my blood pressure and see if i'm doing ok. i was very happy to see him again for my 6months post delivery checkup.

Bee,
you are welcome! Happy to hear from you here!

Hope you are coping well too.
just sms you the info about ordering nepia. I find giant quite good leh, maybe the leaks were due to putting on the diapers bit loose or wat. Teng teng alsoo experienced that a few times in the past when the amount of urine was alot or we sticked the diapers a bit looser those few times.

miss hae/cactus,
both of you stay in Punggol too? Me too! I stay near to meridian lrt, so quite near to cactus, right?

Congrats bee, you've a chubby baby!

Hi Vi4n, not too sure. Scan at every visit is not necessary and may not be a good idea. For me I dreaded each scan coz my scan is done at ADC - main building. Always had to wait for an hour, scan for an hour, then proceed to Keng Ridge Wing to see gynae, another hour. Min 3 h for each checkup until I very paiseh, take half-day leave each time it involves a scan.

Hi bliss,
Maybe we're neighbours leh? Mine is near Mee Toh Sch, can see TPE one.

Hi Ms Hae,
I ever saw triplets with mum and maid downstairs at the playground, was thinking it might be you.

Sophia, I heard of such incidents from my gf too. She is also with Dr Loh, shld be ard the same week or 1 week later than u. She was telling me that she was always the one notifying Dr Loh of her trips to the 24hrs clinic, then he would know. I think that is one of my concerns though i very much still like to stay with him coz afterall, he knows very well of my condition. As this is my 1st pregnancy, I will definitely like to have the sufficient attention to manage me thru delivery. I really don't know, heard a lot of positive n negative feedback. I'm still considering....maybe consider too long till dun have to change liao....heheheheh....that's the lazy side of me..

bee,
congrats on bb yan jun!
ya, guess bliss alrdy passed u the info on ordering nepia. btw, they dun deliver on thurs.
do keep the red tab at the side of the packing, accumulate 10 pcs to change for ntuc voucher.

Hi Cactus,
Will be see my dr tomorrow. Can discuss when the C sect can be I hope. My MIL has chosen some good dates and times, hopefully can do it on those chosen dates to make her happy.

Soon to be: If you are having a singleton, my advice is to get another pte dr. Afterall, it's your first baby and I'm sure you will want to have close contact with the dr.It will be tough to get this attention with dr loh.

hi juju,
i will be trying out nepia too. Just need to collect the tabs to change voucher, by asking nepia delivery or go direct to ntuc? thanks

how much is the nepia diapers for newborn 60 pieces? I went to their online delivery but no price stated leh. I'm trying to do a price comparison with Goo.N.

Hi Helen,
I forgot the price of the Nepia newborn diapers liao, I bought from the Japanese supermarket, Meiji in Liang court that time. But GOO.N is definitely more expensive than nepia. You can check the prices of both in Liang court Japanese supermarket too, it sells both diapers. Nepia diapers of other sizes are selling at $15 per pack, not sure newborn size also the same or not.
There is website, http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php
which you can request for GOO.N diaper sample, it sells online too. I requested once for newborn size before delivery and once recently for M size. :p
GOO.N is very soft and absorbent, but exp leh.

Hi lina,
once you have collected 10 of the red gift coupons on the diaper packages, you just have to stick them on a piece of paper, write your name, address and contact no on it too, and send to Raffles City PO Box 1783 Singapore 911760, and they will send you the $10 ntuc voucher.

I have collected 10 not long ago and sent to them already.

Lina,
you r welcome!
Looking forward to hear your good news very soon. I tot 2nd bb usually arrives earlier, how come your gynae said will probably be overdue again?

Lina - so far i dun feel any ache on the back or anywhere... but injured my left wrist while BF bb in clutch position.. haiz! if u opting for epi, rem to ask them for moderate dosage... at least u must feel a little contraction at tummy and legs shd not be numb.. if numb, ask them to lower dosage. my initial dosage was 7 units (not sure if this is the recommended dosage). hv asked the nurse to lower the dosage when i felt the numb but her response "i can lower but wont i dunno if u can cope with the pain" made me scare and so i was on 7 units abt 8-9 hrs

ju/bliss - thanks. btw how many pieces of diaper in a pac har?

bliss - think giant S is a little big for jun at week 1. anyway, i finished one pac of giant liao. I am using pureen and pampers for the time being. he was 3.3kg when we discharged. now, he shd be back to 3.7kg though his face is smaller

yumyum - ya, consider huge for asian baby and a mum who only stands at 1.6m :D am glad that i was still able to deliver naturally

Fresh - bliss told me $15 per pac and need to buy 4 pacs so total shd be $60

hi bliss,
he base on records as my boy is long overdue at 41 weeks. So seeing the baby size, about 3kg now, should also be overdue.

hi bee,
Glad you have no ache, you recover fast. I also had the injured wrist last time, took 6 mths to recover. Do be careful.

bee,
cant remember hw many pcs. u can chk nepia.com.sg.

lina,
wow! 6 mths? i hope i can recover soon. sprained my wrist 2 wks ago

Bee,
Nepia nb size 60 pcs, S size 54 pcs, M size 48 pcs. The website is http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html

How come baby jun was 3.3kg( from 3.725kg) when discharged hor? Quite some weight lost though it is quite normal for nb bbs to strink a bit after born. Anyway, not impt also lah, as long as baby Jun is growing well now.

Lina,
oic, but different pregnancies will be different even for the same person, I wonder why your gynae based on your first boy's record. Anyway, are you excited? Cant wait for your gal's arrival huh? Hee...

Hi bliss,

Baby usually loses about 10% of its weight when discharged. So quite normal for Bee's case. My gynae was telling me my twins must at least be 2.2kg each so that when they are discharged that time, they are at least 2kg.

cactus,
10% loss? really? But how come my son gained a bit when discharged? His birthweight was 3.32kg, I stayed in KKH for 5 days( coz c section delivery), but he stayed for 6 days due to mild jaundice. His weight was 3.4kg when discharged.

Hi Bliss, Ju and Bees,

Thanks for the infor. So Nepia NB is about $0.10/pc cheaper than Goo.N. Hmm... if dun look at the price, is Goo.N better or are the the same?

Both seems to have some prevention of nappy rashes as stated in their web which I like. I dun think I will be using cloth diaper.

hi juju and bee,
hope both of you will recover the wrist soon. I didn't see any doctor or use any medication, just let it heal on its own. I was sahm last time so thought that see doctor also no use as will sprain again.

hi bliss,
well, excitement is not as high. Going through the same process 2nd time is like a routine, just like going through the ivf again and again.

fresh,
after we use giant, hb say dun use cloth le. giant more economical.
i tried goon once, not much diff to me. i like nepia best! but cannot use all the time. cos it get more ex wif bigger sizes.

lina,
i saw doc only to get mc. now using wrist brace when the pain is bad

Helen,
you can ask for diaper samples from both Nepia and GOO.N for your bbs to try later on. Just buy one brand first to see your bbs like it then. To me, Nepia is good enough. I still feel GOO.N a bit exp. Btw, newborn bbs use up diapers very fast, esp breastfed bbs, so no need to use exp diapers if possible. Somemore, you are having twins, you will find it very siong next time.

Helen,
if you dont really mind about the prices, I would recommend mamy poko, beside Nepia. Mamy poko is much softer(the soft gathers at the back of the diaper makes it extremely comfy for the baby) and never have urine leakage(teng teng experienced a few times of leakages when using Nepia)

hey! all,
how has everyone been? Juz came back from my 36 weeks scan. Doc say water level is average n will look at it to see if 2 weeks time it is lower or normal. Anyone experienceed this b4??

Hi MTBs, 1st time posting on this thread. A few of you may remember me from the IVF chatroom. Anyway, can't resist coming in to offer my best wishes to MTBs who have come thru the long journey and finally holding their bundle of joy. Am currently in my 34wk, EDD is 28 Dec. Expecting a girl.

Bee, congrats on the arrival of baby Yan Jun!

Lina, wow, indeed you are next, hope you have a safe and smooth delivery

Very soon will be my cycle buddies' and my turn. So excited n anxious....

itjabi,
hmm... for me, wk 39 scan water level ok, wk 40 scan water level low liaoz... no idea wat gynae mean by average. did u ask for more info?
meanwhile, do monitor for at least 10 movements daily

Hi Juju, have been in my birth month MTB thread, which is more active, reading silently and absorbing about what to prepare/expect during pregnancy n motherhood. Popped in here occasionally too.

Am good, thanks except for the occassional pregnancy niggles.

WY,
yea... those threads are very informative too. i myself is still engaged in the thread, now onto semi-solid feedings...

all the best for the rest of ur pregnancy &amp; enjoy a smooth delivery!

juju78: I also dont know.,. They said it means the plancenta is starting to slow down due to baby coming. This morning i had a bit of brown discharge together with my normal discharge. Suspect it is the mucus plug. Did u experience seeing this? I learnt from prenatal class that if muscuc plug occurs means in a few days time baby is arriving.. SO stressed out now coz it sooo early!!!!

itjabi,
no, i din c the plug.
hmm... mucus plug drop out dun mean bb coming soon. it can be frm a few days to weeks.
keep monitoring bb's movements n watch for contractions