IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi ltjabi,
do ask your gynae. When i had bleeding at 2nd trimester, doctor strongly advise against getting intimate. Then when pregnancy stabilize, he said can go ahead.

Itjabi, Lina, Ju - thanks, i not worry la... in fact i shd be glad to hv very little symtoms. many said my tummy is huge for 27 weeks... i think so too

Cactus / Sophia - so nice to have twins on Christmas Day!... oh, chicken pox is contagious and can spread, esp pregnant woman has lower immunity... i am not sure will it affect bb, why dun u call ur gynae and find out. better be safe!

Itjabi - unless u r experiencing bleeding ==> unstable pregnancy, else no prob to get intimate with husband while pregnant, but do the easy pose... . i had some bleeding during 1st tri... so, gynae advised us to wait till bb is stable (past week 12). i think i started getting intimate at week 15... and just to be safe, not too vigorous la, go light :p

bliss - glad to know that u are managing better... it will get even better
leave all the heavy house works and stuff to ur maid, dun carry heavy things urself. watch ur posture while feeding and carrying baby too... keep us posted thru ur FB.

thanks guys for info.
Cactus: i remember my cousin had chicken pox when she was pregnant. Didnt affect bb.do ask ur gynae though to be safe.

Thanks Bee & Itjabi for your concern.

I brought my gal to see doctor. Doctor said it is not chicken pox but viral infection. I'm a bit confused, even gave me a letter to go polyclinic to collect Tamiflu if she develops a fever. Initially I thought it was chicken pox coz her childcare class almost all had chicken pox before, she is the only one that doesn't have yet. But it looks more like allergy that result in outbreak of red dots/rashes all over her body, no liquid like the case of chicken pox. Anyway, I'm keeping her at home to monitor further.

cactus13: wish ur daughter a speedy recovery.

Can u gals enlighten me how much is too much durain. I read up on website saying that durian is too heaty n may coz skin problem to bb. How much is too much??Im taking around 5 seeds a week.

itjabi
I have eaten only 2x so far. not making it a regular thingy.i also dare not eat much coz pregnant women tend to have heaty body with all the iron, calcium and 'bu' stuff.. But during confinement, its differnet, the woman will have 'liang' body, thats why no matter what heaty confinemnt food you eat, its ok.

Hi mommies & mommies-to-be.... i'm from IVF/ICSI support group and thot i shd join the forum here. Congrats to those who recently gave birth.

Hi lina... nice to 'see' you here!

Ladies... Got a question. I starting to itch all over. I was scratching both arms a few nights ago. Next morning, both arms were red! I remembered my sisters developed severe skin rashes during pregnancy and my ex colleague's arms broke out in scabs all over! I bought Palmer's oil for itchy skin from NUH pharmacy ytd. Anyone any idea what else is good to prevent such rashes?

sofia,
if the itches are bad, better to see gp or skin specialist & get medication safe for pregnancy.
meanwhile, keep urself cool & dry. dun scratch!!!

Hi Sofia,
Congrats on your BFP. I find that using moisturisers helps too. Right now, my skin on my arms and legs have started to itch too but it's due to the skin being stretched and dry. I put the moisturiser in the fridge and then apply at night, very cooling and feels good.

hi cactus,
sometimes not all kids will get chicken pox even if from the same childcare class. How old is your gal? my boy had flu and fever symptoms a few weeks ago, the doctor also said due to viral infection and was given tamiflu. I had only slight running nose then and was sent to the delivery suite at kk, monitor for an hour before i was allowed for discharge. Then both of us had to stay home for 10 days to monitor.

hi sofia,
welcome to this thread!!!! glad you join here.

Sofia,
I experienced skin itchiness during my pregnancy too. I went to see a skin doctor at Tampines and got some quite effective n safe for preggy cream n moisturiser.

I think better to see a skin specialist if your condition is quite bad.

Itjabi
depends on your body condition too. If so far, no side effect of heatiness, i suppose you can take... but as with anything else, eat in moderation.

I'm new to this thread.
Can I ask during the 1st tri, does the baby absorb the food which mum take in?
Or rather, does the baby benefit from the extra vit/ tonics taken by mum?

Hi babydream,
welcome to the thread.

actually the foetus absorbs all the nutrients needed straight from the mother's body reserve, however mother still needs to take extra care of what food to take and not to take during pregnancy, as it will be passed to the baby thru the blood. As for the extra vit n tonics, it is for the good of the mother , coz baby is 'stealing' the nutrients from mother, so mother needs to consume the nutrients back to herself.

Hey Bliss

Thanks for the answer.

Actually I'm very scared as I'm not sure if I've over consume Vit C & Fish Oil.

I'm used to taking Vit C 1000mg and 2 tablets of fish oil a day (I'm prone to flu & sore throat, so supplement help to prevent the potential sickness).

I've been taking it till yesterday I was advised by my friend that high Vit C could be dangerous to bb cell developement, also the fish oil may contain Vit A which may affect bb too.

I've stopped all supplement today, which I hope it is not too late.

I in week 6 now, so very paranoid since not sure if I've done something bad which may affect my bb.
I'm going for my week 6 scan this Fri, I hope everything is fine.

Can someone pls advise me?

Hi Babydream ,

Dun be stress on what have been taken.. for now, folic acid is the most important vit. that should be taken.. some ppl do take prenatal multivit but i took it only late of first trimester... as for fish oil tablets, just keep it for second trimester, it is good for baby's brain developement..

Hi 76,

Thanks for you email.. still too early for me to prepare anything.. i m still at 15wks only... arrgg.. time really slow for me man..

Develyn

Thanks for your encouragement.
You take care.
I hope you're getting better from MS .....
For me I wish to have MS ......

Hi BabyDream ,

Enjoy with no ms.. really very xin gu to have ms...

Hi Lina ,

Dr Loh precribe me with obimin n neurogainPB (Fish oil) .. btw, 2nd trim no need to eat folic acid right?

Hi Lina,
My gal is 3 yrs old alrdy. My gynae only gave me folic acid for 1st trimester. In the second trimester, coz my haemoglobin is low, I was given iron tablet. Also, encouraged to take calcium pills as I do not take milk.

Hi Itjabi,
So far I've had 7 durian feast and my gynae said I put on too much weight. 5 kg in 5 months. Asked me to cut down food intake. Durian is very nutritious for the baby but eat in moderation or else will put on a lot of weight.

I'm 11 weeks pregnant after 1st ivf try in May... see some familiar nicknames here

develyn,
the obimin contains folic acid too if i remember correctly after reading the contents...

hi develyn,
my gynae only gave obimin and calcium tablets. Next time i ask for neurogain too. Oh yes, 2nd tri onwards, no need folic already. Have you done the down syndrome test yet?

hi cactus,
my boy also 3 yrs old.
Is your gal excited about the arrival of her 2 didi?

hi eskimobaby,
welcome to the thread.

Hi Eskimobaby,

Obimin only got 1mg of folic compared orange pill got 5mg.. anyway, i stop eating the 5mg de liao..

Hi Lina,

I thought yr gynae is Dr Loh also?

One thing I don't like about taking the fish oil is the horrible taste in the mouth when you burp. Also noticed the urine to be very yellow and 'oily'. Any one else notice this?

Hi Sophia,

No leh.. mine dun feel much diff on burp or urine.. msybe is a diff brand.. u might want to switch it after checking with gynae...

I guess different people with react differently to the med.
Very excited, tomorrow my detailed scan. Praying that they are well.
Nowadays very naughty. poking me so experiencing pain all the way at my ribcage even. night times are the worst.

Hi Twinstar ,

Was thinking of calling u sometime ago.. when do u get to know the gender of the baby? I hope dr loh can see next friday but only 16wks..

Hi Sophia,

Baby kicking hard n telling u tat they will be arriving very soon.. i still no feeling yet.. lol

develyn
You are welcome. You can always keep it for future reference. i am still eating folic acid at 3rd tri, 2x a day, 2 pills per time. i just asked my gynae during my last visit, he said to continue wor...and he added 1 more vit C, so i only started vit C in 3rd tri....now i am taking iron (1x), calcium (1x), folic (2x), DHA(2x), vitC (1x) every day.

I just discovered to my horror, i got water retention at my ankles...know its quite common and need to prop my legs up... besides that, anything else i shld do or eat to solve the problem? I pressed my ankle, wah, the skin cannot pop back leh, machiam like dead fish and also a bit of pain adn itchy..

hi develyn,
when i found that only singleton, i quickly went back to my previous gynae (also from kk). The queue is much shorter compare to Dr Loh and he jokes alot, more friendly and personal. I am anxious to know your babies gender, keep us updated.
Sometimes gynae can see or guess baby gender at 16 weeks if nothing blocking.

hi 76,
i also have water retention already, maybe just try to rest legs as much as possible but cannot really stop it.

Hi develyn,

I changed gynae at week 17,my current gynae told me the gender, my last appt with Dr loh was week 14, that time he said bb upside down cannot see gender. I changed gynae is becos I dun like KK nurses' attiude and Dr Loh's waiting time is killing.

Hi eskimobaby,
welcome to the thread! Enjoy your pregnancy!

babydream,
you are welcome.

I would advise you to seek advice from your gynae regarding what multi vits to take and how much to take. Dont take your own multi vits then, better to seek approval and take the med from doc.
Actually I feel that it is best to get all the nutrients and vitamins from the natural food source, try to eat all food good for u and baby.

Gynae will usually prescribe multivit tablets n calcium n iron pills when needed, these will be good enough to take throughout pregnancy.

Twinstars,
will do!

Yes, better to elevate your legs and rest more. Try to drink more water to flush out any excess salt intake. Also try to take less salt in your meals.

Seek your gynae's advice if the condition is serious.

updated,
<table border=1><tr><td>No</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>hospital</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Baby gender</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Imel</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered)</TD><TD>21 Apr 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Juju</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl (delivered on 7 May)</TD><TD>6 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 12 May)</TD><TD>12 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Bliss</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Sadhana</TD><TD>1 boy (delivered on 21 May)</TD><TD>27 May 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Sam</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>3 boys (delivered on 1 May)</TD><TD>11 Jun 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Pleasance</TD><TD>In KL</TD><TD></TD><TD>1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Hopfully</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun)</TD><TD>12 Jun 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Ponytail</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>2 girls(delivered)</TD><TD>4 Jul 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Babymaking</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul)</TD><TD>25 Aug 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Littlebee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>3 girls</TD><TD>24 Sep 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Kaira</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>30 Sep 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Cribby</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>76</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof Ng</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>10 Oct 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Bee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>1 Nov 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15 </TD><TD>Tintedsky</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Prof SC Ng</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>18 Nov 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Lina</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>7 Dec 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Itjabi</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>1 girl</TD><TD>17 Dec 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>twinstars</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr TC Cheng</TD><TD>1 boy</TD><TD>17 Dec 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Sophia Cheng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>25 Dec 09 </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>cactus13</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>25 Dec09 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hmmm, quite a number of you ladies having same EDD huh... so nice.

Bliss

Thks for the advise.

It's really nice of you to tabulate the list, despite the face that you already delivered your bb in May, you still stay around to give support (esp to new comers).

cactus13: thanks for ur advise. Will take durians in moderate
So exciting to have twins as christmas gift

Twinstar: how r u?? Congrats on ur boy. Our due date is the same day

Develyn: I was told to stop folic acid in second trimester however i have some tablets not finished yet so juz continue taking until finish
He sud be able to tell u the gender by week 16 coz when i went for my week 16 scan he told me was a gal but said wait for 20th week scan to confirm n he was rite
All the best ya. So exciting. Can u feel bbs movements already??

76: Do elavate ur legs n sit. 2 more months n things will get better. I have spider veins on my legs.. So Horrible now.. Cant even where shorts anymore

bliss: thanks for updating my edd
Hope all is well with u

i got spotting scare after lunch.

Just went to toilet to check that the spotting stopped now.
Do you think I should be alarmed and go to KKH 24 hr clinic?

Lina

I'm working, so cant lie down.

No spotting now.
Should I still go to 24 hr clinic to check on my bb first - rather then wait for Dr Loh this Sat? (HB cant make it tomorrow which is original dating to do week 6 scan, so change to Sat instead)

Hi Babydream ,

When i got bleeding spots, i will go kk n they will give u progesterone jab on thigh.. baby should be piority, rest when u need okie..

wow.. this thread is moving fast since i last logged in and good to see familiar names... and other friend mummies-to-be.

ladies... i'm taking duphaston twice daily and progrestrone jabs twice weekly. not sure if it is a normal protocol for NUH or others? i did not have any bleeding or spotting... so was just wondering