IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

yo ladies,
Happy New Year 2009!
jus came back from Mums & Babes @ AMK Hub, Medela pumps having special offer, inclusive of City Style & Bean Husk pillow for baby.
mini electric set @ $249, mini electric plus set @ $329, Swing set @ $400+, PIS set @ $699
they say no idea when promo ending, so those who are getting breast pumps can go look see.
oh, they dated my warranty card as 1st May 09, cos i said delivery in May 09. jus send out ard dat day

Hi cale,
Ya loh... Me and my DH very disappointed leh...
cos she never look the result and told us how is the scan result... sighhh....
ya loh... my friend also got told their baby weight leh... sighh...
Next appt, i must ask abt this with Dr loh leh..
btw, where u meet him? TPS?

Hi Juju,
So which type you buy? the breast pump, is it included with cooler bag for milk?

Jo,
me cheapskate, bought the cheapest set - mini electric set @ $249
each set comprise of pump + city style (bag + cooler bag + cooling element + 4 Medela EBM bottles) + bean husk pillow

Jo,
the pillow for 压惊 if i'm right... most babies will have one on their tummy during sleep

think my baby sis last time jerked less & woke up less when we remember to put the pillow on her tummy

hi juju,

ooo ic...
btw, you are not cheapskate. you are wise, not to choose the expensive one. If i were u, i also do the same thing. Hehehehe ^_^

Thanks for the info. Later, i am thinking to go AMK Hub for walk walk n see see.. hehehe

btw, do you stay near AMK?

wishing everyone & all your lovely babies in tummies a BLISSFUL & SMOOTH-SAILING 2009!!

would appreciate yck to add me to the list. thanks.
Nickname : pretyy lady
EDD : 17 Jul 09
No. of Baby : Singleton
Gynae Clinic : SF Loh
Clinic / Delivery Hospital : KKH

Jo,
ya,i stay somewhere opp AMK Hub.

hee... i bot the cheapest cos alrdy spent a lot on bb stuff & maternity wear le..,

Josephine,
like what juju said, the pillow is for helping baby to sleep peacefully.

Some pple(esp grandma making for grandchildren) made their own pillows by drying empty bean shells and sewing the pillow cover. But that takes up lots of time leh and of course no one makes for my baby, heehee. So have to buy from outside lor. i saw from the singapore motherhood bulk puchase selling at $20 each, so I want to ask you ladies if there are any good and cheaper ones selling outside.

Bliss,
can go mums & babes and other such shops to see how much they sell. later if i go amk hub again, i try to see also

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No. of Baby</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD>Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD>05 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>1 Boy 1 Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD>1 Boy 1 Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>babywee</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD>04 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>BabyOnBoard</TD><TD>02 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>mikojade</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maykel</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2 Girls </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cale</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>juju78</TD><TD>07 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>12 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bliss Tan</TD><TD>27 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sam</TD><TD>09 Jun 09</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>Dr Hema</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pleasance</TD><TD>03 Jul 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopefully</TD><TD>03 Jul 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pretyy lady</TD><TD>17 Jul 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBW</TD><TD>22 Jul 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ponytail</TD><TD>27 Jul 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

My MIL bought the husk pillow at Chinatown Market (1 level) for $12 for my SIL in last sept. But, she thinks it was too heavy that she separate it into two (just nice for twin then. :p)
But, she then saw it in one of the pasar malam and it is only sold at $8. Maybe you want to try your luck there?

Hi Bliss,
ooo ic. Interesting.
In my country there is no bean husk pillow baby.
Hehehe.. Thanks for the info.

hi ponytail

not sure what is my EDD yet, will update next week after the AMC scan.

dear gals,
is it normal to start puking from week 6 onwards? been also having bladder spasms and insomnia.

Thanks, Joanne and juju!
I will continue to search.

Josephine,
in your country? May I know where are you from? You are not Singaporean?

babymaking,
yes, it is normal to have those symptoms.

For bladder spasms, what do you mean exactly? You get full bladder easily right? Do you get the spasms when you retain the urine for too long?

bliss

pain after peeing, feeling urgent but nothing comes out, going to the loo like every 10 min. it's not a UTI, had it checked out already, so wondering if it's normal in early pregnancy?

babymaking,
oh... I did not have such symptom leh. It really sounds like UTI since there is pain. Good that you have checked. So you have seen doc right? Not infection too, right?
If you are not having any infection, perhaps you drink more plain water and fruits, see if can have more urine and pass out as much as possible.

Hi babymaking,

I also have the feeling like after peeing, very fast you will feel the bladder filled up, and want to go to the loo again. However, i did not feel the pain. I also agreed with Bliss, it sounds like UTI if there is a pain. If this has been ruled out, then not sure what is it already.

Josephine,
Sonography is not 100% accurate, but if during every scan, the gender shows the same, it should be probably correct.
I heard of a case of my sis' friend that the ultrasound scans show baby is girl all the way to the final scan, however she gave birth to a boy. Very strange, but this is rare lah.

Josephine,
ooh... maybe can meet &amp; go shopping sometimes.
If scanned is a boy, shld be quite accurate bah, cos got thing sticking out. dat's wat dr loh say jus now. gal will hv nothing in the area.

Babymaking,
i also had the super quick feeling of bladder filling up without the urine, but no pain leh... wat did doc say since not UTI?

update on chk-up:
still quite confident is a gal. all healthy. jus realise the other black spot in the body is the stomach, quite close to the flickering heart. twitching legs is considered normal. hair highlight &amp; treatment also ok as long as the ingredient is safe. yippee! tmr go do hair then at least got a part of me looks pretty.
hmm... can't remember the rest le.

dear gals

haven't seen the doc yet after the urine test results came out, but the urine culture came back clear so no UTI or infection.

dun know what it is yet but it's periodic and usually happen at night - which adds to my insomnia, feeling quite miserable, plus the merlioning started today.

if you can't take plain water, what else to substitute? (cannot have anything with citric acid as i realise it worsen the bladder spasm and incite more gastric also)

also any advice on what fruits can be taken?

today I really feel I am weak leh, dont know what is wrong with me. I cooked a few dishes for lunch and waited for hubby to come home to eat together. I always cook a few dishes meals at home in the past and I can do quite well. But today after cooking and washing, both my hands have the same muscles aching feeling, just like the other time I injured my right hand after sweeping the floor. Why I am so good for nothing leh, dont even have the ability to cook....

I actually plan to prepare home cooked food for dinner next week onwards, coz I am really sick of outside food, very salty and not nutritious enough. Haiz... found that my joints are very loose and easily aching, why like that leh?

My tummy has been feeling very itchy these few weeks. The skin on tummy has become very ugly, have been applying moisturier daily though.
I found that my tummy doesnt grow very much these 2 weeks leh, wonder if it is ok. I still dont know I feel baby's movements or not, only have been feeling very very slight fluttering, not sure what it is.

Bliss,
i hv a similar problem. since abt 2 mths preggie, i hv been having carpal tunnel syndrome - numbness in hands, sometimes up to elbow. sometimes, cannot even hold a pen properly, keep dropping things... haha... initially very depressed, then decided hv to accept it since books say is part of preggie...
hubby &amp; me also been eating outside food for a long time. spare a few days when i could cook porridge but we still open can food. sianz... dun even have mood to make desserts...

think u r having stretch marks, try to apply more moisturiser so dat ur skin dun become dry after it stretches... jus now dr loh mentioned sometimes palmer cocoa butter causes rashes. he also asked me to look out for rashes while on body shop cocoa butter... so far so good... touch wood!!!

at least urs dun look like it's growing... mine seems to grow &amp; shrink on a daily basis.

hw many wks r u now?
i'm 22 wks but still dun get much movements. maybe i hv too much fats!

bliss - your joints will tend to swell cos of increased blood flow, thats normal. if you cant dahan can paste some goh yoke or medicated oil, but check if got pregnancy warning first.

ladies - today i'm 10wks and 1 day. happy to cross the 2 digit mark. i still dont feel any movement in the belly, is it normal ? in fact, i'm feeling more energetic today than last week. hope my babies are growing fine.

babymaking - try drinking honey ? i realised it has also hhelped a bit in my constipation

Hi Bliss, Juju,
Yup, I got read some article that ultrasound might not 100% accurate (*make me curious to know more abt this ^_^).
I guess I must wait for my next appt to see whether the gender still same or not.
Hehehe..

Hi Juju,
Hehehehe.. yup maybe we can meet sometime..
or maybe we got meet at AMK but we do not recognize each other.. hehehe
How You know your baby gender? is it from Dr Loh or Sonographer?

Hi Ponytail,
normally the earliest you can feel the movement is on 12wks. I think your babies are growing well and fine cos you feeling more energetic.. hehehe...

dear ladies,

got some interesting website that show ultrasound picture abt baby gender:

http://pregnancy.about.com/od/fetus/ig/20-Week-Ultrasounds/20-Week-Ultrasound---Foot.htm

http://pregnancy.about.com/od/boyorgirl/ss/genderus_5.htm

http://www.ob-ultrasound.net/genderfaq.html

It is very amazing... hehehe
do you know that baby boy penis also can erect? huahahahaha... it is very interesting... :D

another link about embryo development Internal and external genital organs:
http://www.baby2see.com/gender/external_genitals.html

juju,
I am 19 weeks plus now, will be going for my 20 weeks detailed scan next week.
I am still using the anti-itch moisturiser the skin doc gave, so far so good, just that I really need to use it every day a few times, if not my skin will feel very very itchy, not only tummy.
How come your tummy will grow and shrink daily? Maybe it looks like shrinking when you are empty-stomach.

I just read online that many pple feel baby's movement only during 22 weeks or later, as the placenta is in front of baby inside uterus and so serves like a cushion for baby and so mother doesnt really feel much baby's movement as the placenta is in between.
Btw, better dont take canned food, not good for baby leh. Try to take fresh food at home.

ponytail,
thanks. Ya, probably becoz of increased blood flow, I also experienced gum bleeding few days ago, I was shocked when my gums suddenly bled when flossing my teeth. My gums almost dont bleed at all in the past.

I also found myself very thirsty lately, drink alot of water everyday.
I read that our heart have to pump 7 litres of blood every minute! That is a lot hor! No wonder I always feel my heart beating very fast.
Congrats coming to 10 weeks le!
It is normal not feeling your babies' movements at this time, no worry, it is still early to feel it now.

Josephine,
Dr Loh first told me is a gal, the last appt before detailed scan. then during DS &amp; today's appt, saw as a gal again. so Dr Loh say quite confirmed is a gal.

Bliss,
the shrinking most likely occur jus before i eat bah... the only fresh food we have is porridge, fruits &amp; milk. cos we seldom cook so no point buying.

as for feeling baby, the placenta is not at the same place for everyone. some at the back, some at the front. ppl who hv more fats in tummy also feel bb movement later.

now, most of the feeling is bubbles &amp; some prodding from inside. once a while will have internal kicking or pushing kind of feeling. only once hubby managed to kena "punch", other than that is all inside, cannot feel from outside.

hey ju,

i dun think cranberries/juice will help cos they contain high levels of citric acid, worsen the bladder spasms.

thks gals for your opinions, waiting for tue appt to check with gynae, if cannot tahan will go 24hr clinic and get help.

the pain is really bad, been up since 2am, sitting on the toilet bowl, trying to pee.
arghs, one moment hug bowl, another moment sit on it.

kinda funny, dun know whether to laugh or to cry...

Hi Maykel
Thanks for the CL's no.. By the way, how are you doing on your side?

Hi yck
So your c-section will be in early Feb? Went to see my gynae and he said that I could in labour soon after he mentioned my tummy is big....feel so scary as am only 7mths preggie....hope the babies can be in the tummy for at least another 2 more mths...arghhh....

Emma,
According to my gynae delivery will be week 36 to 37 which will be 1st or 2nd week of feb lor. i hope to carry them to at least full 36 weeks. every visit now he will check my cervix length to make sure that it has not shorten and check on babies weight. and so far i have 2 rounds of injection to mature babies lung. i am also very worried about premature birth. praying hard and talk to them everyday.

are you still working? did your gynea order bedrest?

Hi ladies - best wishes to all for the new year - sorry for not writing in as i was too bz with work even during the holidays ... wil probably continue to work till near my edd .

Dear bliss , dont worry about the joints and muscle aches - this is common as i have problems as well with both my shoulders and back - infact , i have to visit the physiotherapist a few times ... just have to endure for the time being ... you are right about the baby kicking as mine only start after the 22nd week . Do not be afraid if your tumy is not enlarging tat fast ... as long as baby is healthy it shd be fine ... all the best for your scan next week !

Dear Juju ,,, my baby starts kicking in the 23rd week ... so be ready for them next week ,.. hope your CTS is better now .
Dear Yck and Emma ... take more rest for these next several weeks to ensure maturity of twins and safe delivery ... all the best ya !

Babymaking,
hope u feel better soon.

Imel,
thanks for the info. hope to feel the kicks soon...

Maykel,
how r u? missed u in today's class. hope u r alrite

Hi bliss,
I can feel the baby movement on end 19wks onwards but still soft kick/punch. Hehehe...
Yesterday, finally my hubby can feel his soft punch/kick. Hahaha :D

Hi juju,
ooo ic. ok, then later in next appt i will ask with Dr loh again. cos i know the baby gender is from Sonographer. hehehehehe ^_^

Hi babymaking,
how are you? is it better already? hope you feel better. ^_^

Think I had missed out quite a bit lately. Happy belated New Year to you gals
Sorry for teh long post, cos wana share my experience at kkh.

Guess wat? I was discharged from kkh last Sun and was re-admitted again on Tues cos i'm having more bleeding(with blood clots), the stay there this time is more dramatic then the previous time, lucky i managed to get thru it, was just discharged yest.

I am 22wks 2 days on tues and was told need to go up to delivery suite to see doc instead of kk24hrs. The DS is nicely renovated but there is no proper system there. The staffs see you sit in front of them but can ignore you 1 loh. Until i open my mouth then she talk. Then gotta wait 1 hr b4 they get me into observation room to monitor babies heartbeat and my contractions. After lying there for 40mins then a junior doc came to check my bleeding. She wash my vaginal with some liquid b4 seeing inside and said i'm still having active bleeding. The ask me to be admitted then she went out. By then, the nurse oso went out already and guess wat? I was left there, half naked (lucky got blanket)with monitoring devices strapped to me and cold and wet below! There's no one around to call and i was left there for another 40mins b4 i was released and the nurse didn't even bother to help me get up.

Then gotta wait another 1.5 hrs just to wait for porter to send me up to the ward. Initially i thot after 2-3 days can go home already when no bleeding, but suddenly got frequent contractions on 1st Jan evening. Very drama, cos the wd docs ask nurses to push me down to delivery suite immed. I was quite shock, cos i wasn't prepare for it and i dun wana deliver now! I was pushed into a delivery room and lucky the nurses there were very nice. Also got different docs (abt 4-5) of them keep taking turns to come in. I was having real contactions every 10-15mins, even i myself was surprised, cos all along i thot its just the babies turning or BH contractions.

But the nurses made me relax and can even watch TV from the bed. Then i was given nefidepine every 15mins (total 4 capsules). I was surprise cos i knew the med was given for high blood pressure. But the nurse say they gave it to relax the muscles thus reducing the contractions. Amazingly, 10mins into the med, i really dun have contractions anymore, but the terrible side effect is i felt terribly hot and feverish all over, oso had terrible headache.

I was very scared when i was inside there and kept wanting to cry. My hubby was not there with me cos he just went off to work and they dun allow my mum to come in. I'm really very worried that really had to deliver...Doc did explain to me that these few wks very crucial, cos if deliver at 22wks-24wks, babies cannot survive. After 24wks then they may be able to save the babies. I was really really scared. I was monitored for nearly 5hrs at delivery suite then went bk to wd to rest. By then nearly midnite liao and the headache still there, its so terrible til i vomitted middle of the nite and managed to sleep after taking panadol.

The contractions are still on and off, but i'm taking the nefidepine 3 times a day. Oso need to have wkly IM protulon jab. The nurses say they will try to get me an appt to see dr loh this coming fri and take jab too. On top of that, i oso got appt to see him on 16th jan and oso 23rd jan after my scan at ADC.

Oh juju,
I managed to get memo from doc to get refund for the aquafitness cos i need to rest in bed most of the time now.

Hi cale,
Think i would not go for the antenatal makeup class since its exercise oso. See you gals for the next class.

Hi yck and Emma,
Just wana check whether you have any contactions at all earlier in ur pregnancy?

Hi Faith78,
Congrats to you and welcome to the thread

Hi Jo,
Congrats on ur baby boy

Aiyo, i dun like tat Kelly Loi oso. Dr loh was on leave when i was admitted and they told me that she is covering for him. But when they informed her of my admission, she didn't even bother to come up and see me during both admissions.
By the way, dr told me that u/s scan for gender is abt 60-80% accurate oni wor, think they dun wana commit themselves too much.

Hi Bliss,
If you look thru motherhood Buy and Sell links, there are a few of them selling the bean husks pillow, i saw ones are from $13.90 to $30+ oso have. But that time i saw 1 shop in chinatown, linked to OG those shops, selling $10 oni, but the covers designs are quite simple. This shop oso give rebates if you wana buy any type of strollers or items, oso have many beby items. If you interested, can check it out:
Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street.
Tel: 6532 3855

Hi bliss, forgot to add that that shop's name is Cheong Choon Store. It looks ulu but got many products inside and the lady boss Winnie Wong is very friendly.

hi maykel,
your experience at the delivery suite sounds very unpleasant with all the waiting. the last time i was there for my rashes was also after 22 weeks coz 24hrs clinic don't give medical attention to those after 22 weeks. i was also strapped to a device to monitor baby's heartbeat and it took about 30-40 mins for the doctor to come.. and at the same time i was bearing with more itches from the straps they put me on.

i sure hope you feel better soon. get loads of rest. your baby needs to stay as long as possible til full term inside you..

i'm in my 27 weeks now.. tummy does feel stretchy at times but i'm applying the stretch mark cream religiously. baby's kicking actively too.. feels like time is moving slowly.. can't wait to see her.. hehe.. entering 3rd trimester soon and hoping that i can go through the challenges of the 3rd tri head on.

Hi Merlenna,
Oh, guess tats the standard thing they will do in delivery suite. They didn't even get doc to see us and know wats our problem 1st.

I felt much better when i'm resting at home now, thanks, it beats staying in the hospital. Oh, forgot to mention, when i was admitted from kk24hrs 2wks ago, need to pay cash of oni $400+ (deposit)for stay at A1, but this time at DS, we gotta pay $3600+ just in case we really deliver. So much more man....

I think we are at a crucial stage now, not big enough yet not small. You must take good care of urself too. Yes, couldn't wait for time to pass faster, even if i have to lie in bed 3mths to ensure they stay inside longer oso i dun mind.

maykel - oh no, your experience sounds bad. hope you are feeling much better. try to lie down more if you can. i also had to wait a lot the 2nd time i had bleeding and went to a&amp;e. so when i had bleeding 3rd time i decided not to go a&amp;e cos the doc there was only medic and quite useless. thankfully the bleeding stopped. these few days i've been walking a lot and sometimes feel like a bit wet between the legs, then rush to toilet to check, but thank god nothing. did the doc tell you why you had bleeding ? how many days HL did doc give you ?