IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi ponytail,
Thanks so much...you must take care too.
Doc still cannot explain my bleeding, but had reassured me tat its not the placenta. Ya, sometimes i oso feel wet in between, but then realised it could be sweat or wat heehee...

I was given 2wks HL for now, next fri and the fri after tat must see doc oso. Not sure after tat can extend again or not.

Hi Maykel,
Sorry to hear about the unpleasant experience in KKH. I have been worried for you since juju posted that you did not attend the aquafitness class. I can understand your feeling of being left alone without knowing what next to come, it's really frightening. Especially when your husband not able to be at your side when you need most moral support. Luckily everything turn out OK for you.

Regarding the leave, I think Dr Loh will sure give you sufficient hospitalisation leave to make sure you have enough rest during your next visit, don't have to worry. He ever mentioned that preferably we can rest until 28 weeks+, when the survival of the baby is at good chance. He would not take the chances as he knew it's not easy for us to come to this stage.

Did the doctor order the cervix length measurement for you during your stay at hospital? Last time I told him about the contraction, he actually order the the cervix length measurement procedure for me (done at the ADC). Luckily, the result is still good.

Do you still experience any bleeding or contraction now? Please take lots of bed rest and less walking. Hope I can see you in the next antenatal class which is another 3 weeks later. Jia you!

Maykel,
Sorry to hear about what you have gone through. you must really bedrest as much as possible. i have what i think that is BH contractions too, started 24 weeks onwards. hardening and tightening of tummy without pain and timing is very irregular. have been taking ventolin 3 times daily since week 27. your contractions is accompanied with pain?

Hi cale,
yes, its indeed scary, so now i'm determined to be more disciplined and not walk around too much. Forgot to mention that doc say i could be having contractions so early cos my tummy is big with twins. I wanted to see if the yck or emma had it too. Oh, you mean if now we got problem now, he would give HL til 28wks then we go back to work and wait til delivery is it?

No leh, the oni time they check the cervix is during the initial time at delivery suite. The doc look thru the vaginal and mentioned that lucky the cervix is not open. But the length measurement you mentioned is done regularly and thru scan? Wat exactly did they measure?

I'm still having contractions, today abt 4times. I kept a record of it. But there are oso quite a few slight tightenings and i dun record those. But no more bleeding (keeping fingers crossed). Thanks for your support

Hi juju,
Thanks, i will take care.
Urmm...i oso dun know leh, must see doc loh then see how.

Hi yck,
Ya, me so worried now, trying to minimise walking now. Oh yes, initially i oso thot i'm having BH, until i was admitted and doc told me otherwise. Actually, though my tightening is quite regular past few days, but its not accompanied with pain all the time. These 2 days it seems better with the nefidipine, oni hate the side effect of headache. Today experienced 4 times strong ones and a few slight tightenings.

Sorry i forgot, is ventolin for the contactions too? Does it helps to minimise ur contractions?

Hi Maykel,
Yes, I think our doctor quite kiasu. I told him about the contraction and also due to my low placenta, he gave me hospitalisation leave to rest straight away and he said preferably rest till 28 week. Yes, depends on body condition, if got improve may go back to work after 28 weeks. Besides, i was also given the progesterone pill to stabilize the pregnancy. Are you prescribed the progesterone pill as well?

The cervix length measurement is not done regularly. It is only when I told him about the contraction then he ordered this. I went to the ADC to have this scan done. The sonographer will measure through the ultrasound scan. This procedure is basically used to determine the preterm-labour risk, if the cervix length is shorten below 2.5cm, the preterm risk is quite high. Normal range is between 3 - 5cm.
You can have a look at this link that explains about the cervix length measurement.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/cervicallengthscanexpert/

Now you must really relax and better to have complete bed rest. When walking try to walk very slowly and must not carry any heavy things. Don't go out to buy the meal yourself, ask someone to help you. Please take good care of yourself and you will be ok.

Hi Maykel,
your story so scary. How are you now?
Hope you feel much better.

How abt insurance?
I remember after ET, KK ask us to buy insurance.
can use the insurance?

take good care of you, rest well, dun walk too much and dun carry heavy thing.. hehehe ^_^

Maykel,
yup. ventolin is suppose to help womb muscles to relax. but after taking it i still have it on and off.

Maykel,
thank you so much for the info to buy the pillow.

Sorry to hear about your contractions and experience at the hospital, it was terrifying and unpleasant.
Hugz...
Glad that you dont have to deliver that soon. Phew... Must take extra care, really puzzling to have bleeding so many times. The doc did not explain any possible causes of it?
You must still try to relax and tell your babies to grow well inside. They will listen to what you strongly want them to and only arrive at the right time.
Jia you, Maykel!

Imel,
thank you for sharing with me. I will endure the muscle aching and joints. I have been getting difficulty to sleep since last week, simply cant sleep on my back le and have to be on my sides. Dont know why leh, coz my tummy is still small. Every night, my buttock feels pain when sleep on my back for too long, feels like anus is under pressure, wonder anyone has similar experience...

Josephine,
wow, you felt your baby's movement quite early leh, so nice...

I am still having unusual kind of twinges and fluttering lately, but really not sure what they are.

Hi yck
Oh, You are taking ventolin now? Are you having contractions often? My contractions come and go and I was not given any injection to enhance baby's lungs leh..hmmm. I have stopped working before pregnant. Are you still working? I hope the bbs will stay inside for 36 wks too, so they can be healthy when born. By the way, wat's ur bbs weight now?

Hi Maykel
My contractions starts when I was 22/23 wks but they are irregular till now. But these few days, Im feeling more and more tightening in the tummy esp. when I move/walk. So rest is what my doc advised. I guess now even the slightest discomfort, we must approach our doc directly. Funny thing is that, my doc just asked me to have plenty of rest whenever I called to let him know about my on off contractions... I just pray that I can tahan another 8 more wks the least... U must hang in there as well, Maykel.

anyone have leg cramps & leg twitches affecting sleep very badly?
i get them every few minutes, always at night. this morning cannot go to work again cos so tired... very sianz...

emma,
yup i have been taking ventolin since week 27. but will still get the tightening / hardening everyday but its not painful type. usually around evening time. highlighted to my gynea every visit but he never say anything leh. just ask me to take ventolin to relax the womb muscles and given injections once at 27+ and once at 30+ weeks to speed up maturing of bbs lungs. Currently into my week 32 and still working. planned to stop work starting from cny. last visit at 30+ week babies weight 1.5 and 1.6kg. not sure how accurate it is. and im having swollen hands, legs and foot now. is your tummy very big now? did you ever measured your tummy line? i think mine is consider small for twins but im having stretch marks all over. so sad

juju,
try elevating your leg using a pillow (it helps for me) and don't stretch your leg.

juju,
yes, I got leg cramps a few times for the past week during sleep at night. But the cramps were for a short while, though it was so sudden and painful that I screamed out and woke my hubby up. :p
Well, I try not to stretch my legs anymore since then, quite scary to get the cramps in middle of the night.

yck,
do your stretchmarks appear overnight? What was the symptoms before the marks appeared? I have lots of 'goose pimples' on my tummy and the skin is very itchy. I really cant help but to scratch. Have been applying moisturiser everyday, the tummy skin looks ugly now.

My hips have many dark patches and marks.

Hi Juju,

I got leg cramps start 18wks onwards.
1 day can 2-4 times cramp at night. It is very painfull...
I also wake up my husband (*sometimes) hehehe...

I read in the pregnancy book, this because lack of Calcium.
Actually I start drink Anmum milk 12wks onwards leh..
I thought enough calcium hehehe actually not
*i think it is enough but if enough why i got these cramps...
So i eat calcium from GNC (extra).

Maybe you can ask your gynae to give you calcium.
Dr Kelly got ask me whether i got take calcium or not.
Since I said i got take calcium from GNC, she never prescribe me calcium.
Btw, she also got mention that minimum you need calcium is 650mg per day.

YCK & Bliss,
leg stretching alrdy minimised. been using pillows to prop up legs since 1st known preggie... haiz...
i still can tahan leg cramps, immed relief by pointing toes towards the head...
it's the twitching dat is killing me... once every few mins. hubby also dun get to sleep.

Josephine,
650mg or 6.5mg? obimin contain 7.5mg, not enough ah?
i asked dr loh last fri, he jus say is normal. i ask if need supplements, he say dun need.

Juju,

I think if not mistakenly hear, she said maximum 650mg per day.
Cos I take calcium from GNC is 800mg and i only take half dosage (400mg).
And she said is ok and ask me to eat those food contains more calcium.

I read in the book maximum is 1200mg.
But I will confirm again with Dr Loh in my next appointment.

when is your next appointment?

Just got this link:
http://kidshealth.org/parent/pregnancy_newborn/pregnancy/preg_health.html

Calcium

Most women 19 and older — including those who are pregnant — don't often get the daily 1,000 mg of calcium that's recommended. Because your growing baby's calcium demands are high, you should increase your calcium consumption to prevent a loss of calcium from your own bones. Your doctor will also likely prescribe prenatal vitamins for you, which may contain some extra calcium.

Good sources of calcium include:

* low-fat dairy products including milk, pasteurized cheese, and yogurt
* calcium-fortified products, including orange juice, soy milk, and cereals
* dark green vegetables including spinach, kale, and broccoli
* tofu
* dried beans
* almonds

Hi Juju,

Yes there is in AMK Hub near NTUC and Home Fix shop.
I forget abt the price. Sometimes there is promotion buy 1 and the next 1 is half price or 25% discount.

You got GNC member?
Yea, calcium is very important specially for pregnant women cos the little one is taking calcium from us (for baby bone and teeth development).

If we do not have enough calcium later when we old will have osteoporosis (that what my mum always told me)... hehehe

Just get the price from GNC website:
http://www.gnc.com.sg/product/0100416.aspx?category_id=82896A07-FF93-47FD-80AC-1868FF69EC5B

Just get this link regarding Leg Cramps:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_leg-cramps-during-pregnancy_250.bc

http://www.amazingpregnancy.com/pregnancy-articles/33.html

Josephine,
thanks for the links.

think i will go GNC later and buy. no membership leh.. maybe ask if can sign on the spot.

Hi Juju/Josephine,

During my 14 weeks visit, doctor Loh prescribed the calcium supplement to me, when i asked him if i need to take calcium supplement. The one that i got from KKH is called caltrate 600, that is 600mg, cost about $12.10 for 60 tablets.

So far I did experience leg cramps, sometimes once a day at midnight when i move my leg, not everyday.

When is your next visit? Looks like it's cheaper to get it from KKH instead of GNC.

Cale,
i found out what i get most of the time is called Restless Leg Syndrome. Unlike cramps, there's not much self relief.
i can tahan leg cramps, as they are quite few. it's this RLS dat's causing me to lose sleep... if RLS during sleep and i dunno abt it, still ok. but wif each jerk & twitch, i will wake up and feel very pek chek...
next visit is 6 feb only.

oh ya, any ladies buying supplements from eu yan sang? the EYS counter in kkh having 20% discount, shld be quite worth to buy.
items on sale : diff types of chix essence, diff types of bird's nest, abalone, mushrooms (dried & canned?)- all EYS brands

babymaking,

ya agree better dun took many citrus fruits or drinks.I took took many citrus fruits like strawberry and kiwi and juices.tot its vit c and to prevent constipation. I was rushed to the hospital on New yr eve due to vomitting non-stop and was onli discharge today.

Was told that it not advisable for pregnant ladies to take excessive citrus or spicy stuff. It will multiply the gastric acid that we orginally have very quickly and cause infections.

ponytail,
your spotting lasted for how long already? Now still have? If still not stop, think you should call clinic and ask.

i called clinic already. nurse sounded concern, and asked me to monitor for tonight since i'm going to clinic for my prog jab tomoro anyway. praying that it stops...

hi cale,
no leh. Dr Loh never give me any calcium supplement maybe because lst time i met him before he take leave i was 13 wks. Yea, i think KKH should be cheaper.
my nxt visit wit dr loh will be 21 Jan.

hi juju,
Nope, did not buy. I think causway point also got sale. some item like birdnest instant got 25% for VIP card.

Hi ponytail,
Yea I had spotting n bleeding on n off during 6wks-12wks (sometime stop 1 week or 2 week).
Hope everything ok. Keep us update. ^_^

Josephine,
i only hv the acknowledgement portion of the application form, but also realised the promoter did not chop branch for me. like this, still valid?

Juju,

Ya horr... thinking to take picture 3D/4D leh.. hehehehe.. i know that TMC have. but dunno how much it cost.

josephine - what did the doc do when you had spotting ? i'm going for checkup later this morning and i think doc is going to give me HL again. what happen after 12 weeks? no more spotting already ?

Hi Cale,
oic...dr loh so generous....actually now i'm a bit worried again, cos just now saw a slight staining when i wipe, hope later no more.

Were you told to rest in bed during ur HL? The nurse oni told me to rest more. Was just thinking that it'll be difficult to really RIB when we at home, how did you cope? Cos we cannot be having everything by our bedside. I did try my best to minimise walking when i came back, except go out and eat once or twice, but after the spotting scare just now, think i better stay home better. I wasn't given progesterone pill but was told need to go back for wkly proluton jab. This fri see dr loh and getting the next one oso. When is ur next appt?

Thanks for the info on cervix length measurement, maybe i can ask him abt it this fri.
So is ur length measurement good?

Hi Josephine,
I'm better now, thank you, at least at home can sleep better

Cannot use that insurance, cos that one is in case after delivery the babies need to go intensive, think it does not cover all these observation admissons.

Oh, i think KKH has 3D/4D scan, cos heard from my fren they have the machine. Maybe you ask doc on next visit. You wana do meh?

Hi bliss,
No problem, managed to find the links? If cannot i try to find for you later.

Thanks for the hug
ya, i can't imagine how terrifying it'll be....i ask a few docs (cos everyday different docs came to see me) but all cannot explain the bleeding to me hiaz....

Yes, i did talk to them everyday, think my babies find me very nagging already haha....

Hi yck,
Same loh, after taking the nifedipine, i'm still having tightenings 4-5 times these few days, these are the ones lasting around 20-30secs. There are quite a number more lasting 5-15secs ones but i nvr record. Actually i'm very worried abt the effects these med would have on the babies, hope they would be alright and not absorb the med....i'm sure you are worried too right?

Hi Emma,
You jiayou too, 8 wks would pass very fast b4 you knew it. I have 13wks b4 i hit 36wks. Initially was quite greedy, wana tahan til 37wks, but now like wat dr loh say, can tahan til 35-36wks very good already.

Oh, i was told by doc b4 discharge that if we experience contactions at least every 15mins and its continous for few hrs then we need to go hospital asap. So you must monitor ur contractions when the wks get nearer ok?

Hi Emma and yck,
My so-called contractions are so frequent (can be 3-4 times in an hr, lasting few secs) that sometimes i do suspect that its the babies turning inside and not real contractions, do you think its possible?

Hi juju and Jo,
I have occasional cramp oni, but lucky it lasted a while oni each time. But the twitches juju mentioned, i oso had it sometimes, its a funny feeling and usually occur on my thigh area, maybe too much fats there hehe....

Like was Cale said, i oso asked dr for calcium and am taking the same one as Cale now. The oni thing is its quite big so i took it separately from my obimin and DHA.

BTW juju, how's the aquafitness class? i was so looking forward to it but i can't go now
was hoping it would help ease my muscle pain....

Hi pleasance,
oh dear, sorry abt ur vomitting....so you are like me, both of us gotta countdown to New Year in hospital....have more rest now ok? Is orange juice very acidic too? Cos i drank orange juice to prevent constipation too.

Hi ponytail,
Maybe the dark brown ones are dried blood? I oso had spotting from wk5 to wk 8, you must have plenty of rest and dun walk too much. Hope is ur bleeding today? Hope its better.

bliss,
i start to notice the first stretch mark when i am in my week 28. after that it mutiply very fast as the tummy started to grow faster. i felt burning sensation when the skin stretch. and ya, super itch lor. i can refrain from scratching during the day time but during my sleep time, really uncomfortable. tummy really super ugly now. but my colleagues kept telling me, once i saw my babies born, everything is worth it.

Maykel,
i think can differentiate tightening / hardening and baby babies turning inside quite clearly leh. the hardening is real hard one. i also very worried everyday. no experience of what is real contractions so also dont know how to monitor. but if it does not accompanied with pain, should not be real contractions right? every visit highlighted to gynea he also never comment much. i have at least another 4 weeks to go to hit 36 weeks. praying hard. you must really rest in bed as much as possible. read that the safest mark is 28 weeks. jia you!

hi ponytail,
last time i got bleeding/spotting, the doctor gave me proluton jab.
Then on 12wks no more bleeding and can consider safe stage.
Normally second trimester is the safe stage for most pregnancy specially singleton.

I think for twins/multiple is still quite high risk. I read one or two years back on this forum there is a lady who concieve twins and delivered the babies on 20wks, both of the babies not survive.

You must take good care of you, dun overtired n dun walk too much. it is not easy to concieve twins/triplets. keep us update on you check up.

Hi maykel,
ooo ic, i thought it can be used. too bad oh.
maykel, take good rest and try dun walk too much.
it is not easy to concieve twins. ^_^ take good care ohh...

Thinking to do 3D/4D, but my husband said no need. So, still discussing.. hehehehe.. need to check the price 1st. hehehehe :D

Aiyooo, how come the Dr Loh/Kelly never prescribed me any calcium... sighh...
maykel... dun exercise... hahahaha :D

hehehe... Now my baby kicking me... very naughty... kicking me during working hour... hahahaha :D

Hi yck,
I oso have real hard hardenings, but sometimes its the whole tummy and sometimes its one side oni, so that is contractions instead of babies turning? Or shld i based it on the timing instead? Those shorter time ones are babies turning and longer ones are contractions?

I should think that if no pain then its ok, cos everytime i had tightenings, the nurses would ask got pain or not. Think to play safe, even if no real pain, eg if the tightening is too uncomforatbale to bear, you must take note oso. Jia you, at least you had gone thru the safe period of 28wks, hang on there
me too!

Hi Jo,
Thanks a lot

Ya, initially i oso thot of doing 3D/4D, but after that i was thinking, maybe next time i won't take out and see oso, so dun wana waste the money and effort. Cos now too many worries to think of, dun wana add that in too. Think wait for our babies to come and see the real babes better heehe....

Oh ya, thanks, i dun dare to think of exercise now oso....wana walk oso scared already....You need to ask for the calcium then they would give. Cos i knew Cale ask, so i ask for it oso hehe...

haha....ur baby very active, like mine, so nice to feel their kicks hor. Sometimes i kena super kick hor, tats when they kick so hard until i get a shock and gotta bend over, so funny haha....

Hi Maykel,
Oh, you must then monitor your staining closely. I think as long as not active bleeding, still not so worrying.
I was told to rest at home and don't walk too much. I actually did not have complete rest bed rest also. Just that i slept a lot in the morning and napping in the afternoon.
However, i did not go out to eat or buy things lo. Everyday I just stay at home and my MIL will prepare lunch for me. So, I usually sitting watching TV or online, and minimal walking around the house only. My next appointment is on 17 Jan.
My last cervix length measurement is around 3.6cm, doctor Loh commented still good and he did not order any subsequent one.
Now is very crucial stage for us, must be really really careful and must try all the best for the baby. Jia you!

Hi Josephine,
I think I ever heard the 3D scan cost about 300+, but not sure if it's offered in KKH. It never came across my mind to do this, cos it's quite expensive. I thought can make use of the money to buy more of baby stuff
. Regarding the calcium
supplement, i realised that doctor won't give you unless you asked, like it's not a must to take lo.
Both maykel and your babies are so active, mine one I only feel the movement, no real kick yet.

Hi ponytail,
If it's the dark brown blood usually it means the old blood. That's what told by doctor last time when I had bleeding too during my first trimester. I also got weekly proluton jabs until 12 week + progesterone pills. It's quite common during first trimester, so you must take extra care. The best is rest more and don't walk too much during this period.

Hi Juju,
Oh, I didn't know about this Restless Leg Syndrome, that sound so uncomfortable. Did you ask doctor if there is any medicine or supplement which can minimise this occurrence?
You next visit seems to be quite far from now, it's better to get the calcium from GNC first.

Hi pleasance,
I also suffered from constipation. I found the most effective way to solve this problem is drinking the prune juice. It works for me. If you already suffer from some indigestion or gastric problem, better not take fruit that contains too much acid, it will make the gastric even worst. I find apple is good, as it's rich in iron and yet not acidic.

Hi yck,
I believe it's the BH contraction that we are experiencing, as the symptoms matched exactly what i read on BH. However, every time i tell my doctor he keep saying it's contraction which is no good that make me worried. Like what mentioned by Maykel, better to take note if the interval shorten and the contraction become very intense. You already pass 28 weeks marks already right? Good for you, just tahan a few more weeks and you are counting down to face to face with your baby liao. Keep us updated

Josephine,
I also would love to have a 3D/4D pic of baby, but think KKH doesnt have. Too bad..., but can save money too lah.

Maykel,
thanks, I have not gone out to look for the pillow yet, normally dont go out during weekdays. My hubby does not feel ok to let me go out alone, he doesnt want me to take public bus or taxi coz he feels that taxi drivers are very reckless drivers. So I normally go out during weekends with him.

Ponytail,
how are you today? hope the bleeding has stopped. What did your doc say then? Must take good care.

yck,
thanks. I heard that stretchmarks will not disappear even after delivery, will only fade off slowly.

Cale,
you can feel baby's movement at least. I still cant feel anything, dont know what it is when there was slight fluttering inside, it felt like spasms or cramps too, I am confused anyway.

Cale, maykel,
wonder Dr Sadhana will give me calcium supplements to me if I ask her this thursday. She gives me the impression that she does not like to give too much supplements. She always say try to take from natural food and there is already sufficient amount in Obimin. Will see how when I ask her then.

not sure anyone has such experience, I have been clearing bowels several times(3 to 4 times) per day lately, but each time is very very little leh, so feel like constipation to me still. But then I really have the strong urge to pass motion during every single time. Wonder if it is the slow digestion inside intestines. Quite uncomfortable to have to go toilet many times but not satisfied after that coz did not manage to clear fully leh. Haha! have been drinking lots of water le.

Hi yck
I guess your doc is taking all the neccessary precautions and that's good. And I think my doc is the sort of 'should be ok' type. Im so afraid of the contractions that I kept on sitting down on the sofa with legs up. At 28 wk (last wk), my bbs weight are 1.2 and 1kg.Going or another detailed scan end of this mth, hopefully they are heavier and healthy. So we must 'tahan 'and hang in till at least 36 wks. Are you opting for a GA or? I could only have GA as doc advised, so can't see the birth of my bbs

My tummy is pretty big and doc measured the line of the tummy and that's y he mentioned that it's big enough that I could go labour soon. My feet are swollen too. For stretch marks, so far I hv yet to see them cos I kiasu apply loads of cream on tummy from 1st mth of preggie. But not too sure 'how many' stretch marks I'll get after birth...

Hi Maykel
Do you get the contractions when sitting down? Think better walk less. I still yet to get quite a no. of bb's stuffs, should have gotten everything during my 2nd tri. sigh...

Hi Cale,
Ok thanks, i oso hope that the staining would at least remain the same or better still, go away soon.

Yup, me oso very restless, must get up watch DVD or surf net etc etc, my hubby can't stand me walking around at home haha.....I oso wanted to nap in the Pm, but worried at nite can't sleep leh.

Oh ya hor, lucky you got MIL prepare food for you, me and hubby stay by ourselves, so i gotta settle my own food when he works. My mum did offer to bring food over, but i feel bad leh...I oso nvr go out to shop all that, the most is buy food. Cos initially i ordered mcdelivery, but i ca't be eating that everyday oso. Now surfing net to see wat other food delivery i can find heehe....

Glad to hear that ur cervix length measurement is good. At least you dun have to worry in that aspect. Think for us now is getting thru 1 investigation to another and good news means another hurdle crossed

Yes yes, i do agree now is very crucial, must really be careful. Remember initially we oni heard pple saying 1st tri and 3rd tri must take extra care, 2nd tri usually is a breeze, but now we know otherwise ;)