IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hi Cale,
Thanks. Noted.
Please have a good rest.

Hi Bliss,
Thanks. You also must take care and have a good rest.

Hi Miss Hae,
Thanks. Actually I walked very slow and during the dinner I only sat. But dunno why I still got the spotting.
And the bad news was last night at 2 am in the morning I got light bleeding, since I was very tired so I just went back sleep and waited for tomorrow morning to come back to KK24Hrs. But then, at 5.50am the bleeding was more so I straight away went with my DH to KK24Hrs and the doctor said that he could not find the little one heartbeat and suspected that the little one maybe unhealthy and might be the cause of the on and off bleeding. The doctor asked me to rest and see the progress of the baby development.

Must quickly type since Im in good conditions. Sorry, havent been updating myself. Past few days were like downfall for me due to my bad ms. I have no energy to do anything at all. Been feeling very miserable. But today I feel much better. Maybe Im taking a different type of anti vomiting medicine, strong one. I hope it can last till moro.

Yck,
Wow so long never heard from you and you got a boy and a girl. Lung Feng Tai leh. Congrats!!! Are you going to close shop after this?

Marlenna,
Good to hear your fetal screening went well and your baby is so active. My fetal screening will be another 2 weeks. 2 weeks to go to see my baby again. Btw do you still having ms? I really hope the ms can disappear after 1st trimester.

Hi Cale,
Have a good rest and hope your blood clot will disappear soon.

Maykel,
Good to know your twins doing well har. Cannot work first lah now. So how many days of mc are you taking?

Josephine,
I hope you are doing ok. Have a good bed rest and hope no more spotting.

Miss Hae,
Thanks for the tips regarding the ms. Sweets work the best for me. Im having trial and error with food and found out I cant take any liquid type of food like soup or fruits. I have to take solid meat. Im having constipations too as a result. Can go for 5 days without passing motion. Cant drink prune juice yet coz of my ms. So Im taking dulphalac to help me passing motion.

Hi Imel,
what is ms? My spotting/light bleeding has been stopped since Saturday noon. Dunno why is on and off. Sigh...

Hi Bliss,
Yea, hope the little one can make it. I can't wait to see the little one on the next appointment. ^_^
You too must rest well and good care.
Hope our 1st trimester goes well. ^_^

hi imel,
i'm so sorry to hear you suffering from terrible ms. it must be hard. but hang in there yeah? my ms has reduced considerably. i only felt it when i'm hungry. i tend to cough then the impulse to gag come over me. that sucks.. but other than that.. no ms during the day.. the feeling only comes at night.

Just wondering, does any of you experience some watery discharge? It's clear so I do not think it's infection. I realized i get it when i work too hard or walk too much.

Hi Bakaholic,

Dear ladies,
Sorry, I din read properly.
Actually juju had explained "ms" before to bliss. Hahahahaha *silly me.

Hi Josephine,
Sorry to hear abt the bleeding again. Did you email this incident to doctor Loh? When is your next appointment with him? Please take lot of rest and care. Pray that both your babies are doing well.

Hi Bliss,
Thanks for the prayer. I have not experience the 'orgasm' like contractions. I am not sure what is it. When is your appointment with doctor? Perhaps you could check with her if there is any cause for concern. My gut feeling is that, it should be ok as long as you don't bleed. Rest well and dont worry too much ok.

Hi Imel,
Hang in there. You are very close to your first trimester already. By then, your MS should be less serious and you can have full revenge to eat all the foods that you like

Cale,
thanks. Yes, I will probably ask Dr Sadhana about it during my first appointment next week.
Been feeling bit down emotionally at times. Trying to think positively and about happy things. Really hope to see my little one soon so that i will feel secure and better then.
you take good care too.

Hi Cale,
Nope, I did not email him the incident. I only informed him during 1st appointment I got light bleeding and then suddenly no more. Dr Sf Loh said it is good that the bleeding is disappear.

My next appointment will be on 8 Oct.
Yea, I just hope the both of them grow healthy.

How about yourself? Bleeding stop? still HL?

Hi Bliss,

I also have not experience the 'orgasm'-contractions like you said. I think your case is special one. ^_^

Dun worry, as long you do not have any bleeding it should be ok. When is your 1st appointment? Do you go to AMC 1st to scan?

hi josephine,
thanks for responding too.
I am forgetful, starting not so worry when not having such contractions since then.

Thanks, I hope it was nothing to worry about too.
My 1st appointment is next tue. Yes, will be going to AMC 1st to scan, looking forward to it.

Hi Juju,
Sometimes our symptoms are so general that we won't know wat is wat.
Thanks for the advice for MS, i oso got adversion to oily food and meat during MS, just wana take someting light.
So did you see doc? How you feeling now?

Hi Josephine,
Ya, think we all hope for the same thing, graduate to 2nd trimester then 3rd then smooth delivery

My nausea much better now, just that my groin area still pain, dr loh says its muscle, but nvr seem to get better leh.
Ya, i had spotting on and off past few weeks, then dr loh say cos i have a 3rd sac implanted but its empty, so tats the 1 causing the spotting, but hope will go away by itself.
Is ur spotting better? Try not to over-exert urself.

Hi Cale,
Ya, lucky its not ectopic, but after so many days the pain still there, now its near the groin area, nvr get better....ya loh, i was surprised he say got 3rd 1 implanted, nvr expect it. My 2 twins are 15mm and 14.7mm

Oh dear, ur clot so stubborn....but good thing is ur baby growing well
so wats ur baby's measurement? But i can't see the heartbeat clearly for 1 of the twin cos abdomen scan not very clear leh.

Hi Ms Hae,
Oh ok, thanks, i oso bought the same thing from eu yan sang wait until my 2nd trimester then i start.

Hi Bliss,
Maybe ur contractions is due to ur full bladder? Cos i oso wake up many times to pass urine during my 2ww to 7th week and the full bladder is extremely uncomfortable. I oso did experienced faintness once in my 7th week, thot maybe its cos have not been eating well due to poor appetite, have you been eating well?
All the best for your 1st scan

Hi Imel,
Dr Loh gave me HL til 17th oct, around the same time of my next appt. Think i'm the same as you, sometimes my nausea feels so bad that i can't do anything at all, so even on laptop oso cannot tahan long. Please take good care.

Hi bakaholic,
I oso experienced clear discharge on and off, ya, i think as long as not smelly or got color, shld not be infection.

Maykel,
good to hear that you are feeling better now.
I am not sure if the contractions were due to full bladder, hope it was just as simple as that.

My appetite has generally been good, just that my gastric just doesn't feel comfortable since last week when empty stomach and also after eating(even after eating my favourite food).

like to check with all of you here, any idea how our EDD are derived? As our docs knew the exact date of the fertilisation(/conception), I guess the calculation would be rather different from normal calculation which is counting from the 1st day of last AF date.
So how to calculate our EDD? Thanks!

Hi Bliss,
Is ur contraction better now?
Oh, good to hear that ur appetitie is good. Cos if you can eat, it reduces gas in tummy and oso reduce nausea.
The clinic usually has a special calendar to calculate EDD from our LMP. Tat time dr loh oso uses that to calculate mine, but our ivf is a bit different, he told me out ET date is considered as 2 wks old.

Maykel,
yes, no longer experiences the contraction since last Sat. Thanks!

Sorry, I dont quite understand, what is ET date? Is it embryo transfer?
So do you mean that, our pregnancy length is counted starting from our ET date? Which means for normal pregnancy, those ladies will count from last menses date which will be 4 weeks pregnant when mense is supposed to be due. Whereas for our case, will be 2 weeks pregnant coz we count from the date of ET? Am I right?

Maykel

Just as you have mentioned ivf babies are usually fraternal.. that is also the reason why they do not put more den 3 embies and one go.. there may be a possibility that any of those embies may split.

My babies birth weight are 1.74kg for twin 1 and 1.84kg for Twin 2.

I opt for epidural LA bcos I fear that under GA I may not wake up after that... I have family history of heart problem... so it's very risky for me to go for GA.. On top of it, usually after GA, you'll feel more drowsy and lousy...

Jospehine

we started talking to them as early as we knew their existence.. We sing to them daily at about week 16 onwards..

Mrs Teng,
may I ask if your twins birth weight are within the acceptable and normal range?

And also, is it that you knew that you are having twins on your first appointment during 6 weeks pregnant?

Hi Bliss,
Oh, good to hear that

Ya you are right, something like tat

Yup, ET is embryo transfer date and is considered 2 wks.

Hi Mrs Teng,
Oic....i didn't know that our fertilised embies from ivf can still split heehee....wow, imagine they split and split kekeke....

Ur babies are considered quite low weight at birth hor? But they look so chubby and cute now

Oic....I am oso considering epidural LA if i can't go for natural birth.
Thanks for sharing.

Hi Bliss,
I am using the 2nd link you posted to calculate my EDD. The difference from dr loh's calculation is 1 day oni

Hi Maykel,
Ya lor, donno why it still won't go away..haiz. Based on my last scan, my baby is measured at 17.5mm
. If you want to see the baby clearer, it's better to keep a full bladder next time. I did keep my bladder full this time and can see quite clear inside. When is your next appointment?

It's great to hear that you MS got better now. You can revenge by eating more these few days
. Did the doctor said is it a norm to have muscle pain? Would it get better slowly by itself?

Hi Josephine,
My appointment is on 10 oct. Our dates is quite near. My spotting still on and off le. Never go off. Yes, still on hospitalisation leave for this whole week. Mostly likely will go to work next week. You also on MC now right? Are you going to work starting next week too?

Hi gals, sorry been out of touch for awhile. I'm doing ok, still battling nausea - it's been the worst the last few days. Had a scan yesterday, baby is doing well at 9+ weeks was moving hands and feet - so cute, made my heart so happy. Hope everyone is doing well.

Wow, so many things happened during these few days. Hahahaha :D
The past 2 days I started working and was very busy especially the month end closing.
Headache liaoooo... Sometimes I thought of resigning.... Hahahahaha but it is close to year end already (waiting for AWS) hahahaha :D ...

Yea, today is holiday (Hari Raya Puasa).
*** Mohon Maaf Lahir & Batin (English: Mentally & Physically Sorry *dunno correct or not. :D)
*** Minal Aidin Wal faidin
*** Selamat Hari Raya Puasa

My spotting now so far stops already, so happy but still worry when Friday comes (because the last 2 bleeding were happen on Friday). Hahahaha
My nausea & vomiting are not as bad as 1st time, because everytime I feel nausea/gastric I will find any foods and eat it to reduce the gastric (I suppose the babies are hungry) Hahahaha :D

Hi Bliss,
Yea, your scanning is coming in a few days. I believe you should be exciting. Keep us update. Do not forget to ask your doctor about your contraction.

Hi Maykel,
Strange thing is now no more spotting. The light bleeding only happenned on Friday night (happen 2 last friday) hahahaha :D dunno why the babies chose friday. Hahahaha :D

Hi Mrs Teng,
Oooo ic. Noted. I will try then. ^_^

Hi Cale,
My Appointment will be on Wed, 8 Oct 08. Yup, different 2 days only with yours. Poor my babies because yesterday they must accompany me till 6.30 hahahahaha :D but luckily today is holiday. I just hope that this friday I will not get any more bleedings. (*Now I am scared when friday comes) hahahaha :D
Where is your appointment? TPS? afternoon?

Hi Cale,
Dun think so much, i'm sure the clot would go away soon. Oh okie, i would keep full bladder next time, thanks for reminding me

My next appt is 3 weeks later on 15th oct and my FTS (First Trimester screening) scan is on 21st oct.
Now i get hungry every few hrs, if i dun eat on time then i'll feel sick with nausea already... haiz...so many patterns to get used to....
Dr loh say the muscle pain is normal leh. Then my mum shared with me that she oso had muscle pain when she preg with my bro last time and it lasted til delivery....sometimes i walk like a penguin cos of the muscle pain, but my tummy feels alright.

Hi Maybebaby,
Understand how you feeling cos most of us oso fighting with nausea at this stage. Please take good care and glad to hear that ur baby doing well

urmm...was thinking maybe ur nickname no need to put maybebaby, can put confirmedbaby liao keke...just joking, hope you dun mind ;)

Hi Josephine,
Glad to hear ur spotting stopped.
Please take good care and take mc or leave to rest if need to, then can tahan better til AWS ;)

Maykel,
I also feel sick with nausea when I need to eat. But the strange thing is I do not know that the stomach discomfort is becoz I am hungry and need to eat. But everytime when I feel nausea, I try to eat something, then I feel better.
Ya, like what you said , so many different symptoms to get used to.

I am feeling nausea whole day, so wasted as today is public holiday and cant even go out with my hubby. Sigh... I cant rest well when sleeping too. Will feel stomach discomfort or nausea when wake up in the morning or after afternoon nap. Now I am rather scared of sleeping liao, coz the feeling after resting is no good.
Hopefully everything will be better.
Wow, your first trimester screening test is coming soon. So how many weeks pregnant are you now?

hi josephine,
woah perfect hari raya greeting! hehee.. i'm still recovering from the festivities. but i know there's more to come. very exhausted from the visiting. a trying time to do any celebration.. hehe..

Hi Bliss,
I'm sure we'll get thru all these symptoms real soon. Alot of pple told me after 1st trimester sure feel better, looking forward to that
jia you. Me 9wks plus this week
ya, the FTS is for screening of down syndrome baby. Doc ask if i wana do so i say ok.

Hi Maybebaby,
hee....I think can just go to ur profile and edit

Hi Ms Hae,
Had you started attending any classes in Birth and Beyond and is it good? Cos the lady Irene send me email regarding the classes already. Lately i found another centre at Tanglin Mall, looks good, maybe you can take a look.

www.motherandchild.com.sg

I've yet to see both centres. My only concern is that both places are quite inaccessible, wanted to find a more accessible centre but cannot find leh...Cos i'm interested in the yoga classes, but think hubby not able to accompany me every wkend.

Bliss

At 6 week scan, I could only see one sac. So I thot it was a singleton... but on my 7 week scan, there was another one visible... so was rather elated on hearing the news.. Somehow, I was also concerned about the 3rd one, was worried that it may end up in my fallopian tube, but lucky nothing was found in both tube. So I derived that the 3rd embie didn't make it...

Birth weight for premie varies.. there's no benchmark to which we can say exceptable or not. I would put it "survivable or not ".. It really depends on the development of the babies prior to birth.. I had 2 jabs of dexamethasone on week 32 and one jab 2 days prior to their birth. These are to boost the development of their lung should they be born premie.

Usually, babies around that weight should be able to make it if there are no complication.. It is a norm to allow premies to return home once they reach 2 kg or Term (whichever comes first) but usually they reach 2 kg very fast...

Maykel

It's nice having multiples but my suggestion is to arrange for care-giver as soon as you can.. Don't wait until last minute.. and also have a back-up if you can. I didn't have much help when I delivered my gals..I had to cook, wash, do marketing and bathe babies when I was doing my confinement... it was really tough!

Hi all MTB
A maternity shop named, Cloud9 located at Suntec City 4th flr, (same flr as ToysRus) is having a closing down sale (think till 12th oct). Bought some stuffs there at very good price but sizes are limited.

Mrs Teng,
thanks for sharing.

Wow, it was really tough for you to have to do so much even during confinement, somemore with twins! Why didnt you have a confinement lady to help? Really pei fu pei fu.

hi emma,
apt announcement.. hehe.. i just went to cloud9 and bought myself 3 pairs of pants.. 2 black and one jeans.. hehe.. soo, soo happy after i walked out of the shop! now i don't have to worry about not buttoning my pants anymore.. probably will hunt for more bottoms later..

Yest I had a terrible feeling of chest tightness, abit like burning sensation. Find it difficult to breathe and eat. Then middle of the nite suddenly vomitted and feels slightly better after that. Is it heartburn? But i thot heartburn usually happens around 3rd trimester? Does anyone has this feeling? Need some advice here, thanks alot....

Hi Mrs Teng,
Yup, i agree with wat you say, we had decided to get a maid and my mum and MIL would take turns to come. We had oso managed to find a confinement lady. Initially thot was too early to arrange all these, but lucky my mum persisted that i call the confinement lady. Just nice she has a confinement to do just prior to my due date and the next date she reserved for me.
Yes, can imagine how tough it is to do everything by urself omg....you are really strong.

Hi Cale,
Thanks for the link

Time passes so fast, we'll be 10 wks next week....jia you to 2nd trimester

Are you going bk to work already next week?

For those who have done the Down Syndrome test (FTS), at KK ... can my hb also go in to see the scan?

Hi Maykel,
I would still be HL this week and going to see doctor Loh on this Friday.
Yeah. Time passes so fast, especially when we are not working. Everyday i sleep until 9-10am :p

From what you described, it sounds to me like heartburn. I remembered some of the ladies here also experience it quite early, so think not necessary happens around 3rd trimester. Should be OK, dont worry too much. How about your nausea? Better already?

Hi Mrs Teng,
I agreed with the other ladies. It's really been tough on you. Some more you have to take care of your twins. Pei Fu!

I haven't engage any confinement lady yet. Thought wanted to wait until 1st trimester, when it's more stable. Do you think it will be too late by then?

Hi Emma, Merlenna,
I also tempted to go cloud 9 and shop, but my husband not allowed. He don't let me go shopping now. I can only stay at home due to my spotting

Merlenna, do you still remember your spotting lasted how long and when did it stop?

Bliss, Maykel

Thanks for your encouragements! You gals also jia you...

Cale,

It all depends on when is your EDD, if it during feative season, ie, CNY... it's difficult to find one.. Plus now the govt have given so manyperks for babies. There'll be more CL in demand next year and most couple wouldn't want to give birth on the year after next (Year of Tiger) All these are factors do contribute to a possible higher birth rates in next year.. So book one before it's too late.. I know that some ppl may be 'pan tang' about passing 1st trimester...whatever suits you and hubby..

Hi Cale,
Its good to rest more. Yes, time passes very fast....i got problem sleeping at nite and woke up late everyday oso, when start work dun know how....
Oh i see....my nausea still on and off, not as frequent already, the heartburn seems to be taking over....

Its really one issue after another for us....but guess its worth it if our babies grow healthy and well.
Your spotting still on and off? Hope this fri can see the clot smaller or disappear.

Regarding the CL, like wat mrs Teng say, initially i oso 'pan tang' cos now oni 1st trimester, but my mum insist must 'book' early. Anyway, 2 weeks later our 1st trimester over liao then you can look around already.

Hi Merlenna
It was a nice feeling stepping out of the shop after buying the stuffs, right? It was really a good bargain after the discount.

Hi Cale
It's better to rest as much as possible since you have the spotting. Rest well,ya!

CL is suppose to look after the babies and cook confinement food? Do they normally stay in the nites? Do they help to bath the baby?