IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

bakaholic,
I dont have much weird dreams/nightmares, however I also find that I cant have long hours of sleep at night, but feel tired easily and need frequent short naps.

Miss Hae,
you are having triplets? So interesting and wonderful! :D

Merlenna,
thanks, I will rest as much as possible.

do you all let your friends know about your pregnancy so far? I am told not to tell anyone strictly(only family members know about it) for the first trimester. But I find it quite difficult to keep it for 3 months as I have a few friends who have been showing great concern for me and they knew I was undergoing IVF earlier. I dont know what to tell them if they were to ask about my latest stage.
But I have to listen to the elders' advice, for the sake of my baby, I got to keep quiet for a few months.
May I know if anyone of you have such difficulty and what you have done with such situation?

just to check with you all, have you all started applying anti stretchmark lotion or cream on your tummy already? I heard that must start applying starting from the 1st trimester even when the big tummy is not obvious at all. What kind of cream is effective? Any idea?

Hi Bliss,
I do tell some of my close friends/family who knew i was going thr ivf. Otherwise, if anyone ask, i will tell them i am expecting but will not mention the ivf part unless they ask. i am not really "pan-tan" but the ivf part is hard to explain.
I didn't use any stretch mark cream yet though my tummy is bulging. I use my regular moisturizer as i got sensitive skin. Just beware that certain brands of stretch mark cream can cause allergy.

Merlenna,
Thanks for sharing. Must be the hormones acting up..

hi bliss,
at the moment, my colleagues know about my pregnancy lah so it helps in lightening my workload a little as they understands my situation. but not all knew i went thru ivf. but even then, i only feel the need to explain to those necessary. hubby's side all know i'm pregnant. on my side, none know yet. coz i've got nosey relatives. so if they ask then i tell lah.. but not abt the ivf. coz kpo ppl if they get a lot of information, chances are they like to twist it to their own liking which is why i don't see the need for me to let them privy to the idea that i went thru ivf..

i haven't used any cream yet at the moment. i only used normal moisturiser. that too is not regular. hehe..

Dear ladies who had your 1st scan,
may i know how is the 1st scan done? Need to clear bladder or have full bladder during scan? Will I get to know how many embryos have been implanted by then? What else can be known during the 1st scan?

Hi Miss Hae,
Nearly everytime i drink the prune juice, I will have diarrohea too. Even then, I have no choice, as that seems the only option i have to solve my constipation problem

Good luck to you on your upcoming FA scan, I am sure all your 3 babies will be fine. Jia you!

Hi Marlenaa,
Good luck to you on your upcoming Fetal screening. I am sure you baby will be doing great too. Jia you!

Hi Bliss,
Only my family, very close fre and boss knew about this. As i am on MC and hospitalisation leave for 2 weeks, it's tough to hide from them. They would be more understanding after they knew what's going on.
Usually first scan is done via vaginal scan, so need to empty the bladder. Yes, you will know how many been implanted by looking at the number of sac visible on the screen. Besides the sac, the you should expect to see a heartbeat in the sac too.

Hi Maykel/Josephine,
How are you doing? Hope you bleeding stopped by now.

Hi Miss Hae
So fast ya, you are going for your FA scan. So you'll be in 22 wks or? SO you will also get to know the genders of your bbs ya. Any idea at which wk do we get the Braxton hicks contractions?

Hi Bakaholic
I am having weird/sweet/horror dreams ever since was 8 wks but usually can't remember the detail of the dreams when awake. hehe

Hi Bliss
On my 1st scan, I did not have to be full bladder. And usually you will know if you are expecting singleton/twins/triplets.
The moment I knew I am pregnant, I only told my family and 2 close friends, whereas the rest, I told them after 3 months. But didn't tell them I did IVF altho most people will ask as am expecting twins. Like what bakaholic said, it's difficult to explain ivf thingy to them...

Hi Merlenna
How was your NT scan?

Thanks ladies for sharing.
May i know when will the next blood test be? Or will there be another blood test to measure the hcg level?

hi emma,
havent been hearing from you for quite awhile..how are you doing now? i'm in 14weeks now but last sat got bleeding and went to 24hr clinic..baby is fine but have to continue taking the hormone pill

Hi Emma,
How are you? haven't hear from you for a while. The dreams are kinda disturbing. Hopefully will go away soon. I need my beauty sleep...

bakaholic,
i was having problems sleeping too but i didn't have any dreams or nightmares lah. will toss and turn but cannot sleep. i rely on my naps to pay back my lack of sleep. hope it gets better for you ya. now my husband helps to make a cup of warm anmum milk before i sleep so maybe it helps. oh, it's ok to dilute it? im very lazy to go and find the fruits that's why i buy the prune juice. it helps but i'm not comfortable with the diarrohea.

merlenna,
good luck for your NT scan!! don't forget to update us ya. ya, talk about kepos, i am fending off some now and it's so irritating as they are just wasting my time.

bliss,
yes i am having triplets. wonderful ya lah but also i need to take care more esp since my tummy is getting bigger and there are many things i can't do. but at the moment, i am coping well, still can do housework, a bit of cleaning and will take short rests when i get tired. about your 1st scan, you don't have to have full bladder. it'd be a vaginal scan and you will see how many of your embryos are implanted. some heartbeats can be detected earlier. 1 of my triplets heartbeat was detected at wk 7 and the other at week 8.

cale,
oh you have diarrohea too? we so poor thing hor. got constipation and when drink, got diarrohea. thanks! yes, i sure hope all 3 will be ok!

emma,
now im 18wks only. maybe i will get to know the genders but if not, i can wait till i reach the 20th week, no problem. i am only anxious to know they are growing well. hmm, braxton hicks im not sure. should be in the late 3rd trimester? my another gynae shared with me that having orgasms, esp in the 3rd tri can cause contractions.

Hi mikojade,
I understand wat you are going thru regarding the nausea and funny diet we need to go thru. Me oso sometimes just eat junk food just to get thru to my med.
Ya, til now he has not reply me. Guess he must think its not serious and since i'm going to see him 2mr already...
My pain is at the lower right, near the pubic to groin area. Actually i was worried cos last time my ectopic on the left side oso have similar pain, but that time i was bleeding heavily.....now still got pain but better. Lucky no more bleeding. Hubby say could be muscle strain oso. Hiaz....since i tahan so many days liao, just tahan 1 more day bah....

Oh ya, I oso have the funny taste in mouth that you talked abt. Its seems bitter right? Even when i drank honey oso no use....my nausea is slightly better and the funny taste goes away after 1 wk.

Hi Mrs Teng,
My pain is at the lower abdomen. Actually i oso have some discomfort at my chest area. Maybe its the acid reflux you are talking abt.
Oh ya, i did remember Dr loh telling me could be the uterus stretching oso...I had constipation for some time already, now taking prune juice. I didn't think that having constipation would have pain oso...thanks for sharing ur experience, really appreciate it

Hi Miss Hae,
I do experience some discomfort after taking prune juice, but i think its partly due to my constipation oso. Cos after i go toilet, i felt better. I think you better limit it to once a day, cos taking twice a day may be the cause of ur diarrhoea.
All the best for ur FA scan this thur, hope that all your babies are growing healthily

Hi bakaholic,
I do have wierd dreams occasionally, last nite was just having bad dream that i was bleeding heavily *touchwood* think its cos of my recent bleeding tat i think too much....ya, i oso have not been sleeping well at nite, really dread going to sleep sometimes...

Hi Bliss,
Only my family, inlaws and 2 close frens know abt my preg cos they knew abt my ivf, so natarally they know the process. Oh, my boss oso know cos had to tell them abt the procedure.

I've been putting off meeting my other frens cos i think the moment they saw my bulging tummy they would ask me. Anyway, i got no mood to go out lately, just wana rest at home. As for the other relatives, we try not to tell them now, wana wait til after 1st trimester, cos worried not stable now.

Hi Cale,
I got no bleeding these 2 days (keeping fingers crossed). But still got pain, thou its better. Hopefully i can tahan til 2mr to see dr loh.
How abt you, how you feeling? Spotting stop already?

Hi Maykel,
My spotting still haven't stop le. Still have it on and off. The color sometimes brown, sometimes dark red. Haiz, looking at this, think it will still continue for a while more.

Great that you have no more bleeding. Keeping finger cross no more bleeding and pain. What time is your appointment tomorrow?

I have been experiencing nausea this morning. It was uncomfortable.

Whole morning felt like vomiting though I tried not to think about it.
Common to feel bloated rite? My tummy and chest are bloated with gas whole day long and these make me feel like vomitting at times. I even prepared a plastic bag at my side, just in case.

Hi Cale,
Dr loh said you had a clot in ur womb is it? And that is the 1 causing the bleeding. Did he say wat would happen later on? Like, would the clot dislodge by itself or dissolve?
My appt is 3.25pm 2mr.

Hi Maykel,
Yes, Dr Loh said it's the clot that cause the bleeding. The clot might cause unstable to the womb if the body try to expel the clot. Sometimes it will bleed off slowly and sometimes will be absorbed by the body itself. I's hard to predict the outcome. That's why can only rest and pray for the best outcome.

Good luck to your scan appointment tomorrow!

Hi Bliss,
Regarding the blood test, don't think they would be any more unless your condition is very unstable like excessive bleeding, etc. If not, don't think doctor will order this test.

Nausea is common during first trimester. Nearly all the sisters here experience this. Some tried the ginger tea and it helps to ease the symptoms. However, it's very heaty. Not sure about the bloatedness though, as i don experience it. Just some gastric pain initially.

Hi Cale,
oh i see....the clot is so unpredictable, think you must be very worried now...Hope tat it would dispel soon.
Thank you, update you again 2mr.
Me so bored at home now, but i dun dare to go out myself cos yest evening after dinner i went to buy prune juice, then suddenly felt very giddy and nearly fell. Lucky my hubby was with me. After tat blur blur a while until i reach home and rested. So scary...

Cale,
thanks for sharing.
ya, I may not be able to try ginger tea, coz my body gets heaty very easily.
As for the gastric pain u mentioned, is it the feeling of gastric acid coming out when burping? I am having that.

Hi Maykel,
Yes, I am worried, but there is nothing much can be done. Can only wait and see and pray for the best. May be you are having low blood pressure or you are slightly anaemic. Remember to tell doctor Loh about this, perhaps he can give you some iron supplement if needed. Meanwhile, better rest at home and never go out without your hubby around.

Hi Bliss,
The gastric pain i had is those felling uncomfortable at my stomach, when press in, i can feel the pain. I guess yours may be is what ppl called as heartburn? Do you have feel a burning sensation at your chest when this happens? It's also a symptoms that one might suffer during first trimester. Are you working now? You must be feeling quite terrible with all these symptoms if you are working. May be can ask doctor to give you some MC to have a good rest at home.

Hi Cale,
Yes, we will pray together for healthy babies

Be positive and i'm sure you'll get thru this.
Okie, will tell dr loh 2mr....thanks.

Cale,
I am luckier than many working mummies here coz i am not working. I have quit my job this Aug partly becoz of the ivf. So I can at least rest at home everyday. I am just doing some part time job at home in some days.
I guess mine is heartburn then. What is the gastric pain u had? How did you overcome it or cure it?

Maykel and Cale,
will pray for you two too. Things will be fine and all of us will feel better and better as days go by.

Hi Maykel,
Yes, we both pray together for a healthy babies
. You too, be positive. I am sure we can both cross the first trimester safely

Hi Bliss,
That's good for you. No stress and can rest as much as you can
. Regarding my gastric, i guess is due to poor indigestion. Somehow, it gets better overtime. I did not do anything to cure it le.

Hi Bliss,
Welcome to MTB. Like cale said, it should be higher.
Normally after the beta test, the nurse ill give you the 1st appointment (2 weeks after the beta test).
How come can you do the beta test on 15dpet?

Today, I just did my 1st scan (after beta test). You do not need to have full bladder during scan. Yup, the scan will show you how many embryo got the heartbeat. The scan is only on the Tummy.

They never asked me to do another Blood test.

Hi Mrs Tigg3r,
Your mei mei bigger than jie jie. 4,73 kg and 3.93kg. Wow... I cant imagine how big is the tummy for the twins. ^_^

Hi rose1,
I am also vomiting very bad. Last night 3 times vomitted and the food came out. I saw the doctor today, and he said it is normal.

Hi Cale,
Thanks. My bleeding has stopped from saturday. I also do not know what happens. ^_^
How about you? Hope your bleeding or clot will dislodge itself.

Hi Maykel,
How is your bleeding? Is it dissolved by itself?

I just want to update my news. Sorry for my disappearance these few days cos I got very bad nausea and vomiting.

Today, I did my 1st scanning and 1st appointment with Dr SF Loh. In the morning, my tummy was not very comfortable, I vomitted in the toilet with some food. I just hope that I could finish the scan and saw the doctor as soon as possible, because my nausea was really really bad.

At 10.40, finally my turn to scan came. My DH accompany me during the scanning. The lady (who scanned it) showed the 1st embryo with the heartbeat. (* I have known this since last friday during my bleeding)

Then she showed me the other embryo with the heartbeat. I was stunned and suprised. I thought the little one wont make it. I was very happy that little one got the heartbeat. I asked her whether I had any bleeding or blood clot. She checked and re-checked and said no blood clot or bleeding. Wow.. M I R A C L E.

After the scan, she gave me the report (to give to the doctor with pictures) and 1 picture of 2 embryo with the heartbeat (for me).

After that we saw Dr SF Loh, I gave him the report and he saw the report. He said it was good, it looked liked twins pregnancy but still had a risk of miscarriage during 1st trimester so I should rest well and took a very good care. I asked him abt my bleeding and blood clot, why suddenly disapeared and he answered that it was very good when there was no more bleeding or blood clot.

Then I asked abt my pain on the top of tummy and he said that was gastric and it was common. I informed him that I also vomited. And he gave me gastric medicine (mylanta), pain relief (taken at night so I can sleep well) and increase my duphaston dosage to 2pil 2times per day.

Since my gastric very bad, so the Doctor gave me another 3 days MC from tomorrow till Friday. Wow... last friday at kk 24hours I was given 2 days MC from Monday-Tuesday.
Wow, total will be 5 days. Hahahaha I think my boss will screams. Hahahaha :D

Hi Josephine,
Congrats to you on having twins!

Do take care and try not to vomit too much as it will become habitual.

i realize i will get more gas and discomfort if i eat beans or soy products so I have been avoiding them and so far ok. Just really hungry easily and have been snacking as i will get cramps when i am hungry.

Hi Babywee
Finally we are off the 1st trimester. Did your doc. mention what could have cause the bleeding? Are you still working? Better take plenty of rest,ya.

Hi Bakaholic
I am doing good except for buldging stomach that people thought Im in my 5 mths altho am only 14 wks..hehe
Have you gone for your 1st scan yet? Any nauseous?

Hi mIss Hae
I think as early as 20 wks, some ladies will experience Braxton-Hicks contractions. Yesterday at the clinic, I saw a very preggie lady and I tot she will be due anytime, only to find out from the nurse that she's expecting twins and only 24wks. She got the BHC at wk 20 and now she requires jab to avoid pre labor.

Any ladies know how do we know if we are having Braxton Hicks contraction?

emma,
i see. im not sure about braxton hicks. just that i have started my weekly proluton jabs in order to minimise any chances of having early contractions. i hope i won't be having any in the 2nd trimester though.

Hi Emma,
My scan only next wk. So far no severe ms yet. just hungry easily. Having 5 meals a day now. Avoiding beans and soy products as it makes me bloated.

However, got bad sore throat today. Been gulping honey lemon water to soothe it. Working well but i guess needs some time to recover. Sigh...
Dunno where i caught it from. Could be from the GP clinic where i have my proluton jabs.

Hi Bakaholic,
Thanks. I also dun want to vomiting cos it is hurting my stomach.
No choice, my gastric really really bad but not as bad as Imel (*until vomit blood).
are you working? How old is your pregnancy?

Hi Emma,
Hehehe. Thx. Hope my I can graduate my 1st trimester. ^_^

update on my babies gender

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No. of Baby</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD>Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinnies</TD><TD>16 Feb 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Hae</TD><TD>23 Feb 09</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>P C Wong</TD><TD>NUH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD>05 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>1 boy 1 girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babywee</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD>04 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MaybeBaby</TD><TD>02 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mikojade</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cale</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

any new graduates names to be put up?

ms hae,
all the best to your FA scan. sure to take very long as they have to check on 3 of them. enjoy your time with the babies

btw, have you start to feel baby movement already?

merlenna,
good luck for your NT scan. you too, enjoy your time with your baby

cale,
rest as much as you can. i have bleeding too during my 6 weeks.

josephine,
congrats on your twins.

yck,
wow ur having a boy and a girl? thats GREAT news!!!! congrats dear! so happy for you! how many weeks are you now? hope i can know my babies genders this thurs. movements, im not sure if its them or its my tummy grumbling from wanting to go to the toilet. have u felt any movements yet?

Hi josephine,
Yes. I am working. However, I do take a day off at midweek every wk to get more rest as also clear my leave. I am into my 6th wk.
Did you try isotonic drink? My colleague was telling me that her gynae told her to drink 100plus and the gas helps her to burp and she felt better. I also drink pocari occasionally if i feel bloated. Seems to help.

Congrats Yck!
You are so fortunate to have 1 boy and girl.
I am hoping for that too but I guess i can't ask for too much. As long as they are healthy and normal. Any gender is fine.

Hi josephine,
congrats to you having twins!!
So nice!
May I know what you meant by 'it should be higher' in your earlier posting?
Oh, I requested to take my BT 2 days earlier, as you know, I was very worried and feeling hopeless towards the end of my 2WW when my BBT kept dropping for 4 days. So my beta was 866.1 on 15dpET. I was really relieved and overjoyed that day.

Btw, you said that your 1st scanning was on the tummy? I remember Cale told me that it was vaginal scan.

You must take extra care of yourself, especially expecting twins.

yck,
congrats to you having a boy and a girl! So beautiful to get a 'hao'(chinese character)!

yck,
pls kindly put up my name.

My Dr is Dr Sadhana in KKH. But I have yet to know my EDD, as well as baby gender.

may I ask what is Braxton hicks contractions?
Btw, can I ask if any of you experienced organsms during your 2WW?
I have experienced 3 to 4 times of very intense organsms when I was sleeping at night during my 2WW. And it started so suddenly and became so intense that I was waken up by the kind of contractions. In fact, I remembered the organsms lasted for quite a few minutes.
I wondered if it was normal and what was happening during those times. I was rather frightened that time if it had anything to do with my embryos inside.

Hi Yck,
You can update my list.
EDD: 19 May 09.
Gynae: SF Loh.
Hospital: KKH.
No of Baby: 2.

Hi Bakaholic,
nope, I dun drink any isotonic drink. I dun like the taste. hehehe. Currently I like eating fruits.
How many embies you put? 2?

Hi Bliss,
I means your level should be higher cos it is 866.1 on 15dpET, like Cale said it is multiple by the next day. So by 17dpET, I think your level should be 1700+.

I got vaginal scan at KK24hrs during my bleeding.
And tummy scan on my 1st appt. I dun know why is different.

1739086.jpg

Hi Josephine,
yeah, i put in 2.

Bliss,
Most ppl need to do V-scan for their 1st scan as it's gives a clearer pix. Tummy scan is very rare.

Hi Josephine,
My EDD is a day earlier than yours.. how strange.. i thought your result was 1 week ahead of mine? I guess it will change as it progresses..

Hi Bakaholic,

1739194.jpg
Hahaha, Dunno leh. My Doctor told me leh. But he got said that i might labor earlier. Hahahaha
1739198.jpg

So, when is your 1st appt? next week?

hi josephine,
congrats on expecting twins!! must be so exciting!

hi yck,
long time no see, and came back with such wonderful news! one boy one girl! how fantastic. now you really can enjoy the best of both worlds. hehe..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No. of Baby</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Clinic / Delivery Hospital</TD><TD>Baby Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twinnies</TD><TD>16 Feb 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Hae</TD><TD>23 Feb 09</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>P C Wong</TD><TD>NUH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yck</TD><TD>05 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>1 boy 1 girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof. Ng Soon Chye</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babywee</TD><TD>25 Mar 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Merlenna</TD><TD>04 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Imel</TD><TD>21 Apr 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MaybeBaby</TD><TD>02 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mikojade</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cale</TD><TD>03 May 09</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Dr. Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>19 May 09</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bliss Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Sadhana</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

btw ladies with dr loh at KKH, is dr loh same as S F loh? so can i just change all to S F loh?