IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

merlenna,
have lots and plenty of rest to stop the bleeding. don't worry. you'll see the other heartbeat in 2wks time. please take care of yourself and have faith that you'll pull through. we're here with you.

Hi Merlenna
Have faith and positive thinking.

Was also told by my doc that I might end up with singleton due to 1 bb showed weak heart beating during my 1st scan. Went for my 8th wk scan last wk, and able to detect both heartbeats.
I also had twice spotting and doc orders bedrest. Dun worry too much and have plenty of rest,ya!

Theresa

Yeah! I was told to give 0.2ml of Infaco on alternate feeds.. sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. My gals are only 7 weeks now... Seemed to have a long way to go...

Petals

I agree with you that an hour away from the babies does make a diff.. Well, I just got to hang in there for at least another few more months...

Merlena

i knw u will b in a lot of worries now n keep thinking for e 2nd bb. why not change some of ur worries into encouragement for him/her to cont to grow? ur bbs r only 6wks n yes, some will only get to see their heartbeats at 8th wk. cont to pray for both of them n hav plenty of rest, ur bbs need stable environment to grow. try to think for e good things in ur life n keep urself positive. cheer ur bbs up

mrs hae
i find e following items r quite useful n crucial for triplets but may not always apply:

1.a good electric breast pump. well, we will try to latch on our babies but it's impossible to latch on them all! especially triplets will come out early, in kkh 34wks consider full-term for triplets liow. bbs born b4 35wks and/or under 2kg wil b nursed in special care until they reach e target. the nurse will bottle feed babies b4 we got better from c-section wound n go down to see our babies. some babies cant suck well and will be put on tube feeding for few days. in e 1st few days tat u r too tired of nursing urself or babies r too weak to suck, u need to pump out e milk(colostrum) n let ur babies share it. even if ur babies can suck well since birth, can latch them on but my advice s u hav to pump out whatever left over to empty ur breast so u will produce more later on. so, get a good pump.

2. prepare 5-6 milk bottles for each baby n get a sterilizer. u wont hav time to boil e bottles n wait for it to be ready. especially in 1st few mths, 3hourly feeds, some 2 hourly......can go crazy!!

3. b4 giving birth, especially when u r 7 mths preggy, pack ur hospital bag n be ready to rush to hospital at anytime. i started my countdown since 24wks. always told myself must tahan until 7 mths, then christmas, then new year, then 8 mths, finally i made it to 34wks n 5 days!!

4. start to look for CL or maid or whoever s going to help u. hav a plan in ur mind how to look after babies when they come home. at least u will need 2 helper plus u urself also need to be taken care of. then slowly set up e rooms for helper n babies.

5. diapers n wipes, get some stock at home so u no need to rush to ntuc when babies cry. bath basin, towel, diaper rash cream, swaddles, hats, mitten......

6. for urself, get some maternity dress ready but no need too many lah. i din go out after 6 mths due to contraction on n off n leg pain.

7. maternity bras,underwears n pads.

8. nursing bras n breast pads--to main ur shape

9. some big t-shirt, long sleeve jackets and loose pants, better longer than knee length for u to wear after giv birth. u may need to visit ur babies in hospital everyday even during confinment

10. babycots--i dun find it a must coz occupied a lot of space. rather use mattress...

tat's all i can think of for now... haha......

thanks for your words of encouragement. i'm so glad i have a place to share my worries and joy. i'm ok, don't worry. coz to me, what's important now is to focus on that one baby.. he/she looks very strong. i almost teared talking about it coz after all a life is growing inside me. i just took mc today. i'll go as per normal but now, i'll be extra careful. the bleeding has subside. left brown blood. stains and spots. everyone has been encouraging.. counting on the fact that the other baby is probably still too small to detect its heartbeat. but in any case, i'm still happy and grateful.

i'll concentrate on being positive so my healthy baby can grow happily.. heh..

mrs teng,
dont let CL things let you down, u r the boss, u tell her wht she should do. u really need a good rest for month 1 and 2, eat well, nutritious, healthy, cause your babies need you, and your body needs adjustment and nutrition also. maybe you could ask hubby to do laundry and shopping, or ask maid (if you have one), CL cant stay away from babies for first month, she should be taking care of you and them, well, maybe its too much to ask her to do it herself, one person handling 2 babies is difficult, but good CL will try her best to do all things, and good CL know wht things are "pantang" for new mommies, especially cold water, pleaseeeee..... dont lar, and dont sit too much also, u need to lie down. i'm now past 6 month oredi, but i could still experienced body ache, especially back bone and knee, cause during confinement i didnt rest very well cause my former CL left after a week, luckily after 3 days without CL, my MIL found another one, and we now like family, she will come often to see my babies, she told me this "if you want to hire someone to do things for you, then you let the person to do it, if you still want to do things yourself, then dont hire people." and it strucked me, thts rite, we pay for the person we hiring, why should we so "kepo", since then i let her do things most, its just if both my babies cried together, then she would let me carry one, at nite hubby would babysit with her until 4 am, then after tht my turn. i too had a mild depression where i couldnt stop crying and daren't near my babies for almost a week, then my BM supply drop cause babies didnt latch. but i thank God for giving me hard time once in a while cause i know my strength now, when i should ask and when i could handle myself.

whenever you feel blue, come in here, pour out all your sadness, you'll feel better, if not much, at least you'll feel a bit relief.

praying you'll feel better now, pray for babies to be good and not colic anymore, pray for your and hubbies health, pray for CL to realize wht she is hired for. above all, God bless you abundantly with mighty strength. Ameeennn...

if you need secret shoulder, can email me at [email protected]

or anyone who feels burden and too shy to post here, email me.

hehehehe, why suddenly so kepo of me, wakakakaka, surely kepo of me. but do email me, i like sharing with people, keep me alive.

deasy

hihi...how r u? haha, after become mother, become so motherly also.....

ya, me also whole body pain, cant even climb stairs, like old woman. taking tcm n tui na every week, help a lot. u?

petals

halo!!! how r u? how s ur babies? do share with us their pics...

this one I got from a friend when i'm very down, and now I give it to all mommies here,
A mother has strengths that amaze men.
She can handle trouble and carry heavy burdens.
She holds happiness, love and opinions.
She smiles when she feels like dying inside.
She sings when she feels like crying.
Cries when she's happy and laugh when she's afraid.
Her love is unconditional.
There's only one whing wrong with her, she sometimes forgets what she is WORTH....
So, please rest well and eat well.
We will keep praying for you.The Lord be with you and Keep you. Love and Hugs..
May you have brighter days ahead.

weiwei,
still awake at this hour ha? go to sleep now.. waakakkaka.. really like old mother. i still can climb stairs but sometimes must very slow, or like children climbing, cannot one by one step. last time check up in penang, i asked whether taking calcium will help, the consultant said calcium will help next time when get older, but not for taking away the pain. haizzzz.... in medan, dont know where to do tui na le, and i dont like taking chinese medicine lor, very bitter one.. huhuhuhu... dont want dont want... so scary...

Deasy your babies look delightful!!
Sorry i barge in here, i should be in the 'still trying IVF' thread. Hehe but cant help posting cos your babies really very cute!

Hope to join you all here soon.

Hi Hopes, Hope Im not too fwd when was your miscarriage with your 1 set of twins? Yuppers with the new incentive it will benefit for all who wants more kids.

Mummies with Twins, I read on the internet & also in books that its better to keep twins sleeping together in one cot till 4-6months, than I got confuse when I read Gina Ford, Contented House of Twins. she says you need them in their own room and in separate cots. what did you all do? Can I have some feedback? Many thanks.

deasy

haha, u also din sleep until 1am? i put a lot of honey in my tcm so it wont be so bitter. ur boy can sit on his own liow ah? mine can sit but need ppl to hold a bit still or put in high chair then can sit properly. me also taking calcium but it never help with e joint pain. haiz....giv me 1 mth dun do anything just sleep n eat, sure will recover one.

nicole

for e 1st mth i let my boys sleep together in a cot. 2nd mth they dun like tat way n keep on waking up each other in e night. so we separate them, one on each bed. (they sleep together with whoever take care of them, mil insisted.)

wow, 1 day never come in and the thread run so fast!!!! my twins started crawling all over the place last weekend and always pulling the bed railing to standing positions so v dangerous to leave them alone now....*sigh* will have less time to come in to the thread, so busy watching over them.

Deasy n weiwei, wow they have all grown so much!!!! must really post their pics once a month hor?

got to run....they not yet sleeping....juz crawling all over the bed n trying to climb over one another. *sigh* wish they sleep more nowadays.

deasy, too rushed when i typed the messgage juz now, i forgot to add that ur twins looked v different from last time u posted their photos!

weiwei, which one is zhuangzhuang? e younger one? lele is the gal or the elder bro? i forgot the other one's name.

mummies, there is a talk on "looking after twins" @NUH tomorrow, 1-2pm by Dr. Citra Matter, who will share how she coped with the twins after going back to work. venue is the level 1 health education hub.

call 67722184 to register for free.

Hi Mummies to be,
Try to brave myself to cross over to this thread. I was in IVF support thread and was tested positive last monday and very happy with the result. But since I had blighted ovum last cycle, I was very cautious this time. I hope this time its really successful for me. Im going for u/s on 03/09, really hope to see yolk and hb.

Hi Marlenna and Bebecraze,
Great to see both of you in this thread.

Marlenna,
I hope you will hear 2 hb in your next scan. You have to rest more and don't overtire yourself.

dawn

ur babies can craw around alrdy? so fun!! post their pic leh... miss them liow...
my boys crawing backwards, haha.....they dun knw how to go forward yet....my cousin's baby was like them also, then fell off from bed, coz can not see behind mah... must modify my room n baby room liow, not child prove yet, wires n sharp corners everywhere....

elder one s zhuangzhuang, lele s e younger boy. my gal's name s doudou, small mah,like a green bean....haha....

weiwei, ok...now i remember their names liow!!! nowadays after giving birth memory super poor! oh, my gal was crawling backward for 1 whole month then suddenly last week can crawl forward liow. urs will be soon too! ok, later when i free then upload their notti photos.

hopes....u haven't given birth yet, can tahan another 10 more days????

imel, welcome to the thread, congrats n will pray for u to stay here for at least another 9 months with us....

nicole, it is divided into 4 installments....think every 3 months they will credit $750 into our account per child until each child gets $3000. for u will be more liow!

sorry dawn...

realised i posted the date wrongly...new baby bonus scheme starts from 01/01/09 not 01/09/09 :p

miss hae
urs will b v cute also, just a few mths more to go.
just realise tat i type ur name wrongly, shld b miss but i type mrs.......sorri lah...

dawn
hope s delivering soon, all e incentives only starts next year leh, sure cant wait till then ah!!

yck

thanks!!

I feel helpless...sincerely hope that someone can enlighten me.

In 2WW, how do you girls settle yr meals and house works?

My husband is very busy with his work and travel a lot. My mum is unable to help coz she need tk care my nephews. As for my sis, she can only cook lunch for me.

My TCM doc advice me to have gd rest after ET coz my body is weak. I want too but.....sigh..

Looking forward to receive advice from you girls soon.

Thank you so much.

Faith, I went down to get lunch n dinner when my hb was not in. U can still walk to ur nearest Kopishop n get food. Housework, I didnt vacum or mop floor. I will wash clothes but ask my hb to hang. Meaning I dump the clothes in the washing machine. Dont vacum or mop la, he can help you when he is home. Life goes on as normal just dont carry heavy things or strain urself. U will be bored so u will end up watching TV and also sleeping alot. Enhoy ur 2ww and BFP ya at the end of it.

faith

since u cant get much help from relatives, maybe u can hire a part time maid to at least help u with house work n meals. dun stress urself, as long as u can keep e embryos u r great, everything s simple n easy. relax!!

Hi Deasy n Weiwei
Your bbs are soooooo cuteeeee....

Hi Faith
I had no one to cook for me during 2ww so I ordered 'tingkat' aka catering for dinner and for lunch either I cooked porridge, ordered deliveries like sakae sushi,pasta mania... I went out to buy lunch sometimes after 6 days 'confined' at home...I have a part time hse keeper who comes over once a wk.Hope this help...

Hi Faith,
I buy lunch from downstair coffee shop myself and dinner hubby will buy after his work. housework hubby will do. 5 days later went back to work and life as per normal.

hi nicole,
I thot baby bonuses are paid in 4 instalments. When I asked my colleague abt it, she said its gonna be 4 times over a period of 6months each time. But I too dunno how its like if its multiples.

Hi hopes,
wah! U scare me lah if the enhanced baby bonus and 4 months maternity leave will only be effective in Sept next year. Hehe.. Lucky its edited to Jan 09. Phew!!

Faith, can call pizza hut/kfc/mac...if not, can prepare sandwich to eat, no need to go out.

hopes, oh dear, really jan09 ah? then u cannot wait liow!
never mind, what is a better gift than seeing our precious little ones! then no need to wait liow...hee hee tell ur boy can come to meet mummy liow. anytime now?

Nicole, government gives money very slowly one. they will never give one lump sum one lah. i oni received 2nd time $750 up to now.

nowadays super busy....last time good life din know, can juz plong them on bed , switch on the cot mobile and let them watch it turn n turn n turn n coo/talk to themselves, then mummy can run off to surf the net for 1/2 hour...sometime lucky, they can fall asleep watching the cot mobile. haha. starting last week....this is what happens if i plong them on the bed:

1653289.jpg

the next second, they sit up and pull themselves up using the bed railing babbling to themselves....then if cannot hold properly will plong fall back/sideway and get baluku(s)! this afternoon, i tried about 8 to 9 times within 1/2 hour trying to put my gal to the lying down position to sleep so that i can go n do my own things....she kept popping up , gurgling...laughing like it is a great joke. so i gave up, brought her to play with her toys till she v v tired ( i also v v tired) so she can sleep.

Weiwei n deasy, took jiaqi n jiajie's photo this morning... nowadays they dun like to sleep liow.
so how u entertain them?
1653290.jpg

Hi dawnn,

Your twin are so cuuteee. Hehehe....they look so active, which is good. At that age they are curious about everything and see the world for the first time in their life. Plus they are very clever and will just scream if they want to attract attention. I know about babies coz I have been taking care of my niece and now I wish I have my own baby to take care of.

My mother just told me that when Im a baby she will want me to grow up quickly, but once I grown up and married, she feel she wish Im still a baby so I won't leave her. Its really a dilemma to be a mother. But the experience is something that we can't describe.

weiwei..dawn..

yah lor..hehe..how to wait till next yr.. cannot wait liaoz.. now can only hope he comes out asap..hehe..

merlenna..

hehe..sorry for the shock..:p blur me..:p
anyway.. at least some of u gals get to enjoy the benefits..
happy for you all..

dawn

mine not so active yet lah. only rolling over n over on bed. dun knw how to sit on their own n cant craw over e place yet.
how ah? they only clever eating lor, piggies!! my elder son got 4 teeth came out alrdy, so he will chew whatever he can snatch n put in his mouth. i think they like me lah, lazy type, just want to eat n sleep......

Ohh Dawn ur babies are such cutees..... They are 6months plus rite??? Cant u lower u cot. Where did u get ur cot from? Do you put them together since young to sleep?

Maybe I can seek some advice about getting back to shape and weight after giving birth. My little princess has just turned 8 months, and I am quite concerned that I am still about 3-4kg away from my pre-pregnancy weight. I see many of my friends spring back to their original shape and weight quite fast and am disappointed that I am not. Actually, I can see the bulge around my tummy quite obviously, and am not surprised if I am mistaken for pregnant again.My husaband actually said just tell them yes if they ask!! How long did most of you take to resume your weight and shape actually? Please advise and share your tips.

deasy,
your nathania so cute, got dimples!
pity my family doesn't have dimples...

weiwei, dawn,
ur bbs r so cute! can sit up already. Mine learning how to flip over but still haven't succeeded yet.
Dawn, do u put them in ur playpen now that they can pull themselves up? Thinking whether I need one... Your playmat v nice...where did u get it from? My son hvg bad case of cradle cap and v itchy for him...any of ur bbs experienced it too? Don't know how to help other than using moisturizing cream. You going for the talk u mentioned?

Nicole,
My bbs still can share a cot at 4 mths. But not all the time cos sometimes we split them up to put them to sleep, then put them in cot when they are fast asleep.

Imel,
Congrats on your BFP result! Take gd care...think positive...you r now a MTB! And u get to enjoy the new benefits announced!

Pinkki,
Don't do anything too strenuous like mopping and overstretching to hang clothes...let ur hubby do it. Try to rest more esp in first few days when embies are implanting. Like what others said, can order home delivery or tingkat. And continue to take your folic acid. All the best! Babydust to you!

hopes,
oh, just a tip...when i bot my nursing bra after i delivered, i made sure the cup size fits well but bought a shorter length (i.e. the size 80/85/90) than what I was at that moment and used the bra hook extensions to make up the diff, cos our ribcage expands during pregnancy and will go back to normal gradually after delivery. So u don't want to be left with a bra that u can't wear once u slim down. Cup size will still remain while we are nursing.

Thanks Petals, Is ur a standard cot or cot bed? I notice the cot beds are bigger in size.

Ya Dawn ur play mat very nice from where ahh? hehhee

combi,
i somehow lost my preg weight and more, esp in 3rd & 4th mths...must hv been the bfeeding cos i didn't exercise much. Still have the tummy though.

Nicole,
Don't know leh, mine is 2nd hand. I only remember its length 52". But i'm thinking of alternative sleepg arrgmt now, cos they are getting too tall to share already.

After peeing, i saw pink waterish discharge when i wipe. I guess this should be stopping. I have just been tested positive last sat, so today should be 4 plus pregnant. So worried. Called the nurse, she ask me to rest in bed. Have to take MC for the rest of the day. I dun know if i should go back to work tomorrow. Any advise?

Also is it normal to have spotting?