IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

grumpus
So ur baby has used all three brands
If we plan to bf, how many bottles should we buy for first time? Thanks

Panda,

EDD is just a guide. Most multiples are born early. I am very tall. Hee.. 1.75M

your no. of weeks is based on the EDD given by doc, not scan.

Newborns won't turn their bodies. Can wait till they are a little older before u use bumper.

singapoh, no wonder lah! haha.. i m only 1.63... tht explains..if i gain too much weight, i will hv major problem moving around during 3rd tri...keke..

okz.. so i shld still continue to use the actual number of weeks n days instead of the scan one... thanks thanks....

okz..without bumper will be ok to put 3... my gf told me must use bumper..just in case bbsitter accidentally knock bb against the cot when carrying bb in and out of cot lor.. :S

Nancy,

I have 6 bottles and 4 storage bottles for my twins which is more than enough.

Now I direct latch them during the day, give only 1 fm before bedtime.

singapoh..i hv no idea oso..hahahahaha.. coz i first time mummy... she says must use..so i kept pondering over this....

does ur bb drink plain water since u are also giving fm? or no need?

singapoh
Do they share the bottles or u label them? What do u mean storage bottles? different caps? Sorry ask silly questions -- first time mum haha....wow u very tall !! Ur hubby even taller?

Panda,
1st 2-3 mths no need cot bumper lah. not until bbs start to flip on their own. if bbsitter can knock bb while putting them in and out then bbsitter should be fired liao! :p

nancy,
haha, yes my bb was one of those picky ones.
i only had 2 feeding bottles for my girl. i just sterilise more often lor, no big deal since the sterilisation cycle is very fast. storage bottles are for storing pumped out breastmilk. need not be the same type as the feeding bottles. i had abt 6 of those, all cheapo bottles since i dun use them for feeding.

grumpus, i cannot fire my babysitters ..hahahahaa... my parents n mil leh... :p

is there any problem with transferring the bm from storage bottles to milk bottles huh? coz i have not decided on the pump... there is also the compatibility to consider.. in case bb picky on the kinds of bottles.......

Panda,
no prob with transfering bm from storage bottle to milk bottle. most of the time u need to do that anyway cos u dun pump the exact amt that bb drink mah. lets say u pump 150ml, bb only drink 120ml then is better to pour out 120ml into feeding bottle rather than feed straight from the 150ml that u pumped, cos cannot finish wasted leh.

if u separate feeding and storage bottles then not much issue with compatibility. u can say use avent pump for pumping but NUK bottles for feeding. or medela pump for pumping but avent bottles for feeding. quite flexi.

grumpus, thanks! then my avent bottles can still try n use if i dun get avent pump...keke.. i was tinking if not like very wasted...

can i ask what do u ladies use to swaddle the baby? is it necessary to buy the swaddle blankets? my mum says use the cloth nappy can liao.... but bb will try to kick out of it right..coz they will try to stretch alot.....

Panda,
i used cloth nappy to swaddle during the day and at night i use a thicker blanket but also those square piece type one. didn't buy special swaddle. but i only swaddled my girl for abt 3 months. i know some mummies swaddle their bbs up to 8-10mths, in that case prob will need those zip up sleeping bag type of swaddle where they can still turn in their sleep and remain swaddled.

Nancy,

Thank God my hubby is taller :p

I bought bottles in 2 colors. Blue is for boy and red is for girl. It's good when u express and keep in the fridge and yr CL know which bottle is for which baby without having to ask u when u r zzz. This is when they are drinking different amount.

They share the bottles during other times.

Panda,

I also used cloth diaper to swaddle my babies day and night too. We don't use aircon.

I stopped swaddling them shortly after fullmonth.

Forgot who ask me this. I don't give plain water to my babies. Will only give water after they are 6 months old. This also apply to formula fed babies.

The classes u all mention is it to teach us how to handle nb?
Cos im gng for c sect so if the class teach how to breath during natural birth.. Abit not necessary leh...

How many is the sessions? Im not sure whether glen e provide such classes not.. Or tmc is better? What is the no to call to book?

I see u all aldy buying tins and booking clAsses.. I kan cheong.. I hvt done anytin yet.. Hvt even buy a single bb tin yet..

Baby call 62514090, google tmc antenatal class & u can see their course outline on the tmc web
I also only bot 1 set of pj and just now a diaper bag from Internet. Rest will go shopping this weekend if I m better from my flu

thanks gan... i went to see the website liao..
but im only interested in the lesson 4 and 5 leh... the others seems abit not relevant...

i wonder can just book for these 2 lessons?

can i ask if im getting avent bottles for my nb... how to choose the "head" of the bottle... duno what is that call... cos i know got different type of holes right? how do i know which kind to buy for my bbs?

btw does taka provide the list to get for nb like what isetan gives? cos i dun have the list..so clueless to what to buy for my bbs... and im gng to taka fair on mon... not convenient to go isetan scotts to get the list... or does wisma isetan also has the list?

baby,
there is a guideline for the teats. 1 hole is for 0+ mths, 2 holes for 1+ mth etc.
for nb u would start with the smallest teat. then from there just observe yr bb to decide when it's time to move up.

Baby,

mothercare also has the list to shop for yr baby.

Small bottles are for young babies. If u use big bottle, there will be more air trapped inside.

Thanks gals..

May i also ask which brand of breast pump to buy?
Should we buy now or buy after we deliver to see whether we have breast milk to bf?
Cos now having baby fair.. So if price is cheaper.. Should we get it now? But i prefer to latch bb directly.. So does that means i dont need breast pump? Cos its not cheap to get one..

if u r not working & target to 100% latch, think no hurry to get a pump. unless u plan to go out without bb for long periods of time

Mums & Babes is always having offer on medela pumps

I don't even swaddle my nb baby once back from hospital. ;) because I clueless how to swaddle n I do night care myself. Can't wake my mil at night right? But baby can sleep well still ha ha..

Baby, I only signed up for 2 classes of antenatal at TMC plus the dr talk paid deducted amount but I forgot how much.

For bottles/teats really depending on your bb. Like grumpus said some baby only stick to 1 brand but my baby can take any teats n latch on with no problem.

If anyone interest to trade in old bottle to new avent, kiddy palace now having trade in with better trade in price than taka fair.
Jus need to bring 1 old bottle u can trade in to 2*125ml @ $ 17+. taka fair avent is $10 for 1.
So if your friend pass u any old bottle u can trade them in but must be acomplete bottle i.e. With teat, and the cap.

Baby,

u need a pump to stimulate yr breast after latching (3 hourly after bb is born) in the initial weeks. An electric dual pump will save u time.

Medela is always on promotion. They are either from USA or Europe. in KKH pharmacy, Medela is from Europe. Medela in Firstfewyears is from USA. U need a transformer to convert the voltage.

baby,
u would need AT LEAST a manual pump to stand by at home. cos like singapoh said, in the initial weeks u'll need the pump to help stimulate and increase yr milk flow. also, u won't know until bb is born if yr bb will hv any probs latching. if yr bb has probs latching like my girl did, then u will hv to rely on 100% pumping if u still want to bf and u'll need a good pump.

if u're really concerned abt the cost, maybe u can borrow from friends first then buy later after delivery.

also, wat is yr plan after 4 mths maternity? do u plan to continue bf or stop? if u plan to continue then u'll need a breast pump to pump during the day while u're at work. so may be a good idea to invest in a good one now?

Grumpus I plan to breastfeed bb up to 4 mths b4 I return to work, after that rely on fm coz no place to pump in office so tough to continue bf.. But I wld still need a electric pump for these 4 mths right? How long does it tAke to wean baby from bf? Do I intro fm slowly?

Gan,
actually by the time u go back to work u can cut down to just pumping 3 times a day. once in the morn, once at lunch and once at night. i know some mummies who pump in the toilet cos their office also no place to pump. it is very xiong and requires a lot of commitment but can be done. even if u can't 100% bf, some breast milk better than none right?
but anyway it's a personal choice lah.

actually if yr bb can latch during the 1st 4 mths, u can rely on a manual pump only. cos u'll only need to pump in the 1st 2 wks or so. once u get the latching routine going u can stop pumping liao.

if yr bb can take to the bottle and FM easily then u only need up to a wk to wean yr bb to FM. u intro FM one feed at a time until all the feeds are FM. that way u also cut down yr bm supply slowly.

Grumpus thks yes if I want to pump I have to do that in toilet which I find very unhygenic. I am planning to take 20 weeks off from work, do will try bf bb to 4 mths then wean her in the 5th mth but night time bf her as dessert but I guess my flow will reduce due to less bf

hi all, just went for my OSCAR yesterday, NT is 1.8mm and nasal nose is can be seen clearly and doc seemed pleased with it....but blood test results not out....maybe only on tues since its long weekend....

can I conclude that it should be in the safe range since the physical markers are ok?

Hazel, dun know leh.. do not rmbr if Singapoh/STB/SunFlower they all mention leh though I read b4 that KKH has it. Must request for it? Will it be based on availability given that there could be other mothers using it?

Despondent, u oping for natural delivery? natural delivery is just 1 night stay in KKH usually... For a start u let bb suckle isn't it?see if singapoh say need or not..

I thought I remembered stb said she used the hospital pump.. Hm...

Hazel, Dr Loh said "of course try natural, hor hor hor (his usual non words when he's rushing)". 

Btw, how's bbhp? She went for c ytd.

Despondent, that means ur bb is in engaged position! Bbhp has delivered. Both babies more than 2kg. She is amazing, can carry to full term despite that she has been working n only bed rested at 34 wks... Now Waiting for her to post photos in fb.

Oh, really? He never say leh. Only told us bb head down. But that has been for weeks!

Ya, she's good, can carry till full term. So babies in normal nursery?

Hazel,
Both bbhp's babies are above 2kg? That's gd! She was still worried that the boy maybe underweight. Yeah I find her and Singapoh very amazing. Can still do so much and cheong all the way for the last few few weeks.

Despondent, am not sure if the twins r in normal nursey. But shld be as both bbs weight r gd.

Bing, bbhp traveled to AMK everyday to her mum's plc for dinner from town everyday for dinner till 33 wks. Public transport n she had to climb overhead bridge somemore! She stays in woodlands. She been through a lot to hv the twins. OHSS that time some more n dr loh was on vacation. Dr on cover did not even dare to drain the fluid from OHSS. Just put her on observation. She is indeed very strong, her positive attitude helps I think

Des, I didn't bring my own pump or borrow KKH...i simply asked the nurse to bring my son in to latch on whenever it's feeding time...I only diligently start the 3hrly pump when I got home on 3rd day after delivery.

Errr, already too many things to bring to KKH and already a lot more things (including all the hampers) to bring home from KKH...so u sure u still wan to bring ur own pump there???

Des, LC may not see u immediately. I remember only seeing mine on the following day after birth.....in the afternoon...but like wat hazel said, if she doesn't come to u, ask for her....otherwise, u can always ask the nurses to guide u initially.....i got the nurses to help me everytime i latch on when i was still there...

Ya, STB, then I'd better not bring my pump...  Just scared no supply leh. Nvm then, if need be, will ask for hospital's pump.

Hazel, I chose B1 ward leh. Was thinking of saving $ for bb, since my dh prefers to go home to sleep. I'm ok to be in 4 bedded ward. KKH's ward v big and spacious. 

Despondent, B1 also pte class. Actually the price difference for ward charges r not material for B1 or A class. The main diff is other cost. Anyhow, If natural delivery, is just one night stay. So very fast go home Leow. Save the Money for bb also gd

Will ur company pay some of the delivery cost? Mine will... Heard my colleagues say last time the company will pay in full.. So good hor...