IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Hazel, i dunno 1 or 2 nights leh coz they showed us draft which showed 2 nights leh. Can save about $1000 which is alot leh & not justifiable for my dh to stay over.

Btw, my company doesn't cover any of e cost at all.

Des,

I didn't really make full use of the hospital pump. I latch every 3 hours including night and only asked for the pump about 2 hours before I discharged. I was busy and ended up using he pump for few minutes.

I stayed in B1 and I couldn't rest the whole day. It was very noisy and I was perspiring like a mad woman. I had an extra standing fan near my bed. Night was
the worse. 4 of us took turn to bf bb. U can imagine the noise of nurse coming in and out, talking and babies crying. :S

Des, impt for mummy to have good rest before going home..and u can request bb to room in w u if u r staying in A1...that was my intention when i took A1. But coz i had emergency c-sect, I only have bb w me when hubby is ard.....

Dear Sisters,

Just 1 week after my BT, I forgot to take my hormone pills last night, I hope it doesn't affect too much on my pregnancy...

Stb,

I find that having yr bb in yr hospital room is not a good idea. U won't be able to rest well. U will keep waking up to see if he's ok, change his diaper, feed him..

Thanks Singapoh. I have already taken this morning when I realised I forgot to take last night. I guess I can only pray nothing bad happen...

I read that newborn babies should start with baby sling/ pouch for neck support. Baby carrier is introduced when they are at least 3months old. But my friend just told me it's the other way round. I'm confused now. Can experienced mummies give me some advice?

Bing,

Sling or pouch can be used from newborn depending on the "hold" (position) that u are holding your baby.

For carrier, u will need to read the instructions coz there are so many different type in the market.

Hi Singapoh/ STB, thanks for sharing. As this is my first time & dh won't be sleeping over, I'll see how it goes in B1. Maybe I'll sleep thru the noises of other babies! Wahahahaha.

Jenn, erm.. Think that's e best u cld do. I also tend to forget to take my supplements. Though I was instructed to take them in am, I changed to take them in the night w blessing of pharmacist. I can be too preoccupied in the am or pm to rmbr to take them.

Des, thanks. I hope missing 1 dose is not so serious... sigh... just have to keep reminding myself don't forget to take it again...

I'm quite nervous, going for my 1st scan this coming Fri...

Jen yes put a reminder on ur phone. I forgotten abt my hormone pills once too in my first tri, also made me worried luckily nothing happens. I m like DES always forgot my supplement :S so didn't take at regular timing.

Juz discharged on 6 aug after my c-sect. overall my stay in A1 is very pleasant as the nurse provide good service but the bad part is Dr Loh did not come and see me the next day but send Dr Maryanne instead. And only on the 5 aug then he come and checked on me, even on discharge day, he also nvr turn up except Dr Maryanne. Really i was quite upset as i paid for so much as i need him to attend to me rather than other gynae but this is juz my opinion.

My gal is well except for high level of jaundice. brought her to polyclinic on 7/8 and KKH 8/8 for review. Now finally, jaundice level dropped but still need to go polyclinic again on 10/8.

Thanks all the well wishes.

Nctgrace,

congrats! Are u bf? If yes, limit yr Ginger intake and avoid Chinese herbs. Feed her regularly so that her jaundice clears faster. Dun sun her directly. Baby skin is very delicate.

Nctgrace, glad to hear from you! Congrats once again. My mum and someone else told me cannot take Ginger in e first 10-12 days. (though I can't wait to take them soon coz pig throtters in Ginger & vinegar is one of my favorite) I've placed my playpen near e windows, hope it'll help prevent jaundice too. Keep us updated, & meanwhile take good care of yourself. Someone helping you?

Putting reminders in my phone to remind me to take my supplements (in am/pm) help but not totally coz I can still be called away. Changing timing to night help me best coz sometimes when I forget, I can still get out of bed to take them just before I sleep. :p

Thanks Singapoh and STB. So what i read is correct.
I should get a sling/ pouch first. Those padded baby carrier looks too hot for the weather in Sg.

Nctgrace,
Congrats! So you stayed in KKH for 4 days in total? I guess the extra amount you paid to stay in A1 ward goes to the hospital but not to the doc. I think Dr Loh is really too busy everyday. But I guess both you and the baby are well that's why he sent Dr Maryanne to see you instead.

Ntcgrace, dr log n dr Maryanne both r senior consultants so if m not wrong their consultant charges r the same. Wat is most impt is dr loh delivered the bb for u.. I understand ur frustration, but he is really biz, so naturally he will spend More time on complicated cases.

When I m/c, I only saw him twice, once in OT b4 d&c n the 2nd time was after I woke up n waiting to be discharged. Other than that, only the young drs on duty were attending to me..such as drawing blood, clearing the plancenta, etc.. They told me they will report My case now & then to dr loh. N the dr who utimately make the decision was still dr loh. These young drs just report n convey to me wat he planned to do..

Yes, wld like him to appear in person more often.. But I guess he is just freakingly too biz...

Thanks Des! I'm considering whether to get MIM or Pupsik Studio baby pouch now. I tried the Puksik Studio one at mothercare yesterday and love the design and material! But it's 3times the price of MIM pouch. I've not seen the MIM pouch. From the pict I saw, it seems like it's made of batik material and the colour may fade? Have you used it before?

bing how much is the pupsik studio pouch?

Jenn i have no ms or other symptoms during my 1st tri. In fact i sometimes felt like i am odd one out when the rest of the girls are throwing out etc. The only thing that remind me i am preggy is that i dun like meat as much like last time and feeling more tired. So dun worry. As i read, ms usually kicks in week 6 to 8

For those who wana bf their bbs.. Any restrictions in diet during confinement?
Eg, cant take ginger, wine etc? If cant take, then most confinement food cant take? Or can take but must wait for some time before bf?

Panda/gan
U gals went to taka fair liao?
If yes, what are the tins u bought? I will be gng tml.. Still clueless on what to buy so wana hear what u gals have bought...

baby,
no restrictions on diet if u're breastfeeding. however, if bb is jaundiced then sometimes it helps to cut down on the ginger. but only until jaundice subsides then u can go back to ginger.
as for wine, try to feed yr bbs first then eat yr lunch/dinner so that by the next feed, there won't be any more wine in yr bm.

When I am breastfeeding, I eat like I was still preggy. No raw meat, deep sea fish longer than 1.5M, soft ice cream, etc. Whatever I eat, it will pass to my babies so I got to be careful.

Can take food cooked with alcohol because it evaporates when u cook it for 10 mins.

For bb jaundice, limit ginger and avoid Chinese herbs. My boy took 2 weeks to clear and my gal took 3 weeks +.

baby..i went to the fair...bought an organizer to hang on the cot...a bottles drying stand...nappy liners..more clothes..hehe...and oso little hats..mittens n booties...

cant find the musical mobile i like there..but saw it at kiddy palace..so most likely will buy there...

u go get the list from taka...if u hv not started shopping..shld hv alot to buy there....

Gan, it seems quite a number of gals not having MS, dunno izzi bcos of ivf? Anyway, probably mine is still early, I'm just getting paranoid. Thanks!

Baby I bot the pigeon sterilizer set that comes with food warmer, 2 small 3 big Milk bottles, bAby detergent wet wipes. Bot 1 set of clothes only coz $6.90 only! Didn't buy more coz my sis called and told me she bot bb alot of clothes from nb to 1 yr In us and I can dun buy any for time being.
Rest of items I think I will buy later maybe in oct bah. I bot the maternity belt from mothercare today too

jenn hmm actually quite a few got ms la. Anyway I take it as each of us body different so will react diff. Dun worry too much, enjoy ur pregnancy

Ic.. Didnt know alcohol will evaporate after cooking... Now i know..

Gan
Ya i know which pigeon steriliser.. I saw in the papers.. Y u buy pigeon and not avent? Cos i also duno which brand to buy..

Panda
U bout avent bottle steriliser.. Do u know whether it can fit meleda breast pump bottle? Cos if we need breast pump to express milk.. Then will need to sterilirse.. Cos i know some brands can only fit their own brand of bottle.. I know pigeon can fit othe brands of bottles but duno abt avent..

Dear all, I had my c-sec done on 6 Aug. The whole procedure was quite fast, about 30mins. My baby girl is the older sibling.

After the babies were cleaned, I was told that my baby boy had slight breathing problem and had to be incubated within an oxygen box. He was then sent to the Special Care Nursery (SCN). My baby girl was sent to the normal Nursery.

By noon time, the nurses informed me that my baby boy's breathing had improved and is no longer needed to stay in the oxygen box, however he still is not able to suck on the milk bottle fully. It was also around this time that my girl, after her first feed, vomitted almost all of her milk out. The nurses, after consulted a doctor, decided to move her to the Special Care Nursery too. Later in the evening, my hb went down to see them, and was saddened to see that our baby girl had an IV set into her small hand. It was then understood that the girl had vomitted after the subsequent feeds as well. Baby boy was recovering well though.

Then on 7 Aug, Dr Loh came to see me, and when I told him about my babies, he just shrugged and said "Bo bian, this type of things cannot predict." He also informed me that he will be on leave on 8 Aug, and he will get his covering Dr to see me. My hb and I then went down to SCN to see our babies, and boy appears to be recovering well, while girl still needs further observation.

On 8 Aug, everything was normal. But later at around 7pm+, my hb was delivering one of my expressed milk for baby boy and when he reached SCN, the nurse told him they need to do an IV for the boy because his blood sugar "crashed"... My hb was shocked, but he was not allowed to stay and see the procedure. About an hour later, we went down together and was briefed by the nurse. Now it seems our baby girl is recovering and may be able to get off the IV. And as for boy, they did a detailed blood test on him and can only know the result tomorrow. A duty Dr then came over and spoke to us and she told us there are a few reasons that might cause the boy's blood sugar to drop so drastically. It could be growth hormones, insulin etc... We will only know the answer tomorrow, sigh.

I just hope both my babies are well enough to be discharged with me tomorrow. Will update everyone again.

Hi bbhp congrats on the smooth delivery. Hope both ur bbs r fine and can be discharge tomorrow.

Baby I bot pigeon coz the few mummies here hAve good comments and the sterilizer can fit all kinds of milk bottles and also breast pumps. Mine is the rapid sterilizer only 6 mins

Bbhp,
Congrats on your smooth delivery. Rest well now and I'm sure your babies will be tough fighters like you. Hope that they can go home with you tomorrow. What's their weights?

Gan,
The pupsik studio pouch is selling for $45.90 at mothercare.

Bing, the batik like ones shd be cotton material. I bght e silk one. Washed it once already, & in washing machine! But no fading nor running of colour leh. I had wanted to pre wash it to "keep" e colour but comms broke down & my dh juz put inside e washing machine. But to my joy, everything was ok, so no worries! ;-)

Oh, on ur next qn if I've used it, NO, coz my bb not born yet. :p

Bbhp, I worry with you. Keep praying and dun be in a rush to discharge your babies. What's most impt is that they are fully well before discharge. Keep us updated okay? Will pray for them too. Take care.

Bbhp, congrate n hopefully both babies will get strong quickly to be discharged soon. Take care for now.

Congrate to nctgrace too

baby, i hv no idea whether the avent sterilizer can fit other brands bottles...coz it was a gift n came with a set of bottles... so i will try to use the avent bottles with the babies..

Vi4n,
From your experience, do you think it's more convenient to wear one piece pyjamas or 2-piece pyjamas with draw string pants after C-section? I need to stock up some front opening pyjamas today.
Also, are we wearing our own pyjamas in the hospital after delivery or hospital will provide?

Gan, not yet leh...still hv alot of small small items.. like breast pads, maternity pads, disposable undies, all the baby bathing stuff havent buy oso... thermomter, warmer bag, diaper bag..oso hv to get waterproof mattress protector for the cots n my bed... the list like can never be completed..haha..

and hor, those i already buy, i hv no clue if we bought enuff... haha.. dunno how many mittens/botties we need.. or how many pairs of bottoms, etc etc..i just "guess" hahaha.. if not enuff, then when they are out, send my hb go n buy more...

i m tinking of either avent or ameda. seems like ameda price has gone up...at both taka n robinsons, i saw their bundle price at $399... taka sells it with a free manual pump.. while robinson's with 2 packs of storage bags and a manual pump convertor. if i get avent, hv to pay about $500+ after discount coz my sil can get in their dec staff sales.

the pump i will buy later..coz hb can go buy for me.....

Bing, i remember during the MC sales, they give discount for the pupsik studio sling/pouch. my gf highly recommend that. but she ask me to go n try the sizing after i deliver... so tht its more accurate. she din get a stroller until her ger was 6 mths old... all the way sling.