IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Dear Miss Hae,

Well done! All the best! Will pray for you!

Dear bliss,

just came back from TMC. I had terrible headache and giddiness last night. THe doc measured my pressure and I am ok. He said it could be due to our blood vessals expanding. Will monitor further.

ladies - i'm going for NT scan on tue. a bit nervous. up to now still brown spotting every day. sometimes light flow, sometimes just staining. anyone had this before ? also, 2nd tri is from 12 weeks or 13 weeks onwards ? i'm 11 weeks plus and cant wait to move on to next tri...

ms hae - have a smooth delivery. i'm looking up to you for inspiration. i'm aiming for 38 weeks for my twins

MIss Hae,

wow you did good...Congrats !! BTW you are at a safe mark, no worries 2 weeks is easy... take care now... i hope i can aim 35 weeks i happy liao cause doc keep saying wanna me to deliver at 33 weeks.

Just an update. Yest and today got no spotting (keeping fingers crossed) but still has occsional contractions. I guess the CRIB and med is taking effect. I'm taking so many med daily, Nifedipine 20mg (for contractions), Progesterone tabs, obimin, DHA and calcium. Any idea if all these med has any adverse effects on the babies? I'm not worried abt the supplements, more of the Nifedipine...

Hi Merlenna,
Time passes so fast, you are already in ur 28wks. Can see ur baby in less then 2mths, so cute to see her sucking thumb! All the best to you

Hi juju.
ok thanks alot. Its really hard to imagine delivering at 24 wks...i really wana tahan as long as possible, cos now they so small, dr loh say they are only abt 500grams each...
You better dun exert urself with all teh hseqork leh. Must take good care. Oh, good to hear the aqua class better today, maybe last wk is just a warm-up. You got pain where? Is it muscle pain? If muscle pain then dun be so worried, cos it means the exercise is working well for ur muscles

Hi Ms Hae,
Nice to hear from you, so happy to hear you are doing well. I think that you are very strong, can tahan til now. Me oni 23wks got so much problem and need to CRIB already, so worried, cos i still got another 13wks to go til 36 wks. Hope you'll have a smooth delivery and keep us posted ok? Jia you!

Hi Cale,
I may not have to shift to my mum hse afterall, cos she knows i'm more use to staying at my own hse, so she will come by and buy me lunch daily. When my hubby comes back then send her home. Lucky for my mother
Now i dun have to stress abt packing etc. Also can have good rest til CNY eve, hope i can at least go for reunion dinner
But 1 thing is for sure, no visiting for me this yr....then i haven't bought a single thing for my babies, no clothes, diapers etc haha....the oni thing i got i Avent sterilser cos got offer tat time. Bo bian gotta prepare a list for my hubby to get the necesary things later on.

Hi Miss Hae,
Happy for you that you have already passed a very safe mark. Wish you all well in the next 2 week and keep us updated after your delivery

Hi merlenna,
So fast you reached the 28 weeks, crossed another important milestone, congrats
. Did doctor tell you what is your baby's weight now?

Hi Bliss,
I also did not get my scan report from Dr Loh. I think they only give upon request.

Hi Maykel,
The 3D free scan is already fully booked. We don't get to do it too.
Glad to know that you spotting stopped already, yes, finger crossed no more stopping from now onwards
. Your mum is very nice, it's good that she can come to your house and take good care of you. Those baby stuff, can buy later after doctor say you are well enough to go shopping or just ask hubby to help buy those urgent one first. You don't have to worry anything for now. Just rest well and let the baby grow stronger day by day
. Best wishes to you, keep us updated whenever you free to post.

Ms Hae,
wish u smooth delivery in wk 36

Maykel,
looks like u r getting better. continue to CRIB and i guess u will be able to hold on much more

the pain was at abdomen. but since it went off after a rest, should be ok la. prob bb being notti only.

Hi Cale,
Ya horr.. too bad. We are too late. Hehehe.. ^_^
Yea, saw the link that you gave that there is an offer on last sep 08.

Hi Bliss,
Maybe you lack of iron. You might try to eat food that rich iron like brocolli, spinach, chye sim, etc. For me, i seldom got headaches, only cramp and difficult to sleep. Hehehehe ^_^
No leh, I will ask the scan result on next appt with Dr Loh (21 Jan). Last time on 1st scan, I remember that we get our scan result back. Do you get scan result on your 1st mester scan (Down syndrome) ?

Hi merlenna,
congratulations on your 3rd mester. Yea... I think you are very exiciting. Wow time really go fast oh...

Hi Miss Hae,
Congratulations. Another 2wks. Jia you... wish you a smooth delivery. ^_^

Hi Ponytail,
My spotting/bleeding was stopped before 12wks.
1 more day then you are officially 2nd mester.
Did the doctor gave you jab or medicine to reduce the spotting?

Hi Maykel,
Glad that your spotting is stopped. Rest well and wish you all the best.

Josephine,
maybe i lack of iron hor, though obimin contains iron too. But Dr Sadhana is concerned about having preeclampsia, coz my vision has been also blurred beside headaches. Hopefully the headache has nothing to do with the blur vision. Hope all these are just temporary discomforts during pregnancy only.
Yes, I did get my FTS report back from Doc that time. But this time she never gives me the 2nd trimester test report.

Maykel,
glad to hear you are getting better now. Ya, I guess it is partly the medication that help and also you have been resting well these days.

Must continue to rest well and eat well. Keep your mood good everyday. Praying for you.

Ponytail,
dont worry too much, think of the good things, ok? Your babies are growing well, you just take extra care, everything will be very smooth.

maykel - good that your spotting stopped. my spotting has stopped for this morning. keeping my fingers crossed. yar i think better for you to stay at home cos you'll feel more comfortable and relaxed. CNY bao a bigger ang bao for your mum

josephine, bliss - no, the doc didint give me anything extra to reduce spotting cos i'm on jabs and prog pills already. the doc said that should be enough.

Hi Cale,
Oh ya, I saw that the scan fully booked, so popular. But the spotting xiao xiao leh, sometimes have, sometimes dun have....
Yes, lucky my mum can help. As for the babies stuffs, i had prepared a list and my fren would go with my hubby to buy, cos she got experience.
My hubby is worried that if i gotta CRIB now, later on may need to oso as the tummy would be heavier by then. But of cos, we are hoping to hear better news from doc on next appt. Thanks for ur

Hi juju,
Thanks, i'm really hoping for the best now....really had a good rest at home, lucky my hubby very on oso, he would insists i rest in bed and he do the rest of the things at home.
haha...ya loh, maybe ur gal too active like mine
but so fun to feel their movement hor.

Hi Jo, Bliss and ponytail,
Thanks so much for all ur encouragement

Ponytail, glad that ur spotting getting better too, yes, let's keep fingers crossed together.
haha....ya loh, tats my intention too, but if give too big angpao my mum may not take leh, cos she think we needs the money more heehee...see how, maybe just try loh.
you take good care ok?

hi bliss,
oh, i feel baby's kick quite early.. early 2nd trimester i feel already.. but it started with flutters.. then when towards the end, i can actually feel the limbs. butt and all.. hehe.. the whole stretch of limb leg or hand can feel..

hi maykel,
eh no lah, not less than 2 months.. i'm hoping at least reach 38 weeks lah.. that is still 10 more weeks to go.. more than 2 months.. haha.. yah lah baby being so adorable, i can't wait to snuggle her.. hehe..

hi josephine,
haha, yah. but u know, i feel like its not fast enough. hehe.. true, i'm very excited.. so excited, the thought of labour pushed so far to the back of my mind.. hehe..

hi misshae,
hehe, i'm rooting for you.. carrying triplets til 30++ weeks is a feat! can't wait for your good news! must share hor!!! pics and all!

whole day din post. was on leave but busy doing springcleaning wif my sis who's helping out. then went out for dinner & fridge shopping for my mum. piangz... i still say the same old thing - no more than 2 bedrooms for me ever again. cleaning up is terrible... tmr continue again.

juju,
wow, u have been doing springcleaning lately.

I can't help with the cleaning at all and my hubby is busy and tired with work everyday. We depend on the part time cleaner who comes once a week to clean up. Well, luckily nobody will come visit my place. :p
Ya, all the rooms will be occupied very soon too and no empty room in my house then.

I think I felt my baby's movement yesterday evening! But I am still not confidently sure of that, just that the feeling was so different and I had never experienced that before. It was like something is moving inside and moving for more than half an hour... it was so weird and unusual to me that I couldnt help but kept laughing and then tried to concentrate to feel the movements.
It was really amazing!! I couldnt describe, but it was just wonderful.... :D
I was so happy.

I have been busy choosing a good chinese name for my baby since last week. It was not easy, been checking thru the whole ancient dictionary for many times. Have finally decided on the name, I am so happy and excited about it. Now I can call my baby boy by his name whenever I talk to my tummy, it feels so cute.

Here's 2 similar webpages on what to take note when finding names for babies, can take a look.

http://www.igotmail.com.tw/home/18428

http://hk.dir.groups.yahoo.com/group/tklam2/message/55

hi merlenna,
oops sorry, miscalculate hee...

Hi juju,
Aiyo, i still say the same thing, dun tire urself too much ok?

Hi Bliss,
Lucky now my hubby reservist, so sometimes can come back early, he had been doing all the housework, poor thing. But part of his duty lah hehe....
Ya, me too, dun intend to invite anyone for CNY except my immediate family. How to invite frens to come and see you resting in bed right haha....
haha...very soon, you would feel ur baby punching /kicking you already. The feeling of their movement is really amazing, enjoy....
Mine very naughty, when i turn to sleep on my side, she will keep kicking me non-stop as thou she dun like to be 'squashed' on haha....

Hi bliss,
So fast you choose chinese name liao ar. We decided to deliver 1st then bring for pple to calculate. Now trying to choose English name oni, even then oso headache...haven't confirm yet.

Maykel,
really can feel more kicking soon? Dont know why, I also feel my tummy a bit more uncomfortable when sleep on my side, especially on my left side. I thought sleeping on left side is better. So I also guess baby doesnt like me sleep on my side as I might have pressed on him. Haha!

Ya, no need to invite your friends at this time, cant possibly make them sit beside your bed all the time. heehee...

I insist to have a part time cleaner to help, my hubby doesnt want to, he claimed that he can do the work and this can save money too. But I know him too well, he is always so tired after work and still very sleepy during weekends and mostly sleep over the weekends. How to depend on him solely to do housework? Think my house will be like a rubbish bin if to wait for him to do the cleaning once after a long time. hahaha!

Hi Bliss,
of cos, when ur baby grows bigger, you may even experience 'super-kick' haha....
usually i take turns, sometimes sleep on right side, sometimes left, but when i sleep on left oso i felt some pain, dun know why. But my gal on the left more gentle, oni kick gently when i presed on her heehee...
haha....ya loh, if you know ur hubby can't do it then better to get help. Else wait he oso stressed up.

Maykel,
ya ya, I am so free at home and very kiasu somemore. Haha! :D
I love choosing chinese name, probably becoz I was a Chinese teacher and I studied Chinese language and Chinese literature during my Uni years. I simply love Chinese language in fact.
I dont intend to give my baby any English name as in those ang mo name, I just name him the dialect pronounciation or just hanyu pingyin as his English name in the birth cert.
May things to look out when choosing a name. Must make sure doesnt sound funny(in both english and chinese pronounciations) or friends might make fun of his name. Must be easy to pronounce.And also must have good meaning but not too 'enormous' as in meaning for the baby. And also must not have any same sounds or words in the name as grandparents or parents. And most importantly, I must make sure I myself and my hubby like the name as we are the ones who call baby the most number of times.

Maykel,
I am feeling baby's movements now again!! Exactly the same as yest night! So unusual kind of feeling...heeheehee... I sounded so sua gu... haha!

Hi Bliss,

feel exciting and happy ohhh when baby kicks.
Yesterday and today, my bb also like to kicking me.
Hehehehe... have u ask your husband to feel the kick?

at 1st, my hubby a little bit scare leh..
cos something move inside my stomach...
(*imagine alien movie, creature inside stomach... hahahaha :D)
but now he enjoying to feel the kick...

Maykel,
ok la... i'm very lazy this yr. since my sis around to help, i was like jus giving instructions. very little hands-on. now dat she go home alrdy, i slow down until no mood to springclean liao. think bb next time also lazy like me... lol

Jo,
u so funny... alien inside tummy... haha...

Josephine,
my baby has not kicked that hard so far, so cant see something moving from outside. My hubby cant feel it yet. But today my baby moved quite a few times so far, very unusual feeling hor, I also dont know how to describe, heehee..

Ya, like what you said, it is very exciting and happy to feel baby's kicks.

hi juju,
1st reaction of my hubby when he touch my tummy is very funny leh...
cos his hand straight away let go...
(Maybe for him, it feel strange that got something move inside the tummy)

So i asked him why he let go his hand that time.
And he said "just feel strange, cos got something moving inside your tummy".
Then i said "like ALIEN movie is it?" then both of us laugh... hahahaha :D

How is your hubby reaction? got ask him to touch your tummy when baby kick?
Nope, i am thinking NTUC infant care at AMK leh. But dunno whether good or not.

Hi bliss,
You should ask your hubby to touch your tummy when bb kick and see what is your hubby 1st reaction.
I think it is quite fun to see your hubby 1st reaction. Hehehehe..

Jo,
when bb start to move inside, hubby alrdy very jealous cos he can't feel.
once can feel from outside, i put his hands there, u noe he felt bb alrdy cos he will grin like cheshire cat! haha! he love it!

i found a few infant care centres (in amk, range from 1.2k - 2k, excl GST & subsidy), full-time working mum can get S$600.
http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/InfantCareServices.jsp

but i'm also chking on the centres in jurong cos near hubby & my office

Jo,
this $600 subsidy applies to full time working mum & baby must be singaporean. the centres i called up only asked whether i work & whether bb is singaporean.
u can read more info in the link i gave u. ur MIL cannot help u take care ah? my MIL said she will take care & push us to ivf, now bb halfway due, she say she cannot take care. sianz...

hi juju,
I am not Singaporean.
Dunno how long my MIL can take care my bb cos she also must take her husband at our country.
*sigh..... (now thinking to convert to citizen leh.. hehehe)

Jo,
i think is baby must be singaporean bah...
ur FIL not in sg? me a bit blur nowadays...

Quote:
What are the eligibility criteria for the Baby Bonus Scheme if my child is born on or after 17 August 2008?
A child is eligible if he or she is:
a. born on or after 17 August 2008;
b. a Singapore Citizen or becomes a Singapore Citizen;
c. born alive to the mother; and
d. the mother is lawfully married to the child's father.
Unquote.

eh... personally, i feel keep ur SG PR & ur own country citizenship. i noe, i sound like bad S'porean... lol

Jo,
so i think if bb is singaporean can liao. dun think parents need to convert to citizen as well. u can email MCYS to confirm this.

Hi Juju,

Not, all my family and most of my hubby family not in SG.
Wow... that means the bb is singaporean but parent not? *feel like bad mother leh.. hehehehe...
I think i will discuss again with my hubby.

K, thanks for your information. ^_^
lunch time.... yea.....

Jo,
i dunno her. we r not even asking her to move in. it's like we r sending bb over & she got maid there to assist her. i dun c a problem lor. she say she take care can, but need another maid... piangz. now hubby so angry wif his mum cos all the planning go haywire.

i'm jus very upset. infant care will take up a lot of our very little disposable income. i'm very stressed now. spent the whole morning call 8 infant care centres, hv to go on waiting list for all of them

hi juju,
ooo ic...
I hope my MIL not change her mind on my labor day. She promise that she will take care me during my confinement and bb for first few month.
If not.. i also piangzzz like you.. hehehe ^_^

Ha? waiting list?
OH-----MY-----GOD....
I have not plan yet...
Thinking to plan after bb born...
OH-----MY-----GOD....

^_^

Jo,
have faith in ur MIL. for me is all along i dun hv faith wif her due to her actions & words. got the feeling she dun like me & hubby.prob pester us to hv bb cos married no bb - she got no face. cos her siblings' married kids r got kids...

i chope my name on waiting list cos scared no one take care of bb. lucky, jus now a fren offer her svc cos she SAHM, but dunno she can cope wif her toddler + baby + 2 dogs or not... haiz...
1 word from MIL only, our world go upside down liao

Jo and juju,
do you consider getting a nanny?
My friend's sis just gave birth and her baby girl is taken care by a nanny now, only 1 month plus old now and the mother still on maternity leave. She needs more free time to be able to have enough supply of breastmilk for her baby, so send to nanny everyday and rest at home on her own.

juju,
ya lor, must really find a reliable and patient one. Maybe find one thru friends' recommendation or your mum or auntie's friend who is a nanny, so that at least they will do better job thru such referral.

If not, is it possible to take childcare leave to take care of baby for some time?

Bliss,
my company childcare leave only 6 days & only start next year for me (as per HR). i can take all 16 wks at 1 time, boss approve liao, but any longer, hv to use AL or go unpaid. else keng HL for 60 days... hahaha

juju,
oic.... if take unpaid leave, have risk getting retrenched huh? Like that ah.... not easy when working in private sector hor.
For school teachers, can take childcare unpaid leave to at most 4 years per child leh, very good hor? Too bad, I am no longer working le, no need to make use of the childcare leave, so will have 'childcare leave' for long long time....

Bliss,
ya lor... esp my side now not doing very well... bosses eyes looking down very sharply liao... no news of retrenchment yet, but alrdy pay freeze. cannot anyhow.

wow! good hor... if u have 2nd one at end of 4 yrs, u have 8 yrs unpaid continuously... can see both grow up some more.

juju,
ya, one friend of mine who is a teacher, is still taking childcare leave since her first son 3 years plus ago, and her 2nd son is born when first son is only 1 year old, so the childcare leave overlapped, and so cant take 4 full years leave for each child, but anyway is already alot, rite? So she is still a SAHM now taking care of two sons now. Still have 2 more years before she needs to go back school to teach. Wonderful hor?
After I resigned, then Prime Minister increased the childcare leave from 3 years to 4 years and also the child sick leave to 2 more days per year, not bad ah. Anyway, I missed the benefits, but more relaxed not to be in the hectic and crazily busy teaching job. Hahaha!

So perhaps you and Jo have to look out for ways to settle who takes care of baby before resort to giving up own job to take care of baby hor. Hope you can find a good and reliable helper.

Bliss,
wah! good also la, not so stressed. i see my cousin & teachers frens so stressed.

i can't afford to quit la. no nanny, no infant care, then tompang wif SAHM fren for the time being lor. sure 1 centre out of the 8 we shortlist can take my bb bah. i chose 4 in amk & 4 in jurong west area. damn kiasu!
so far, 7 centres choped, 1 last one waiting for the form to come by post. chope first,later then talk. also have to see which center got vacancy first at the time we need.
worst come to worst, ask another SAHM fren whether she mind taking care of bb gal cos she got 2 boys, 8 & 10 yrs (very notti age)

Hi Bliss,
haha.....no wonder ur chinese so good, so you are a chinese teacher, really admire you leh. My mandarin can speak cannot read or write well...

I see...we have to give our gals English name cos my parents inlaw cannot speak Mandarin, English name easier for them to call. Ya loh, i agree that choosing a name is really not easy, many things to consider.

haha....no lah, you not sua gu lah, everything got 1st time mah ;)

Hi juju,
Ur sis so nice to come and help you hor...
haha....you not lazy lah, you need rest mah.

Wow, ur mil want another maid then can take care of ur baby ar? Cannot discuss with her again meh? Actually i oso worried my mil change her mind, but til now she nvr say anything, the problem is, she likes to tell us things last min, imagine just b4 due she say she dun wana come over our hse i jia lat liao. Cos the new maid can't take care of 2 babies....

Maykel,
happen is her off day, else me alone. today alone at home, i din do anything. only finish up the laundry... haha... sun prenatal massage postpone, maybe try to finish up the master bedroom & study can liao. tired... haha...

my MIL noe my mum working also nvr offer to help wif confinement lor. i told hubby i do myself. i dun nid help. my mum can come after work to cook for me, then hubby or bro fetch her back home. now even hubby not on talking terms wif MIL liao. i also dun bother. last nite so stressed keep crying & complain to bb, today keep sayang bb scared she affected by me... lol

ever since an incident a few yrs back, i alrdy dun trust MIL's words. but hubby wan to believe mah... lucky i prep myself mentally liao

Maykel,
no lah, my chinese is ok only.
Oh, your inlaws are not chinese ah? They are not singaporeans?

ya, understand your worry, I have a girlfriend whose auntie agreed to help her during confinement, but after she gave birth to her baby girl, the auntie couldnt help and only cooked and brought the food to her everyday. Then she has to take care of her baby all alone at home. She told me her confinement period was very jialat and tiring.

juju,
wow, you shortlisted in so many centres, sure can get at least one.

But infant care means they take care of quite a few babies at the same time rite? I heard infant care is not that good leh, coz they cant pay much attention to each and every baby, then baby will be very poor thing esp if not feeling good or what. Perhaps one to one care is better, if not you will feel very upset if baby not well taken care enough.

Bliss,
ya, 1 caretaker to 3 babies. bo bian lor. unless can find a really good nanny, else have to settle for infant care. some centres are cheaper than nanny after subsidies. i think nanny no subsidies...