Straw,
Congrats for er. 17 is a good number! Good luck for et. May they be sticky ones!

Sarah,
Ovulation is tricky. I myself also just starting to understand it. I think light lh line is not strong ovulation as we are missing out proper hormone level to make implantation successful. One example, during my 2nd natural fet, I tested myself with opk as usual. The clear blue fertility monitor didn't indicate peak, just high for the longest time. The urine dip stick opk also showing light LH line. But on that same morning I did a blood test and all levels show I'm in ovulation phase. I even told my Dr my opks weren't showing I'm ovulating yet. But Dr said the blood test is most accurate. So we went ahead with et. Failed in the end. I also continued testing even after that blood test day, still the same outcome. My 3rd FET I them saw a dark lh line. So I'm thinking I probably did ovulate in 2nd FET cycle, but not strong enough.

hi everyone!!

Was supposed to start my IVF this month if i had my AF by 9/1/14 but was late by one day...juz had my AF today..So, KKH refused to do this month for me due to CNY... :(
Will be doing my IVF next cycle..

I had a failed IUI cycle in july, followed by a failed IVF short cycle in Sept 2013(HCG was 12.6..).Was told by Dr. sadhana that my egg quality was no good...

Anyone can advise me on how to prepare myself b4 going for the cycle?
Thanks.. :)

Santhiya, you doing a fresh cycle or fet this time round? how do they know egg quality no good? at point of follicles retrieved or till they already merge with sperm to form embryo? how many days transfer you did previously. hcg 12.6 i think consider implantation did occur just that after that for some reason it failed.

straw 10 fertilised is good number too. praying for you. hope they are strong embryos for you to do a d5 trf. I see i didn know if kkh do icsi once you are over 30 too. didn mention anything about this before we embark in this ivf cycle.

princess, now i am worry about my ovulation hahaha. alot of things lah, fresh cycle worry if can reach the er or et anot then now i know i going to do fet i worry if i will ovulate STRONG anot! i know i do ovulate every month but the date i detect lh surge is around d15-16/17 i am a 28-30day cycle. but i didn pay attention if the lines are dark enough, sometime i will detect 2 days in a row of course the 2nd day will be the darker line. i see that you mention before for fet must ovulate then the follicles also must be the right size and lining must be that thickness before they will say transfer date. i think i got problem with this. i suspect my follicle wont grow to that size they want as even with stimulating injections, my follicles is just there only :(

Santhiya, you doing a fresh cycle or fet this time round? how do they know egg quality no good? at point of follicles retrieved or till they already merge with sperm to form embryo? how many days transfer you did previously. hcg 12.6 i think consider implantation did occur just that after that for some reason it failed.

straw 10 fertilised is good number too. praying for you. hope they are strong embryos for you to do a d5 trf. I see i didn know if kkh do icsi once you are over 30 too. didn mention anything about this before we embark in this ivf cycle.

princess, now i am worry about my ovulation hahaha. alot of things lah, fresh cycle worry if can reach the er or et anot then now i know i going to do fet i worry if i will ovulate STRONG anot! i know i do ovulate every month but the date i detect lh surge is around d15-16/17 i am a 28-30day cycle. but i didn pay attention if the lines are dark enough, sometime i will detect 2 days in a row of course the 2nd day will be the darker line. i see that you mention before for fet must ovulate then the follicles also must be the right size and lining must be that thickness before they will say transfer date. i think i got problem with this. i suspect my follicle wont grow to that size they want as even with stimulating injections, my follicles is just there only :(

I am doing a fresh cycle again..The last time they retrieved 14 eggs..But only 2 eggs made it thru..one was grade 3 and the other was grade 4...They realised that it was poor quality after retrieval...i did a 3days transfer previously..I took a pregnancy test on 10dpt and it was a faint positive.the next day,i had my AF(happened on my wedding anniversary :( )...

means that yours is not implantation issue fail due to lining, its purely poor egg quality thats why the embryo form is not as healthy or normal so mother nature doesnt allow it to stick and grow. well at least now you know what could be the reason that cause this ivf to fail. build up your egg quality by taking royal jelly. heard that it helps the egg quality. royal jelly is the ROYAL FOOD that queen bee eat and she is the one in charge of reproduction :)

Alright..Will try taking it this time.. :)

Top foods for egg health
  • Halibut
  • Salmon
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Sesame seeds
  • Turmeric
  • Ginger
spinach-225x300.jpg

Foods that may damage egg health
  • Soda
  • Low fat diet
  • Processed Foods
  • Trans Fats
  • GMO Foods

little things,
Congrats! Yes you are indeed very lucky to never experience a bfn in a way. have a smooth 9 mths!

iwantahealthybaby,
Dr zou told me the dominant follie must grow to at least 18mm then shows inside have egg. else even with ovidrel/pregnyl, no use. So don't waste the embryos if you know your dominant follie is not going to grow to that size by a certain cycle day. But anyway her meds will help it grow one. For lining just drink 1 bowl red bean soup everyday till you get at least 8mm triple lining. All the best for your fet!

Thanks princess. Now very worrying. During ivf with all the high dosage of stimulation drugs my main is only 19.8mm and only one of that size the rest are small. Even during iui back then I think biggest also around 16-17. Shit! Doctor didn tell me all this info too :( he only know I do ovulate regularly but didn mention anything about size. Maybe should have go for medicated fet at least possible to grow the follicle right? Now I am testing opk see whether I ovulate this cycle.

Congrats to the ladies who bfp! Its really such a joy. Kindly share any tips if you have so we can all benefit.

To the ladies who bfn, hope you are feeling better already! This journey is a very tough one but everyone is here to help one another.. so stay strong & positive! Hope for more bfps...

Straw1, my ET was on 30 Dec. I rested on day after ET and 2 days after that. So total 3 days. I did head out & walk about but kept my movements slower than usual. Cuz I was pregnant before, I know how to move about as though I'm pregnant. Essentially keep all pressure off your torso by getting up from your side from bed and using hands to hold table / chair for support when getting up. Imagine you have a 10kg sack of rice at ur tummy when you move about.

Food wise, I avoid all soy based (not good for pregnancy) and kangkong (causes leg spasms).

Exercise wise, I've been sedentary so didn't do any exercise. Once stable will start yoga & Pilates again.

Mentality wise, keep a positive mind.

Others: all meds from gynae, acu & vit/folic acid/dha since 3 months before ET, hot water foot soak once every 2-3 nights, wearing indoor slippers to keep feet warm.

I do believe in ensuring my body is ready for the ET by starting acu and TCM meds 3 months prior. No point rushing into it. I had a cold 1 week prior to ET and almost cancelled it. Was downing vitC every few hours & did gua sha.

Iwantahealthybaby: im also doing fet soon, maybe march or april. Have u scheduled yours? Im getting the scratching for lining but it seems like dr not very for it. He just mentioned that its the only last thing I can try. And that some people thought it useful.

Thanks princess. Now very worrying. During ivf with all the high dosage of stimulation drugs my main is only 19.8mm and only one of that size the rest are small. Even during iui back then I think biggest also around 16-17. Shit! Doctor didn tell me all this info too :( he only know I do ovulate regularly but didn mention anything about size. Maybe should have go for medicated fet at least possible to grow the follicle right? Now I am testing opk see whether I ovulate this cycle.
medicated no need to bother about follicle size. The meds you take from CD2 is supposed to suppress your follicles so they don't grow. Once lining is of the right thickness can transfer liao. Very standard. But must take a lot of oral hormones to mimic ovulation.

Side track...today went for 1st scan. Saw the sac (1 sac) and the heartbeat! so happy! Happiest day! :)

The little things, thanks for your tips. Iwill try to soak my feet into warm water. Guess you do not have cold hand and feet problem yeah?

Princess, envy..envy but I am happy for you.

Iwantahealthybaby: im also doing fet soon, maybe march or april. Have u scheduled yours? Im getting the scratching for lining but it seems like dr not very for it. He just mentioned that its the only last thing I can try. And that some people thought it useful.

Hi Loversinparis, you are doing in kkh too? who is your doc? yup my fet will be in feb. my BT for fresh cycle is dec 31 last year so soon after menses come so now waiting end jan menses come again then can start fet. i dont know if its too fast whether body is ready but at same time dont feel like waiting too long. since doc say ok then maybe i just try this round.

you are in your 2nd fet this coming march /april?

medicated no need to bother about follicle size. The meds you take from CD2 is supposed to suppress your follicles so they don't grow. Once lining is of the right thickness can transfer liao. Very standard. But must take a lot of oral hormones to mimic ovulation.

Side track...today went for 1st scan. Saw the sac (1 sac) and the heartbeat! so happy! Happiest day! :)

i can feel your happiness, so happy for you. i wish and pray i will be annoucing this sentence soon too :) pray for me :)

when is next scan? you take care ya and smooth sailing the coming 9 months ahead.

straw,
you can get those winter socks from daiso. its like knitted material. Thick but not tight like our regular cotton socks.
Don't envy. your turn is next! :) keep the faith and positive spirits.

iwantahealthybaby,
next scan 2 weeks later. to see everything in more detail. Today only 6 weeks 2 days and all we could see is a flickering dot in the sac.
I will pray for you. You have been so positive all the way that Im sure your turn will be next! :)

Santhiya like wat iwantahealthybaby mentioned yrs seem to be lining than egg issue as fertilization did occur n implant. All the best for yr upcoming cycle.

Pinkdoll hugz. Do u have snowbaby or going to do fresh. We shall tiao body m hope naturally strike

Princess so happy for u. This joy is unexplainable. Seeing babys first heartbeat. Exciting. Enjoy smooth 9 nine months ahead.

Little things congrats to u too..hope to join bfp family this year.

Straw I also had bad cramps with 10 follies. But only 5 retrieved as right ovary blocked by cyst. Hope all yr follies reach blasto stage. All the best for et.

Iwantahealthybaby I am above 30 so icsi for me. I did endo scratch on cd21

Iwantahealthybaby: This is my 3rd fet already. And last one. So pretty unsure whether to tiao body longer or to just go for it. Im at kk under Dr Tan. Maybe im one who is the unlucky one haha.. despite 1 fresh and 2 fets still no success. And every review no answer or solution from dr also. Just try again.

Mesara, the endo scratching must be done on d21? I was just told to go before menses the month i want to do my fet. They never advise a specific date.

Mesara, I think kkh will do icsi to above 30 too. I am above 30 and they do that but explanation not I "overage" it's my husband soldiers low. Which previous check nothing wrong haha.

Loversinparis, seriously I think failure to iui/ivf no one is able to give reasons. Only can eliminate. But your dr got mention which is a food time to start the next cycle? I understand endo scratch can do after menses d21 or during menses d4 according to sisters here. I intend to do the scratch too but instead of d21 I going do d20 as my doctor d21 not on duty. Hope it helps. My doc no suggest it's I suggest to do it. Why did you do ivf in 1st place?

Hi sisters, no egg was retrieved today. Don't feel sad for me, coz I did not shed a single tear. In fact, I am relieved that the episode is over.

It is amazing how these few weeks has transformed me into a more positive person. when I took those dreadful jabs during stim, I thought of people who are battling with illnesses. What I am going through is nothing compared to their pain. When I was lying down waiting for prof to start the procedure today, I thought of people who are on the brink of death waiting for the surgeon to save their lives.

So life isn't that cruel to me after all. Failing the cycle is not the end of the world. Life is still beautiful. I still have my hubby, family, friends and all the sisters here :)

I will start to prepare for the next cycle but for the next few days, I will forgo my healthy diet temporarily and allow myself to indulge in fried chicken, laksa, chicken rice, cha kway teow, hokkien mee, satay, pork knuckles, nasi lemak, MacDonald's, etc, etc. I haven't had these for the past 4.5 months.... YUMZ! :p

Baby grin, u are so right, we tend to forget about our love ones especially the hubbs when the cycle fail. What is all these if we don't have them fighting side by side with us right! Thumbs up for your positive spirit! Let loose yourself with all the "junk" food till Cny is over! Enjoy the festive with food and more food 1st. That's what I am doing thou my fet is straight after Cny if my menses do come.

Let's jia you together! Hugs!

iwantahealthybaby thks!
Sigh... the dreadful cny is here again. I hope this will be the last cny that I am facing with the dreadful question "How come your tummy still no news?"

Hi sisters, no egg was retrieved today. Don't feel sad for me, coz I did not shed a single tear. In fact, I am relieved that the episode is over.

It is amazing how these few weeks has transformed me into a more positive person. when I took those dreadful jabs during stim, I thought of people who are battling with illnesses. What I am going through is nothing compared to their pain. When I was lying down waiting for prof to start the procedure today, I thought of people who are on the brink of death waiting for the surgeon to save their lives.

So life isn't that cruel to me after all. Failing the cycle is not the end of the world. Life is still beautiful. I still have my hubby, family, friends and all the sisters here :)

I will start to prepare for the next cycle but for the next few days, I will forgo my healthy diet temporarily and allow myself to indulge in fried chicken, laksa, chicken rice, cha kway teow, hokkien mee, satay, pork knuckles, nasi lemak, MacDonald's, etc, etc. I haven't had these for the past 4.5 months.... YUMZ! :p
Im sorry.. Oh my... Ur words reli insipire me..

Baby grin, u are very brave n positive girl n that's the way to go in this difficult journey. I read u looking for Dhea. Currently only kkh have it but must be prescribe by dr. U cannot buy from the pharmacy. Many of the girls are taking 50mg. I was told by dr to take 50mg as well. 25 morning n 25 night. U can take this as a guide. If u have no side effect, it should be ok to take. Iherbs.com sell many brands. I bought the same brand as what kkh is selling pharmanatural. Hope this help.

Babygrin, u are a brave woman! Despite the tough journey and the end result, u still shine. Continue the positivity and hope your next try will be a successful one!

Iwantahealthybaby, I do ivf due to 1 side blocked tube and hubby sperm morphology is not good. Initially thought ok,Fresh failed but at least I have quite a number of frozen embryos but sadly so many yet no success also no use.
I understand there could be no explanation for failure.Just that each time failed,we are lost as what more can we do..what could be the possible factors like lining or timing of ovulation etc.But dr just say no reason, just try again.

Lol... I feel like telling them I don't want to have children. Maybe that will stop them from asking again.

Fauzieanah, glad that my words inspired you in some ways. A lot of thoughts ran through my mind today while lying down in the surgery ward. I hope one day I will not be lying down in an operating theatre due to illnesses and waiting to be cut open by the surgeon. There is still a long way ahead and I want to have a healthy body and mind in order to accomplish more things.

So sisters, start to eat healthy and exercise ok? I know its hard but let's try ;)

Loversinparis, ya that's what my doc say to me too. When iui ended in chemical preg he told me it just happen, say very common some ladies don't even realise they are pregnant and suffer mc due to very early bleeding which happens near your menses day. And he even smile and say maybe I am the "lucky" one Alamak. But I know he say that in a relax positive way. He probably don't want me to stress up! But when my fresh ivf failed again I am faced with a face telling me it just happen. It's not 100% successful. But really there is no answer to our questions. Like I say kkh especially don't do e2 and lining test during day of transfer so we cannot eliminate could be due to this cause that the cycle will fail. Hate this try again attitude they macham don't know how we feel to come face to face with this negative beta test! But then again cannot blame them cause really too many possibilities so we must do our homework Hee. Share whatever info we have here so all of us can learn from each other. Anyway your fresh cycle that time how many eggs retrieved and frozen? You did how many days transfer?

Jumbo girl and loversinparis, I saw many sisters having so many problems along the way and some have failed a few times but still coming back very strong, my failure is really not worth mentioning :)

Jumbo girl, thks for the info. I will call kkh soon to make appt. Unfortunately, prof from nuh does not prescribe dhea so I need to look for another doc. But I told him I will take dhea under the supervision of another doc and when I am ready for the next cycle, I will go back to him. He said he welcome me back anytime :)

Iwantahealthybaby, I guess I just felt if they can put in more effort with us.Try to identify the possiblities instead of saying just try again and no reason why fail. If it was them, they would ask too right. You are right, cannot blame them.At kk, they are overloaded and frankly we are just work to them. They wil not be able to empathize. I can't recall how many retrieved, but total fertilised is 15. I did 2 times d2 transfer and once d5 (blasto).

Loversinparis, since you have no more snow babies and is starting new cycle right? Start eating royal jelly if you haven't, heard it improve egg quality and I read from website our eggs take 90 days to "renew/improve" so just nice 3 months for you to tiao body for fresh. Meanwhile stock your hubbs with vitamins e and c to try improve his soldiers quality. With a better egg and sperm quality, your fertilised egg can produce better embryo which in turns leads to higher % implantation. We ownself try an error.

Iwantahealthybaby, im doing my last fet. But still thinking when exactly to do it.If this fet still no success, im not sure if I will still go for another fresh, hubby also not too keen. Thanks for the advice on fresh cycle. :)

@Babygrin, I love your positive attitude. Good to spread that around!

I went through 7 years of CNY questioning. Each year I said "the plan is that there is no plan". Vague enough to get them thinking what exactly do I mean. Hahaha. And they are embarrassed to ask more when I say that.

Bad news sisters. The previous night and last night I had bad pain at tummy left side and pelvis. Super pain at 2am and I took painkillers at 3am. Pain subsided few hrs later. Ans last night the episode repeated. Oh god. Was rotting in pain. Then popped oaunkillers at 5am and 7am still yet to go off. Subsided abit only. Today my waist and lower back also sharp pain. Cant tahan. I walked in prof clinic n hope he can scan n check for me. And u n knw what last wed my bt day was my af day but af hasnt repirt till now. Worries if embryo stuck in ovary or tube or its endometriosis causing pain. My whole life is in ruts due to pain.

Mesara,
Your pain sounds bad, not usual as ivf side effects. I had ohss before and admitted to hospital but its not pain like this but rather bloating and vomitting. From what u described sounds like ectopic pregnancy pain. When u did bt, what was ur hcg? you went to see prof already? What did he say fr the scan? Poor gal..I feel for you. Please take care well. Go acu maybe will help.