Babylow,

Y the sudden depression?

Theresa,

I agree..I guess I will discuss wif my doc before making decision. I just went to do my scan today. Only 1 embie coming up and the rest are tiny. Totally about 8. Maybe it is kinda few so they advice me to increase my dosage to 300miu. I will most likely be doing ER late next week. :>

Lili,

Glad to hear that you took the ER well. So how many eggs did u retrieve?

Hi Weiwei,

Since your memory is still fresh with IVF, can i check with you that are we suppose to feel only bloatedness and not menses cramp after the ET.

After ER, eat 2 eggs per day (hard or half boiled will do right??) until end of 2ww? How much of red date with ginger h2o do we need to drink everyday?? and beside that, is there any special diet that we need to take (e.g. any food / fruit we need to avoid). Do you continue to take your multivit as well? Sorry to ask so much, take your time to reply. I start to feel nervous and worry, dont know is it the jab that cause the reaction.

Mulberry, Babylow,

I think we are bound to go through these stages of sadness and emotion up & down due to all the drugs we take and the tough journey of IVF. But most important, we have to keep ourselves focus on the positive and don't let any negative words or incident from friends to put us down. "JIA YOU" all the way!!!

PL

by eating eggs can reduce bloatedness after ER. dun knw got anything to do with implantation or not, anyway, eggs got a lot of protein, it's good for e embryos' growth as well. i m still taking 2/day.

lily

thanks!! wow, ur ET wil b today hor? how was it? u r really lucky tat u dun hav any discomforts.
enjoy ur 2ww and drink a lot of h2o.

babylow

wat stage r u in? why suddenly few so down? remember i got once of mood swing also during my 2ww. just go n find something u like to eat or do e most, eat n do it with ur hubby. tel him ur feelings, he wil b more worried for u if u dun tell him anything. for one night, relieve urself frm e stress of ivf. go n enjoy ur night.ok

theresa

well, i felt both, bloatedness n menses cramp. it's really up to individual, maybe my body over response liao. actually Dr Loh ask me to eat 3-4 eggs per day. i ate 4 in e 1st wk only, 2nd wk then come back to 2 eggs per day until now still taking. i din take any multivit as some of e multivit r not good for implantation. i only took folic acid.

abt diet, dun take: cold drinks, coffee, tea, alcohol, cooling tea including honey, herbal tea or soup, spicy food, soya bean milk or other products, toufu, watermelon, pear, papaya, cucumber .......tat's all i can remember liao

oh ya, dun do hair treatment, perm or coloring, dun do facial or body massage, can not use aroma therapy, try not to put on make up.

e red date n ginger h2o i took for one day only as hubby got no time to cook for me after tat n also my bloatedness much better. he cook for me abt 2 liters n l finished all. just take it as normal h2o. some pp said can nt take ginger too much as it wil hav bad effects on e embryos, so i dare nt to take anymore after my bloatedness settled. but red date h2o it's nice, u can cont to hav it if u like.

can understand ur wori as so many unknowns along e way. keep ur spirit up, keep praying. u wil make it!!
actually i still dun feel i m preg now as my appetite super good, even wake up in e middle of e night bcoz of hunger. my tummy bcome bloated again since D15 after ET. although e nurse said it's a good sign, but stil a bit uncomfortable. it makes me look like 5 mth preg but not 5 wks.

mulberry..u wif dr loh from kk? u so fast scan..i can only scan this fri then will approximately know when is my ER.

weiwei: thanks a lot! now my tummy feel so uncomfort! worst than yest.now keep drinking water like mad. heehee..waiting 4 my ER n ET! hopefully can join u soon..

I'm back, during ET, dr loh suggest me to put in 3 embroy - 1 grade 3 and 2 grade 4. Beside maximize the chances, me & hubby already prepare for multiple pregnancies - if really God's bless.

currently i'm in 2ww day5, don't have any feeling leh - like bloatedness or cramp, any sis also in her 2ww now?

Hi SC,
Don't worry too much about sign or symptoms. Different people have different reaction. Just relax.

During my 2ww the last time, i didn't feel anything at all. Worst, i use the HPT but result shows negative. I was soooo.... upset. But it turn out to be BFP. Unfortunately I lost it at 8 weeks.

So, don't get yourself too stress up for nothing. Are you working?

My AF finally arrived. Now considering whether to do the natural IVF in Aug or Sept... haiz.. what a difficult decision

hi weiwei,
have you back to work? thanks for your concern. i am waiting for my scope to commence. a long wait...

hi SC,
Good to hear from you that you are at the final stage, ET.

Jr,
what is natural ivf?

who can tell me what is D&C?

Hi Babylow,

Natural IVF means there won't be any injection to suppress the hormones or induce the growth of follicles.

Depending on how many follicle your body can develop, they are than retrieve (ER) and than transfer (ET) back. Followed by 2ww like the normal IVF.

D&C stands for Dilatation & Curettage.
Is a process to remove the tissues from the uterus when the pregnancy has to be terminated.

Hi Weiwei,

Thanks for your advise and it seem a long list of food and fruits to obstain but i think its better to be "kia su" and follow closely on these diet and just eat simple during my 2ww. Please take care of yourself, eat and sleep well!

SC,

I still have a long way to go, only on D5 Gonal F, ER likely end of the mth. Please take care and may God bless you with good news soon.....

babylow

bloated means a lot of air inside tummy.

ya, yesterday was my 1st day back to work n guess wat, i was doing night duty. haiz...... so tired n keep going to toilet every 1-2 hrs. was praying n talking to my embryos to b strong n sori for them to do night duty together with me at such early stage. but no choice, as it's already scheduled n no one s free to do it for me.
ok, talk to u gals tmr again. hav to go back to bed sleep again.

JR,
Which doc is doing the natural ivf for you? cheaper?

Theresa,
How come you are on Gonal F for almost a month? That is long. Is it due to your menstrual cycle? Are you still on Acu?

poor weiwei...
it must be tough on you... must take care of your health, hor... are you a nurse or police officer? perhaps, you should talk to your boz to let you do day duty. usually it is healthier for pregnant mommy to have regular sleep...

Hi Babylow,

Sorry, i blur liao.... always confused with all the names, it is "superfact" that i'm on now..... i'm with GE so i think the drugs and the name that they use is diff from KKH. I will start my Gonal F on 14th this mth..... I'm still on acup till before my ET

PL,
I think ppl choose nature IVF for these reasons:
1) the woman's cycle is not affected by fertility drugs,
2) the cost is lesser than for IVF

On an objective point of view, you still have to go through all the steps of IVF expect the suppression and stimulation drugs and the success rates from natural cycle IVF are very much lower (approx. 10%) than from conventional IVF. Moreover, cost savings are very marginal for natural IVF.

Hi JR, i think it will be more practical to go for conventional IVF as i think you should maximize the nos and quality of the embryos.

MIA for awhile again, was trying to read all the postings... I done my ET on Monday and put only two embryos as advise. It is amazing to see how small the embryos can turn into a bb...

Hi Weiwei,
Take care and sorry for late congrats!

Hi SC,
I'm in my 2ww now.. today is my 3rd day. Have no any feelings too like bloatness and was so worried until I'm so depressed. then my HB scolded me for being so stressed over the symptoms. My dad and mum too told me the same thing when I went back home to take dinner. Hai as what Theresa said, guess individual pple have different symptoms. Now I tried to relax.. watch tv, take briskwalking and also playing computer games hehehehe... let's Jia you together.

Hi Cancerian,
are you with Dr loh from KKH? Yeah, are you on progestron jab now? Don't think too much even though we knew it's quite impossible but just try your best to relax... are you working for these 2ww...

hi weiwei,

During the 2 weeks, you are on 5 days mc and you took leave for the other 5 days?

Do you do the test only on the 17th day after the ET? When did you go back to work?

Btw, anyone taking TCM during the lucrin or puregon jabs? Or are we advised to stop TCM - but just continue with the acupuncture during this period?

Do we just abstain from exerting ourselves too much? Did anyone work from home during the 2nd week?

weiwei: may i ask if u have experience some white discharge during ur puregon?.. it like u feel more "wet" than usual..like those discharge indicating u r ovulating?? i worried my follices may burst due to my job nature.. haahaa.. cos i need to exert strength most of the time and need to stand and walk ard. is it possible to ask Dr Loh for more mc after ET??? my leave is balloted and it fixed... cant just apply leave for 2 weeks..

Hi Babylow,
I'm not with Dr Loh, I'm with Dr Yu from SGH. Not on any jab now but on tablets. I asked the nurse, she told me is An Tai Yao. Thanks, I'm trying to relax as much as possible but too bad these fews supposed to rest instead I have been out most of the time to run some errands. Kinda worried that it will affect the chance.

JR,

Thanks for your sharing, may be i got time to kan chong and think too much now... try learn to relax more. I'm working but on mc for this week.

Theresa,
thks! Currently are you working? which ivf center are you with ?

Cancerian,
Finally found at least 1 kaki on 2ww as me, yeh we can jia you together ! i was with SGH but failed 3 time iui. In KKH, i'm told to come back for daily progestrone for 17 day, if pregnant then only will be on An tai Yao. It seems both hospitals have different protocol hoh?

WeiWei,
Advise you to change to day shift asap, after all you have try so hard and finally got pregnant. please take good care of yoursealf and embroys.

Hi weiwei,
Congrats on your positive results!! Wah, your b-HCG looks high...really could be twins hor... Wish you a smooth and easy 9 mths! So happy for you. Don't worry abt your bloadtedness, it should subside after at most a couple more weeks. Sorry for the late well-wishes as I just got back from a short trip that's why MIA for last few days.

Hopeful_bb,
It's true...not everyone will have morning sickness, bloatedness or other symptoms when they are pregnant. Every woman is diff...so don't worry about not feeling anything ok?
Just think happy positive thoughts for your embies and rest well! All the best!

I had my blood test yesterday and unfortunately for me...it's a BFN. Took the whole day to get over it. Now preparing myself for FET.

Wei Wei, take care of yourself. It's a miracle for people like us.

Anyone who has gone through IVF and FET here?

krmeow,
i hope you are feeling better today. what you need to do now is to recuperate to start your new journey. btw, are you with kkh?

cancerian,
i think you should rest at this crucial time. i was running here and there alot when i was on so-iui and ended up a bfn... i was not sure if that was the cause but i believe that if i had rest enuf, the result might be otherwise... so no more taking chance anymore next time... btw why do you need to take 'an tai yao' when you don't even sure if you are pregnant? just curious. what are you taking?

theresa,
you are with GE (gleneagles)? who is your doctor?

Hi Jade,

My sinseh advised me to stop TCM when i start my 1st jab and i'm still on acup until the day before ET. After ET, everything should stop and just rest.....

SC & Babylow,
Currently, i'm not working and i'm with Gleneagles and my doc is DR L C FOONG.

Krmeow,

So sorry to hear that, please take care and "tiao" your body to make it stronger before FET. Are you on TCM and acup before your ivf??? If not, why not give yourself 2 mths to do that before FET. All the best!

Hi Weiwei & all ladies,

Did you try TCM and acup before your ivf??

Just want to how many cases from here really works with TCM and acup. I hope that for those success case with TCM and acup can help to create more awareness to those going for ivf and increase the pregnancy rate in this thread. Hope that i'm not KP..... just feel that if we can help to give our advise and opinion, why not?

Thanks Theresa.

I am considering it. Going to see Dr Loh first and see what he says.

I know there's 2 accu clinics that most people on this forum try. What about TCM? Any recommendation?

Babylow

I am doing the natural cycle with Dr Loh from KKH. In fact, he was the one who suggested it. Cost wise, as what Theresa, not much saving as the last stage of it is still the same.

Theresa
I do agree that it will be more practical to go for conventional IVF to maximize the no of embryos. But in term of quality wise, as I am not a good respondent of the drugs, i was put on hgh dosage. This increases the no of embryo but at the same time compensated for the quality. Although it may be grade 5 embryo, but they contain abnormal chromosome which cannot be detected. This greatly affect implanation. That is why Dr Loh suggested that we try a natural cycle.

Of course there is no guarantee. We may end up with only 1 or even no embryo for transfer. The good thing is that for natural cycle, it can be done back to back. So, if things don't turn up well, we can still proceed on with the conventional cycle immediately.

For me, i just want to try every possibility. Even if it means 1%, i will still want to try.

Hi krmeow,

I have heard about this TCM "BAN CHOON CHAN MEDICAL HALL" at Blk 81, Marine Parade Central, #01-636, Tel 63446718 recommended by another thread but i have not tried as i'm staying in HK so my TCM is there and i'm just back for IVF only. But my acup is near to Aljunie MRT, if you are interested, let me know.

Hi JR,

Thanks for educating us so much, and you are right to try all ways even the chances is slim and you may not know that you could be 1 of them to success through natural IVF. All the best!

krmeow

sori to hear abt ur BFN. *hugs* wow, u r a strong gal. so fast preparing for FET already. ya, agree with other gals tat it's good for u to rest a few mth n tiao ur body. e stimulating drugs tat we took made our body work super hard n tired. u may take this chance to rest ur body n same time do acu. dun giv up!!

babylow, SC

thanks. i hav already told my boss e news n she s happy for me also asking me to take good care of myself. since this time s too rush n cant find anyone to replace me, i wil do it. bu later on wil voice out to boss if she never take good care of me. hee hee...... embryos r doing fine, i guess. til now no abnormal feelings.

petals

thanks! hopefully my bloatedness wil get better. now just a lot of wee wee..... every 2 hrs, haiz... cant really sleep well coz of tat...

i got no morning sickness but excellent appetite. hav to eat 4,5 meals per day. not so wori abt e morning sickness as mum also had hers only at ard wk 6, so mine wil b on e way....

jade

Dr Loh gav 5 days HL only n i apply leave til e day for preg test. dun want any disturbance during my 2ww... dare nt to test on my own, so e preg test only done on D17. btw, e nurse said e upt wil show a positive result when e hcg level s above 50mmol. however for kkh, it wil consider as a preg only if ur hcg above 200mmol. even if it's 100+, it's nt a stable one, must mornitor closely. tat's part of e reason i din test on my own. it could b a false positive. but luckly, mine was BFP !!

mika

i din hav any discharges or wet sensation during puregon. dun wori, as long as u still on lucrin, u wont ovulate on ur own.

JR

good kuck to ur natural cycle!!

I have been reading the posts here and really admire all of you here who are so strong. I went to my gynae today and my husband's SA results have been very bad at 0% morphology. She has suggested that we can go for ivf. I have a few questions and really hope someone can help me.

1) What is the success rate for ivf if husband's morpholgy is 0%?

2) How long does it take for the whole process of ivf? How to start on it?

3) What is the cost of ivf and which hospital is good?

So sorry with so many questions. Feels really sad and down.

Hi Sarahfaith,

Ur name is interesting, so you too should have faith like Sarah in the bible who eventually had a son.

For 1. you will probably be doing ICSI since the sperm count is low. Success rate is abt the same as ivf I reckon, abt 30% and 20+% for a take home baby.

But if you look at KK's website, their success rate is higher.

2. I'm with KK. You can start w KK as soon as you want, just book an appointment and go thru the various tests and you'll be ready to start when Doc says so.

3. As for cost, KK charges between $6-8 k, depending on the amt of medicine you need. It could go up further if you require more medicine than usual.

Can't comment on other hospitals cos no experience else. But some of the ladies here are with SGH, Thomson, Gleneagles etc.

Thanks a lot sunflower for your answer. Just to check what is the difference between ICSI and IVF?

To make appt with KK, do I just call them? How long does it take to get an appt with them?

Yes the reason I used that name is because I believe I will have a child too like Sarah with faith.

Hi ladies:

I'm new to this forum. Just discovered this yesterday. What a great site!

I've just gone thru my ET last Thursday 28/6. I had 18 eggs during EC, 12 matured, 6 fertilised and transfered 4 in! Quite a number rite?! My gynae said my eggs are 2nd grade so he's putting more in to maximise my chances! This worries me!

Yes..I'm now on the tormeting 2WW! I'm due for my blood test next Wed 11/7! Lots of worries but I constant tell myself to stay positive but really challenging to do so! I asked my sis and my mom to pray for me to help calm my mind. i constantly pray myself too!

I do have this worrying symptoms: low abdominal cramps. It's really like my period is coming...i usually have this cramps on my normal months so this is worrying me but luckily after reading what u sis are experience....i feel less worried! I hope i hope this is not a bad sign.

The nurse did tell me feeling of bloatness is a good sign but i'm not sure if i feel so. i think my tummy is bigger and especially after every meal, my tummy really feel bloated. i'm not sure it's due to my meal (altho not a big eater) or what!

Well well well.....i'm just so sensitive over every little signals my body is sending me...non stop wondering if it's good or bad!

Those in their 2WW, please support meeeeeeeee!

krmeow,
Sorry to hear about your BFN...hugs to u... I've also gone thru both IVF and FET so I understand how sad you feel. You still have how many frozen embies? Don't give up ok?

sarahfaith,
Welcome! Sunflower has answered most of your questions. For ICSI, they will select the sperm and inject directly into the egg, instead of letting it fertilise on its own. You can check out the KKH website to read up on their IVF centre. Appmt depends on the doctor's availability, so u have to call their main appmt hotline to check. For prvt hospitals, it'll cost much more than the govt ones.

Angie,
Welcome too! Take good care during 2WW...all the best!

sarahfaith,
forgot to mention...don't feel so sad abt ur HB morphology ok? If ur gynae suggest IVF, means still got hope right? All u need is a few soldiers to be in normal shape out the millions. Maybe can get ur hubby to take some supplements like Vit E...and i know some gynaes recommend Androil (multivit supplements) which may help a little. Jia you!

weiwei,
Hee hee, u have good appetite... I read that it helps to eat smaller but more frequent meals when pregnant so that easier to digest and you don't feel so full and bloated. You can also keep some snacks and water by your bedside in case hungry at nite.

Hiya,

Sorry for MIA. I was just discharged from SGH yesterday. Was warded for severe chest pain. Luckily it does not affect my IVF. During my stay, I had DH to bring my medicine for injection.

Mika,
I am not with KK...I'm with SGH and I'm wif Dr Roland.

krmeow,
I'm sorry to hear about the BFN. I'm glad that you are strong and are already preparing for the FET. I guess staying positive is just as important as staying healthy. Hang on, I'm sure we will get our change to become mothers one of these days.

Hey Weiwei,
How are you you feeling now? :>

hi weiwei ..!

congrats !! try not to exert urself too much ya... everything must relax..!

Petals..

how are u doing..? when are u trying again..? this time trying with KK?

went for my bb scan this morning, can see 2 gestational sac from the monitor, i have twin. yeiii...

weiwei,
urs probably triplet lersince ur reading so high. be prepare lor.

deasy,
wah, twins! That's great!
Must take extra care ok, cos considered higher risk pregnancy when you have multiples.

mulberry,
Oh dear, what happened? Hope you are feeling better. Take care!

hopes,
Hi there! Long time no hear from you! How are u? You going to try again soon? I'm taking medication to induce my AF so that I can start on lucrin w KKH. Hiaz, still waiting...

Thanks Theresa for the infor. I'm hoping that there's a TCM nearer my place as I stay in the central north. Somewhere in AMK, TP or Bishan would be great. But yes, I'll definitely be trying out accu.

Wei Wei and Mulberry..thanks for the encouragement. I've still got 3 frozen ones though they're only grade 3. Hopefully, at least one of them will become my baby.

Petals..how long did you wait before trying for FET after IVF?

Petals,

I don't know what happened. I experienced a very bad chest pain...so went to A&E but felt better after I got there. So after taking some medicine and seeing the CARE doctors on duty, I went home. At 2am, the pain was so bad that I cannot bear it and I went hospital again. This time, I was warded. They only told me that it is softbone infection and there is no known cause for it.
The next morning. Dr Roland came to see me and assured me the medication will not hurt me. :> But now Im better now.

Deasy,
That is so cool....twins leh. It must be a very exciting period for you!

Can i check with you all ... how long were you all on lucrin before you start purgeon? Is it 21 days (3weeks) of lucrin then start purgeon? Cos i was told to start purgeon next week on the 21st day of my lucrin jabs.

Hi Petals_bloom,

Thanks for the encouragement. My husband will be seeing a urologist next week. Hope that there will be treatment for his condition. How much more expensive is private compare to govt? What is the reason you decide to do ivf if you dont mind telling. At least I can share here, really dont know who I can talk to about this.

mulberry

i m fine.
just super fast to get hungery each time.
how r u doing? why suddenly got chest pain?

petals

small meals? hee hee...... think can nt leh, nt enough... each time i feel hungery must eat a proper meal otherwise wil become hungery in 2 hrs time. haiz.... already put on weight so much since 2ww....

hope

wow, long time no "see"!!
how r u? planning to start again? u r on acu n tcm, right? how s ur body now?

deasy

huh? triplets? dun scare me leh. my reading veri high hah? wat's ur reading? wow, got twins!!! so happy for u!
my scan wil b on 17th, which i feel veri far away...