i know this is very random... just wanna ask anyone here see the Jurong TCM during your IVF procedure?

mind sharing feedback and comment about the Doc?

Hi Saggie, I have been reading your posts and the replies.. sorry that I wasn't sure how to advise you as my hubby is very supportive & encouraging.. but I really have to say that since your doctor has suggested you & your hubby to do ivf, just go straight to kkivf or other ivf specialist. Don't waste too much time, just do it! Now got to queue to do ivf at kkh somemore, probably queue until may/june then can do. By that time, your hubby should have come to terms with it. To be honest, all he has to do is to provide his "boys". He has the option to do that at home and then bring to the hospital (within certain time). You have to be strong!

Tanny,
Remember that you went to shuang lin temple to pray before. Can I know what do u bring to pray normally? Fruits? How many weeks are you now? You will bring hard bolied egg there when u r 12weeks? Why hard boiled egg?

AngelXuan> yeah i do agree...

i just book the consultation apptment in Feb with Dr HH Tan at KKH. Considered as pte patient, but KKH got govt co-funding ($3K)... Dr Khoo advised me to look for him...

So let us see how...

meanwhile i tink i will start to take Folic daily... and dun eat funny things esp during CNY!

Ya...i know the Q is horrible...

LOL!! yeah!! he only provide his tadpoles/boys/soldiers...and we have to extract our eggs and take jabs and take medication!! Wah like that we got more work....

Hi Saggie, missed your post at 4:04pm. Happy for you that you have taken the first step! Hope you are not offended by my 真心话 as I'm really concern.. Private patient or not, you should choose the doctor that you trust as IVF is a very delicate process.

saggie: FET..Frozen Embryo Transfer...if u hv balance embbies after a fresh cycle,u can opt to freeze them for later use(u can skip all the jabs of lucrin/stim etc as in fresh).FET is done either medicated(w help of meds/scans to track ur ovulation or "natural"(no meds just scans n let body ovulate by itslf) and a very simple/quick procedure of transfer the emmbies after being thawed..like a IUI but instd of sperm that has been washed the cathether contains emmbies instd.

Dr.Roland Chieng/East Shore Parkway is also a fertility expert.my fren did a D5 blastocyst and she'll b delivering next week.i'v visited him before,he's friendly,approachable and very thorough.his consultation/scans/blood test/meds also dont come cheap.he was previously fm SGH.one method he uses wic was different fm the rest was...he will 'scratch' our lining durin ET...he believes that it'll aid in implantation n chance of BFP is higher...food for thought...

Saggie: Didn't be confused. Can get the nurse to explain to you. From what I understand IVF the medication and procedure is confirmed no subisdy. Hence no much different in price if you choose Dr.

If you get referral letter. I think only the consultation fee is subisdy. But the procedure will be done by any Dr that is available. For subisdy pt, I think there review with Dr will be at Clinic D with any MO (group of panel Dr).

Hope is of help to you.

AngelXuan> no lar..i never take it to heart. What you all say is true. We all need the encouragement or the push factor to go ahead with what we think is worthwhile doing...

Yeah...i feel that those doctors doing IVF are like gods!!

PinkCapri> hmm so when take out embbies, got pain or not??? I may sound stupid, but i am scared of pain!!! Blood test i am OK...hahhaaha...

So far my ovulation is pretty OK and menses are normal (31-33 days). Usually during ovulation, i got the milky mucus and etc... So aga aga i know lar...although i never use the basal thermometer....

Babysmurf> yeah the CSO explained to me over the phone...appreciate her patience lo...not easy...

ya only consultation is 'subsidized' the rest all the same, right??

i want to choose doctor leh...coz i dun want any MO to refer my file and do and dunnoe what...very scared...

Dear Saggie,
All the best for your first appt!!! Meantime take your folic acid!!! You ever considered TCM or reiki healing sessions?

Dear PinkCapri,
I just wanna say that you have been offering this thread many new suggestions and perspectives which is much appreciated
You seem to have visited a few gynaes before? The "scratch" lining method during ET sounds really interesting!
Who are you seeing at the moment? Sorry I might have missed the info from your earlier posts.

Dear gals,
Anyone has the spreadsheet link to our info doc? There should be quite a bit of updating the past week!

Dear saggie,
Depends on who you go to, some do accu, some do herbs, some both
Need the link to the spreadsheet as there are a number of contacts for TCM there.

cherie: Congratz!wishing u a smooth 9months ahead!

saggie: no embbies will b taken out,only 2b place in during embryo transfer(ET). ER/egg retrieval is a procedure done wen ur follicles are scan n they reach measuremnts of 16 or 18mm depends on wic hospital,then oocyctes are 'suck out' by a fine needle attached to a cathether and collected done at the end of it.u'll b under sedation and wont feel a thing.after u wake up,hot milo and biscuits will b gvn.some sisters has lite flow n lower cramps but tat depends on ur doctor's expertise.bring along a pantyliner or a pad to anticipate bleeding after the procedure.u bedrest for a an hour or 2 before being sent home to rest.

during ur ivf fresh cycle stage ther'll b needles fm blood test to meds tat nids to b administered once a day to 2 or more(pending).usually needles are poke at abdomen,if u hv fats like me..u'll b numb after awhl.u can switch left or right abdomen to allow the other side to take a break.oso dont 'rub' area after poking or u'll get alot of blue-blacks.Tips: try placin an ice pack to tat area to numb...itz very helpful!

PinkCapri> oh ic ...hmmm sedation that means i will zzzzzz ah... OK noted..will bring a pad in my bag just in case...

hmm...i dun have much fats at tummy area ...i got a lot at butt area...:S so i have to poke myself ah...i scared leh...

Pinkcapri...you are rite..dr Roland is very thorough,friendly n approachable..in terms of fees find him quite reasonable compare to other pte dr..

I was previously under him during my fresh cycle,had blastocysts transfer n get bfp too..but mc..he is gd..v caring..his embryologist is well known for culturing a day 5 embbies..I believe your gf falls into the same grouping As me..coz my previous edd was 3 Jan..

Sashamama..dr Roland mention before that by scratching the lining...it will aid implantation as the surface is kinda clean off thru scratching thus implantation will be better...

Saggiegirl, if ur hub is ok, get him to poke you lah (oops.. Hee).. I mean he can jab for u ah... I get my hub to jab for me. It's like "allocating" a "task" for him to do rather than just "produce his boys" niaz... N he can also c how much "pain" we "suffer" from the jabs (no pain de lah, just beh deh Abit gain sympathy) Wahahaha

Ching> I hope so lor... *tean gong po pi po pi ah*

sasha:hi!i'm actually an active contributor wen i 1st embark on tis ivf journey 2years ago.i was oso v new back then but along the way found many sistas who shared their knwldge n i learn fm ther.i was once preg w bb but no heartbeat @6wks,tat was durin a FET n had to undergo D&C.i was formerly w kkivf/dr.loh,then went to dr.paul tseng/Care-paragon,tried 1 consultation w dr.Roland Chieng/East Shore and now took up courage to try again(2nd fresh) w dr.yu.my experience so far w dr.yu and sgh ivf nurses has been very positive.i'm happier that i found a doctor who listens to my needs,attentive and most importantly has the personal touch.my appmts are oso v fast ther's no long Q.nurses ther are v supportive and i look forward to my visits ther.heading ther oso v easy..mrt to Outram Park then ther's a regular shuttle bus tat brings u to the block..no hassle.

i'm more relax now as i know being overly anxious will not help.oso being alittle more experience in tis ivf journey helps alot to calm my fears as i know wat to expect.looking back comparing notes on different hospital protocals...u just nid to be well prepare and well informed of choices avail becoz itz an ardous and exhausting journey and if u dont hv frens/family members/spouse who r supportive of ur effort,u can suffer an emotional breakdown..

Hehe Wendy, I initially cnt stand the idea of poking myself cos usually during injection or draw blood I always turn my face away... Dnt dare c.. So I die also make my DH poke me! But hor got once he forgot n left for work so hor I die also must poke myself. Struggled for abt 15mins n did it! Chicken feet only!! Muahahahahahahaha...

Girlgirl, jus turn yr face away. Hide ur face under a teddy bear or pillow n ask DH go ahead poke! Lolx

wendy: ya u cld hv been her cycle buddy.heard dr.roland chieng strive for Day5 blastocyst n success rate of BFP is higher.

now at sgh-care,Dr.yu will oso strive for Day5 for me..if not Day4.lab chief embryologists called me just now and she said she'll call me everyday to report to me on my embbies progress...i was really impressed!!
i didnt get such treatment at kkivf nor private w Care/paragon

Dee : Oops; I'm seated behind u on your right. Not left. @clap clap@ u r so brave!!! My hubby asked me "isn't she talking abt u?" when u were sharing your story.. Lol, I grinned.

Saggie : u should just go for it and sign up for ivf. That time my hubby also just don't care, ask him also no reply type.. I put off for a year until I heck care and made apptm myself. Nearer the date then ask him to go. Sometimes he grumble abt the long waiting time and I ask him don't come. Come only when I need yr boys. I mean business when I do ivf. Seriously of course I hope he can company me encourage me etc but if he doesn't, all I need is his sperms to make ithappen. Luckily he did accompany me on most visits. But for those temples, Tcm, I always go myself- I take bus walk and go myself. He rather watch tv than go temple or Tcm lor. Go for the Kkh counseling talk is good as the nurse will remind the hubby to play a role of encouraging and supporting the wife in such times. Hope this helps!

Reiki - Art of energy renewal - I learnt that it can balance the Qi in yr body that might be unbalanced from the hectic lifestyle, stress etc. When all is balanced and Qi can flow freely in yr body, I think conceiving should be an easy task (i guess also provided there is no strong medical reasons) since the body is in harmony optimum stage. Even those painful menses headsches may be gone. My hubby says wanna heal himself during tennis game like sore feet, painful knees. I think I wan to apply it to my tummy everyday and I will test it on my mom painful knee joint when I graduate. Hope I can sleep better too.. Can't wait to learn... Any one Practise reiki before; can share with me? Can pm me if u wan to..

tanny_angelbaby> thanks thanks...i book for the apptment in late Feb...same same! He always grumble abt the long wait, blah blah, doctor talk talk, then he never listen...buay tahan...

I rem I took 1 day leave to get a referral letter from polyclinic and waited 4 months for a first apptm;, then waited another 6 or 4 months (can't rem) for my fresh slot at Kkh. See.. almost wasted close to a year..

tanny> har??? zzzzz...i directly book with KKIVF... i choose the doctor lar ...so my first apptment aka consultation is Feb..after CNY before Ching Ming...

Saggiegirl,i1bb..my hubby will just stand there n watch me jab myself...in the end..he will ask me this question..is it painful?.haha..n he will thank me for being so brave n give me a kiss..lame hubby rite?..

I1bb..my hubby is those soft type...i find him too soft though n he tear easily...so he will feel v painful for me when he see me jabbing on my own..

He even jokingly ask dr if my womb can b transplant to him instead so that e can have a bb...haha..honestly..the nicer he is..the more stressful I am..cox I tell myself to make his wish come true coz he loves bb...Furthermore hubby not young Liao..he is 35 this yr..haiz

Dear Wendy,
Now i understand better abt the scratching of the lining! Thanks! And yoru hubby really very sweet wor! The sweetest thing my hubby ever said when i am worried is "never mind, try again lo". hehe.

Dear Saggie,
I fear taking injections so my hubby jabs me. He is very calm when doing it. Only 40% of the time I feel something, Only 10% of the time there is slight pain. He joker, when painful and i complain, he will say never mind, tmr try again. Lol.

Dear pinkcapri,
Sorry to hear abt your loss previously. I also lost one 3 years ago at 8 weeks due to no heartbeat, i understand how you feel. It is great that you found a doc u r comfortable with and a hospital with better services! For me, I am lucky to change to a doctor who helped me conceive despite my adenomyosis. Sometimes it really depends on luck!

Sashamama..haha..he dare not tell me this word try again...in fact,he ask me not to try if don't wan..he is fearful when he saw me going thru ohss..the tapping of fluid together with my blood...haha...so when dr recommend short protocol instead of long...he ask the same question...will my wife get hyper again..?.n when dr say yes but mayb not so much compared to long..he was like...haiz...errrr..no better protocol?.

Joker rite?.he is more worried than me..we have been dating since I am 19...so u can imagine.maybe he scared I die n he will feel lonely since he is those homely type of guy...haha..

Seriously I find u n dee really motivating...u gals keep me going..I hope I can join those bfp friends soon...I lost it twice...once in yr 2008 n again last yr 2011...stress...

wendy: i'm not sure if i'm able to accept pm..hvnt really try tat yet..hahaa.sori to hear of your loss 2x..never give up ok?jia you..we will have our precious bb in our arms one day

sasha:congrats!i went to MTB 2012 and found out tat u actually graduated fm this thread but nevertheless still stuck ard to offer advise just like hazel

hubby scolded me: why u go and book apptment? why u never consult me? u know with referral letter can save on consultation fee?

Upon hearing this, i feel like i am a commodity to him - a machine to bear him children without considering the pain, suffering and emotional roller coaster that i will be going thru.

As of now penning down, I am crying quietly in the study room.

Saggiegirl...I understand how you feel..perhaps you got to let yr hubby know that by getting a referral though there is savings on consultation..the Drs that you see will be different from time to time..maybe He don't knw such...

But come to think abt it..yr hubby seems to be open to ivf since he mention y never book with referral letter...just let him scold if he like at least u get what u want at the end of e day rite...???

wendy> i just dun like that hubby keeps putting me down...keep scolding me like a dog and saying things that i am useless or what....

I think he dun trust Dr Tan HH...i already told him that under Dr Tan, there are success stories and mummies are doing fine and healthy and babies born as well...

Tomorrow still have to wake up early to go to the stupid polyclinic and get the stupid 3 sentence letter.

Anybody know about the process of getting the letter?? I cannot remember..

Saggiegirl..u r really going to get the referral letter bcoz of what hubby say?.honestly,I find you really nice n patient...maybe u shld ask your hubby what exactly he wants?

Oh..y he say u r useless when u are finding ways to get thing started??

wendy> i tink i am really patient with him...if not i could have ran away to my parents place liao...

he always thinks that i am useless or what...i mean i admit that i am not the brightest but at least i try and get the best of it...

Saggiegirl,
Why do u say ur hb is not confident in Dr HH Tan? Then u shud ask him which dr he is more confident with. Maybe he hv heard of some good dr from friends?

Getting a referral letter is very easy. Register at polyclinic, then tell the dr on duty that you want to go for ivf and which hospital u intend to go. After that, the staff will call the hospital and make the appointment for u.

Saggiegirl , is your hb like that before you all get married? Is it something he face at work? I can understand hb for not responding to the programme coz my one aso. But he just follow what I ask him to do lo. I just told him when give his sperm, the rest I aso try to arrange n go myself.
But there is no reason to scold you. Did u explain to him aso getting the letter will delay the process? Perhaps he really under what kind of stress?

Saggigirl, actually if u get a referral letter from polyclinic, u will waste money, coz with the referral letter n go kk, u will just simply see a gynea n from there they will ask u choose the dr who do Ivf eg, dr tan hh etc. u then hv to make an appt again to see dr who will do Ivf. From there on will start the private rate.
Have u done all the bt before? HSG etc? If no, with the referral letter u can ask the dr at kk to let u do all the test with subsidy rate. If u hv done so previously, kkivf bt, med etc all no subsidy.