Hazel, thanks... cos last time when i was with John Tee for my son, never seen any blue booklet

hi mm,
i oso at e clinic tis morning for my blood test n scan.
nurse called my results oki, k start puregon tis fri.
cycle buddy??? ;)

hi babymaking,

please avoid mussels and and all shellfish cos they contains bacteria which are harmful to preggy ladies!!!

There is this website babycentre UK or SG

I've included the UK link for you: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/nutrition/?intcmp=tnav_preg_eatingwell

It will tell you what food to avoid, especially food that are raw or 1/2 cooked. Like now i avoid eating my favourite sunnyside up (1/2 cooked egg) cos food that are 1/2 cooked will likely contain bacteria that will harm our bb and cause miscarriage. So be very careful..
5661651.gif

Hi hazel,

are you still with s f loh? I tried to call KK 2 weeks ago to enquie about their pkg and delivery charges and they transferred me to clinic D which i left a voice-mail msg but till now nobody returned my call. I was even told to call private suite and the nurse also didn't know about their pkg. Do you have the info or SF loh's email so that i can check with him directly? thanks.
5661710.gif

Hi hazel,

are you still with s f loh? I tried to call KK 2 weeks ago to enquie about their pkg and delivery charges and they transferred me to clinic D which i left a voice-mail msg but till now nobody returned my call. I was even told to call private suite and the nurse also didn't know about their pkg. Do you have the info or SF loh's email so that i can check with him directly? thanks.

Chris, Dr Loh will most likely wun reply u. He is not a pte dr, he does not know all these charges. Anyhow, there is no pregnancy package at KKH. You pay per consultation n per scan. As for delivery charges, u will know when u r asked to do pre-admission near to delivery. You hv to pay a deposit then. Delivery cost depending on the class you choose. To stay with dr Loh, min is B1.

U can call admission department if u wan to know the cost for the different ward classes.

Hi sisters who took royal jelly before. Heard it's good for us as well as to improve dh's sperm quality. What brand would u recommend?

Hi Perper..
Many thanks!!

Now I have another problem. Today is my 2nd day of lucrin. And I poked myself at least 5 times and needle cant go in.. I am in a total panic stage now... Can anyone tell me what should I do?

Hopeful, u are too tense already that's why needle can't poke in. U can try to use ice to numb your stomach, hold the needle straight and try to poke in again.....

Hopeful, the needle can only be used once! After which it is blunt n will hurt. N u did 5x on the same injections? I csn imagine the pain.

Flowers & Shainie, I'm finally clear to do et this thu am but a bit worry abt lining cos only 8mm. Hope intensive acu helps!! Tmr last acu session & then et.. Must push on!!

Joanne, Flower, Hazel, thanks.. I will try again tom.. If still cant.. I need to go SGD for ask the nurse for help again.. =( So embarrasing.. Went there today for help n cried.. Felt so useless.. Cant even inject!

Minako, can we still do accupuncture now? I have only been taking TCM medicine and has stopped cux started on Lucrin. But can we do accupuncture at this stage?

hi hazel,

Thanks alot for the clarifications cos the nurse asked me to speak to him direct as different doc charge differently. I'll check with KK tomorrow.
5663042.gif

hopeful,

You are already very brave to inject yourself. It's not embarrassing. I can't even hold the syringe and shiver till i asked my hb to jab for me.

chris
from previous experience, dr loh dun have any package, each visit/scan is paid as it is, my previous pregnancy was very tough, i think we see him almost every other week, cost came around to 8k just for outpatient visits/bloodtests/meds at TPS, exclude actual delivery (c section) charges. medisave can claim $450 for outpatient prenatal visits.

hi babymaking,

Thanks. My fren recommended me her gynae (female) Dr Ang from glenages her pkg is $1800 (pkg starts from 16 wks onwards + normal delivery). I've already spent nearly 2000 alone in less than 2 weeks from my outpatient and hospitalisation at KK.

Got to work within budget.. i'm 36yrs old so need to go for blood test oscar 2 weeks later and detailed scan. so also worried about the scan results cos if not favourable got to go for amniotic test which is the one i feared most.

5663097.gif

1800 including consultation after 16 wks plus normal delivery is dirt cheap! U better grab meh. KKH normal delivery at A class single bedder easily cost double if not more! My d&c with one day hospital stay at one bedder already cost >$1800!

Hopeful, the area right under the abdomen may be a bit tough to poke for injection, if you try to inject about 3 to 4 fingers sideways from your belly button,that area if usually softer. It's trial and error, coz all in all, we have to inject 30 over jabs ( lucrin, puregon, then later pgynel jabs can be done by nurse). Initially I was needle phobic but thought spend $5 per day to jab at kkhivf is a waste of money. So pinch stomach, take deep breath count 1 to 3, and plunge needle in. Sometimes first time the needle touch the skin a bit painful, most prob that the tough area where u have more muscle. I usually dun care n dun think too much and still plunge in. It will be over before u know it. After a while, you will even find it a very sianh routine to do everyday. Share with you all this coz I feel that when we inject by ourselves we can anticipate and gain better control of the pain ( which is not much actually, especially for lucrin). Also come puregon, sometimes will get bruising and I find it a bit more painful than lucrin so feel better in control if diy. My last jabs
Pregynel were done by the nurse on the tummy after bfp and find it most painful out of the 3 jabs, feel partly also cause not in control to anticipate it. Juz my thoughts, hope these helps.

Also, the alcohol wipes that u have to wipe on injection site is suppose to numb the spot for injection. Wipe a few times before u inject.

Hi chris,

If you need to work within budget, then I think better stick to KKH. The package that your friend recommends is usually a basic package... I think for IVF patients, doctors may be more careful so they may want to see us more, hence the cost maybe higher.

Once there are complications, you never know what the private hospital rates are. For private hospitals, their basic charges tend to be a lot cheaper. But any other costs, including any consults from other doctors or any other services etc. are additional costs (charged by time), but in the restructured hospitals, the additional costs are usually a lot cheaper. These additional costs are what might make the bulk of your medical bill at the end of the day, which is not comparable, as every individual has different needs. Hence you'll find that the tables of comparisons in the newspapers might reflect that TMC or mt alvernia are one of the cheaper ones.. but they don't inform you about the so called 'frills' that are added in, that are not included in the table. Hope you know what I mean.

Private hospitals are smart in that sense, as people tend to compare the basic charges... but they don't see the final bill at the end.

I did IUI with KK, and 2 more IUIs privately. Consultation fee is about the same for KKH or private doctor. But the puregon I paid, at KKH was exactly 50% cheaper than what the private clinic sold me! Exactly even down to the cents!(a good $300+ difference almost) Imagine! I even took the prescription to KKH for the pharmacist to prescribe, but was turned down as they accepted only KKH prescriptions. In terms of additional care, I also found that the private place I went to was the same, if not worse than at KK! I had to wait for a good 2 hrs sometimes! So much for being 'private'.

Also, KKH hospital has better care for the children or babies, especially if you think your pregnancy is at risk. If your baby is born in a private hospital, but need to be transferred to KKH, KKH may reject you, when the beds are full. One of my friend's baby took 1 month before they could be transferred! and the hospital they were at (a well-known and very popular maternity hospital) did not have all the equipment they required for their baby who required additional medical attention... My friend felt that their baby subsequently had further complications from the poorer care at the private hospital, because the nursing team and even doctors did not have the experience working with more complex cases. In the end, the baby's bill was so high! and when they transferred from the private hospital to KKH, they could not downgrade as well. :S

So, you need to consider all these other factors also before you decide.
I think going to a private hospital is good if you're confident that there won't be any problems... for me, if you want insurance, then KKH would be the best bet.

I second wongval's post!

Baby icu at KKH cost 1k a day. Pte will even be more ex!! But KKH will allow downgrade if patients pass income mean testing. Ie, enjoy subsidized rates at A class ward as there is only one class for baby icu. KKH had the best facilities for women and kids/bbs in SG. If got complications, pte can't support at all n bbs hv to be transferred to KKH for treatment. KKH cam reject the transfer if there is no bed and u pay full A class rate. No downgrade is entertained.

Anyhow, I trust dr Loh. A very careful n honest dr. I know I m in gd hands.

I'm not under SF Loh.. But I have faith that since I'm under KK, can't go very wrong! They see so many cases, practise at the end of the day makes perfect...

At least if anything doesn't go according to plan, I probably won't be a very special case as I'm sure they will have experience even with the less common stuff.

Hi Ritzc, many thanks for your advice!! I will try again..
but what is the last jab? Nvr heard of it..
Btw, jux wondering if anyone knows if 450 of purgeon is a high quantity.

Hi, Hopeful, the last jab is the jab that u will get about 2 nights before ur egg retrieval, but that night it will be jab by the nurse on the thigh or backside. I only have 10 eggs retrieved so during 2ww, was given the same jabs on the tummy instead of inserts that some people with more eggs will get. Sorry, type wrongly just now, it's during 2ww not after bfp

Chris, I think u can let dr loh know your concerns about the budget and ask him to recommend another kkh doctor instead. I was thinking about this previously too, coz I'm on no pay leave for the whole year, but hubby wants me stick to dr sadhana, so no choice. To me money can be better use for cda funds and bb stuff instead.

some sister was mentioning that dr loh says baby aspirin can take only after ET? so can't take prior to IVF like folic acid that we take before commencing on IVF?

so sad that my FET cycle has to be abandoned. my scan and blood tests on monday said that i have already ovaluated after 6 days of injections of 37iu of GonalF.

after seeing my gynae, i am starting the next FET cycle straightaway.

may i know usually how long rest period before the next cycle? am a bit concern abt how invasive the hormones injections are to the body. what can i do to help to "pu"?

Tanny, I took aspirins on ER. It can be taken prior to that but subject to his approval if it is really necessary n beneficial.

Pau le, how come FET u r on gonal-f jabs? I didnt hv that fir natural FET. In fact no medicine or jabs at all, just monitor my ovulation. If I remember correctly, no jabs too for medicated FET at KKH too.

hi hazel,

hoping to catch a repeat telecast now at ch8 of sf loh, got a glimpse at the kopi shop while eating breakfast.
i did have thoughts to go kk cos of sf loh as i've being his patient since 2009 and kk has all my records. But hubby didn't like the waiting time and partly becos we had bad experience with one of the nurses during my hospitalisaton at kk 5yrs ago and during a recent visit at 24hrs. We trust sf loh totally.

my sil's gynae even much cheaper, his pkg starts from 6wks onwards at $550, and normal delivery $1,000 and caserian $1,500. Too good to be true rite? This gynae's clinic is at sembawang and my sil has chosen thomson hospital for delivery. She chose him cos his cheap and also her buddy's wives were delivered by him and so far so good. She wants to save the $$$ for other bb's stuff..
She kept asking me to go to her gynae but i'm not tooo comfortable. She commented that Dr ang from gleneages that my fren recommended is too ex etc..

Hi Wongval,

i truely agree with wat you have shared regarding complications etc...this is also one of reasons that i'm considering sf loh. I've stayed at mt alvernia 2x before, once for my 2nd endo ops and another for gastric, i had better experience with the caregivers(nurses) at mt alvernia than kk cos the ones that i had bad experience is the older (senior) nurses who are complacent and take things for granted. They act like they know everything and very kay kiang...and rude..

hi hazel,

heehee s f loh is now on TV!!!!!!!!!

My buddy very cute say that after the whooooha at thomson hospital she won't want to choose them as the delivery hospital like my sil.

Hi Ritzc n all, I did it this morning by myself!!
So happy!! Thanks to all ur encouragement! I must keep it this way..
Hi Minako, thanks!! Then I will start booking appointment for accu now..

wow dr loh on live tv? I must watch.. he is my fav gynae heheh..
I am currently in progress for FET with only 2 left.
Hope to success once again *cross fingers*
Anyone have do & don't list for FET?

I really wish everyone especially hazel all the best. Jia you!