hi tomatoes,

anything to buy for bb anot? When I last went I focus more on my own shopping ... :p

hi celine,

sorry to hear that, perhaps just leave your friend alone for a while ... but tell her to take care ... maybe she can do FET on the next round.

Hi Celine

Sorry to hear about your friend's news. FET mean "frozen embryos transfer". Yah, leave her alone for awhile and let her know you will be there if she needs someone to talk to.

Hi annie

Yah, bought alot of bb things... mostly from chinatown. Really very cheap.

Hi Celine

So sorry to hear about your friend. I can understand how she felt now as I have the same problem with her. Was quite happy to hear from the nurse that the blood test detected pregnancy and end up unsuccessful. It was very stressful to keep going back for blood test and waiting for the result. She will need sometime to get over it. Maybe in the near future, you can introduce her to this website so that she feel better communicating with us and with our support.

FET is Frozen Embryo Transfer. It is much easier than a fresh cycle, provided she has some frozen embryo available. She will either has a natural thaw or medicated thaw FET. For natural thaw, no more injection is required throughtout the whole process. Her RE will advise her during her next visit to her RE. Like what tomatoes and chemistry had mentioned in this thread, the success rate for FET is as good as the fresh cycle.

Hi Tomatoes

I also duno how i strike. I guessed just like everyone say, when u least expected it, u will have it.

But I was on clomid during that cycle so i guessed that helped abit. somehow i'm not sure if the xray of my fallobian tubes did "clear" my tubes which allows better conception. Or is it because hubby was taking the pills that Dr CT Yeong prescribed to him.

I'm having on and off nausea and giddy feeling. On and off no appetite. cant really have good sleep and really very tired after a day's work.

My gynae is Dr Eunice Chua at TLC (TMC). She's my gynae even before i got pregnant.

Ya intended to sign up for the Antenatal class but can only do so after 20 weeks hor. Btw, did u sign up for the First Born Incentive??

Maybe we can exchange emails? u can email to me at [email protected]

Hi Gals
I have tried IUI for two time and this month, I tried naturally but still failed. I am just wondering if I should go for a check up. What kind of check up should I have? I am seeing my gynae tommorrow on Day 2 of my menses. So far, I only have the normal scanning and PAP smear test. Please advice. Thanks!

Dear Peacy

I am just wondering. Why did your RE proceed with IUI for you without doing any necessary test and investigation?

From my experience, my RE has done a detail ultra sound scan, blood tests (day 2 and day 21), fallopian tube scan and my hb's SA test before she proposed any action (IUI/IVF). As I have done these tests few years back, may have forgotten what other test I did.

Hi Peacy

You might want to do a HSG to check your tubes b4 proceed on to another round of IUI.

Who knows, this test will help you to clear any minor blockage (if have) and increase your chances with IUI.

Do discuss this option with your RE.

Anyone done the HSG before? Did you take any antibiotics?

I didn't complete the antibiotics. Stop after 3rd day as I have the tendency to develop itchy vaginal discharge due to antibiotics.

After 10 days, I still have a slight nagging discomfort in the 2 ovaries section. But no fever.

Any advice?

Hi Potato chip
He only did an ultra scan for me but he did check my hubby SA and blood test. Maybe I should change my RE. I was thinking of going to Dr Sheila Loh in KKH. Is anybody seeing her?

Hi Peacy

I am seeing Dr Sheila Loh. So far so good, she is quite detail. But you must be prepared for the long wait. She spent about 20-30 mins with each patient. So must be very very patience to be her patient.

hi ladies, it's been a LONG while since I came in here. Came in this thread eons ago but dropped out bec was too busy and not quite prepared to try IVF yet.

I had started a file to circulate the list of ladies here trying IVF with usweful info on which hospital, cost, sucess etc. Wonder if it ever got circulated down to date?

Me with KKH too and had done my various tests last Nov/Dec. Now only need to decide if I want to go ahead with the IVF. Can check with KKH ladies here who are the docs in the KKH IVF program now?

Hi maya,

As far as I know, there are 3 docs in KKH : Dr Sheila Loh, Dr SF Loh & Dr Sadhana who perform IVF. Ther earlier two are senior consultants while the last one is a consultant. My gynae is Dr SF Loh and am still seeing him for my pregnancy but his queue quite long. So far I have to wait for an hr or more even at TPS. Dr Sheila Loh is good too, but as what potato chip say, u also have to wait very long to see her. Most important choose a gynae whom u are comfortable with, I think the waiting time is a secondary issue.

Hi Samsung,

I didn't take any antibiotics after the HSG. Only side effect that i got is cramps which lasted only for 2-3 days. Maybe u want to call up the clinic and check with the nurse or gynae.

Hi Peacy,

Before I embarked on IUI, I have my blood tests to check if I am ovulating and my progestrone level, ultrasound and also the X-ray to check for fallopian tube for any blockage. HB did the SA. I cleared mine but hb's sperm count was low.

Your gynae should check on you/hb's fertility first, only when there's no known cause then ART is suggested.

Hi Annie

My hubby did his SA already. I went to see my gynae today and he suggested that I go for further test. I did a blood test today. My gynae recommended that I go straight for Laparoscopy instead of going for HSG. I am in a dilemma now. Should I go for HSG first or should I proceed to Laparscopy? Anyone can advice?

Hi peacy

Laporoscopy is much more invasive than HSG. If you are prepared to skip 1 step ahead and go thru this minor surgery, then it's not a bad idea after all cos your RE can do alot things during lap, eg. clear your endo (if you have any) and unblock your tubes if any. But if you are not ready, I would suggest to do HSG first.

Hi tomatoes and chips,

this is the thread u ask me to join right?

btw toes, r u the one who set up the - calling all prof chirs chen 's patient thread in May 04 last year???

That thread got quite a lots of negative remarks on Prof chen leh?

Which confuse me now??? SIGN

So in the end u still hv IVF / ICSI w Prof Chen? and succeed???

Hi miko

Yes, I am the one who set that Chris Chen thread last year. Actually there is nothing negative about Prof Chen. Just that he is under the "expensive RE" category. I have nothing much to complain about him as he is always very alert and experienced to discover the health problem that I have (before the problems worsened) during my TTC and pregnancy time. That's what I like about him.

Yes, he was the one who make my IVF succeed on 1st attempt.

Having attached to him for the last 1 year+ till present, I find him a very experience, dedicated and result-oriented RE lor

You might wish to find the RE that you are most comfortable with before you switch. The trust between you and your RE is very important

Hi tomatoes and annie
Thanks for your advice. I think I will go for HSG first as I am not prepare to go through this minor surgery.

hi tomatoes, thanks for the info. i was thinking to visit this gynae before i ttc in a few month's time. what's the waiting time, on average?

Hi Toes,

What i mean by negative is most of the couples who went to Prof chen didn't go ahead with the operation which he said need to ...but finally also manage to conceive naturally???

Sometime it's abt fate i guess...

btw my case is quite similiar to urs - i hv mild endomes. and hubby hv varicocele

Prof Chen adivse my hubby to go for the op. now

DID ur hubby go for it? Can U share some adivse for me?

How much did ur hubby spend if he did?

DID u hd IVF or ICSI? how much did u spend?

How many eggs was retrieved and frezilised on ur 1st attempt

I m also chatting with CT now and both of us envy u and r really happy for U at the same time

is the sex of ur baby confrimed alreadi... ALL THE BEST

Hi ET

Have you check with Christopher Chen's clinic on the monitoring of your FET? Is this arrangement acceptable to them?

Hi CT

How are you getting on? Have not hear from you for awhile. Have you decide to do your IVF with which RE?

Seems like many members r missing from this thread.

Hi miko

Yes, not many couples can accept Prof Chen's style and it is true that some of them did conceive without going through surgery.

Prof Chen's style is that he won't go straight into IVF if there are problems with the couple. As I mentioned that he is very result oriented... if a couple wants to do IVF, he will make sure that our reproductive organs is in best healthy state before going in IVF... that's explain why his success rates is very high... and that's also explain why he is expensive as couples has to go through more steps than the others.

For me, my hubby and my mentality is that if got problem, solved it once and for all. I can't exactly remember how much I spent for the surgery for both of us.... cash wise, I paid about thousand plus each as I can claim most of our surgery expenses from my company (not for IVF though). For men, they can also claim up to 50% of surgery expenses from medisave.

My hubby sperm quantity & quality did improve by about 30% within 2 months after the surgery.

We went through ICSI. 7 eggs retreived, all of them fertilised with 6 top-grade embryos and 1 2nd grade. I think we spent around $13K+ for the whole ICSI.

I guess I am just one of those lucky ones who succeeded on 1st attempt. And I strongly believe you, CT & the others will join me in the mum2b group very soon....

Hi Toes,

Your reply is good. I will advise hubby to go for the op. under Prof Chen

Didn't ur hubby got insurance to cover as well?

Shld be claimable even for day surgery like varicocele right?

u r lucky got gd embryos...actually $13K+ is not expensive i had mine in CARE AND IT IS AROUND THE SAME FURTHERMORE i hv not proceed to the implantation stage yet...COS all my 4 feriliaed eggs are uncleaved...SIGN so sad still mourning over it

Really hope Prof Chen can help me tis round.

If really confrim something wrong with my eggs and it is genetic then no choice gotto go for donar egg program

Do u know of anyone setting up this thread in our forum? pls advise

Potatoe Chips

Thanks for your concern. I've started my 2nd attempt with Prof Ng in Gleneagles. This cycle not as smooth ... will let you gals know the result early May.

CT

OK. Hope to hear your good news soon. Relax and rest more. Remember to avoid that list of food mentioned by tomatoes and drink more warm water.

Hi miko

Main thing now is that your hubby must be comfortable about going thru the surgery. You know... men's ego...

For varicocele surgery, insurance does not cover. However, my hubby got a cyst in his scrotum also... also I tried to ask Prof to classify the bill under removal of cyst as much as possible so that I can claim from my company as day sugery lor.

Maybe you may not have any problem with your eggs at all... no.. at the moment, nobody in this thread has discussed about donor's egg b4... sorry, really can't help you much on this.

hi toes,

my hubby r ok ...he has seem me suffer enough and i think he feel it is time for him to do something as well

furthermore it is suggested by Prof chen, so he can't ingored.

Was it very bad for ur hubby i mean ( pain or suffer from walking ) anot after surgery - i m worry for my hubby as u know men like to hide their feelings most time!!!

how long he rest b4 gg back to work?

So in the end can u claim when Prof put it as cyst for ur hubby?

i just checked with my Insurance agent, my hubby is covered under a plan with Aviva healthcare international SO for daycare surgery - it is clamiable - his hospitalisation plan is very ex he brought 1 year - excecutive plan $999 + 5% as he is self employed so cn't afford not to insure himself.

I hope no fault with the claim later

I also hope my eggs are all right after Prof Chen 's care now.

Anyone out there know of any INSURANCE CO. that cover for IVF treatment program.

Appreciate for your info and feedback.

Thank you in advance.

Hi CT, just want to wish you ALL THE BEST for your current attempt!!!! Looking forward to your good news!! Don't forget to relax and take nutritious food!

Miko, i'm not aware of any any local insurance co that cover for assisted reprd programs. even if there is, think it would be hard for us to be covered since we already know of the 'problem' before we sign up. but i know of an overseas healthcare plan which can be bought locally that covers the costs of prenatal checkup and delivery which sounds very worth it, but i only got to know of it after i conceived which is too late to purchase liao!

Hi miko

The healing part is quite fast... can walk normally by the 3rd day liao. Yes, after Prof changed the billing part for me, I can claim quite alot from my company...

hi westbb,

maternity covered are quite common nowadays provide u brought it eariler b4 conceiving to take effect...sometime it has to be as early as 1 year.

Anyway thanks for responding...

Hi CT,

All the best!

Hi Miko,

While you prepare for your IVF ... it'll be good to have a good diet to start with.
Hope you will succeed soon!

I went for my transfer yesterday.
It was not really smooth...I had quite a bad cramp during the transfer...
Then Prof Chen told me the chance is not high as the 3 out of 5 embryos that survived the thaw was of average and poor grades...
Feeling depressed now...does anyone of you come across with success cases from very poor grade embryos?

I would like to share my experience as well...

Consulted Prof Chen since end Nov last year, I had my laparoscopy and my husband had his
varicocele surgery.

Unfortunately, 3 months after the surgery and after taking all the multivitamins, my hubby SA results only improve minimally. Prof diagnosed that his veins were badly damaged.

Was advised to start on IVF program, and I now on injection for about 2wks+ already..

Hi Marine

Sorry to hear about your hubby situation... at least your hubby has slight improvement... better than no improvement at all.

Hope your IVF will be a success!
Do keep us updated.

Hi Tomatoes,

Hope so too! The injections so far are still bearable, but there's so much food that I can't take and it's difficult to eat out now. Did you really avoid all those food, soya sauce & food with soya ingredients...etc?

Hi Marine

Most of the food I avoided.....kia-su... but not for soya sauce. Hee! Soon it will be over. Just bear with it for the time being

Eat more veg, meat like beef, pork (if you are non-halal)& fish. Also must eat lotsa egg white

Hi Marine,

Be strong & brave, it's gg to be over and when succeed u will forget all the pain

At least U got the chance to implant them, and there's still a chance for U to conceive, As for me if u read my IVF Failure thread - I didn't even go to the implantation stage all my 4 ferilized eggs did not cleavage!!! sobsobsob

BEST OF LUCK TO YOU

Dear Marine and Toes,

My Hubby has decided to go ahead with the varicocele op. with prof chen.

Just want to know how long after the op. CAN ur hubby had relationship with u gals.

And normally how long then can see/TEST the improvement or results.

Did Prof chen suggest the IVF soonafter or WHEN after HOW LONG??? eg after 3 mths or ???

Pls advice.

THANK YOU

Hi Marine,

Sorry got it confuse, pls ignored my msg below which are for peach.

Hi Peach

At least U got the chance to implant them, and there's still a chance for U to conceive, As for me if u read my IVF Failure thread - I didn't even go to the implantation stage all my 4 ferilized eggs did not cleavage!!! sobsobsob

BEST OF LUCK TO YOU

Hi Miko

I can't remember how soon we BD after my hubby's surgery. Every individual recovery is different.

As mentioned in my earlier reply, my hubby's SA improve by 30% after 3-4months. But every individual is different also. Some could be even faster or some slower.

Prof did not immediately suggest IVF for me. He wants me to try clomid, then IUI first. I failed once on clomid and IUI... so I suggest that I want to go IVF straight. It was six months after my hubby's surgery that Prof prepared me for IVF procedure.

Hi potato chip,

I have yet to check with prof chen about the monitoring of FET coz i'm still not ready to start my FET yet. I'm really very scare of another failure.

so how's ur progress? when is ur beta? I really hope that you can see ur '+' very very soon.

I'll seeing Dr Sheila on 25 Apr for review. plse share with me your experience.