Hi ET

Yes, I had emailed Dr Yeong yesterday and received his reply today. Thanks.

Wow, suddenly this thread is so active again n seeing new members joining.

Hi Poohy

Congrats. Ya, normally woman are very fertile within six months after delivery. So u should work hard from 4th to 6th months. Wish you all the best.

WELCOME ALL NEW COMERS!

Hi All especially new comers

Try to watch ch5 tonite 8-9pm prog. They are showing Kym going thru IVF. New comers can get some idea how is it like.

westbb, potato_chip

thanx
Most likely I will try SO-IUI again. but it depends on our condition in 6 months time and what dr yeong suggest. But I probably wont wait beyond 6 months.... hopefully so-iui will still work for us. I heard cases where after child birth, some people's PCOS condition even worsen.... hope its not true for me

Hi Poohy,

U really brave to go without epidural leh. For me, I have low threshold of pain and 100% I will opt for epidural! BTW, which thread can I see your bb's photo?

Hi westbb,

U will the next hor! Waiting for u to announce the birth of your bb! Then it will be tomatoes and me. Time passes really fast! Seem like no long ago we are still sharing info and anxieties!

Hi lomotion,

ART such as IUI, ICSI, IVF, GIFT etc are all non-subsidised treatment. However, if u are intending to get it done at a govt hospital, u will have to go thru a series of test b4 u can be referred for IVF/ICSI. U can get a referral letter from polyclinic to the hosp and these tests will be at subsidised rates. Once u completed the tests and the hosp referred u further for IVF/ICSI, u will no longer get any subsidy.

As for discomfort after ooclyte pickup, I only got gastric-like pain for a few days, but that could also be attributed to the antibiotics that we need to take after ooclyte pickup.

Hi hopeformiracle,

The amount u can claim from medisave is $6K, $5K and $4K for your 1st, 2nd and 3rd cycle respectively.

Hi vonvon,

U will have 5 days MC after ER. Since ET is on the 2nd day after ER, that means u will still have 3 days MC left. Then after that, u can ask the nurse for extra MC, up to a max of another 5 days.

Thanks chemistry,

Understand that the 5 days given will be hospitalization leave, right? If we request for additional rest after ET, will it still be hospitalization leave or MC?

Will stress affect the success rate?

Hi potato_chip,

Will definitely watch tonight's First Mums for my reference. Thanks.

Hi vonvon78

The additional 5 days will be MC. To me, I belief stress will affect the success rate. Even when you are trying naturally and unsuccessful, one of the question your gynae usually asked will be "Is your job stressful?"

So, try to relax as much as possible during your IVF process, although it is easier to say than done.

Hi ET

I am considering. Will wait for your cost. I think I will put this issue aside until maybe around Oct/Nov cos will be quite busy lately. Besides, I feel bad to keep taking MC. At least, not taking MC for the next few months then take a longer MC during Oct/Nov instead of only 1 days MC (for my recent FET).

Hope to hear your good news soon.

Hi Potato Chip,

I also wont be starting my FET soon until Aug coz my work schedule for the next few months will be a stressful one.

Watched First Mums last night (starring Kym Ng). Seems like it's quite important to have complete rest at home after ET so that success rate will be higher.

But on the other hand, there are also many who goes to work as normal & still prove to be a success.

I'm in a dilemma as to whether I should opt to stay home or work as normal.

Hi ET

So you will still be earlier than me. Please me keep updated about your visit to the two RE. I was thinking is there a need to see my RE in May if I have no intention to start my next FET now.

Hi Vonvon78

Different RE have views about this bed rest. For tomatoes, her embryologist advised her to have complete rest for the two weeks after ET and was given HL or MC for the whole two weeks. As for the government hospital, NUH gives more MC compared to SGH and KKH (if I am not wrong). KKIVF does not believe complete rest will affect the success rate. Even after the ET, they only let you rest for 5 to 10 mins on the bed. Whereas for tomatoes, she rested for few hours on the bed
. I am also very confused.

For my case, I did not request for additional MC after the fresh ET (cause I was not aware that I could request for it) and went back to work immediately after the 5 days MC. During my recent FET, which falls on Friday, I was only given 1 day MC and I took 1 day leave on the following Monday. Unfortunately, I failed both. I could be due to insufficient rest!? Anyway, the RE will not be able to find an answer to any failures

Hi Vonvon/Potatochip

For me, I took the extra 5 days MC and another 2 days leave cos for my case, I need to travel to KKH for progesterone jab every morning for 17 days after ET. The only thing I think helps is there is lesser stress from work loh. So if your work is pretty demanding, it good to extend the MC and stay at home.

Hi Poohy

Congrats on your bb samuel... so happy for you. Yesterday I went to have maternity tour at Gleneagles, after seeing and knowing what will happen at the delivery suite... my fear has started to come liao.. but also look forward to that day to meet my bb.

Hi Vonvon & Potato Chip

Ya lor, different centre has different practices. However, my advise is that if you able to take off/mc/leave to rest, by all means do that... dun take any risk lor. If your working really needs you to be around or your mc/HL only limits you to that no. of days, then no choice lor.

Honestly speaking, the method/practice that my centre uses is actually very conservative type - cannot do this, cannot do that... KKH & TMC actually adopts a more "modern" way for IVF/ICSI.

Hi chemistry & potato_chip,

Thanks for your comments.

Think I'll discuss this with my hubby to see how we would like the arrangement to be. Then will talk to my supervisor (she knows abt this program that I'm going thru'...she's very understanding & supportive).

chemistry,

Regarding the jab that we've to take daily for 17 days after ET, I'd understand that we can get a GP to do so for us. It'll be more convenient for me coz' clinic is just 5 mins walk from home.

Hi Vonvon/Potatochip,

I've got a friend who goes to the extreme to ward his wife in hospital for 3 days after their FET. He advise me to do the same too. But I did not heed his advise. His wife is now 3 mths pregnant. They are really really very happy coz they finally see a '+' after their 8th IVF/FET attempt.

Hi Vonvon

Ya is true that you can get a GP to jab for you. If I not wrong, it cos S$10 to S$15 per jab but is free at KKIVF. So the decision is up to you.

Hi ET

Maybe I should really take a good rest if I intend to do my FET next round. In fact, to be honest, I guess we are the one who caused both failure. Hb and me always thought that as long as I don't walk too much or carry anything heavy and watch up my diet will be fine. For my fresh ET which was closed to Christmas, instead of complete rest, I was busy helping the food preparation for my sister's year end party. And for the recent FET, on the second day after my FET, we went for "qing ming" prayer, climbed to level 3 cos no lift available and stood there for an hour. I guess it was a wrong timing for my FET cos this prayer is unavoidable, so I should have chose another month for my FET

So hope you will heed your friend and tomatoes' advise for your FET. Btw, I m very tempted to switch to your RE cos he is really very prompt and patience in his email reply

Hi potato_chip,

Is it a long wait at KKH to get the jab done? What abt the jab that's to be taken at night before ER? Also done at KKH or can be at GP? If at KKH, how long will the wait be & is it free also? When it mentioned night, what time can we go down to get the jab?

Hi Vonvon

Normally you don't have to wait for long for the day progesterone jab. U can walk-in anytime of the day. Most of the people there in morning are waiting for u/s, blood test or review.

For my jab before ER, I had it at 8pm sharp (not too sure about others) at the KK 24 hrs clinic. The timing is critical because even you are early at the clinic, the nurse will wait till the exact time for the jab. Yes, it is free as well. The nurse at KKIVF will let you know the time to go for the nite jab.

Hi potato chip,

I see...thanks for sharing.

I think I'll do the jab before ER at KKH 24hrs clinic. Can this daily progesterone jab be done in the evenings? If so, may consider doing it every night at KKH 24hrs clinic. Else, may want to consider doing at GP so that I need not travel to & fro the hospital everyday.

Hi Poohy

What a lovely son. So envy. I will work very hard for one. Hope your no. 2 will come soon.

Hi Vonvon

For the daily jab, you can only go to KK 24 hrs clinic on Sunday and public holiday, because KKIVF is closed. For weekdays, they will not entertain you. Even going on Sunday and PH, you must go before 10am. By the way, you don't have to worry about this jab yet cos different people will have different prescription, depends on what your RE suggest. Some people only need to go down once twice or thrice a week. So don't be too worry now.

Hi CT

Hope you are doing well now. Will pray for you when I go to temple tomorrow.

Hi Maya

How about you? MIA again?

Hi Potato chip..
Yap still around..saw Poohy's son..he's so adorable...how I wish I can be successful this time round... counting down to the results day, hoping for Miracles...BTW, so nice that you still have embryos left...Have used up mine..quite scared to go through the whole cycle again....

Hi Peach

So are you on two weeks MC now and on complete bed rest? Grap some baby dust from Samuel. Hope to hear your good news soon.

I am also very concern with the balance I have. If I fail again, then I will have to start the whole process all over again
. Last nite, hb was suggesting to me why not we go and ask for direction from the God, which month is the best time for my next FET. Actually, last nite when I watch Kym's failure, I felt like crying

Tomorrow will go temple to pray for all of you

Hi poohy,

Samuel looks so adorable leh, esp the 1-day old pic. His cheeks looks so pink & "pinchable"
! Me looking forward for arrival of my darling too, but still got 3mth+ more to go!

Hi Potato Chip,

I suggest you still go back for a review and see what the Dr say lor. no harm right...but of course got to pay for consultation fees lah.

Dr Yeong quite fast in his email reply...previously when he is with KKH, I always email him. That's why I began to trust him and decided to stick to him and heed his advise to try IVF but in the end he left....haiz...But, he told me not to be discouraged and dont worry coz kkivf Drs are very experienced and if he can of any help, can still email him. He also ask me to update him of my progress. so touch right...

Hi Vonvon,

For the night jab, it depends on what time is ur OPU, if urs is 9am, then ur jab will be 9pm. This is because, ovulation will usually take place 36 hours later after the injection.

As for the jab after ET, it depends on how many eggs are collected. If more than 15, then u will take daily jab. Otherwise, it is 1 HCG shot very 3 days, total of 3 shots. what potato chip say is right. dont need to worry for now.

I also took the extra 5 days MC. It is better to rest than to regret it later. so if it is a failure, u wont blame urself for not having enough rest. just tell urself that u've tried ur best. Btw, for ur info, the MC will indicate the dept as 'Womens IVF'

Hi Westbb,
Thanks for the info. I missed your posting yesterday. I wonder why.

So for $12k it is for your first attempt and you succeeded? If yes CONGRATS to you!

So, in general, TFC is about almost double the price of KK...

hi Tomatoes,

I was in Gleneagles as well on Thursday.
As hbby went for the Varicocele op.
And is resting at hm now

I stayed in the room most of the time to read my books / watch TV while waiting for him

We might hv pass by each other unknowingly on that same day

Think of all the joy u will hv on the arrival of ur bb that will ease away all fear ...meanwhile don't think too much ... hv FAITH

Hi ET,

Oh no! You mean the MC will be indicated as Women's IVF? If that's the case, I may not be able to use that MC as my company doesn't ack MC relating to pregnancy.

would like to seek your opinion based on you guys experience. My bHCG is just 66.xx on week 4 from last mensus period. Is this too low? Although I read from website, its is possible but seems all of you BHCG were pretty high, wats the reason?

To those who have progesterone in oil injection, did you still feel painful on next day? I feel its painful during jab and its fine half an hr later. 2 hrs later have some painful but it disappear with a gentle massage for 2 mins. Its is normal? thx

sori may be I shall add on some info to my previous msg. Check with doc and he said is normal, it will double up on next 48 or 72 hrs. Will do another test on coming Mon, pray hard it is double up!

crazy4baby,

i think its normal to feel painful for awhile with the PIO jabs. Each time i took those jabs, the whole thigh area will be painful...normal

Hi crazy4baby,

yes, HCG will dble up every 48 hrs if u are preggy. Al the best to your test on Mon.

As for the progesterone jab, my thigh will feel crampy for a day or 2.

Hi vonvon,

The MC that I was given the last time indicate the dept as "RM" which means reproductive medicine. The MC is not sign by Dr Loh, but by the doc on duty.

Hi vonvon n chemistry,
my 5 days hospitalisation leave indicated as RM (the chit is green in colour) but when i took the extra 5 days MC. the chit is computer printed with dept indicated as womens IVF so i went to ask the nurse whether they can change but the answer was no, they have just changed to computerised printing. so no choice lor, when i submit my mc, i was very worried that my dept PA will check every details of the chit n go around telling other people but so far ok.

vonvon, how come ur co like that want, can dont recognized mc relating to pregancy meh. tell ur boss u underwent treatment relating to womens problem not pregnancy. if they still dont recognized, maybe u go to gp, tell the gp that u r under ivf treatment, need to have few days rest. i think they will give.

Hi Poohy & chemistry,
Thx for sharing. Beside injection, I take duphaston 1tab 3 times a day. does this mean my womb very weak, need a lot of hormone support?

Chemistry, u still feel crampy on a day or 2? but I dun feel pain on next day unless I touch the injection 'dot'. Must check wif my doc the reason 2moro. so worry that my body lack of the hormone, hence absorb in a very fast speed??
I really know nothing abt this. still catch up by reading from books and website and u guys posting... really learn a lot from u guys... thx.

crazy4bb,

think most people takes duphaston during the 1st trimester of their pregnancy
Me too ... took it 3 times a day with weekly PIO jabs for 3 months.... good to have more hormone support mah

Hi ET,

I will have to double check on the policy again. What I recalled was that they don't recognise MC relating to pregnancy. The last time I went to KKH for a scan, Dr Loh gave me a MC to cover for the day. When I submitted to HR, they called me up & asked if it was due to pregnancy & of course at that point in time, my ans was no.

If the MC or HL indicates as IVF or RM, I really don't know how. Likewise, I don't want HR to go around asking & end up having the entire dept knowing what I went thru'. I've also thought of the other alternative of getting a GP issue MC to cover.

My supervisor knows that I'm undergoing this. Maybe I'll just ask her how & see what she can help me with.

By the way, is there really no way to just get a normal MC or HL that doesn't specify the dept?

I really don't want to 'stress' myself over this. At most I take unpaid...afterall, I think it'll all be worth it.

poohy,
i c. now more relief. your baby so cute and I hope I am going to have one like you soon.

poohy, did u feel anything in ur early pregnancy? how many wks later then u hv so called symptoms or m/s? and wat r the symptoms?

now should be 4wks+ from last mensus period but I still dun feel anything leh.. quite worry! but doc said as long as no blood its ok!?

now i feel so worry abt 2moro BHCG test, I bexome very bad temper these 2 days. my mind unable to settle down lah!
sigh....

crazyforbb,

same like u ... I dun feel a thing during my early pregnancy... in fact I never had any morning sickness throughout my pregnancy. Towards the week 5 onwards I started to have leg pains at my joints.... probably uterus expanding or hormone. Till ard wk 18 I started to feel slightly baby movement like bubbling

during early pregnancy, most impt is the bhcg double every 2 days. Like wat your doc say, as long as no bleeding, shd be pretty ok. During my wk5, I had VERY heavy bleeding with big blood clots suddenly. Went to kkh 24hour emergency ... was scared to death that I will lose my baby again cos I just had a miscarriage not too long ago then. My gynae did a scan for me and found the sac still there.... and a BIG blood clot near it... subchrionic bleeding. Anyway, thats why I was put on weekly PIO jabs and see my gynae every week then follow by every 2 week in my 1st trimester after the initial 2 week hospitalization leave and bedrest.

Hi crazy4baby,

I was taking the PIO jab daily for 17 days after ET. The nurse jab till can't find a good spot to jab. Maybe that's why i feel the cramp for a longer period. Once i was confirmed preggy, I was given duphastan, 1 tablet a day only.

As what poohy say, no bleeding is definitely a good sign. During early pregnancy, i also have not much symptoms. Only felt them around 7 weeks...mainly bloatedness and vomitting starts around 9 week for me. Not all pregnant women had symptoms. I got got some colleagues who go thru their 1st trimester without MS at all.

Hi Tomatoes,

Tks, my hubby r all right

Guess both of us hv quite high tolerance for pain and we normally try not to take too much of the painkiller given.

Will contiune to see Prof Chen for his follow up...

Stay cool

thx Poohy n Chemistry, feel so much better talking to u guys... thx a lot!

I just back from blood test this morning, really feel lousy and no mood to work so take leave to wait for the result at home. this is my 2nd BHCG test, really pray hard its double up increasing.

my doc suggested me to hv 2jabs a wk, 1tab 3times a day, I hv no idea based on what he came to this arrangement. He said on last Fri that 10days later will be able to hear baby's heartbeats
really looking forward for this day!

for time being I will pray hard at home...... will keep u guys update on my test....

Hi crazy4baby,

I started taking PIO jab b4 pregnany because I went thru ICSI and it's a kind of support after egg transfer.

Do be positive and hope to hear good news from u this afternoon!