Hi ET

Hope my experience will not affect your decision for FET but I really felt that I should share my experience with you.

I had my beta test on last Friday (15 days after ET). Sad to say, the result is worse than my first attempt, the hormone level is less than 15 (by right should be around 200). The nurse told me that my mensus will come within the next few days. I was so
. She even told me there isn't a need to re-test my blood for the next few days. She asked me to arrange an appointment to see my RE myself
,which is about 3 wks later (isn't it very long). I felt that I am really at a lost now. Seems like nobody could help me now as I do not know how could I contact Dr Sheila directly. At least our RE should take the initiative to meet us and investigate/discuss with us the cause of our failure and our next course of action.

I would suggest that for your next visit, you should ask for her name card or email address or contact no. so that we can contact her directly. Like Chemistry, she could drop her RE an email when ever necessary. For us, we have to wait for the appointment and the long Q before seeing our RE

Hi Miko,

Sorry to hear abt your last failed IVF. Think you should be in better hands under Prof Chen.
Similar to you and Tomatoes, I was diagnosed with Endo while my hubby went for varicocele surgery (Think the result din improve too much either). We tried one round of clomid and went on straight to IVF..but unfortunately failed even with Grade 1 embryos.

Potato chip,
Understand how you feel now. Let's hope for better luck in our next attempt.

Hi Miko,

After my hubby's surgery, he was on medication for 2 months before his SA test, not much improvement. So he took another month of medicine and took another SA test, again same bad results.

As for me, 2 months after my laparoscopy, was on serophene for 2 cycles, then Prof Chen suggested IVF, which means about 4 months later after our surgery.

Hi Potatoe chip,

Dont be too sad, that's the kind of service we get in kkh since we are paying lesser. In KKH, it is the opp. if u want to see RE, u call to make appt, the RE will not take the initiative, worst scenario, sometimes they dont even remember that you are her patient. There are so many patient in KKIVF that they have to see each day. Unless, your case is complicated or u've been seeing her many times, they might remember you. For me, this RE is new to me, beside doing the ER & ET for me, I've yet to see her for any consultation before coz all the while, I've been seeing Dr Yeong and when I decided to start IVF, he left, so I changed my RE to Dr SF Loh. In the end, I landed myself under Dr Sheila Loh care coz Dr SF Loh is outstationed during my ER & ET period.

When I know that I've failed my IVF, I'm also at a lost. Luckily, nurse sarah did console me and say that she will arrange an appt for me to see Dr Sheila, but her appt is very packed and the earliest possible date is 4wks later.

My intention is to see Dr Sheila 1st and see what advise was given before I decide the next step. the option of seeing a private RE is going to be too financially straining for me.

Before, Dr Yeong left, he did ask me to keep him updated on my progress, and he will still reply my email if I need his advise. so far, I've yet to email him. the thot is there but just been lazy. coz I've yet to get over my failure and dont want to think or do anything related to TTC for the moment. I've been keeping myself busy with lots lots of work, trying to forget about IVF.

For now, I'll suggest that you call for an appointment soon.

btw, do you still have any frozen embroys?

Hi Peach

Thanks. Will see what my RE said when I see her in May. Thought of switching to private but I need to know where it has gone wrong.

Hi ET

Is true lor. Compared to the price of private, definitely the service is different. I have been seeing her since my first appointment. Like what you mentioned, they can't remember we are their patient anyway.

I do have 3 more frozen embryo left. I think I will take a break for the next few months as my work schedule will be very tied. Wish you all the best. Remember to ask for her name card. Alternatively you may still email to Dr Yeong for advise. He is so nice to leave his email address with his patients

Hi Potatochip,

Sorry to hear about your FET. Maybe it good to rest for a short period first before trying your next FET.

ET/Potatochip,

U have to ask Dr Sheila Loh directly for her email address cos it is not indicated on her namecard.

I was wondering if we can still transfer our embryoes out of KKH if we wanted to change to pte. I still got 6 frozen embroyes at KKH and I got a feeling tha Dr SF Loh may not stay long with KKH too though he assured me that he will still around in KKH by the time I deliver. He's a very nice dr and most of the time willing to squeeze u in even his appt is already very packed! If u still want to stick with KKH, may want to consider switching to see him for your next FET, but waiting time may also be as long as Dr Sheila Loh.

Hi Chemistry

Thanks for the info. Glad that you are still monitoring this thread cos many members are missing from this thread. By the way, there is an article on today's TODAY by Dr SF Loh.

I was thinking of leaving the frozen embryoes at kkh and start a fresh new cycle with pte (since already paid for the storage charge). But I am sick of going through the test and scanning all over again
. sign...

Toes / Marine,

Thanks and appreciate for ur feedback, both of U r right the results do varies from person to person

Therefore what I can do is just to hope for the BEST for my hubby after the op. now

Marine - ONCE AGAIN ALL THE BEST TO YOU 1ST

Peach,

TAKE IT EASY, be strong accept it as a challenge which you have to overcome.

We are different and we hv to go though much much much more diffcult to hv our bb
(to fullfill our dream )

I m sure that day when we succeed, the accomplishment and rewards is far more than words...

Stay very positive :)

As we had

Hi Potatochip,

But embroyes can only store up to 5 year right. Should try to make use of them while they are "fresh"! I also cannot imagine myself having the need to go thru the whole treatment again. So hoping the frozen embroyes can give me 1 or 2 more babies. I will not wait too long too, probably will do a FET 9-12 mth after delivering my baby.

For those who are still trying, please dun give up. I sure u will suceed one day.

Hi Chemistry

Ok. Then I will try to finish the frozen embroyes by this year. By the way, who knows, maybe you don't need the frozer embroyes cos after delivering, woman tends to be very fertile

Ya, for those who are still trying, please don't give up. Must always stay positive. I heard of a lady who had two pairs of twins through IVF, isn't it great
. So never give up all our friends here. Will pray for all of you.

potato chip, yah going thru all the tests are indeed very frustrating. What I did is always stay focus on your goal (to conceive!) and when u finally succeed (and we all will!) you would feel that all these that we are going through are worth it!

miko, your are so right... i think we as IVF/ICSI mummies are stronger in many ways considering the challenges we have faced. i'm sure all of us here will succeed in our pursuit of our own bb, no matter which routes we eventually take.

chemistry, i think should not be a problem to transfer your embroyoes out. we transferred my hubby's sperms out from SGH to TMC last time too, but got to pay for the transfer & handling fee (can't remember how much liao).

i picked up a copy of guide on assisted conception at my gynae's clinic and thought some of us may be interested in the info inside. but the attachments are too big to be attached here. if any of u interested can email me ok [email protected]

Hi Potato chip,

last night, i wrote an email to Dr Yeong, he responded my email this morning. fast hor.

He suggested that I transfer my embryos from KK to TMC, so that he could do the monitoring as well as the transfer for me. He told me that KK charges a $50 admin fee for the transfer.
will check out more details with him

Btw, do you know how much is the cost of FET in KKH. so that we could compare.

Since, the transfer fee is only $50, if the FET cost workout to be the same or just slightly more, I will consider do my FET with Dr Yeong since I m quite comfortable with him liao. Most importantly, he knows who am I and also my medical history.

Hi ET

Wow Dr Yeong really very efficient lei. I think Dr Sheila don't even know who I am even if she saw me on the road

I think the S$50 is worthwhile lor. For my FET, RE suggested natural thaw, so I did not take any jab or medication before ovulation. The cost including scanning to determine the date of ovulation is S$880. Hope this info is useful for your comparison.

Hi Westbb

Thanks for your encouragement and advise. You are right, we are all very brave and strong women. By the way, u may email yr article to [email protected]. Thanks.

Hi Potato Chip,

I just emailed Dr Yeong for the est. cost of FET in TMC. waiting for his reply. Prob. after my next wk review with Dr Sheila, I will go visit Dr Yeong for a review too.

Hi ET

Can you email me Dr Yeong's email address. Cos very tempted to seek his advise oso. My email is [email protected]. Thanks.

I am glad that this thread start to active again
I was so bored when this thread was so quiet last two weeks, thought no more supporters

hope everyone is doing fine.

I agree that we will cherish our bb more .. say for one of my friend, she strike naturally at 1st attempt and she really take things for granted ...eating all the liang and unhealthy food despite knowing it. Things have come too easy for her so she doesn't cherish that much lor.

I have tried to tell her, but she ignored.

Hi Annie

Precisely. Always seeing people smoking and drinking during pregnancy, dumping away their newborn babies, abusing their child, etc. really make me heartache.

Hi ET

Good that Dr Yeong is so caring...
I think it isn't too much of a hassle to transfer the embryos out from KKH to TMC. Most important is we must select the RE that we trust most

Yes, we are all stronger compared to other mummies. I was devastated when I learnt that I have gestational diabetes initially. But having thinking through it, it's nothing compare to how hard I tried for the last 2 years to conceive.

And I believe that our children will know what we have gone through to bring them to this world.

Would like to join in this thread as I have just started on my IVF/ICSI program with KKH.

Just started on my Lucrin jab last Thursday. Wasn't as bad as I thought it will be. Was initially very terrified at the thought of having to be injected daily as I'm very afraid of needles.

Been reading some of the posting and am happy to hear of success stories. Any advise on what I should be doing/eating or things to avoid doing/eating during this program?

Hi ET

Received your mail. Thanks.

The $880 include the ET and scanning for ovulation, exclude the insurance and urine test (HPT). They charge each HPT at about S$26, which they request us to do so as the ovulation is drawing close. Will depend on how many times you need to do a HPT test (I have used 5 HPT).

Do keep me inform on how much Dr Yeong charge too in case I want to transfer to him as well.

The article on TODAY is about the diet to watch for people who are trying to conceive. You can go to www.todayonline.com.sg and look for yesterday's paper.

Hi vonvon,

U can refer to Dr Loh's article in Today. Besides that, Dr Loh only asked me to aviod chinese herbs during that period. Personally, I avoid all cold stuff such as softdrinks, ice-cream, juices etc. Took lots of eggs, fish, pork and spinach. That's all.

Hi chemistry,

Thanks for the advice. Was told by nurse that I'm to go down for a scan & blood test next Wed & wait for result in the afternoon. Does that mean that I've to make another trip down to KKH to get the Puregon medication/jab?

How are you feeling now? How's the progress with your baby?

Hi vonvon,

Yes, u need to go down again to get the puregon. The bloodtest & scan will determine when u can start the puregon. Which gynae is handling your IVF/ICSI?

I'm ok so far. Baby is average size from my detail scan last month. Tonight will be seeing Dr Loh for my routine check.

Can I join in the thread? :p I've been trying to conceive for the past 2 years plus, but was unsucessful. My hubby was having low sperm count (10 mil only) and the motility rate was not very good too. Though my hubby has been going for acupunture treatment for the past 1 year, and there is improvement, however the improvement was quite slow. Is IUI and IVF the only way to get pregnant?

I've make an appointment with Dr Sheila Loh from KKH next month, however I read that her queue were very long and only avaliable on weekdays. Haiz..

Hi SSL,
Heard that you've been with Dr Eunice Chua for quite some time, how do you find her? And is her queue very long as well? Is it difficult to get an appointment on Sat and does her clinic open during the evening hours? Sorry for asking so many questions.. I thought for choosing Dr Eunice Chua over Dr Sheila Loh. Thanks!

Hi chemistry,

Glad to hear that your pregnancy has been doing well.

My gynae is also Dr SF Loh.

So, if the result of blood test turns out to be fine on Wed, then I'll have to go down to KKH the next day?

Then during the period after ET, is there anything I should do/eat or avoid doing/eating?

Hi ET

Have Dr Yeong revert back to you the cost of FET?

Hi Sunflower

I am a patient of Dr Sheila Loh. You must be prepared to wait for about 3 hrs. In case, there is any urgent operation or delivery, the waiting time might be even longer. I waited for 4 hrs before. I am not sure about Dr Eunice Chua. One thing for sure is, she is very detailed in her explanation. Even though she speaks very fast, she still spent about 20-30 mins with each patient

I tried to read all posting under this thread, is very very encouraging and so happy to all the successful MTB! this really help us to be more positive towards ART.

I just hv my laparoscopy done early this mth to remove endo. after this would like to go for IUI. any IUI mother or MTB to share your view/experience?
thx a lot!

Hi Potato Chip,

yes Dr Yeong replied this morning but I was too busy with work, didnt have time to log in.

He's not sure about cost just ask me to arrange to meet him at the TFC one afternoon after my review at KKH and I can discuss with him and also talk to the staff for the costing.

I've also check with him what is my chance of success for FET if my frozen embroys is of lower grade and they are also slow growing. He said success may not be so good
But he said this is only a guess, need to assess again after thawing.

Hi freund,

I suggest you TTC naturally after lap for another 3 months. who knows, u might strike coz during surgery, all the unwanted stuffs are removed and the womb is super clean. I know there are people who manage to conceive after lap was done.

I am new to this thread and has been reading in random about your experiences with IVF. However, this thread is so long so I probably miss out some info ;-P So can some of you help me with my queries?

We are seriously considering IVF after 5 yrs of TTCing. Has anyone compared the price of IVF at TMC and KKH? Can anyone let me know how it will cost (include normal compulsory procedures like checkups, consultations, egg retrieval etc etc) to have the 1st attempt at KKH and TMC?

Does anyone know what is the success rate at KKH and TMC?

Also, I read about some of you saying that you have to go through 'pain' during the process? Besides the mental stress, what are the physical pain involved?

I hope I am not troubling you too much with my ignorant questions. Thanks!

hi ET...

if its convenient.. maybe u can share with us the associated cost of fertility treatment at TFC. I am thinking of going thru the ART again in 6 mths time under Dr yeong and would really appreciate to know the cost involved beforehand as I had done it previously at kkivf

Hi lomotion,

I think there is only slight discomfort during the stimulation stage. u tend to have bloatness feeling. i think that's about all on the physical part.

lomotion,

maybe u can start by seeing a RE to find out the reason for infertility (if any) in your 5 years of TTC. That will help u find out whether you will need to go thru IVF or are there any other options

hi poohy,

wah, so long didnt hear from you, u just gave birth??

I will update u gals the cost once i know it. Perhaps, whoever being thr the ART programe at TCF would be able to share with us.

ET,

ya long time since we last "chat". Yup, just given birth and my boy samuel was delivered by dr yeong and is going to turn 1 month this sunday
We are already planning to have number 2 in 6 mths time... hopefully this time round we will be as successful as the last time.. I really dread another 3-4 years of TTC again.

Hi Poohy,

Congratulations! I can imagine the joy of happiness when ur baby is born. Hope my this day will come soon too!
You should consider TTC naturally 1st, sometimes after birth, your system is back to normal and TTC is easy within the 1 yr after birth. This is what I heard from my colleagues.

Hi poohy,

Congrats on the birth of your son! Is your labour process smooth?

Hi vonvon,

KKIVF will let u know when to start the puregon jab. For my case, it was 4 days later. As for the diet after ET, it's still the same for me. I only stop exercising once i started the puregon jab.

Hi lomotion,

A fresh IVF cycle in KKIVF would cost about $6.5K to $9K depending on how much medication u required and the procedures taken etc. Mine cost about $8.5K, on the high side cos I had a higher dosage of medication and they did laser hatching for one of my embroyes. For sucess rate at KKIVF, u may refer to the following url: http://www.kkh.com.sg/MedicalSpecialtiesnServices/Centres/KKIVFCentre/

ET, chemistry,

thanx! I delivered my boy with abt 3 hours labour naturally without epidural. Prob becos he was early (37th wk) and small in size (2.63kg). I should say the whole process was very smooth... else I wont be thinking of having another child so soon haha
But I try not to place too much hope for fear we will encounter more difficulties this time round.

ET, ya I heard that some PCOS symptoms may be suppressed for a while after birth.... but the underlying problem remains. For some people the problem got worst. So I hope to ttc naturally after 3 months and in the 6th month, we will move on to ART. My hubby and I love children and we wanted to have 3-4 children...so gotta be fast else age may further deteriorate any problem. And better for the kids to have closer age gap...

thx ET, I know nothing just hope that can hv a baby n solve the endo problem fast as recurrence rate of endo is pretty high!

Hi lomotion, i did my ICSI at TFC under Dr LC Cheng. My total cost for the procedure is about $12K, but this excludes gynae consultations BEFORE the actual procedure start cos I was referred to TFC as my original gynae at MAH does not do IVF/ICSI. Also, the costs will vary depends on how much stimulation drugs you need, some needs more and some needs less. The drugs are the most expensive part of the treatment. Also, from what I read from the gals who tried in KKH, the drugs they used are different. TFC is using GonalF and KKH is using Puregon, did i get it right??

poohy, congrats on your bb Samuel! Saw his photo that u posted in another thread, he's really gorgeous! So you'll be trying IUI again? Will u try natural first? Maybe after giving birth will be super-fertile and u don't even need ART leh??
My hubby also wanted 3-4 kids, i always rolled my eyes and tell him 'see how lah!'

Thanks chemistry, poohy and ET.

I have read the attached website and had a better understanding. Just wondering what kind of pain is there during the ooclyte pickup? I cannot take physical pain. ;-P

Also is there a price difference if we get a referral from polyclinic for the IVF?

My husband and I have gone through treatments and we are now normal but still no success.

Hi chemistry,

Oh, 4 days later...so long? I thought it's the following day. Anyway, thanks for the advice.

I'm considering if I should take leave to stay home after ET coz' it's pretty stressful at work & I'm not sure if this will affect the success rate. Pls advise.