Hi tomatoes,

My scan is in the afternoon today. So excited that I cannot conc on my work now. kekeke... Actually, I quite worried that the detailed scan shows my bb to be a boy. Last mth, my gynae say likely to be a gal and so my hubby and parents got quite a lot of gal-gal stuff oredi. And personally, i do like gal more than boy also. Anyway, most important is that bb is growing well. Will update u gals tomorrow.

Hi Chemistry

Can feel your excitment now
Ya, boy or gal oso ok... most important thing is that our bb to be healthy
Will wait for your update tomorrow

hi annie, i didn't store the test kits in any special way but i think ur idea of using ziplock is great. the line colours will faint after sometime but still can see that it's a "+" lor hehe... i also use a marker to write on the test kit the dates that i tested cos i tested twice. i also started a simple 'journal' where i can scribble about how i feel and the progress of the pregnancy, my beta nos, my weight gain, scans update etc.. now still writing as and when got 'inspiration'. it's very heartwarming to read back

as for the EDD, u can go a pregnancy website where they will calculate the EDD for u by just inputing ur menses Day1 date.

chemistry, tomatoes, i'm 31 weeks now... bb due on 24May. so by the time i would have gain probably about 16kg... urrgghh

agree, most important bb is healthy, 21st century boy or girl makes no difference already. i was talking to a friend who always conceive easily on 1st/2nd try, she is expecting a 3rd girl... she sounded quite disappointe but i told her, many people are going through so much difficulties and pain just to have one bb, she is already very blessed to have bb as and when she wants! most impt is that bb is healthy!

tomatoes,

so soon!
ya, better leave some space in luggage and bring an extra bag, just in case! :p

chemistry,

I am excited for you too ... just like I am waiting for mine next week. :p will come in and check tomolo!

westbb,

well... when the kit is handed to me ... it's already in a zip lock bag, maybe gynae know that I will sure keep it. :p

I never open the bag. :p Maybe I'll just stick a label on the bag with the date on it.

I cleared my confusion liao .. I tot count 40weeks from conception date, I got it now. Thanks! wow, you are in 31 week liao! don't worry about weight gain, as long as you and bb are doing well.

annie,

think your gynae will be able to give u a EDD when u do the scan. they normally measure the bb length and then there will be a corresponding date

westbb,

so fast 31 weeks liao ! haha next week will be your growth scan ? Me in my 36w4d. Actually its abt 37wk liao cos during the last scan my EDD move forward by 2 days
expecting my bb anytime from now liao though a bit worried cos havent engaged
dun worry too much abt the weight gain... but do cut back on any high sugar/carbo food... think i myself cant cut back... cos I just took a big glass of coke just now even though I just promise myself no more from now on... lol.

chemistry/tomatoes,

hope u gals are progressing fine ... ;)

I am already a mother of one 22MO boy. Having this one is quite a miracle as DH was diagnosed with low sperm count and quality right from the beginning.

Have been TTC no. 2 for the past few months but no avail. Have been thinking whether we should do IVF. We had checked with Dr Sheila Loh of KKH and she recommend IVF due to poor sperm quality/count. Was suppose to see her yesterday but cancel the appt cos we can't decide what to do. Stumbled upon this and would like to find out more.

To whose who does IVF at KKH, please advise:
1. Dr Loh mentioned that all costs can be fully covered by medisave. But I read here that medicine cannot be claimed from medisave. So exactly how much is the cost claimable and how much have to be paid in cash?
2. She also mentioned that we only have to go back like 3 days in the morning for something. And afer embryo implant, only need 3 days of MC. What I read here seems like there are many days of visiting the clinic and weeks of MC after embryo transfer. Can someone summarise the month long procedure, including which days we have to be back at KKH. Do we have to wait long or we can just reach at 8am and be done by 8.30 so that we can get back to office at 9am, for e.g? How many days should we rest after embryo transfer?

Potato_chip,

so nice that you can go through a natural FET..My Gynae prefers a medicated process...I hope I won't end up with menopause if I continue to fail...

tomotoes..
thanks for the info...will try to look out for my embryologist in the upcoming visits..:>
And hope you have an enjoyable trip in Bangkok

thank you all for the encouragement

It's a long day for me yesterday at KKH. Went for detailed scan at 3.15pm and then gynae appt at 6pm. But gynae got held up with some matters and didn't come in till 7pm. By the time, i finish seeing him, it's already 8pm!! Anyway, today no need to go to work cos gynae give me MC to rest at home! Hurray!!! Super long weekend for me!

As for detailed scan yesterday, the outcome is ok & bb is growing well. The size & length etc are all within the middle of the normal range. BB also looks more proportional now. There was a part where the specialist tried to measure the full spine, but bb just hide at the corner and refused to move despite me turning left and right. The specialist even tried to shake my tummy with her scanner. Then I tell bb in my heart "BB, dun be naughty, cooperate and then mummy can go off earlier and bring u walk-walk." Then later she move a little and the full spine is measureable. kekeke... Oh yah, bb is 90% confirmed to be a gal!

After all the good news, the bad news is that my placenta seems to be a bit low. Gynae say to monitor again next mth cos as bb grow bigger, high chance that placenta will move up. Gynae also advise me not to take too much durians cos bb will grow very big. He say he got a patient who eat a lot of durians and her bb is 5kg at birth!

Hi poohy,

Time passes really fast...seems like just a short while ago that u announced your pregnancy and now u are going to the delivery ward soon. Hope u have a smooth labour and do update us!

hi chemistry,

great! you having a gal!

so cute abt your description of bb ...

dun worry, you still got some time to go ... things will get better.

I love durians! Just ate some 2 days ago ... I must moderate my diet.

Hi Jess,

I did ICSI (similar to IVF) at KKH cos DH has also low sperm count and quality. As to your queries, these are what I know:

1. All costs can be fully claimed from medisave, but capped at $6K for 1st attempt, $5K & $4K for 2nd and 3rd attempt. The total cost could range from $6K to $9K depending on how much medication u required. I spent about $8.5K.

2. The procedure is like this:
(i) Blood test on 2nd day of mense to determined when u can start Lucrin Jab.
(ii) See gynae to sign consent forms and social worker for counselling.
(iii) Lucrin Jab for about 2 weeks and then go back in the morning for scan and blood test. U will then be informed when to start puregon jab, usu 3-7 days later.
(iv) Puregon jab for 1 week, then scan and review progress with gynae on duty. Usu will need to continue puregon jab for another 2-5 days and scan+review every 2 days till eggs are ready to pick up.
(v) Go back to KKH at night to take HCG jab to mature the eggs and 2 days later go back for eggs retrieval. U will be given 5 days MC after egg retrieval.
(vi) 2 days later, go back for egg transfer.
(vii) Go back to KKH every 3-4 days for HCG jab or everyday for progesterone jab.
(viii) 17 days later blood test to determine pregnancy.

Hope i didn't confuse u. The Lucrin and Puregon Jab can be done by yourself but the HCG or progesterone jab had to be given by a nurse. Anyway, after the 1st 5-day MC, u can ask for extension of MC for up to another 5 days. As for the scans & review, if u reach KKH at 8am, usually u will be done by 9am or ealier depending on how many other patients reach there earlier than u.

Hi Chemistry

Congrats to you for having a ger-ger too!!!
Btw, the specialist also have difficulty taking the spine measurement of my bb. I also turned left and right. hee!

Hi Peach

Frankly speaking, I am not aware that there are diff FET procedures. It was decided by my RE, and I did not ask any question
Cos was already very sad with the failure at that time.

Hi All KK patients

Did all of u notice that KKIVF is very crowded lately? Their business is real good after the annoucement of high success rate among the public hospital. The waiting time is getting longer n longer

Hi Tomatoes, Annie, hopeful and chemistry

Thanks for your encouragement. I have only tried the normal IUI for 2 time. Do you think I should try the SO-IUI now? What is the procudure like and how much it cost? I am not sure if my gynae does SO-IUI. Do you have any gynae to recommend and the contact? I am so afraid now to face another failure.

Pardon my ignorance:

1) What is the difference between IUI and SO-IUI?

2) What is the difference between SO-IUI and ICSI?

3) What is the difference between ICSI and IVF?

Hi Peacy,

My SO-IUI cost breakdown (approximate as actual figure I have to check my bill) :

Puregon - 3* 300IU ($400+ each) = $1200 ++
IUI - $400 ( but mine is 2* = 800)
Medication - clomid (?), progestrone pessaries (60+)
Gynae Consultation - 3 * 90 = $270
Scan - 2*60 = $120

Total > $2450

I took clomid from Day 2-6, and Puregon 75iu per day from Day 5-8, Day 9 scan shows follicles are not growing fast enough, so dosage up to 150iu from Day 9-11, Day 12 I had my HCG jab, and IUI was done on Day 13 and Day 14.

But mine is private, because I am more comfortable to stick with my gynae. My gynae is Dr. Thong at Raffles Hosp.

As the gals have mentioned, the chances of SO-IUI is definitely higher than just IUI because more eggs are stimulated with the injectibles.

Hi west life,

hope the below article helps.

Ovulation Induction by Gonadotrophins (OIG)
In a natural cycle, only one egg develops. As in a fertility treatment, to increase the chances of being successful, daily hormone injections are given to make several eggs develop in the ovaries. Each egg develops in a little sac called a follicle. The hormone is scientifically known as gonadotrophins but is marketed under various names such as Gonal-F, Puregon, Pergonal and Humegon.
The development and growth of the follicles is monitored by ultrasound scanning of the ovaries and blood tests to measure the female hormone levels. When the follicles have reached their target size, a further single hormone injection is given to induce the final maturation of the eggs. The final maturation of the eggs takes place about 36 hours after this injection. This hormone is scientifically known as HCG and is marketed as Profasi or Pregnyl.

Intra Uterine Insemination (IUI)
IUI is a process when a quantity of washed and concentrated sperm is introduced into the wife's womb. This is done during the time when eggs are released from the ovaries (ovulation) in order to increase the chance of pregnancy. The best IUI results can be achieved when insemination is coupled with ovulation induced by fertility hormones. This treatment is suitable for a female who has no obvious fertility problems and a male who has reasonable sperm numbers, movement and shape.

In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF)This treatment is commonly referred to as the 'test-tube baby' program. It has helped many childless couples conceive after the first test-tube baby was born in 1977. IVF involves the removal of eggs (egg recovery) from the ovaries of the wife and mixing the husband's sperm (insemination) with the eggs outside the body in the laboratory.

The objective of this procedure is to allow one sperm to enter one egg to produce an embryo. One to three embryos will then be placed into the wife's womb (uterus), usually two to three days later. This step is called embryo transfer, or ET. These embryos will then attach or implant themselves to the inner lining of the uterus (endometrium) and develop into one to three babies.

Intra Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI)
ICSI is a process when a single sperm in injected directly into the centre of an egg to assist in fertilisation. After fertilisation, the fertilised eggs (embryos) are monitored for a few days before they are transferred back to the womb. ICSI is recommended for patients with low sperm number and/or poor sperm quality or have difficulties with fertilisation in the past.

Hi Chemistry,

Did I read wrongly? YOu said will be given 5 days MC after egg retrival? and I presume after egg transfer, there will be another long MC..so all in all about 2 weeks MC from egg retrival? wow that's long time...guess boss must be supportive.

hi tch,

In KKH, u will only be given MC for egg retrival (ER). No MC wil be given for egg transfer (ET). However, cos ET is about 2-3 days after ER, u will still got 2 days MC left after ER. If u need more MC, can ask for extension for another 5 days after the initial 5-day MC.

Hi Tomatoes

Can you advise me how you consumed the egg white? Cos I like soft boil egg, not too sure is it safe to eat it during IVF. Besides, did you throw away your egg yolk since only consuming egg white.

Today is my 11 days after ET, I dont have any pregnancy symptoms at all. I did a HPT today and it is negative. I had my last HCG jab on sunday. Now I m very disappointed & sad. My Beta test is on Mon.

Hi ET,

some gals have no early symptoms at all, so it might be a good sign.

I think it's still too early to test, urine test is not as sensitive as the blood test. I have heard of gals who only manage to get a positive test via HPT 1mth after they missed their menses. Wait for the blood test ok?

Hi annie,

I have been staying very positive all this while but I dont why, i just have this strong feeling these 2 days that I would fail for this cycle. I read previous posting by CT and dang, they too tested negative around 10 days after ET, and the beta is a disappointing negative.
Furthermore, my last HSG is sunday, by right there should still be some HSG in my body.

Hi ET,

Don't compare scenarios of other gals, each individual is different, right?

All I know that HPT is not very sensitive as compared to blood test, so dun worry too much.

Hi Peacy,

No problem. We can't use medisave for SO-IUI, only for IVF programs.
It makes sense to use for IVF because the program cost much more.

Hi ET,

Dun think neetively. It's definitely too early to do a test 11 days after ET. Try again probably later this week or otherwise wait for your blood test.

Hi ET, dun despair..we will pray for you..
I know how you feel...but there is still hope for you and everyone of us here...be positive..

Hi ET,

I can understand how you feel now. Just waiting for your result make these days seem so draggy. Can't imagine if I am the one going through it. Anyway, have faith and wish you all the best.

Hi, I am asking on my fren behalf....she went for IVF recently and have this so called blood test (i think its beta test) today.

Her reading is only 70plus, the nurse ask her to go back for beta test next monday. What is the chance of positive?

I read somewhere reading is 20+ to 4000+ right so her is 70plus is within the range right?

Please advise. She is quite worry at the moment.

Hi Celine

I am not too sure of the chance of positive for your friend. I can only share with you my experience. My 1st beta test showed 17. Like your friend, I was told to go back 2 days later for another blood test. Meanwhile, if there is bleeding, I will need to go down to kk immediately. The day when I had my 2nd blood test, there was slight bleeding and the blood test result showed 34, which the nurse said the increased was insignificant and she would contact my RE for further instruction. I was told to go down for 3rd blood test and scanning 2 days later. Sad to say, the result is negative already. I was told by RE this is biological pregnancy

Maybe your friend will be luckier than me
Ask her to stay positive over this weekend.

Celine, which week is your friend now? On my beta report, it states that for gestation week 4, the reading is 9.5 - 750mIU/ml. One beta reading may not tell much, so maybe the nurse just want to ensure that the beta grows at a satisfactory rate so she asked ur friend to come back for a 2nd reading. I did two readings last time too. Pls ask ur friend to continue to take care of herself and try to relax. Hope she gets a very good reading on Mon!!

chemistry, congrats on ur gal!! actually the ratio quite balanced hor, not true will get more boys leh :p

annie, how did ur scan go?

I realised some posts are missing ...

Potato chip,

you mentioned your progesterone is to be inserted into the anus ... I think it should be vagina (as for my case) ... maybe you check the instructions again/

Hi Annie

You are right. Something happened to the hard disk and the technician only managed to restore their latest backup, which I think was 31 March. The server was down for 2 days, so bored for the last two days. I think many of the members had gave up trying to log on. They are MIA now
. Hope all of them will be back very soon. I so glad to see you westbb back

I have confirmed with different nurses a few time. Even the pharmacist prescription also stated rectum insertion. I read the instruction in the box, it stated both vagina and anus also applicable.

How are you getting on? Have a nice weekend. By the way, I did post to ask you update me what are the things that are "liang", in case I overlooked. I think the posting was lost.

Hi westbb,

Thanks. I very happy to have a gal too. Parents and me bot so much clothing for her.. think she will be a pampered child next time. kekeke....

U preparing for delivery soon? Muct be very exiciting!

Hi Potato chip,

How are u feeling so far? For the liang stuff, I only avoid watermelon, pineapple, cold drinks, colling herbal drinks, tea etc. Drink more milk and take more hot food.

Hi tomatoes,

plse share with me the charges of your RE, such as consultation charges, blood test etc. I'm considering to do my FET in KKIVF and see your RE for close monitoring.

Hi ET

Estrogen blood and progesterone blood test cost $35 (excluding GST)each. Prof Chen consultation is $80 for 1st time and subsequently $50. You might wish to check with his nurses to find out more. His clinic no. is 64743900. If possible, try to speak to Charlene or Cynthia.

Hi Potato Chip

Dun take cold drinks oso

Hi Tomatoes

I sent you a private message few days ago. Did u receive it?

Just want to tell u that I'm 14 weeks pregnant.
So have u gone for the antenatal class at TMC?

Hi SSL

So happy for you!!!
No leh, din receive it leh.. if not, I would have congratulate you then..

Do share with us how did you strike. Actually when I din hear from you a long time, I suspected that you have striked liao... and true enuff!
So how are progressing? Any discomfort?
Who is your gynae now?

Sorry for so many questions? ;p Me just too happy for you

Yes, I just finished my 4th lesson at TMC (2 more to go). Very interesting... you must go too!

Hi Chemistry and Tomatoes

Thanks for the advise. Have been drinking alot of warm water, ate alot of fish (luckily happen to me one of my favourite food) and avoid carrying anything heavy.

I am glad you all are back to this thread
Is so bored without the support from all of you. Thanks.

hi potato chip,

oic, because my instruction indicated vagina only, I tot it makes sense since it is mean to support the womb.

As for the liang food - the gals have mentioned. to add on the list - coconut milk stuff like laksa, nasi lemak, curry etc ... try to avoid.
I think I missed that post ..

I am fine except no appetite to eat and feeling super tired ... but I guess it's part of the whole process so I'll have to cope with the change in the body, I am seeing my gynae again next week, week 8 by then.

hi tomatoes,

how's your trip?

Hi Annie

Thanks for the info. I also felt that it makes more sense to insert through the vagina. I remembered the nurse mentioned that it would be messy if insert thru vagina. I also saw some past posting mentioned about it. Anyway, I tried over the weekend inserted thru vagina. It is not messy at all. So now I started to insert thru vagina for the nite and anus for the morning.

By the way, I not too sure is the insertion causing me to fart alot too. So embarrassing

thanks for the advise potato chips and westbb.

My friend did the ET about 3 weeks ago and last friday is the date she is supposed to take blood test to measure her beta to show positive sign of her pregnancy.

But her reading show 75.5 and she did one blood test (thou not neccessary then) on last wednesday the reading is 55. Thou did increase abit from wed to friday but result not really convincing as nurse told her good signs usually need reading of 150plus above.

She went to KKH on sat to ask her nurse whether her pregnancy got high chance but the nurse said 50% only.

That's why I want to check with any of you gals go such incident yet you get pregnant.

Anyway she went for blood test this morning afternoon will know result...me also worry for her becoz she really very keen to have baby like most of you.

Hi Celine

Don't mention. We are just sharing our experience. Hope to hear good news from your friend this afternoon.

Hi ET

Your idea is great. But I just wonder will Prof Chen accept such arrangement. Please keep me updated after you check with his clinic. Because I also felt that there isn't any support from my RE after my FET. Nobody is monitoring our progress and we have to wait for the Beta test on the 16th or 17th days

potato chip,

I dun rem if I got increase in farting. :p maybe if you insert via anus ..some air will go in as well... :p so ..

not messy ...except it makes me feel wet so a bit uncomfortable lor ... and it does leak a bit ... maybe my techique not good. :p

Hi Celine,

Hope your friend will succeed.

Hi annie

My trip was just great! Really enjoyed myself there with the shopping and high tea. Hee! Really hope to go there again.

Hi Celine

Your friend is definitely pregnant but maybe the embryo is weak. It is true that the beta should at least double every 2 days. Actually I have read alot of such cases and it became a viable pregnancy after all. There is nothing much your friend can do now except to have more rest. Ask your friend to talk more to her tummy and who knows, the foetus may have a strong will wants to come into this world after all

My friend just msg me said her IVF not successful...does that mean no chance?

she did not explain more think she is upset