Hi ohssguy, thumbs up for u and ur wife. Ivf is a tough journey and esp with ohss and everything pays off when u c ur bundle of joy.Congrats for ur BFP! Conception for ppl like us is never easy, pls take good care of ur wife u r the person she needs most now. Is this ur first attempt of ivf? How high is her puregon dose? Pcos usually have alots of eggs...

Hi LK, welcome. Ur HBP is under control rite? Do try again, the drs will work hand in hand. U dun worry too much. Best of luck to u..

Hi humbug / lyn / eskimobaby,

Thanks. I will probably had my ER next week.

Lyn / Iwant5bbs,

Slight bloatedness will start after a few days through puregon.

For me, I feel nauseas, short of breathe, bloated and no appedtite at all. Just eat a little and I feel full. Oh ya, I also feel some cramps on left or right (taking turn).

hi ohssguy,

welcome to the thread and congrats to you and your wife. getting good news at this moment must have lessen some tension in thoughts.

Do take care and I hope your wife is feeling much better now.

dreamababy,

juz to share some of my views wif u, but take it wif a pinch of salt as this is juz ow I feel.

Dr Loh is named "goldern finger" Dr by a lot of ladies who has BFP under him from KKIVF. Hence, he has a long queue of patients waiting to see him. However, the negative side of it is u only get to see him 3 times thru'out ur IVF journeys. 1st time consultation, 2nd time ER and 3rd time during ET. And from my experience u only get to talk to him the most during consultation.

He is a very busy dr and like 1 of the ladies here says undergoing IVF journey at KKIVF (I dunno abt other government hospitals) is like buying food at fast food chain. U queue, buy and pay. No qns asked! However, the nurses at KKIVF are very nice and helpful, they try their best to answer our qns/doubts.

Thru'out the IVF procedure, I feel that the ladies here and the nurses at KKIVF has helped me more than the dr. They gave me advice and clears my doubts that's why I had quite a smooth journey till my BFN.

I may sound like sour grape cos I had a failed IVF procedure under DR Loh but I am not. Just that I find him no "human touch" hence hv since change to Dr Sadhana who some of the ladies here was under her. I nd someone who can share more abt my IVF journeys rather than juz going thru it and dunno what actually is happening. I hope she is a better doc.

And having decided to change doc, I had to pay another $86/- as considered new case.

You can also chk wif other ladies here what are their opinions of other drs, but the final decision is still yours. Ask yourself what kind of dr do u nd? Someone who is better at clearing ur doubt or r u the more independent type ok wif the "fast food chain kind" of service. Hope this helps!

hi lyn,

yes. i do have migrain too and i start to wake up in the middle of the night the past 2 days.

If you have headache, try massaging the neck area and it should ease some pain.

nicole, i agree with u that kk drs lack of personnal touch coz they r arranged in such a way that nurses do most of the tasks during ivf journey and govt hosp is not so flexiable as compared to privates ones. Its depends on wat u needed most. Some ppls juz wanna see result, dun care abt the personnal touch but some ppl juz need the extra emotional support from drs. Of course if kk drs can have more emotional support for pts will be good but due to their heavy work load i dun think this is possible in the comings years.
Hope u will be more comfortable with dr sadhana

LYn,

yes I agree wif u that it's due to their heavy workload as it is a government hospital and it's suppose to be "cheaper" hence a lot of self-service which is fine wif most of us I think.

But the part whereby "what is going on" while our body is going thru so much during IVF is important to a lot of us. At least we know we are on the right track or not whatever the result of the procedure and it also let us share our experience better wif other ladies who nds advice and helps when they are in doubt.

Dear sisters-Many thanks for your support and encouraging words. I am fine and trust me I will try until Dr advise me to stop..

Nicole & Lina-Dr Zou knows about my condition but she didnt ask me to take her chinese herbs. In fact, she has few patients already taken the supplement so she said she will monitor a while and if she sees any improvement she will also ask her patient to take this supplement. Presently, she just let the patients know this supplement is available and let the patient to decide whether to take it or not.

July07-my E2 level is low. I did several hormone test in the past few months, FSH is moving up or down and only E2 is remained the same (less than normal range). That is why I think my failure is due to the egg quality although Dr Loh said it is very difficult to tell whether is Egg or Sperm issue.

Jude-Thanks for your info. I think we have the same thinking. Anything can help we will try right..:> Dr Loh has given me an article to read about DHEA, it stated the same to have it at least 16 wks that is why I said I will try it later because personally I also feel like to try a period of time. How long have you taken the supplement?

Ling-Thanks for your info. You are the one.. In fact Dr Loh said one of his patients get a bottle fr phamarcy so he asked me to try to see whether available. But unfortunately, they don't have the stock and asked me to wait..
Did Dr Loh ask you to take thrice per days?

Jas-I will consider your suggestion. I agreed with you private give more support compared KK.

Fresh-Good luck for your ER :>

LK-Welcome!

ohssguy-Congrats!

For those sisters who is taking the DHEA supplement, did you do any blood test before confirming your DHEA level is low?

I heard Dr Zou mentioned one of her patitent in private hospital did the test and her Dr later confirmed her DHEA level is low. However, KK didn't do that part and straight away ask patients to try if you wish...

Sun-just saw your post, I am not sure whether any sisters has advised you. Regarding thin linning, maybe you can try accp...because I remember Dr Zou ask her patient to come to do accp b/f ER for 5 consecutive days. This is to help to thicken the linning. Anyway, you can check with any chinese Dr who do the accp if you wish..

Hi OHSS_GUY,
Congrats to both u and ur wife! Do take gd care of her now as she will need u most at this time. So touched when I see u so caring towards ur wife. U are really sweet.. Hope she feel better now
Btw, Dr gave her pregnancy test on her day 14 issit? U mentioned on tues Dr break the gd news. So is tues day 14 to her?

20th June is my ET. So today is consider my CD15 rgt? Can I take my HPT now or have to wait at least 17 days?

Hi, good morning to all.
Wife had difficulty breathing again last night.
Nurse said its due to her lying on bed a bit too much. As a result,water will get into the lungs,cauing the breathlessness. So the solution will be to walk and exercise more. Less lying down and perhaps more sitting down?
I heard from my wife that she read in this forum that there are cases that though tested BFP initially,sometimes after a few weeks, the embryoes suddenly disappear! So scary!Now we can only take good care of her and hope for the best..

Hi labbitpj,
Thanks.We were supposed to go back for bloodtest only on 4th July. But since she was warded,I think they thought they might as well do bloodtest for her on Day 12/13.
I sweet? Ok lah,I just try my best to take care of her needs. Took one whole week of leave this week. Luckily have 21 days annual leave,or else how to do this?
The bill(cash portion,exclude medisave already) for the first 5 days amount to about $1.7K. Hope dun need to stay too long.

OHSS GUY,
i had my 2nd OHSS attack after i tested positive... and the bloatedness also became unbearable... i went to see my mum's gynae as well as dr loh... both tell me the same thing... can only 'ren'... no medication can be taken... i was told to sleep elevated.. put 2 pillows to sleep to prevent fluids from flowing into lungs and also help with the breathlessness. it does help me and i had to sleep like that for more than a week....maybe can try this esp when ur wife is well enuff to be discharged...worse is i can't even turn myself becos of the bloatedness and so sometimes will get backache and so have to constantly rotate my feet to help with blood circulation... i'm also waiting for my first scan next week and praying hard that everything is ok... it's been almost 2 weeks and i'm still having my bloatedness...

Ohss guy
Yr wife is certainly a brave one.. Its really not easy.. Hubby really needs to play a v supportive role in ivf.. Else the wife will find it difficult esp those who develop ohss..

I thk yr wife falls into the severe ohss type.. Really hope she cam get better and discharge soon.. Did she take the pregnyl injection after et? Cos if dr suspect she will get ohss they shouldnt give this injection to her.. Or she only on progesterone inserts?

All the best! Tell yr wife there is a bunch of gals here admire her courage and happy for her bfp!!

humbug,
Yes it cost quite a bit more at raffles, but they do prescribe medication on a case by case basis and Dr Thong did all the dosage and scanning management. Seems like a lot of couples with "not straight forward cases" go there cause of they are able to over come the issues that are not so common.

Boon Boon,
do take care of yourself in the mean time..

Hi Lyn,
yes,its our first time doing IVF.
I think she was only given 200ml of puregon, the lowest possible.But still managed to produce lots of follicles(40),due to her polycystic ovaries.

Just some updates. I went for my day 8 puregon scan. I have in total 10 follicles. 1 size is 14mm and the rest is between 8mm to 11.5mm. will be seeing the doc again on monday.

Dear Boon Boon,

Dr Loh recommended 3X a day 25MG. I just started taking this week. I e-mail him to check on dosage and brand. He said that any generic brand also ok. I was at Dr Zou last evening and she gave me a website to order online. Unfortunately I left it at home...will post it on the forum later. I am also doing some research and will let you know if I find anything good and cheap and fast.

Jude-I have link from Dr Zou as well but I mns the company and it take about the same period to reach Singapore so no point but of course the price is cheaper. I am waiting for another supplier reply and once I have any news will update you as well.

Jas-Beside Puregon what is the other medical drug that Dr Thong to increase the quality of egg..

Thanks vinwee.
eskimobaby,when did you go back to work? My wife's 2 weeks hospitalisation leave coming to an end soon. Most likely she will need to stay another week or so.
She also not sure how she is going to go back to work in this condition. Stomache bloated,movement so slow,how to work? Need some advise here. Thanks

hi boon boon,
hope you can get the supply soon. Have you tried asking other hospital locally? if they have stock, can get from them first. At the most pay consultation to see doctor but get access to purchase it first.

hi ohssguy,
maybe can get your wife to check with her company on the entitlement of hospital leave allowed. KK is quite flexible with the hospital leave, if her company allows longer duration, then can just ask from doctor.

ohss guy,
before ur wife is discharged i think her HL will be extended... my HL has been extended too till next wk when i see dr loh for my first scan... in this condition she's not suitable for work yet... ohss drains off a lot of our strength... until now i still can't believe how weak i've become... if u r staying alone maybe would like to get ur/her parents over to care for her or she will have to go over.... wat i'm doing is to go over to my mum's pl during day time since my hubby needs to work and go home at nite... at least there's someone to care for me... cos being bloated sometimes u just got no appetite or dun even want to drink water.. need someone to constantly remind us... also get to go out daily even taking a short walk from my house to the carpark is better than being couped up all day at home... my bloatedness is slowly going down after 2 weeks but i still look like i'm 5 months preg.... another important thing is u must try to be the clown too and be the positive one... must always cheer ur wife up.... it's really quite frightening the thots that goes thru our mind during this period of time... there are times when i told my hubby that i wanna give up

Hi Boon Boon

The pills I have are the same brand as Jude's. Sea-quill Dextion. I only took 1 pill a day, cos I'm afraid of too much testerone..
My hubby is going to Indo again this month, I bought mine at ard $35 to $40, after conversion. Not sure if he minds bringing in for u, if u require...

eskimobaby,dun ever think of giving up so soon!
My wife I am very sure also had the same thoughts. Even I was thinking about this(giving it up altogether) when I see her suffering so much few nights ago. Well,I guess if everything goes well,at the end of the day, we should feel a sense of achievement and pride that we dun bow down to difficulties so easily.
At least now her appetite has returned slightly and she is taking in more fluids already. Now need more walking and sitting instead of lying around.

Dear Jas,

I would like to know too. Thanks

Dear Boon Boon,

Thanks, let compare notes! I will also update you if I can find another brand that is faster.

ohss guy,
i'm ok now but still frightening to think of it... :p
if she's starting to eat then that's a good sign and on her way to recovery
put a pillow to support her back when she sits... it will be more comfortable for her...

Dear Lingling22,

That is a good number...may be more on the way since it is only your 8th day. Congrats! part of the battle won....

Hi vinwee,

thx for u concern. I juz got back from seeing Dr Sadhana, I was surprised she is Dr Sadhana I always tot it was that malay Dr who wears Tudung. Haha! So blurr!

Anyway, I feel gd talking to her and clear my doubt. Actually she asked me the reason for the change of dr, I wanted to tell her but juz mention Dr Loh got no human touch. Cos as I was abt to share wif her what exactly happened wif Dr loh, I became emotional again. So I simply stop at "no human touch".

She went thru my file and told me nothing really really serious, she says I have endometrisis thus causing the pain. There was no mention of follicle collapse (not fallopian tube collapse). Then she went on to advise me to do FET after another cycle of AF and also to put in all 3 embies to increase chances.

I'll hv to talk to my hubby tonite when he comes back and see what we'll do cos my mom and hubb discourage me to do anymore. They feel it is very srtaining for me both physically and emotionally.

hi nicole,

glad that you have a good chat with dr sad. have a word your your hubby tonight. Natural FET is not as stressful to your body as compared to a fresh cycle. no needles during fet. they will just timed your ovulation period to put in 3 embbies. After the ET, they will just give u insert (2x a day). The cost is about $1.5K, much lower than a fresh cycle.

Hi nicole
Have a good talk with yr hubby.. Im sure fet is much more tolerable than a fresh cycle.. The frozen embryos u had is how many cell and grade?

My tummy is just as bloated.. Difficult to turn on my sides when i bathe.. Sleeping on my sides also uncomfy.. So bloated til i dun feel like drinking water.. But i knw i have to drink.. So im trying my best.. Eatint more soupy food to have more fluid.. Cos drinking plain water v sian now..

boon boon and jude,
I was given an additional injection to take called luveris, i did a search and realised that luveris helps improve egg quality.. but like i said, case by case basis, Dr Thong might prescribe different things.

July07-Thanks for your offer. Let me do some research and shall let you know next week.

Jude-Sure, will keep you posted.

Lina-Thanks for your reminder. Maybe check the private hospital..

Lingling: Jia Yu!

Dear Nicole, Good to hear that you are comfortable with this Dr and she has explained the reason for your pain and discomfort. Like Fresh says since FET is less stressful to your body have a chat with your hubby and hope you come to a decision that will suit you. Hope what you wish for will come true soon. Good luck.

Fresh,

I hv understood the procedure from Dr Sadhana juz now and realised it is a much simpler procedure but I hv also come to realised that it is not the procedure that I am afraid of. It is the result that really scare me, I dunno if I fail this time round would I be able to come out of it.

bay/pari,

thx for the encouragement. Like I said I think the procedure is "chicken feet" come to think of it. It's the result that really drains u out. Recently I hv been thinking whether is it worth all these trouble and stress to go thru trying so hard to hv a baby?

In any case, my other 3 embies are like my other 2 (failed ones) are grade 4, cell 4.

Nicole-I will strongly encourage you to go ahead. You have good quality follicles left and I know you have put so much effort to try. I hope you turn soon-BFP. I know the journey caused us physically and emotionally pain. I hope you can bear with all sadness and unhappiness and try the best again..Jia Yu!

Fresh- When is your next scan..good luck !

Jas-Thanks for your reply. I will do some research as well..Meantime, please rest and continue to stay focus and positive.

Nichole, As you have frozen embbies there is always hope of BFP whatever the grade and quality. My failed cycle the embbies that were transferred were 9 cell and 5 cell but still failed. Remember Sierra, she said her embbies were developing slower but still BFP. All these we cannot predict. Take time to discuss with your hubby, if you decide to proceed with FET have faith in your embbies and go all the way out. Take care rooting for you.

Boon Boon,

thx for encouraging me when you hv to go thru so much yourself. I know I shd be appreciative that I still hv Frozen embies. I will hv a gd talk wif hubby tonite and see what he says. I would like to share something wif you, I also dunno if it helps me wif the fertilization and gd embies or not but no harm trying.

I think a mth b4 I embark on IVF, I starte gg for accu as well as taking tomatoes. Both my hubby and I will take at least 3 per day each till the day I did ET. When i started that time it was meant to help me lose some weight but later on I read somewhere posted by 1 of the ladies here that red/orange fruit/vege helps fertility. Hence, u may like to try and see whether it improves the quality of ur eggs.

This is the website:
http://www.thebridgecentre.co.uk/assets/Bridge%20-%20Preparing%20for%20IVF.pdf

maybe u take a look and see.

pari,

I will talk to hubby tonite and see what we plan to do. Thx! Appreciate!

hi nicole,
glad Dr Sadhana explanation is clear. Do give FET a try but just be reminded that go into FET with an open mind. Always take note that the success rate is only 20%. Just curious, is Dr Sadhana an indian lady? i could have seen her walked past before.

hi jas,
how are you feeling? do take care.

hi lina,

thx! Ya, she is an Indian lady and she is a very nice doctor. Maybe bcos she is a lasy so she can empathise with us better. She has shoulder length hair, slim and quite tall too. You may have seen her. At first upin hearing her name, I was expecting to see a malay lady, maybe she is Indian Muslim. I've told her about this thread and getting so much support from all the ladies here, she may pop by to hv a look, heehee!

Ohss guy, ur wife will be fine.. Btw i persume ur wife shld be quite young coz puregon 200 iu is the minimum according to kk nurse.

Lyn,she already 32 this year. Ok age still,I guess..We hope nothing happens in the first trimester.Keeping our fingers crossed..

hi nicole,
oh, same description as the lady i saw before, so that's Dr Sadhana. I agree with you, i could talk freely to Dr Zou about my problems as she can understand better. I find it difficult to even ask questions to my current gynae (male doctor).

hi jas,
do drink more water or milk then. If bloated, don't eat too much. Take care.

hi ohssguy,
do ask your wife to lie down more when she returns home.