I am on my IVF #3, this time at KK. After 7 days of stimming (200IU of Puregon), Dr Loh has advised that I go for my ER on monday. I am showing signs of OHSS. has anyone goe thru OHSS n any advise apart from drinkin lot of water. I am really in discomfort n hope they dont cancel my ET which shud be as of now on 08/07.

Also, want to check with those who have done KK, do they check progestrone levels during 2 ww & wht dose of Progestrone they prescribe. I will b using injections first time b4 used crinone. In my previous IVFs both times I had my periods b4 beta test, so think progestrone level was low.

Has this happened with anyone else??

Any advise on OHSS will be helpful

I am on my IVF #3, this time at KK. After 7 days of stimming (200IU of Puregon), Dr Loh has advised that I go for my ER on monday. I am showing signs of OHSS. has anyone goe thru OHSS n any advise apart from drinkin lot of water. I am really in discomfort n hope they dont cancel my ET which shud be as of now on 08/07.

Also, want to check with those who have done KK, do they check progestrone levels during 2 ww & wht dose of Progestrone they prescribe. I will b using injections first time b4 used crinone. In my previous IVFs both times I had my periods b4 beta test, so think progestrone level was low.

Has this happened with anyone else??

Any advise on OHSS will be helpful

Hi Jaas, u mean u are signing signs of OHSS before ER? In KKH, there is one progestrone BT within 2ww and wrt progestrone dosage, it varies from person to person..I think ( pls correct me if I am wrong), it will depends on the number of follicles retrieved.

Hi Bunny,

yes i am showing signs of OHSS b4 ER as per doc b'coz of high no of follicles (which to me does not seem too high)in all 21 follicles > 11.5 & largest 19.5 after 7 days of stimming.therefore concerned that ET amy be cancelled this time. Any words of wisedom..

Hi Bunny,

yes i am showing signs of OHSS b4 ER as per doc b'coz of high no of follicles (which to me does not seem too high)in all 21 follicles > 11.5 & largest 19.5 after 7 days of stimming.therefore concerned that ET amy be cancelled this time. Any words of wisedom..

Hi Jaas and OHSSguy,

i was surfing for puregon this afternoon and got the following info from rxmed. the following sounded very technical but it kind of help me to understand what i could be going through soon.

"Treatment consists primarily of bed rest, fluid, electrolyte and albumin replacement, and analgesics as needed. Generally, removal of ascitic fluid (paracentesis) should be reserved for the more severe cases of third space fluid shift or abdominal discomfort. "

(Albumin replacement - eat egg white)

Overstimulation of the Ovary During Therapy: To minimize the risk associated with abnormal ovarian enlargement in women receiving follitropin beta and hCG for the induction of ovulation and pregnancy, the drugs should be administered at the lowest possible effective dosage. Since follitropin beta may cause ovarian enlargement and/or hyperstimulation, patients should be assessed for signs of excessive ovarian stimulation during therapy and for a 2-week post-treatment period. Careful monitoring of ovarian response (i.e., ultrasonography and/or estradiol level determination) can minimize the risk of overstimulation.

Mild to moderate uncomplicated ovarian enlargement, which may be accompanied by abdominal distention and/or abdominal pain, occurs in approximately 20% of patients treated with gonadotropins and hCG, and generally regresses without treatment within 2 to 3 weeks. If unwanted hyperstimulation occurs, the administration of follitropin beta should be discontinued immediately. In this case, hCG must not be given because the administration of an LH-active gonadotropin at this stage may induce ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome, in addition to multiple ovulations. This warning is particularly important with respect to patients with anovulation or oligoovulation (polycystic ovarian disease and hypothalamic hypogonadism).

Clinical symptoms of mild ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome are gastrointestinal problems (abdominal distention, nausea, diarrhea), painful breasts, and mild to moderate enlargement of ovaries because of ovarian cysts.

Severe ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) is characterized by ovarian enlargement (large cysts prone to rupture) accompanied by hemoconcentration, decreased urinary output, ascites with or without pain and/or pleural effusion.

If severe OHSS occurs, treatment should be stopped and the patient hospitalized. Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome develops rapidly within 3 to 4 days and generally during the 2-week period following the hCG injection.

Hemoconcentration associated with fluid loss into the abdominal cavity has been observed to occur and should be thoroughly assessed as follows: 1) fluid intake and output; 2) weight and abdominal girth; 3) hematocrit; 4) serum and urinary electrolytes; 5) urine specific gravity. Other monitoring should include serum albumin and total proteins. These determinations should be performed daily or more often if needed. Treatment consists primarily of bed rest, fluid, electrolyte and albumin replacement, and analgesics as needed. Generally, removal of ascitic fluid (paracentesis) should be reserved for the more severe cases of third space fluid shift or abdominal discomfort.

Hi Jaas and OHSSguy,

i was surfing for puregon this afternoon and got the following info from rxmed. the following sounded very technical but it kind of help me to understand what i could be going through soon.

"Treatment consists primarily of bed rest, fluid, electrolyte and albumin replacement, and analgesics as needed. Generally, removal of ascitic fluid (paracentesis) should be reserved for the more severe cases of third space fluid shift or abdominal discomfort. "

(Albumin replacement - eat egg white)

Overstimulation of the Ovary During Therapy: To minimize the risk associated with abnormal ovarian enlargement in women receiving follitropin beta and hCG for the induction of ovulation and pregnancy, the drugs should be administered at the lowest possible effective dosage. Since follitropin beta may cause ovarian enlargement and/or hyperstimulation, patients should be assessed for signs of excessive ovarian stimulation during therapy and for a 2-week post-treatment period. Careful monitoring of ovarian response (i.e., ultrasonography and/or estradiol level determination) can minimize the risk of overstimulation.

Mild to moderate uncomplicated ovarian enlargement, which may be accompanied by abdominal distention and/or abdominal pain, occurs in approximately 20% of patients treated with gonadotropins and hCG, and generally regresses without treatment within 2 to 3 weeks. If unwanted hyperstimulation occurs, the administration of follitropin beta should be discontinued immediately. In this case, hCG must not be given because the administration of an LH-active gonadotropin at this stage may induce ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome, in addition to multiple ovulations. This warning is particularly important with respect to patients with anovulation or oligoovulation (polycystic ovarian disease and hypothalamic hypogonadism).

Clinical symptoms of mild ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome are gastrointestinal problems (abdominal distention, nausea, diarrhea), painful breasts, and mild to moderate enlargement of ovaries because of ovarian cysts.

Severe ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) is characterized by ovarian enlargement (large cysts prone to rupture) accompanied by hemoconcentration, decreased urinary output, ascites with or without pain and/or pleural effusion.

If severe OHSS occurs, treatment should be stopped and the patient hospitalized. Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome develops rapidly within 3 to 4 days and generally during the 2-week period following the hCG injection.

Hemoconcentration associated with fluid loss into the abdominal cavity has been observed to occur and should be thoroughly assessed as follows: 1) fluid intake and output; 2) weight and abdominal girth; 3) hematocrit; 4) serum and urinary electrolytes; 5) urine specific gravity. Other monitoring should include serum albumin and total proteins. These determinations should be performed daily or more often if needed. Treatment consists primarily of bed rest, fluid, electrolyte and albumin replacement, and analgesics as needed. Generally, removal of ascitic fluid (paracentesis) should be reserved for the more severe cases of third space fluid shift or abdominal discomfort.

Dear Ros,
I'm not sure if you'll get to see this post. I'm doing ok. Tomorrow is my last day of "home rest". Will be strating work on Monday. I hope you'll come back time to time to the forum just to check in. I didn't manage to add you in MSN or FB. From time to time, there will be incidences when comments get misinterpreted etc, but hope you don't take them to heart. Hope to hear from you still dear.

OHSS Guy,
Just wanna say big Congrats to you & your wife. The suffering didn't go wasted ... your wife is a strong woman, and I'm sure from now onwards your love for each other will continue to grow

Boon Boon,
I am so sorry to hear abt the results that you had to stop your cycle. Actually I saw you in the room in KKH on 29Jun, but didn't get the chance to say Hi to you. Hope you're doing ok.

Dear Ros,
I'm not sure if you'll get to see this post. I'm doing ok. Tomorrow is my last day of "home rest". Will be strating work on Monday. I hope you'll come back time to time to the forum just to check in. I didn't manage to add you in MSN or FB. From time to time, there will be incidences when comments get misinterpreted etc, but hope you don't take them to heart. Hope to hear from you still dear.

OHSS Guy,
Just wanna say big Congrats to you & your wife. The suffering didn't go wasted ... your wife is a strong woman, and I'm sure from now onwards your love for each other will continue to grow

Boon Boon,
I am so sorry to hear abt the results that you had to stop your cycle. Actually I saw you in the room in KKH on 29Jun, but didn't get the chance to say Hi to you. Hope you're doing ok.

hi sierra,

glad to know tat u are doing well. i had spotting too during my first pregnancy, 7 years back. must take things slow k. by any chance spoting apeared, go doc immediately.

btw many of our friends are not around these few days, like rose, meowmeow, Labbitpj. hope they are all fine.

u take care k, and spread ur baby dust to all of us. my BT is on the 9. keeping my fingers cross.

hi sierra,

glad to know tat u are doing well. i had spotting too during my first pregnancy, 7 years back. must take things slow k. by any chance spoting apeared, go doc immediately.

btw many of our friends are not around these few days, like rose, meowmeow, Labbitpj. hope they are all fine.

u take care k, and spread ur baby dust to all of us. my BT is on the 9. keeping my fingers cross.

hi ohssguy... how's your wife doing so far? from last i read, she was spotting. sure hope things are fine with her. btw, my hubby wasn't around much during the first 3 weeks. and if not for me making so much noise about his travelling. and he has already made plans to be away during the 2ww... sigh!

jaas...stay calm and don't over stress yourself. i'm with Prof Wong and the nurse advised me to take lots of boiled egg whites in case of bloatedness. today the scan showed 21 follicles with almost all measuring 18mm and blood test showing over 10k after 9 days of stims. Prof said i have a high risk of OHSS too. and i'm scheduled for ER on monday too.

i told hubby no matter what is the outcome, we will not give up trying for another 2 rounds. if all still fails, it is only God's will. So, Jaas, don't be too upset. take it easy, k. sometimes, things happen when we least expected it.

hi ohssguy... how's your wife doing so far? from last i read, she was spotting. sure hope things are fine with her. btw, my hubby wasn't around much during the first 3 weeks. and if not for me making so much noise about his travelling. and he has already made plans to be away during the 2ww... sigh!

jaas...stay calm and don't over stress yourself. i'm with Prof Wong and the nurse advised me to take lots of boiled egg whites in case of bloatedness. today the scan showed 21 follicles with almost all measuring 18mm and blood test showing over 10k after 9 days of stims. Prof said i have a high risk of OHSS too. and i'm scheduled for ER on monday too.

i told hubby no matter what is the outcome, we will not give up trying for another 2 rounds. if all still fails, it is only God's will. So, Jaas, don't be too upset. take it easy, k. sometimes, things happen when we least expected it.

Hi! All been a long time since i last posted. Congrats to all +ve BT

BTW wanted to check. When can u start taking birds nest when u r pregnant?? And which brand is good?? Also, Anyone has used the stroller brand combi?? Thinking of getting this brand model Urban walker?? Anyone has any info on it???

Hi! All been a long time since i last posted. Congrats to all +ve BT

BTW wanted to check. When can u start taking birds nest when u r pregnant?? And which brand is good?? Also, Anyone has used the stroller brand combi?? Thinking of getting this brand model Urban walker?? Anyone has any info on it???

Hi iwant5bbs,
thanks for your post. Just staying hopeful that this gets better. But was very surprised that dr loh didnt do E2 BT and i asked him abt diet which can help in ohss then also he said nothing.
Lets see wht happens. All the best to you.

Hi iwant5bbs,
thanks for your post. Just staying hopeful that this gets better. But was very surprised that dr loh didnt do E2 BT and i asked him abt diet which can help in ohss then also he said nothing.
Lets see wht happens. All the best to you.

Hi Sofia Partzsch,

its gr8 to know that we r on the same day. how much was ur dose of gonal f. I did my previous 2 ivfs with prof wong bt with me he was quite conservative dose wise. do update ur ER & ET details. My Et wud b one day earlier than urs as kk does 2 da transfer.

I m trying best to stay calm. good luck to you.

Hi Sofia Partzsch,

its gr8 to know that we r on the same day. how much was ur dose of gonal f. I did my previous 2 ivfs with prof wong bt with me he was quite conservative dose wise. do update ur ER & ET details. My Et wud b one day earlier than urs as kk does 2 da transfer.

I m trying best to stay calm. good luck to you.

Hi ALyssa,
Will bear in mind if I ahve spotting. Thanks for the heads up
Best of luck for you on your BT ya. It's just round the corner

Baby dust to all

Hi ALyssa,
Will bear in mind if I ahve spotting. Thanks for the heads up
Best of luck for you on your BT ya. It's just round the corner

Baby dust to all

itjabi,
bird's nest take towards end of 2nd tri & during 3rd tri. i jus took eu yan sang bottled birds' nest for convenience.
no comments on stroller cos we bought a cheap one from kiddy palace for standby only. turn out i use sling more.

itjabi,
bird's nest take towards end of 2nd tri & during 3rd tri. i jus took eu yan sang bottled birds' nest for convenience.
no comments on stroller cos we bought a cheap one from kiddy palace for standby only. turn out i use sling more.

Nicole, Lyn, Wensi, Baby79

Thanks for all your console..... I have to keep telling myself that i still have to go on trying naturally even though the ivf is not successful....
After my ET, the doc and the nurses had high chance for me that it will be successful. However as you all know lah... ultimately failed.... Really dunno what is going wrong throughout the whole thing and doc cannot explain why and still say wan to me rest and try naturally first... then if emotionally prepared liao, then go for it again if back to track. ....

Somemore ... .I am under TCM for about coming to 8 months liao .... since my last ivm... cos i was only TCM with my 1st ivf too ....

I wanted to go glen e for next try... but seems like it is not cheap... and my hubby say why not try NUH.... But i dunno which doc is good in NUH... really in dilema ....... anyone can advise leh ??

Nicole, Lyn, Wensi, Baby79

Thanks for all your console..... I have to keep telling myself that i still have to go on trying naturally even though the ivf is not successful....
After my ET, the doc and the nurses had high chance for me that it will be successful. However as you all know lah... ultimately failed.... Really dunno what is going wrong throughout the whole thing and doc cannot explain why and still say wan to me rest and try naturally first... then if emotionally prepared liao, then go for it again if back to track. ....

Somemore ... .I am under TCM for about coming to 8 months liao .... since my last ivm... cos i was only TCM with my 1st ivf too ....

I wanted to go glen e for next try... but seems like it is not cheap... and my hubby say why not try NUH.... But i dunno which doc is good in NUH... really in dilema ....... anyone can advise leh ??

Lyn : Thank you and how's the injections going so far ?

Boon Boon : *hugs* get plenty of rest and take this time to nourish your body. You will come back much stronger

Sofia : Hi there ... How're you doing so far ? My first injection will be on Monday 13th.

Baby and Wensi : Good luck to both of you, try to relax ..

Geenie : I was diagnosed early 2007, sometimes I do wonder if IVF is not kind to my body but again HBP is in my family history.How about you?

Lyn : Thank you and how's the injections going so far ?

Boon Boon : *hugs* get plenty of rest and take this time to nourish your body. You will come back much stronger

Sofia : Hi there ... How're you doing so far ? My first injection will be on Monday 13th.

Baby and Wensi : Good luck to both of you, try to relax ..

Geenie : I was diagnosed early 2007, sometimes I do wonder if IVF is not kind to my body but again HBP is in my family history.How about you?

itjabi

i have just started to take bird nest.
but don't need to be so frequent for 2nd trimester,
only 3rd trimester then probably once a week.

regarding the stroller,
i was looking at the Urban stroller also!
it is great in terms of handling, one hand can manage and very light! However, wasn't very pleased with the wheels, i guess for city is ok. But since i would be using it very frequent, and also passing village roads, so i need bigger wheels, so am looking at also Capella S707. It is heavier but the wheels are excellent.

itjabi

i have just started to take bird nest.
but don't need to be so frequent for 2nd trimester,
only 3rd trimester then probably once a week.

regarding the stroller,
i was looking at the Urban stroller also!
it is great in terms of handling, one hand can manage and very light! However, wasn't very pleased with the wheels, i guess for city is ok. But since i would be using it very frequent, and also passing village roads, so i need bigger wheels, so am looking at also Capella S707. It is heavier but the wheels are excellent.

dreambaby
I guess its all based on fate and luck.. Sometimes when dr say high chance but fail.. Some say dr say low chance but succeed... Sigh.. Tats life.. My dr also say i dun hv problem.. Should succeed.. But 4 iuis failed.. Now doing ivf.. No confidence in succeeding also even when gd quality embyos are transferred.. Today my bloatedness seems to be gng away.. Whole day feeling pre af cramps.. Im afraid no chance liao.. But wat to do.. No control over it.. Got to 看开...

dreambaby
I guess its all based on fate and luck.. Sometimes when dr say high chance but fail.. Some say dr say low chance but succeed... Sigh.. Tats life.. My dr also say i dun hv problem.. Should succeed.. But 4 iuis failed.. Now doing ivf.. No confidence in succeeding also even when gd quality embyos are transferred.. Today my bloatedness seems to be gng away.. Whole day feeling pre af cramps.. Im afraid no chance liao.. But wat to do.. No control over it.. Got to 看开...

Fatbabe

Yes, I will be doing at kk also. Do u have the Dos & Don'ts list that the sisters compiled here?

Fatbabe

Yes, I will be doing at kk also. Do u have the Dos & Don'ts list that the sisters compiled here?

Baby
You need to stay positive.
I have not come across anybody get pregnant successfully thru IUI. But with IVF, chances r definitely higher. That is y some docs dont even bother with IUI, jus make us do IVF straight away. Dont lose hope, some pregnancy symptoms include the feeling of Af arriving too so stay positive.

Baby
You need to stay positive.
I have not come across anybody get pregnant successfully thru IUI. But with IVF, chances r definitely higher. That is y some docs dont even bother with IUI, jus make us do IVF straight away. Dont lose hope, some pregnancy symptoms include the feeling of Af arriving too so stay positive.

baby
Yah ...i believe its all luck....

But u got to be positive until the end.... cos if AF dont come, there is still always a chance one lor. ....

So jiayou okie!!

baby
Yah ...i believe its all luck....

But u got to be positive until the end.... cos if AF dont come, there is still always a chance one lor. ....

So jiayou okie!!

Hi Lk, my jab ok so far juz very sleepy in the afternoon but havent feel bloated yet...

Hi baby, i know ur feeling of thinking on the negative side coz of the failed iui. Like die say very very small percentage of ppl get BFP thru iui coz iui is almost like trying natural. Come to think of it now i regretted of trying iui twice shld juz turn to ivf after one failed iui. But like u say sometimes also have to have some luck. For u, juz stay positive now BFP signs r very difficult to judge coz not everyone have the same signs. Goodluck...

Hi Lk, my jab ok so far juz very sleepy in the afternoon but havent feel bloated yet...

Hi baby, i know ur feeling of thinking on the negative side coz of the failed iui. Like die say very very small percentage of ppl get BFP thru iui coz iui is almost like trying natural. Come to think of it now i regretted of trying iui twice shld juz turn to ivf after one failed iui. But like u say sometimes also have to have some luck. For u, juz stay positive now BFP signs r very difficult to judge coz not everyone have the same signs. Goodluck...

Lyn
Bt should be on next mon.. But i may test hpt on fri.. By fri should knw liao cos its 2 wks after o.. Cant wait to know.. Btw, will af reports 2wks later after er if not successful? Or need to stop the progesterone insert then af will come?

Lyn
Bt should be on next mon.. But i may test hpt on fri.. By fri should knw liao cos its 2 wks after o.. Cant wait to know.. Btw, will af reports 2wks later after er if not successful? Or need to stop the progesterone insert then af will come?

Hi baby79, I think if you are doing the progesterone inserts, u can test earlier.. fri should be ok.. AF may or may not report 2 weeks after ER.

Boon Boon,
I am really sorry to hear that your cycle had to be cancelled. When is your review with Dr? Continue to be strong.

Baby,
AF will usually come after all medicine are stopped if cycle is not successful. For my case, AF came 2 days after I stopped all medicine. Remember to be positive. Please check the other thread as I have written to you there as well.

Sierra,
Congrats! Take care and have a smooth 9 months ahead.

Babygalore,
Did not see any post from you. How are you? Are you on leave? Hope you are Ok.