orangey,

were u at dr zou's place last sun with your hubby? I was coming out from the back of the accu room and passed by a young couple. While paying, I realise I might have met someone I know but just paiseh to walk back to check, in case wrong person.

hi ling,

they do allow sperm freezing and I've just done it last 2 weeks ago. There are a few option to choose from like:

1) One-time use for this cycle only abt S$150
2) One-year storage fee about S$350
I think there's a 3rd option but can't remember what is it. sorry

I've opted One-time use for this cycle only. They will do sperm analysis. If sperm is not so good, they will call u back to ask for another specimen. Thus, this is another assurance.

hi ling,

they never inform anyone. i requested it myself cos i used to be from private. private always introduce this option to patient. thus i know about sperm freezing option.

Develyn, Lina, Babygalore

No wonder the glutinous+Lotus unable to stop my bleeding.

I lost it.
12/6, KK Clinic D - pink staining, yolk sac was seen;
13/6, pink staining, Dr Zou still said I am with pregnancy pulse
14/6, KK 24 hours clinic - bleeding with blood clot, unable to locate the sac, BCHG tested, dropped to 368
16/6, BHCG taken, dropped to 102, no sac seen.

What a journey, I have lost my precious gift. Enough tears for the past days.

Please do not take spotting and staining for granted.
I have light staining on 12/6, rushed to KK, doctor checked my pelvis and private part and did not detect anything odd, and said that the staining is normal; and I have been in a miserable days.. went to see Dr Zou, to KK 24 hours.. and finally, it's confirmed, GONE.

Those 2 days were the tough days for me, luckily my DH was with me these days.. taking urgnet leave to accompany me at home, take me out for a movie, for a lunch, for a dinner, for a walk.....

Well, I can only think this way, that the right time hasnt come, and my room is not well prepared for him/her to stay.. I should start to prepare a better room for him/her to come again..

Anyone here mind to share me a small confinement recipe? What should I take and what shouldnt?

What a journey!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Axjess,
I am really sorry for your loss. It must be so painful but you really have done everything you could to stop the bleeding. You could not have done anything different. Did the Dr. explain what happened? Please stay strong.

Hi Axejess,

Really sorry for the loss !! U have the same as what i went thru' on the 1st IVF.. I have 573 HCG level that time and 2 days before 6wks - no bleeding !! Went to KK 24hrs, and the sacs have dissolved !!! I know exactly how u feel .. especially giving u something and take away later.. the type of feeling was really bad !!
Take some time to cry.. i went for a short holiday before i am ready for 2nd fresh IVF..

Importantly, dun be dishearted.. Go to Dr Zou there and get the herbs to clear the toxic..etc

Don't need to ask for the reason why it happens.. But prepare for the next cycle for your baby to come again..

As for the small confinement, i didnt do it but best to check with Dr Zou..

Hugz !

Many thanks for your wise and comforting advice about the mentally I should hold when have to face the BIL from hell, all the advice have made me braver to face the next family outing and hold my head high high...I will remember them and everytime I see that attitude, will replay what you girls told me.
Thanks for putting things into proper prespective for me.

Dream
I always want to post earlier but my office open style, so must wait for fewer people that time then post…heeeeheeee..I feel much better after hearing what your thoughts are. You are right , the whole world can be cruel to us but as long as our hubbies love us, we have the whole world liao loh right. …heeee..And lets both be brave when we meet any form of inlaws from hell since our hubbies support us..Dream, read you gained some weight after reintroducing wholegrain, maybe you can try to take out something from your diet. In other words, add wholegrain and remove another so net net, you don't take extra? Do you take multivits with vit b in them. Hormonal inbalance and lack of vit B complex can cause hair fall.

Serene
I laughed when you said I will be blessed with my own child so no need to carry BIL's child! It’s a powerful one and can spur me on to make babies harder..

Eskimobaby,
Thanks for your reassurance that its not my fault, I need that reminder very much due to all these emotional challenges…

Fresh
You are very right, through this journey, I have become more patient and have learnt how to treasure things and people a lot more.

Boonboon,
K, I will heed your advice and ignore him and hold head up and inside me, patiently wait for the baby to come but I will definitely not use my baby to spite him. .
How about you start to rest more starting from now. Stick to regular sleeping time and start to conserve your body energy for the program. I found that if we slog very hard two weeks before, the effect will only show now. So start to rest now liao k..

Vinwee,
You are head-on, a lot of xiao dong zuo from him but will remember your words that its just not worth it loh.

Fond,
K, will listen to you and boonboon, ignore him and enjoy the nice scenery while imagining he not there..;p

Suggestions to regulate menses
I have had very irregular menses and there are a few things I did
1. First, do you still have your most recent FSH day three test result? Try to look at it as that can reveal useful info why your menses are irregular. For my case. It was high prolactin. If you suspect you have PCOS, you look at the testosterone level, high levels suggest pcos, I believe for levels that are normal but very close to maximum end, it suggests that could be affecting the hormones still.
2. For PCOS, most important is to ensure your BMI goes to the normal range of 19 to 24 (change diet, exercise all help but exercise, not too siong type or could go opposite way of upsetting hormone balance)
3. Diet: Whenever I can, I cut off most simple carbo and changed all to complex carbo including eating wholemeal instead of white bread, reduce potato intake (still take sometimes as everything in moderation better) and switched to organic brown rice. If you like potato kind of vege, substitute with sweet potato and yam. Eating complex carbo can help to lose weight too since we go hungry less easily.
4. Don't snack or even so, very seldom. Replace snacking with nuts and dried fruits such as figs that has iron and dietary fiber. But its good to rotate among them, say after you finish a pack of figs, switch to apricots as everything in moderation better.
5. Take blackmores preconception multi-vits as usual diet do not contain enough minerals like zinc that can lead to better hormonal health for ttcing warriors.
6. Don’t take animal fats except for those found in diary products (keep to full cream but maxi 1 to 2 servings a day but maybe one if BMI too high) and eat olive oil, avocado regularly. For high heat cooking, use canola oil.
7. Fruits and vegetables everyday and try to rotate among the different colors.
7. Do light exercise like swimming and cycling three times a week
8.. Maintain a positive mindset as far as possible. All these might sound very robotic to you, Fond. But I use the mentally that I am not just doing it for fertility seek, but also for long term well-being. When you use that mentally, it does not get robotic or stressful but enjoyable because you will feel that by eating well, you love yourself and your hubby too if he eats with you.
9. Check out this: http://invitrofertilitygoddess.com/2007/05/11/infertility-diet/

And thanks for your facebook link, I still have not fix my house modem so not there yet..but will get to it..since you cannot log on everyday, I will PM you this note, but I cannot open my mailbox because I opp to you. Can only log on in office and office got firewall to email sites. So can't reply to you in email but you can post you if u got questions for me.

Ros,
And will also engrave your advice of no need to be nice on purpose to BIL from hell and just be myself...
Hey, that word of congratulations means a lot you know. Drs don't anyhow congrat people. Start your rest well and visualize your lovely embryos stick to you and may you be able to celebrate mother's day with two babies next year..wow..

Greenie,
Yes, you are right, no one can judge me but myself…it’s a very affirming thought…
Have you started on the program liao Greenie, or still preparing. I missed out your intro posting..

Babydream,
Will definitely heed your advice of handling baby with care and also in the process, enjoy the huggable baby with my heart..heeee..
Don't blame yourself for doing the lapros. Your decision was justified at that point in time. Ovarian reserve is not everything, many with high FSH still succeed..
Me also going to bring hubby to mushroom place at seah but next next week, so

Lingling22
Exacty, that is what my hubby said too, nothing wrong with not having a baby, does not make me into an ET..;p

Again, thanks very much for all your advice and helping me to analyse, I am happier now..
and I really appreciate you girls.

Axjess,
I am so sorry to hear your lost. Truely understand it as I encounter it myself.

How long have you been preggie? You have to do a mini confinemet. Mean you have to do like maybe a week or two like to deliver woman. depends on how many weeks you pregnant.

I did use the herb to bath. Remember must used boil water. Do not used tab water. Even for the cold water to mixed with the hot one, you must boil it and let it cold down.

Before yu " bu xue" you might want to cook chicken with black fungus (black fungus is good to clear the blood clot if there's any).

Then drink chicken essence soup that you can get the ingredient from the TCM.

Drink boil "hei zao (same as red dates but heard that black dates has better blood circulation than red dates, gao ji zi, tang shen and add a bit of longan, there's one type of dry longan is w/o sugar, try to get that one.).

Sorry.. please stay strong and prepared for the best in future.

babygalore,
For me, when I go for any gathering, of coz I will greet everyone. But aft that, if someone show me face, sorry.. aft the greeting, I dun even bother to look at him / her. Do the same thing. While u play his son, dun bother to look at him as well, till he takes his son away lor. Com'n he is being stupid to make his son dot one aunty and uncle.

Axjess,

*Hugz* *Hugz* Axjess and sayang sayang. I know no words can describe your pain. Give yourself time and space to mourn properly and we are here hear to listen. I am sure the next baby will see and enjoy the room you have and the room can only get bigger and more beautiful as you grow stronger day by day.

Meanwhile for mini confinement, start to take red dates tea (15 red dates + 12 black dates + 12 dried longgan + 3 pieces of dangshen) put in slow cooker and boil for at least four hours. Drink for 2 weeks in place of water. After your bleeding has cleared, start to drink chicken essence in the morning before food, if your mum is cooking, try to add more sesame oil in your food. Eat black chicken to replenish the iron you have lost. If you are taking leave to stay at home and is thinking of ordering confinement food, I go home to look for the email of the co I ordered from last time. Can order for two weeks only. Also, cut out anything and everything that is cold. You can go to medicine hall to buy those packet herbs for bathing. Tell the medical hall people herbs for bathing during confinement and they will know. And don't sleep with aircond on. Now very hot, no choice but use fan instead. I am leaving for the day, but you if got questions about mini confinement, can post and I will reply. Take care and *hugz* again..

Babydream,
I meant to write that I will only go next next week to mushroom place, so cannot brush shoulders with you..

Vinwee,
Your suggestion is a good solution. Sometimes I think its because I am not assertive enough so he knows I apprehensive about him. So I shall be assertive and also don't bother to look at him and his not so nice face! Thanks for idea k Vinwee..

babygalore,
Always waiting end of the day for your post! Good to hear that you are feeling better and yes, at next gathering, just imagine all of us giving you advice..one by one...

As for diet, it is so hard...afer 5 months of being a "control", I started to snack in the afternoon. And I can't control myself...ate the whole packets of nuts (and raisins)...so, today, did not buy anything but now I am starving! really hard to control diet...otherwise, I am not at the normal range for BMI..seems like I need to loose some more pounds..hopefully, still can manage to be at BMI 24...sigh..sigh...

For snacks, thought that figs have lots of calories.

Yes, I am taking multivitamins now. not really sure what they contain. once i finish them, i will buy yours. or may be I should buy yours now since Guardian has 20% discount...

thanks for all your advice...

Hi Dream
Dr. didnt said much, just said the the early stage pregnancy is just unstable.. I did questioned them why the doctor didnt do anythg for me on Friday.. sigh.. they said at that days, nothg odd was seen, so, nothing much they can do.. and many pregnant ladies do have spotting during pregancy.. and I was already on Dusphaston, and that was precribed to support my pregnancy.

In fact after the consultation on Friday, I was still quite positive but it ends with this.... I am thinking to enrol to Aimin Acup after 2 months from now, hope to get more information from you after this.

eskimobody
Thanks and I will stay strong, and luckily this pregnancy was not make known to my parents + inlaw, so I no need to explain to them. I try not to thk about it and keep myself busy all the time.

Develyn
Ya, its true, it's pain that giving me the happy 6 weeks and take away from me just like tat..

I still have 3 frozen @ KK, will give myself a 6 months time to recover from this and to tiao my body before i enter again.
btw, do i need to inform KKIVF about the loss? Do I need to see my KKIVF gynae again to discuss on the miscarriage?

Vinwee
I was about 6 weeks pregnant before the miscarriage.... Thanks for the recipe. My husband just bought it back and boil the red dates+black dates water for me.

babygalore
Thanks for the recipe for the mini confinement, and do & don't.. just that the aircon part is abit hard for me, will try to sleep without aircon tonight. Doctor gave me a wk+ MC to stay at home, emm, was trying to get some confinement food, awaiting your contact.

Thanks ladies for all your advice and kind words, really appreciate it!

Babygalore,

*smile* Glad that I have motivated you... jia you! Giving you lotsa baby dusts...

Axjess,

*Hugz* I'm so sorry to hear abt your loss. Have a good cry and be strong. Please take care. We'll be here for you should you need someone to talk to... we'll all be your listening ears...

Axjess,

I am so very sorry about the loss. I know no words can ever heal ur wounds right now. Just take the time (as long) as u need to heal ur body mind and soul. Pls remember that we are all here for u. ANytime u need a listening ear. All of us are in this long journey together. SOme longer and touger than others but still long and tough.

Pls try to be strong for urself and hubby. There are many who loves you. Including us here.

Axejess: sori to hear abt ur lost. Can understand how u feel as i lost one of my twin too.. Be strong, let it out and move on. Know easier said then done but u have to be strong for a healthier bb next time round k. Have a confinement too *huggs*

juju: facebook: [email protected]

Axjess

After my D&C, I drank only hot red dates with longang tea for 1 month.
I also boil "ba zhen"/ gingeng soup/ Shi quan da bu tang/ dang sheng with dang gui - pre-pack from Yu Ren Sheng on every alternate day for 2 weeks (rotate the diff type of soup).
As after the D&C, stomach got alot of wind, I also boil sweet potatoes with ginger.
I hope what I did was right - I asked the Yu Ren Sheng sales staff and they taught me.
Actually it's good to drink some tonic wine every night but I hate the taste so skipped it.

I didnt inform my mum nor MIL so I was taking care of myself.
The 2 D&C, I suffer silently with HB ...... HB sent me to hospital to check in and came to fetch me in the afternoon ...... now I think back, my eyes are teary ........ I'm thinking, nobody should been thru this ordeal......
We had wanted to break the bb news after the 1st tri-mester is over, but was not able to since I lose my 2 precious bb within 12 weeks.

I hope my next preg will be a successful one.

axjess: i cried as i was reading your post. I am so sorry for ur loss. i know no amount of words are able to comfort you. please take care of ur health.

babygalore:thanks for the tips for PCOS..just wondering where do u get such good information from? i think i need to get off my but* to do some exercise!

fresh: i have a question for you, u posted that for sperm storage, kkh will call for another sample if the specimen that was provided is no good? this is something new to me. i would imagine that storing the specimen immediately without any sperm analysis.. is it only at kkh?

So sorry to hear the loss.. Hope u are feeling better now.. There is no words that can take the pain away but pls knw we are here to lend u our ears...

meow,

maybe I've misleaded u. I was previously from CARE Paragon; which is considered to be private. Now, i'm with kkivf which is govt.

bunny,

I dun think they will just store the sperm without "washing" the sperm leh. most will come with an analysis report. CARE Paragon also practice the same. Even TMC also the same.

Serene & Ros
Thks for the caring.
The bad news was officially annouced today, but hubby and I are prepared and I already have enuf cry for the last few days.. those few days, keep thinking, wat have I done to make this happen to me, have I carrying heavy thg yesterday, have I eaten somethng no good for the pregnancy? am I having too many walk last few days..this and that..
But, I am alright now.

Vinwee
but babygalore said cannot sleep with aircon. so which is true?

Itjabi
Now i understand how you feel on your loss.
Please take good care of yourself.

Babydream
Sorry to hear about your previous loss.
Me too, only hubby and me are going thru this..
I will prepare a small confinement for myself, or will call for a confinement tingkat..
Sorry to ask: Your loss was due to miscarriage or baby no heartbeat? Doctor did asked me whether I wan to do the D&C, but I choose not to becos I am having heavy flow now, so prefer to let it clean naturally, and after this, take TCM herbs to clean again.

bunny & baby
thks and I will move on.
definitely, this forum and sisters here have been very healpful and giving me lots of moral support throughout the journey.

axjess,

i'm so sorry to hear about your loss. i was really sad to know about it. For confinement food, you may want to consider tingkat. some do confinement food too. please take care and move on. also, no cold drinks for the time-being.

Hi Vinwee & serene,
There is another Aimin Accupuncture at Joo Chiat place, near Katong Mall also. I used to go there.

Hi Dream
The hair loss is quite scary and really stopped me to continue the accupuncture. I tried to use those treatment cream as recommended by salon and the result was even worse. I lost bunch of hair whenever i combed my hair.
Once i eat back normal, the hair loss improves and starts growing. Till now i still have hair loss problems but not to the extreme.
I think the important is to eat moderate to maintain the weight once you re-introduce the carb and exercise regularly. For my case, the 1 yr curb on delicious food is torturous for me and can't stop eating and enjoying the food till now.
Scary lor. It is to the extent my hubby jokes saying he still loves me but will not bring me out liow. Haha. Hope you are more determined than me.

Axjess
I'm so sorry to hear this.. Every step from IVF to confirmed pregnancy is still so unpredictable, until delivery then you will set your heart at ease.

I tried my best to do a mini confinement ie. 14 days as i stayed alone and my parents & in laws weren't aware that i was pregnant and M/C. Everyday, I will cook food like chicken or meat in sesame oil and veg with ginger. Alternate days can boil chicken soup to drink. It is also highly recommended to buy black chicken to make chicken essence once a week. I even bought the packet herb to boil for showering. It's not smelly at all. Try also to make red date tea to drink. I also drink DOM every night.

Do you want to check with Dr Zou if she can prescribe 3 days herb to flush out the sac?

Axjess,

Sorry to hear about your loss.. I just finish my work, so just read about your post...*huggs* You have to take care ok.. Sent you a PM...Rest well, recuperate and then try again ok...

Hi Babygalore
Glad to hear you gain yourself and confidence back to face your BIL.
I will starting the program next month and preparing myself for it. My first cycle & hope this is the last one as well. Hope to have twin bbs and close shop.
stay with me ok?

Dear Axjess

Never give up!!

Dear Develyn

your 1st trimester almost there....
i assume this is your 3rd IVf? and you finally succeed. May i know how long of rest did u have before u start another cycle? I have stopped my cycle at lucrin stage when i had infection and postpone to next month.

axjess - am so sorry for your loss.. <<hugz>> you take care, okie?? Every loss is hard to bear.. My heart goes out to you..

Babydream - you will get your wish soon..

Babygalore - am so sorry that you have to face a BIL like that... Time will come when he has to face his actions to you...

Axjess,

Sorry to hear abt your loss. I have been there before. The pain will lessen as time goes by and you will feel brave and hopeful again. Take your time, go on a holiday first.

Fresh,
I was at Dr Zou's clinic with DH on Sunday! How come I didn't see you? Was I watching the tv or talking? Usually I get too engrossed with the TV program, I shut myself off from my surroundings.. Even DH will "push" me to get back my senses. LOL! Ah, I miss you then! Next time go Dr Zou's clinic, I must prevent myself from watching TV or talking! Heee..

axjess,
It's really sad but you got to move on. Like what many ladies have mention, IVF is like a trial and error. You fall, you pick youself up, rub off the dust and clear your wound and then continue to walk again. Believing in hope brings you hope. Take this time to get your body back to healthy mode and start again when you are comfortable

Dear axjess
I'm very sorry to hear your loss. Please take care and do a mini confinement. I know your pain as I been thru' before..Have a good cry and move on..We are always here for u to give u support..Time will heal your pain..believe yourself that you will become a mommy soon! *Hug, Hug!*

Axjess - Sory to hear about your loss... Hugz hugz for U.. Take ur time to grieve and always remember to try again once u are ready

axjess,
i know how it is.... i kept my ivf journey to myself too except for my family members..... but my family members didn't see me going thru the jabs except for my hubby...my mum can be quite demanding if i dun tell her... my mum calls me everyday and would want me to go back home for dinner 2 or 3 times a wk... but colleagues at work didn't know except for 1 or 2... that's why i really appreciate this forum and the gals here... who have accompanied me on this journey.. only u gals will know wat we are going thru at each stage.. give urself time alone and when u r ready, do come back and join us ok
*Hugz*

maybe double check with dr zou wat u should do for a mini confinement? i think she would be a better person to help u... especially if u r doing on ur own... i like yu ren seng.. cos everything is prepacked and quite convenient so if u dunno wat to get at medicinal hall.. maybe can try yu ren seng..

Hi Fandz ,

This is my 2nd fresh cycle IVF.. rest about 2 mths after M/C at 6wks during my 1st IVF.. My comment is "too fast" ... i didn't allow my body to rest enough.. dun worry abt. the infection.. i have infection too and having bad cough and flu in 2nd IVF.. but need to be treated immediately before puregon starts..

Hi Axejess,

There is one important thing u need to remember.. it is never your fault.. NEVER! Read the true life stories abt so many of us... IVF is a roller coaster journey.. it is not that we want it to happen.. all mtbs will try all means &amp; ways to protect the baby(ies).. Trust me that you are already one step ahead of many others , being able to see a positive result.. many ppl tells me that the chances of 2nd IVF having smooth journey is higher.. Do not blame and do not ask why or if u did something wrong.. Maybe it is easy for me to say it but that's what i have tell myself during the loss that time.. i just focus "How am i gtg to prepare for the next journey".. Btw, i do not know if u are a buddism or christian.. i am a buddism myself and i went to let thai monk pray over my loss of 2 embies that time and i did pray that they will get themselve healthy and strong to come back to mummy when i do a fresh cycle.. and yes , i have twins again this time.. My 1st Trimester is not over and i am worried abt. the babies too.. but i know i can do nothing but depends on the check up every now and then.. is a long journey ahead of u.. Good that u have decided a 6mths break before FET.. trust me that losing some weight will be helpful for keeping babies healthy too..
I hope above message helps !

Hi Babydream ,

Sorry.. i am always missing out your post.. it is hard for u to take it too.. I am now in 1st trimester and i know it is worrisome especially when we cannot hear babies' heartbeats.. i am anxiously waiting for my scan this friday 8wks.. hope that everything is ok..

As for u , please do not give up.. u will be blessed with a babies soon.. i do agree fully on what u say.. compare to others , we have taken more than usual steps (IVF or any other treatment) to get pregnant and we really dun deserve such treatment.. all we want is a healthy baby.. singleton or twins doesn't matter.. just a smooth journey to healthy baby..

The journey of IVF changed me alot especially the time of severe OHSS.. It has given me a message "As long as one is alive and healthy , someday we will be blessed with our babies"..

Axjess,
Develyn is right. Please do not try to analyse too much what you have done. But I understand your pain. Please take time to heal. Go on a short break to refocus and clear your mind.

As for Aimin, it is very effective but the drawback so far is the hair loss and the fear of gaining back all the weight once carbohydrate is reintroduced. The best is to eat healthy and exercise but for my case (PCOS), it does not really work. So far, only non carb diet works for me. Hopefully, I will reach my weight target and then maintain a healthy lifestyle from there! and follow Babygalore and Boon Boon's health tips.

Greenie,
I am not really sure whether it is the accupuncture or diet that caused the hair loss. When I googled hair loss and weight loss, some articles mention it is the hormone imbalance that cause the hair loss. I guess the weight loss must be more progressive. My loss was very drastic in the first 2 months. After that, more or less stable since I started IVF and did not fully follow their diet. Good to hear that the hair grows back once you eat again (but then, it means gaining weight!). Otherwise, a little bit scary to hear you still have hair problem loss as it was 4 years ago. I really hope my hair stops dropping and grows back.