hey ladies
ask u ar.. at NUH. i always hear the billing asst say private or subsidised patient.
what constitutes a subsidised patient ar?

Jude-We have 2 similar things. Age and high FSH.

The previous 2 cycle were on short protocol as well? I read this DHEA thing, is this drug is to reduce FSH? When this drug will be given to patient at KK?

I am taking Multivaitamin and EPA and Q10 for the past 2 months.

oh, you don't like plain one. So u can just start to buy a small one to try and then decide which one to go..

Dream-you have a good memory..we are in the 37 club :>

I am 28 this year...what do high FSH means? I got PICOS but manage to get pregnant last year. But I abort the baby coming 5 months because baby got brain problem which is very serious so got no choice but to give up. Then have been trying for near to 1 yr since then. Decided to go for IVF becoz of my PICOS problem and also hubby low sperm count. On top of that, my hormones has changed alot after the abortion. I have put on quite alot of weight but there is no way to get rid of it.

hi ling ling

dun stress urself, u r still young. shld have good chance.

LingLing,
Sorry to hear about your loss. it must have been a really difficult time. FSH is usually measured by BT on day 3 of your cycle to determine egg reserve (and quality?). Boon Boon, may be you can help me on the explanations! not really good at that..

Otherwise, PCOS is really a struggle for me as well. I am now on a no carb diet but it may be a bit extreme and the best would be for you to reduce carb and go for low carb diet. Reduce bread, rice and potato. Eat healthy and everything in moderation. Otherwise, age is on your side. So, be positive

dream, are you very overweight? I am quite overweight now.....my height is 1.64 and i weight about 85kg...since my last pregnancy, i got very bad gastric pain so cant go on too low carb diet.

ling

sorry to learn about your preg termination.
It must be tough to make the decision and go thru the process.

u r still young, so I guess your IVF journey will be a relatively easy then most of us who are >30s .........

Hi Boon,

My previous 2 cycles was long protocol. I was hoping that they change my protocol for my second round at KK (1st was done at Mount E). I spoke to Dr Loh about my case but they still put me on the long protocol....so proven! At KK tough to review case with doctor. Sat was only the 2nd time I spoke to Dr Loh (ER and ET happen too fast).

I think I will e-mail Dr Loh more often to highlight my case. For my second round, there were only 4 follicle throughout....

Now taking multivit, folic acid and my organic greens and organic grape juice to boost up my antioxidants. I have also cut down on meat....more veg and fruits.

Yes this is a new drug to reduce FSH. Still in experimental stage. Dr Loh ask me whether i want to try as not sold in Singapore. He is asking KK to bring in some. Drug is sold over the counter in US and Europe...but will have to wait 3 weeks and cost alot more in Singapore. KK told me they need to register my name with Drug authority etc..At this stage, I am willing to try anything. In the meantime, I will go read up on the drug and let you know if I read anything interesting.

Is high FSH due to age? I am really hoping that age can help me get better result...

Babydream, I got a friend who just gave birth to twins. Her 1st child is a girl and both pregnancy is with Dr SF Loh thru IVF. Her 1st pregnancy is about 34 yrs old and now she is about 37 yrs old.

Ling Ling,
I have always had a problem with weight, gaining weight very easily. Last January, I decided to do something about it. So, I signed up with Aimin at Starhub Centre. It is accupuncture + non carb diet. I was very motivated and over the last 5 months, I managed to loose 20 kgs. But I am afraid I will gain them back once I reintroduce carbohydrate in my diet. I am also not sure whether this has affected my IVF as the drastic weight loss may have caused some hormonal imbalance (and hence, caused the poor egg quality). So, my advise to you now is to try to eat healthier food and try to cut down (but not stopped completely) refined food and carbs. Don't go anything too drastic now.

Jude,
Please add more protein in your diet to boost your follicle/egg growth.

dream,20kg in 5 mths is very drastic. I think the drastic weight lost will have an impact to your hormones. Did you check with Aimin whether you will gain back alot of weight when you reintroduce carbo into your diet? Can I ask how much did you spend in the weight lost package?

It is a 30-session package (half an hour per session) with the first 20 session being for "weight loss" and the last 10 for "maintenance" once carb is reintroduced. I am still under the "weight loss" session. I think the weight loss is also causing my hair loss! very drastic as well and very scary! Must be due to hormone change. The package is quite ex but very motivating (since paid so much)! Paid by instalments! it is close to 1.8k. they have a free trial before you sign for the package.

Jude

I also have FSH issue, do share more on this new DHEA drug.

Ling
Yes, older women have more fertility issue other then high FSH - for instance quality of egg, hormone imbalance (LH phase affected or not sufficient progesterone secret by body), egg shell could be harder which makes it difficult to fertilise, also higher chance of m/c etc.

Hi dream,

I was with TCM for 1 year and the sinsei advised me to cut down on meat....even seafood so I have gone almost vegetarian. I have been taking beancurd and beans to supplement my protein intake. After reading this forum, have started taking fresh milk and will start on egg white. I will be going to Dr Zou this Thursday will check with her what to eat......

I think one of the ladies was saying that low fat stuff are not good for egg growth....any idea?

dream, 1.8k for 30 sessions? I got a friend who went to Aimin before( i think 5 yrs ago). She lost quite some weight but put back once she reintroduce carbo. So i think you have to be careful.

Jude,
Yep, better check with TCM. i think Babygalore may have mentioned something about low fat stuff but can't really recall. Sorry...

Otherwise, can you take chicken essence?

ling ling,
yes. otherwise, that's what I am worried about! Many years ago, i also went on no-carb diet...lost a lot of weight but gained all back! So, it is like a yoyo. Weight (+ infertility) is really a struggle for PCOS sufferer like us.

dream, i agree totally with you. even i dont eat alot, i still put on weight. The worst thing is that some pple will laugh at my weight and make the assumption that I eat alot...

Lingling,

From what I know, you have to gauge the BT level between FSH and LH. Not all PCOS patients have low FSH, there are still some with normal FSH (Good Ovarian reserve).

PCOS patients usually have a ratio of 2:1 or 3:1 between LH and FSH, where LH is much higher than FSH. Doctors usually determine a PCOS patients with their BT against the Ultrasound as Ultrasound is generally not a good confirmation.

When I did my ultrasound in KKH Clinic D, they diagnosed that I have little findings and suspects that I have PCOS. My BT results are normal with a almost 1:1 ratio for LH and FSH. Up till today, I still don't know if I am really with PCOS. Dr Loh on the other hand, put me on low dosage based on my FSH and my ultrasound reading although he says I may not be PCOS but he just want to be safe. The dosage can be increase if needed.

Lingling,
Opps, my ultrasound was done in Clinic C, typo typo! I don't like Clinic C because the doctors over there don't pay much attention to what I tell them and they didn't ask me to do any blood test for FSH/LH. All they want is my hormones test to see if I'm ovulating and prob is, with irregular menses it is hard to predict ovulation and they always make me test between D14 - D16.

I'm having bad flu now having MC for 2 days.

Tink my IVF journey will need to postpone to Oct instead of Jul. Reason: not happy working thus plans to look out for another job. So if I start my journey in Jul, tink most company will not accept "pregnant" lady if I succeed.

Btw, anyone knows what is palatin? KKH called me asking me to re-take blood test for palatin because my palatin is out of the range. Quite scared as dun knoe if this will impact my IVF journey.

Jude, Die,
Lets strive on together…and I find that this forum is really gift-sent present for us. Imagine the days without internet and our "seniors" must suffer in silence.

Jude,
Very little chance got genetic defect. Don't scare yourself k..more a hormonal issue and suitability of drugs..I might have missed out your posting on review with dr loh but make sure he alters the protocols for you in the best of his opinions..most like drugs. And start to eat well and to nuture your ovaries..And I also did not respond well to TCM. I have not started on the program yet but after 6 months of TCM to correct back irregular menses, menses became more irregular..so I improved my diet and not better liao. So you also seek out other means and yes, acu is one solution. Try and note the changes and if better, continue.

Babydream and Eskimobaby
I ate at mushroom pot at Kallang and think there is also one at Orchard Point. There is a buffet discount for ladies on mon to thurs at $23++ and after all gst and stuff, its about $28. Very worthwhile. Do you know where is Seah Street, its opp Raffles Hotel and when you walk all the way to the end (almost close to the end), there is a mushroom hotpot restaurant that serves all kinds of mushrooms with hotpot and shabu shabu beef. I can't remember the name but I was there twice. Very nice ambience and food. Except that the price is more exp. There are a few set meals that starts from about $29, $39, $49 and even $59 or so.

Babydream
My condolences..I believe you must still miss your little beans. I am sure they know their mum love them a lot.

Happy74
Congrats and I am glad you came back to share. All the struggles and good things that happened to you gave us courage to keep trying..Yes, you are right, life is full of uncertainties, its like the forest gump movie like that..

Vinwee,
Heheee..you were like my friend, he said he used to order chicken rice only as it can never good very wrong..now I also like you, source out good food with hubby since just the two of us, can makan anything..
You friend is the lucky type, somehow her first child just kicked started her engine..again, shows how unpredictable things are.

Axjess,
I know its hard not to worry about spotting. But a gynae told me before that pregnant woman's cervix are often soaked in blood due to all the changes in the body and that often cause spotting as when we do big business (poo poo) that time, always need to squeeze a bit. . One thing you can do is try and eat more high fiber fruits vegetables and to make releasing of bowels easier and lessen the impact on the cervix. So his advice in short was as far as possible, don't squeeze too hard when pooing, only solution is to eat high fiber stuff. You are not constipated right?

Dream,
Tennis is a great sports…fun and really great workout, envy you because me can't play tennis…heeee..So you go play tennis with your hubby again lah…
the other day I say tennis rackets for kids at sportsstation, the handle very short, very cute, can even teach your daughter? I joked with my hubby I want to buy that kids racket to learn tennis and he laughed at me said don’t make him lose face. ;p
So I see, that is what natural IVF is, so means no need to use progresterone to support lining it it? Wow, did not know IVF can have so many variations. Your reasoning that the body will choose the best egg for the cycle is very sound, another thing is that with that only one egg, all the protein that we eat can go to growing that good egg. Quality is more important that quantity right right..

Fond,
Glad to have one more sister like you who joined this forum. K, if I need to ask you anything, I won't hesitate to ask

Nicole,
You are in your two weeks wait right? Hope you and your hubby can BFP..

Boonboon
Sorry, did I must your annoucement about the date you will start in June, I am your cheering pomp pomp girl, cannot miss your important date..

I felt really blue this morning (better now already) because over the weekend, had a family gathering with my inlaw side and I felt like a loser for not being able to bear a baby. I have a much hated brother-in-law. He was jealous of my hubby (only son) right from the start and used all ways to fight for love from my inlaws. He would use all sugared words on parents in law and in front of us, only gave us stares and scarcasm. For instance, when my hubby buys things for his parents, he would criticise the things to death. Hubby and me put up with him all these while and always give him a lot of face since don't want to create tension in the family. My sis in law (hubby's sister) who is his wife, is a quiet lady but kind of self-centered as my father in law dotes on her. I treat her amicably.

She has had two miscarriages earlier and recently gave birth to a baby son and my mother in law is looking after him. The baby is the prince of the family now as he is the only grand son and he is very chubby and cute. To be honest, although I really hate the baby's daddy, I like the baby a lot as I cannot help it but love babies. During his 1 month old birthday, I carried the baby and told myself that I would love the baby from the bottom of my heart and forgive and forget about the baddness of my brother in law. But guess what, after something like less than one minute, he snatched his son away and said that like I was carrying baby for very long liao. He knew about my miscarriages and when he snatched that baby away, there was no tint of sympathy. And during all family gatherings, he never carries the son near me and every time when I smile at the son or laugh whenever someone said cute things about the son, when I turn, I would find his eyes on me. I don't know what he was observing me for but maybe he gets kick of out seeing any supposed sign of longing in my eyes. Yet, he does not let me carry his son.

I did not tell my parents in law about his although my hubby wanted to tell his parents. I stopped my hubby as his parents might think that I am jealous for not having my own kid. Besides, my PIL think that my brother in law is a Mr goodness due to is sugared month in front of them. So the only time I dare to carry the chubby boy was when his parents are not around. And the funny thing is that the baby likes it when I carry him. And maybe the good thing is that they are mostly not around on weekends and they just put their maid and their baby at my mum in law's place and disappear. But I am very scared if it comes to the next family outing. I hate the look he gives me "you want a baby right, see, we finally got it but not you, and I won't let you carry my boy, let you go and salivate". So I felt like a big-time loser and his stares always make me feel very small and sad. And I have phobia about going to the next family outing to only go home feeling very infertile and loser again. Sorry for such a long story but I am very bewildered why such a person exist on this earth. Just don't understand why he cannot make it such that we have a happy family and everyone can get to love his son. I am a very balanced person and I can love his son if he just let me.

Hi ladies...

I just got back from ET today. Dr sadhana was very happy with the condition of my embryo. SHe said, " Both ur embryo are of very good quality, Grade 4." However the downside is I have none to freeze.

When she saw me along the corridor, she said congrats, you have a very high chance. Now go home and rest.

I just hope my body does what it is supposed to be doing at the current moment. Thanks for all the support from all the ladies here thus far. I am currently given Pregnyl injection to stabilise womb. WIll go back on Saturday for blood test to check my progesterone level. Then BT will be on 1st July. Wish me all the best okay ladies. To all in their 2WW all the best and may u get ur BFP.

Babygalore,
Always waiting for your message! You are so thoughtful to all the sisters here. Yep, we all learn everyday from Dr and each other.

As regards to your brother in-laws, it is pretty sad. You are really strong to put up with such person. You must really love your hubby to keep the harmony in the family. I feel sorry for him to be so childish at his age! I guess he is in competition with your hubby, not you, for your in-laws' attention. He must be the competitive type. I also have quite a hard time with my hubby's family. They are very tactless and it really hurts as well. Don't let this affect you. You are smarter and a nicer person than he is. Most important is that your hubby loves you

Hi babygalore,

Dun get upset with you ur BIL. Not worth it... Let him be... If he doesnt like you to carry his son then dun carry lor... Such a selfish father... stopping his son from getting attention from auntie and uncle... Just ignore him in the next gathering... If he wants to behave in the unfriendly way... let him be... this kind of person must be imbalance somewhere...

Dun be unhappy... I'm sure u will be blessed with a child of your own then you can carry your own child and dun need to carry his son anymore... Cheer up!

babygalore,
dun get urself upset over such a BIL ok... i think he's very insecure abt himself and he's just plain jealous somehow of u and ur hubby but i dunno for wat... some ppl are like that... they dun like to see ppl doing well... and they have to feed on others' misery for their own ego... yeah.. i think u did the rite thing... the child is innocent and as long as u care for the child in the presence or absence of the parents.. i'm sure ur nephew will feel it too... so dun let ur BIL spoil ur mood ok?
and it's nobody's fault that we have more difficulty conceiving.. it's definitely not ur fault....

Hi Ros,

So fast ET liao.. It's a good thing that Dr Sad saif u got high chance. It means u really got high chance!!! Rest well during this 2ww and a BFP on 1 Jul 09.

hi babygalore,

so sorry to hear about what u have gone thru the last weekend. we must learn to ignore other's insensitivity. This is one of the strength that god has given us that others is not so blessed to receive. We also learn to treasure what is difficult to get even more. One thing for sure, the bond between husband and wife is even stronger when they go through this ivf together.

Need your help...I did my 1st fresh IVF cycle a few years back in KK and is planning to start another fresh cycle but could not really remember the procedures. So can anyone please advise me.

1) Call KK on Day 1 of menses
2) When do I start to take Microgynon?
3) Take one tablet of mircogynon for 3weeks?
4) Start Lucrin injection on D21 of menses
5) After 2 weeks of Lucrin injection, go for ultrasound & bloodtest, if ok, can start puregon rite?
6) Inject Lucrin & puregon for another 7 days then go for scan again until size of egg ok

Also, I have forgotten how to do the injection, not sure if the nurses in KK can teach again. As for the puregon pen, will we be given another new one or do we have to use our old one?

Sorry, for my long list of questions.Thanks

hi ros
So excited n happy for u!
May i know wat is yr puregon dose?
How many eggs retrieved?
With two grade 4 embryos.. Its dr decision or yrs to put in two?
May i know hw old r u?

Gals may i know whether grade 4 is the highest grade of embryo? I read somewhere that there r blasto embryo.. Wat kind of embryo to transfer is the best?

hi babyluck

Have you confirm with them the actual month you doing the cycle?

1) If yes...call them on day 1 of menses
2) The nurse will advise you when you call them...normally start Day 2/3 of menses
3) take microgynon for 21 days...then wait for menses to come
4) I start my lucrin on Day 16 of menses...this will also be advised by nurse when you call them on Day 1
5) Yes..however my experience is they will ask you to extend lucrin for one more week
6) Yes you are right scan for egg and also check for lining

They will teach you again if you request..for the puregon pen they will ask you if you have...if dun have..they will give you again.

You also have irregular menses so will need microgynon?

hi develyn

I never receive leh...anyway nvm its over. I still doing acupunture with Dr Zou but really difficult to slim down leh...always stagnant after a few kgs lose...sighz. Saw your pic on FB, when you took them before IVF? You dun look like 75kg leh....i am around there now but certainly look fatter than you....haha

Dream-I think AF will report these 2 days. Since I have decided to try on short protocol then no point to re-do the BT on D2 (I think). Maybe most of the time I only heard fr Drs saying I have ovary reserve problem that is why it made it think I maybe should try short instead of long protocol. Anyway, it may be wrong but as you know we always say IVF is a try and error thing so I told myself regardless the result just try out and see how..
To be honest, when closer to the day, it become more anxious. Last night I again have funny IVF dream. So I think my mind sub-conciously keep thinking of IVF ...
Today, during the meeting I have told my boss that I will start the program soon. They sound ok so I hope if I feel tire or sleepy, they will accept it is caused from the drug...:>

Jude-Thanks for your info of DHEA. Do you know the name of the product?

Babygalore-Definately will let you know once I started the program. I need your energy to charge my battery :>
Sorry to hear the issue between u and your BIL. I will say "pls ignore him". In fact, as a parent if more people like our children we should feel very happy. Anyway, God knows you have love and very soon will grant you babies for you and more people to love..

juju78: If bb shit is watery then how can we tell if diahorra or normal?? Wat food do u take now??

ling: sori to hear abt ur loss. Dun lose hope n try again k?? did u detect the abnormality of bb through the down sydrome test??

ros,
congrats on ur great embies!
hv a good rest & eat well during 2ww & therafter!

itjabi,
normal bb poo not dat watery, u will noe when u see it. there's booklet to differentiate normal poo & diarrhoea.
now i anyhow eat lor, cos alone at home wif bb. if dun feel like cooking, then i go out & eat, but also eat nonsense.
why u so kan chiong? still got a long way leh...

hi Nicole

Saw your post on the 2ww symptons and thought you BFP already...hmm..my guess always quite accurate leh...so standby ok.

hi baby

Soya bean milk is only good for before ovulation..which means you should stop taking once enter 2ww.

hi lingling
Yes, BCP will regulate menses and let it come on time usually 28-30 however to start stage 2 you also need to check BT and ultrasound to ensure hormones are suppress properly. (I am with KKH)

hi babyglaore

Will definately help if i know the answer. By the way what diet you take to regulate your menses? I also have very irregular menses leh..PCOS symptons...
Ignore your BIL, i also have a very "idoit" BIL but always try not to be affected by him...but i understand its difficult. My good friend always tell me...not good to have negative thoughts on other ppl will affect chances of having babies...so always remind myself got to be a "saint"

Hi Ros

Good news from you. BFP soon.

Hi Jude

Think you should take chicken essense to improve egg quality. Exercise also good to reduce FSH. From my understand egg white and milk provides protein and its essential during 2ww to reduce bloatedness. At the same time protein is also good for body and aids in egg growth... but what important for you will be quality of eggs and increase quantity.

Since you react well to clomid..think its to ensure you will have embryos to retrieve. Just in case your follicles do not react to puregon and you have no embryo like your 1st cycle. Short protocol is always suitable for high FSH ppl...so there will be better chances.

Babygalore,
Don't be upset with your BIL. He don't deserve you put in the emotional for him. Like eskimobaby was saying, there's people always scared one is better than them mostly due to they are not good enough? :p and this type of ppl tempt to have more "xiao dong zuo"

Hhahah... got people like me before? Only know how to order chicken rice? :p

I am not like that anymore...

Dream,
Which TCM did you go for slimming? Should be good right since u lost so much weight? Mind to PM me the name and address? My friends would like to try.

hi fond
Y is it that soya bean milk is only good for puregon stage? Aft et cant drink soya milk? Then how abt normal cow milk? Cos i dont like milk so i tot use soya bean to replace..

May i knw u gals take chicken escence everyday during puregon stage or alt day? And how many egg white to take during puregon stage and during 2ww?