Hi Novem

Just had this thought. For every 2 failures there will be 1 success. Based on probability theory, we had in some sense contributed to someone's happiness out there. Trying very hard to look for some happiness out of my failure.

Hi Melody

Sorry to hear the news from you and it's good that you try to think positively. Dun know what to say but really really hope you, berry, CT, and novem will succeed on the next try, or even better, succeed while trying naturally.

Will keep you all in my prayers when I visit the temple...

Do build up your health now so that you will have a even healthier bb soon.

Hi Melody,

I feel so sad for both u and novem. Have a good rest and try again in a few months time. We will always be here to give u moral support.

Hi Tomatoes,ICSI,Berry,Chemistry,

Thanks for all the support, it's very comforting. I am indeed feeling much better today...and hb is going kkh with me for the blood test.. it's better than going alone...

Hi Melody,

I feel sad for you too,but you are right, we should be happy for those who succeed,bcos next time will be our turn

Quote for the day:

"Children who are born to infertile couples are much more competent physically,mentally and emotionally than the norm, and it is very clear that this is a consequence of the fact that they were so very much wanted."

"Jia You" CT,Berry,Dang, Melody in 2005!

Hi novem

Good to hear that you are better now. I really believe your turn will come very soon. Dun give up!!! God had already planned to give you all better bbs. Same for CT, berry, Dang & Melody.

Hi Melody and Novem,

Don't think of it as a failure, we have succeeded too knowing how brave and strong we are to overcome this test. Now, we should not give up yet, we have to think what to do next.

Melody and Novem, so sorry to hear the bad news. Hope the new year brings you new hopes and a new baby very soon! who knows u might even succeed naturally.

Westbb, Poohy,

thanks, I will keep trying, maybe try FET next cycle, see what the Dr say this Friday...

Can I check with you gals who's gone thru ICSI, how many or what are blood tests you did before and during the cycle? Is it neccessary to do blood test on 21st day of menses? What is it for?

Hi novem,

I did the day 21 blood test before ICSI. It's to check if you are ovulating on your own.

Other than that, the blood test which I took during ICSI is the same as yours, except that I got a E2 blood test on the day of ET.

Maybe u can check with the dr regarding the daily progesterone jabs instead of the HCG jab after the ET. I think that's the major diff betw mine and your case.

Hi Novem,

I haven't talked seriously yet w/ my RE, so i don't have any idea about FET.

Do you mind asking your doctor what is the procedure for FET, when will the jab start (or no need for this), what are the chances after a failed one? You can email me [email protected] or post the answer later, thanks for you help.

Are you ready to go through it right away? My RE wants it too but i'm not ready, give me a break!!!

Hi Berry,

I have yet to check with my RE regarding FET on Friday. As far as I know, there are natural FET and Medicated FET, but not sure how they decide which type suits you better.I will post whatever i find out on Friday.

I am not sure if I am ready or not, I will ask my RE if it is better to rest for one or two cycle... How many frozen embryos do you have? I only have 3, and knowing that not all embryos will survive the thaw, heard only 70%, and we won't know till the morning of your FET.

Happy Belated New Year to everyone...

Melody,Novem,Berry, dun be discouraged, it's only a matter of time that you will make it.

Anyone knows if we can take Bak Foong pills before starting IVF?

Thanks for the prayers, encouragement, consolation, ... Took 2 days to recover from it. Now feeling much better. Now I'm just gonna take a 3 months break from baby making and focus on recuperating my body and emotions. After that will think about what I'm gonna do/not do. Thanks again to everyone for being here when I needed.

Hi Melody,

glad that you are feeling better.it's good to take a break, for your body and emotion... hope you strike naturally
take care!

BTW , will you see your Dr for a review?

Hi Novem,

I have 4. I didn't know that not all frozen will survive, are you sure? I think they are even "better and stronger" as they survived for a few days more before freezing.

Maybe you can ask your RE what is the grade of your embryos. Just for your info.

Hi Novem

I will not be seeing the doc for the time being. Will see him after 3 months. No point seeing him now.

Best of luck with your frozen embryos.

Hi Berry,

yes, it's true, not all embryos will survive the thawing process though there are cases whereby all embryos survive after thawing.

Hi hebe,

yes, u can take BFW before starting the jabs. I took that but I stopped for 1 cycle b4 starting my jabs. My doc say strictly no chinese medication after starting jabs.

Hi Novem,

U may also want to check with doc on laser hatching as well. I read on the web that laser hatching can increase the chances of embryo implanting. I did that for 1 of my embryo and sometimes, I got this feeling that it was that embryo that implanted.

Hope you don't mind me intruding. I'm thinking of doing IUI or IVF in April this year and would like to find out more from this thread.

Can I know how much did you all spend in the procedure? And how long does it take for all the tests and such before the actual procedure? Thanks for your help in advance.

Hi Chemistry and Novem,

Yes, you're right, i did a research and not all frozen will survive, oh my gosh! that's another thing to worry again.

Anyways, i read that there are ladies who had successes on FET, they say the stress is lesser, fewer jabs, and you know how it goes.

I'm with you Melody, will take a break first.

Berry,

Definitely, chances with FET is still as good. My gynae told me one of his patient just need to go thru 1 cycle of jabs and pregnant for 3 times. That means, at least 2 of her pregnancies were from FET!

Hi hopeful,

For me, I was referred for IVF 4 month after I start seeing the infertility specialist. The IVF procedure takes about 1-1.5 month. Cost me about $8.3K.

hi, chemistry,
u mentioned that u went for the IVF program. how was it? did u achieved pregnancy?
i heard that u can claim from medisave for the ivf program but only when pregnancy is confirmed. is it true? if yes, how many %? tks

how many tries on SO-IUI did u all do before moving on to IVF? i just did my 1st SO-IUI last cycle. Only got 1 good follicle at that time.. but it failed. im due to do my 2nd IUI this cycle. if this fails, my gynae ask me to test for endo. then see how it goes. i hope to achive pregnancy without going to IVF coz i know its mentally, and financially stress. I do go to Dr Xia (EYS-paragon). she given me some powder to take for the next 2 weeks. she also suggest i go for accupuncture nxt week. Have any of u try chinese med + western med b4.

Christina
Why don't you check whether you have endo are not first then do IUI? Why spend $ to do IUI then check for endo...isn't that a waste of $?

Hi Hopeformiracle,

If hubby sperm is ok, think gynae will ask u to try IUI or SO-IUI first. But if IUI fails after few cycles, gynae may ask u to try IVF cos chances conceiving for IVF is higher.

Hi christina,

The IVF program not really stressful if u take it positively. Procedure quite simple and painless. The only time I was stressed up was during the waiting period for results. Logically, u should also test for endo, tube blockage etc first before doing any IUI and IVF. As for CPF, u can claim up to $6K for the 1st IVF try regardless of outcome. And yes, i was one of the lucky one to conceive under IVF.

hi ,
tks a lot for the input. ive test for tube blockage. its norm. my gynae thinks that i might not have endo looking that i dont have any symtoms. thats y i didnt test for it b4 doing iui. im doing my 2nd so-iui this week. he say if i dun conceive then i need to go test for endo.

chemistry, how many times of iui did u went thru b4 doinf IVF? did u conceive on the 1st try on IVF?

Hi christina,

I didn't do any IUI before IVF. My hubby's sperm count is too low for IUI. That's why have to proceed to IVF straight away.

Hi Berry,

I was very disappointed with my 3-min consultation last Fri which cost us $46, I actually prepared some questions to ask the Dr, but before I finished he already stood up, ready to leave the room... he also never explain the procedure for FET, anyway, arranged by the nurse, I will be going for a blood test on 22/1 to test if I am ovulating on my own, if I am, then they will proceed with natural FET cycle. If I am not, then it will be a medicated FET which involves jabs and medications etc...

I am trying not to think too much abt it, but very difficult as one lunch partner just gave birth, the other's wife is preggie, so keep talking abt babies all the time... have to bear with it liao, what to do...

Hi novem

If your doc never have the chance to answer your question, can you email your question to him? I think it is his responsibility to clear your doubts.

Though I have conceived but I can definitely understand how you feel when people around you are talking about babies all the time. I have been through countless of failed natural cycles and 1 IUI...and it was very difficult for me to go through that period.

Hang on there, I believe preservance will bring you the results

Hi novem,

Maybe your doc got urgent case to attend to. You got your doc's email, right? Maybe, can try posting your questions to your doc thru email?

Hi Tomatoes/Poohy,

Some doctors have this believe in ART, "technology can only do that much, the rest is all god's will".

Hi Chemistry,

I don't think so, there were a few patients following us, so we also timed the consultations, all less than 5 mins... i don't mind the waiting time but at least we deserve a quality service, anyway I won't be discouraged, maybe he's right, only god and one's own will can help, maybe a more caring doctor also lor

Hi Novem,

Ask yourself if you are ready to go for it again this cycle. What are the questions you have? Did the doctor suggest you to do it again this cycle? I don't suggest emailing him, the more he doesn't have the time to answer it well. I'm pissed off if the doc is not accommodating, i'm paying them well, so i expect they treat me well too. I pay $50 for consultation too and my doc has to answer all my questions, i list it down and place it on the table so she can see if she has answered all.

Yes, you're right, science can only play a small role, the rest is God's will. But we also have to make sure that they do it good, like for me, i wasn't able to insist of assisted hatching, so next time, i will tell that to my RE.

For your case, yes, you can go ahead with it if your doc recommended it. (What exactly did he tell you for that 3minutes? too quick) Are there things or different protocol that he will be doing, like what chemistry said, do PIO instead of HCG? You mean for medicated, we have to do jabs too? For what? we already have the Frozen, right? Sorry, i haven't research well on this yet. I thought it would be just medication.

I totally understand how are you feeling now, just keep on praying and that He will guide us on what is best for us. And guide those doctors too that they realize that we depend on them too.

Hi novem,

Don't upset yourself over this matter lah. Request for a change a doc if u are really unhappy with that doc over this matter. Now must take care of your body as well as emotions so that your FET will be sucessful.

BTW, I just heard from my colleague that her friend, 37 yrs old is now 3 mths preggy with twins from FET. She is with KKH too (Dr Sheila Loh). So be positive and u will succeed too!

Hi berry,

Her fresh one was sucessfully, but her pregnancy ended at 6-7 week as they cannot detect the heartbeat. So she went for a D&C and try the FET a months later.

Hi Chemistry,

ya, nice to hear another successful case
and what's D&C?

I'm not that much affected lah, worse come to worse I change dr or hospital as well, actually the dr won't comment whether I should try FET next cycle or not, say it's up to individual.

Berry,

if I am not wrong a natural FET involves scans and progesterone support after transfer, not too sure abt medicated cycle at KKH, still trying to find out more from the net.. maybe next time go for blood test, I ask the nurse for details. There are a few nice nurses at KKIVF

Hi Novem,

D&C is a procedure where the wash and clean up the womb. It usually done for cases of miscarraige.

Hmm, seems like your dr not very encouraging hor? Maybe i share with u what my gynae told me during the councelling session. He said 1st try fail does not mean FET will fail. He say should continue to try for 2nd time cos chance of conceiving in 2nd try is still as good as 1st try (unlike that stated in the MOH report). He said even both hubby and wife are healthy and fertile, there is still a 15% chance that they can't conceive naturally. So for us where 1 party is not so fertile (eg low sperm count or PCOS etc), definitely not all will be able to conceive at 1st try. Dunno if this is helpful to u in deciding to proceed for FET. Personally, if I'm u, I will definitely go for it.

Hi novem

If you feel that your RE is having this thought: "technology can only do that much, the rest is all god's will". I think it time to reconsider your RE lor. I personally feel that all REs should be sensitive to their patients, especially when we have to go thru IVF. It is a very emotionally and physically straining process and we really need the encouragement and confidence from our RE to move on to the next step if we failed on 1st try.

If I can't even have this assurance from my RE, I think I would want to switch to another RE who cares more. Of course, no RE can gurantee sucessful but we need encouragement mah.

My RE, for eg., I would not said he is a saint but I can see that he really want his patients to succeed (of cos, with the objective of bringing up the success rates in for his clinic). As such, he is very careful and wants his patients to be monitored very closely.

I would not say his charges is cheap but at least I get his assurance and confidence throughout the whole process.

Sorry, I think I talk too much but I juz cannot swallow the fact some system is too robotic...ie. followed all steps according to procedure and leave the rest to God's will.

hi novem,

if u really feel uncomfortable with your doc..(is it dr yeong) then I think it would be best to get a change in gynae. If its the hospital procedure that is causing you discomfort then shd consider a change too. Whatever it is, best is to feel comfortable and have a mutual trust between yourself and your RE.

I guess I had a very different experience with this RE (if this is the same one u r refering to) as throughout my 2.5 years of infertility, miscarriage, SO-IUI, threatened miscarriage, he had shown us exceptional assurance, encouragement and care. Each time even during my miscarriage where we feel so hopeless and filled with grief ... he din spend a lot of time with us during consultation (each consultation normally wont exceed 5-10 min), but he answer any of our queries be it during consultation or via email or pages promptly. He keep asking us not to be discouraged. Different people have different expectations and it is best to be comfortable and most importantly know that u r able to trust the doc u r seeing

Maybe being a christian makes it easier for me to appreciate the term "God's will" ... its central to our belief, do our best and let God do the rest.

hope I din offend anyone here.. but I just wanna offer a different perspective.

Hi Chemistry,Tomatos and Poohy,

thanks for sharing your opinions and experience with me, it really helps

Chemistry, I will proceed with FET next cycle, as physically, I feel I am fine, as I didn't experience any side effects fm the jabs or got overstimulate... I am eating healthly for FET... Do you gals know is my FET cycle considered my 2nd try according to MOH for claiming Medisave?

Tomatoes, think you are right, I am disappointed by "robotic " system that KKIVF is offering to their patients. this is the main difference between private and government hosiptals, believe that RE in govn't hospitals are seeing much more patients than private ones, they are loaded with tons of work everyday...if you've been to KKIVF, you will know, there are so many patients everyday, think they give the same kind of consultation and see so many failed cycles till feel numb already liao...

Poohy, really no offence, I understand how you feel abt your RE,feel happy for your success under his care. but we do have different experience, maybe i expected him to be more encouraging and reassuring after my failed cycle, but you know, when we asked if there's anything can be done to increase the chance, the answer is simply "no", when we asked how's the % of a successful FET, he said don't want to give us any numbers, later then get disappointed if fail to conceive, but if there's no hope, how to get disappointed later on... in other words, we should just do it without expectation and hope lor, it sounds quite discouraging right... anyway, as i said I am not affected, and will stay positive, the fact is there're still a lot of successful cases around us which are giving us hope and force to move forward, even KKIVF
so those with KKH, don't get discouraged by my experience hor

Hi Novem,

Glad to hear that you're not affected, i think we are all affected more than you, i can't stand your RE if i were you. His answer were so funny, i guess he might just have a bad day. We just try to understand him that he might have been asked the same question several times and don't feel like giving a nice answer.

I'll just answer on behalf of my RE as i have asked that.

What can we do to increase the chance? She told me i should be relax and be happy.

% of successful FET - she told me that fresh failed doesn't mean FET will failed, it will be a totally different case.

Hope this helps. This is really what she told me after my failed one - when she called me personally and when i emailed her after.

Pls. do share your experience with FET so i would know more or less what to expect when my time comes. Thanks. Take care.

And Novem, we both should sleep early and not surfing late. We have to build up our body

Just kidding...i noticed we are still awake at this time. Goodnite....