Hi novem, tomatoes and melody,

I'm fine now and the bleeding has became spotting that night when I was admitted to kkh, and then no more from Sat onwards. It's quite odd also cos the cramp on the bum and thigh went off almost immediately when the bleeding started. Dr Loh say there are many factors that contibute to the bleeding esp for an IVF pregnancy. He also say that it's too early for symptoms of ectopic pregnancy to show at this point of time, though he still cannot exclude the possibility of this happening. But since they found the sac in my womb and my beta level is higher than expected, he think there shouldn't be any problem. Now, I just hope the sac in my womb grow well. I think I can only be relieve if I can see the pulse on Thurs' scan.

Oh yah, think i was a bit over-stimulated as well. The radiologist say my ovaries were very swollen!

Hi Novem/Melody,

Usually, they will be able to find more eggs on the day of retrival. I think the last time I have 10-12 potential ones one but they found 19 on the day of retrieval. So,all the best to your egg retrival and transfer! Don't worry, cos the processes are all quite pain-free.

I desperately need some advice. Especially from those that had gone through the program.

I'm contemplating between starting a new job and doing IVF at the same time. You think it's advisable?
If i start the new job, it's next week and my planned IVF schedule starts in early Jan05.

Pls help!!!

Hi hebe,

I think u should go ahead with the new job, cos jobs don't come by easily nowadays. Let your company know that u have some family committment during the period when you do your ER and ET and may need to take some leave (don't take the MC). In actual fact, u don't really need a long MC after ET. In KKH, we are encouraged to go back to work 3 days after ET s long as u don't exert/stress yourself. Personally, i also find going back to work is better for me.

Hi chemistry,

thank you, thank you for your prompt advice.

Why dun take MC for ER and ET?
How many days do you need to rest after ER?

BTW, how are you feeling?

Hi hebe,

When u take MC esp long ones like IVF, company usually ask for the cause. If u don't mind disclosing to your company that u are on IVF treatment, then u can take MC. If u want to hide from them, then maybe it's better to take leave instead.

Hi Chemistry
Glad that the spotting has stopped. Its gonna be such a joy to see the pulse on thurs. Best of luck.

Hi Bebe
The first 3 weeks of IVF treatment is not so diruptive to work but once u need to go for regular scanning (for my case, everyday for 1 week) it is disruptive to work as you need to go for it in the morning (about 8am to 9.30am). As for ER and ET you need to take at least 5 days of rest. If you consider all this, it may be difficult in a new job unless you have flexi working hours. One option is to discuss with your boss to start your work after the ET.

Update on my progress
The eggs are of 20.5, 18.5 and 17.5. Only these 3 eggs are available. My ER is on this Thurs. Praying that these 3 eggs are of super good quality and could succeed this time round as I won't have any embryos to freeze.

Hi Melody,

The sizes are alright, just be positive, don't worry, we only need 1 egg to hit it.

Why can't they increase your dosage or wait for a few more days of puregon so as to have more eggs. Just my idea.
How many days are you in Puregon and what's the dosage - 300iu all the way?

Best of luck to you and Novem.

Hi Chemistry,
thanks very much.
how do you feel after the ER and ET? have to lie in bed? or can walk around?

Hi Melody,
you mean for ER and ET, we need to rest 5 days each? Good luck for your ER!

Hi Berry,
how are you feeling? isit time for you to test??
can you tell me how the schedule of the scanning and bloodtests will be like, since we are seeing the same gynae?
does the scanning take long? or the waiting time to see her is longer? heehee...
how many days apart are the ER and ET?
how do you feel after the ER and ET?
Sorry, so many questions...

chemistry, it must have been such a shock! glad to know that it's ok now. all the best on Thu, it's a very amazing experience to hear ur bb's heartbeat, it's like "finally!"

melody, good luck to u on Thurs too! you'll probably get more than 3 eggs retrieved, so u might even got some for freezing. all the best!

hebe, i think u'll need more rest days for ET than ER. cos after ET u'll try to 'protect' ur embies by resting more and not doing anything too strenuous. how flexible is your new job in taking offs/leaves? that will be a major consideration, cos i think if u feel v stressful over taking leaves and such, then not too good for the procedure lor.

been back fm my ER, they received 15 eggs,ET on Thur, not much pain after the procedure, but now some crampy feeling and brown spotting. The nurse said i won't know how many eggs will be fertilised till Thur, so now only praying for the best.

Hi Melody,

dun worry, we only need one good embryos to strike, relax and the eggs will grow better

Hi Hebe,

for my case, it's not so much of disruption on work, as i only went for 1 blood test and 2 scan before ER, now i am given 5day HL till Sat, actually,at KKH you have to ask for extra MC after ET, they don't encourage complete bed rest after ET.. but i will ask for a few more days MC to rest at home, as my work is quite stressful.
What is your hubby's opinion?

Hi hebe,

I feel pretty bloated after the ER & AT, probably I was a bit overstimulated. Also, I got gastric from the antibiotics that I have to take after ER. I think it should be ok to move around but not too much after ET, cos I was made to go back everyday to KKH for jabs.

Is the company which u are joining a big company or small firm? I noticed that big company are usually more tolerant or understanding than small firms.

Hi novem,

Your nos looks good. Will u need to go for the daily progesterone jabs like me? All the best to your ET on Thursday.

Hi Melody,

All the best to your ER on Thurs too. And yes, u will only need 1 good embryo to strike. Guess u will bump onto Novem at KKIVF on Thurs?

Hi Chemistry,

thanks for the good wishes, I am still feeling the cramp, feels like having heavy period, but it's just brown spotting, did you feel the same? I don't feel like moving around... I have not been informed whether i need to go back daily for jabs yet. Was that HCG jab same as the the one for maturing the eggs we did at night?

Btw, how are you feeling now? So you will be going for scan on Thur ? At KKIVF also?

Hi Novem

15 eggs is a very good number!
Have as much rest as possible and really hope to receive another piece of good news soon

Hi Chemistry

Keep us updated of your scan hor

Hi Polarbear

You have sent me a pte msg but I can't pm to you as I think yours is not turned on.

To answer your question, Dr Chen wants to see you on CD4 cos he wants to know if the follicles are "sleeping soundly" and he will also do a blood test to see how you react to suprefact. He wants to make sure that that there is no activity in your uterus before starting stimulating jabs.

Due to your work schedule, the best is to ask him for advice as I am not sure it is really that crucial that you must see him on CD4.

Thnx for all your good wishes and encouragement. Really needed that as I keep feeling very down after every scan.

Hi berry
I was on puregon for 12 days and 300iu all the way. The doctor felt that extending the jabs is not gonna stimulate any more eggs.

Hi hebe
Both for ER and ET, the total mc given in KK is 5 days.

Hi Novem
I have to be at the IVF by 8.30 tomorrow. What time will you be there?

Hi Novem,

I don't really feel any cramps after ER, probably because it's masked by my gastric pain. I will be doing the scan at Women's Specialist Centre and then see Dr Loh at Clinic D tomorrow. KKIVF centre won't see us anymore once we completed the program.

Hi tomatoes,

Yah, will definitely update u all. Dunno why, was really excited and look forward to tomorrow's scan but yet scare. Think I have not got over the shock i got last week.

BTW, may I know if your RE gives u any medication at this point of time? Do u feel "sick" as in like gas in the tummy & chest. I got this feeling since this week and it make me feel so restless.

Hi Melody

Dun worry so much about it. Your RE will find more eggs during your retrieval. Remember 1 good egg and sperm is all you need

Hi Chemistry

My RE did not prescibe me with any medication for gassy feeling in my body. It is one of the pregnancy symptoms and there is no cause for worry
I know it is very uncomfortable, as I have been burping and burping trying to push all the gas in my chest... My RE always tell me, the more pregnancy symptoms I have, the better it is as the bb is growing and hormones are increasing.... So no choice lor, just got to bear with it for the 1st trimester.

Hi tomatoes,

So u got that feeling too! Actually, I was hoping for MS too. :p I tot can vomit out and feel better but then I can't even push the gas and food out of me.

How long more do u have to go before your 1st trimester ends?

hi melody,

all the best for ER tomorrow, my ET is scheduled at 8am, may see you inside the operation room
praying hard for more embryos... and you will have more good eggs to retreive... keep our fingers crossed. have a good rest tonight..

hi Tomatoes,

I also want to join you gals as MTB soon. will update again tomorrow... hoping for the best for all of us...

Hi Chemistry,Melody,Novem,Westbb,
Thanks for your advice.

I still 'san xing liang yi'...
On one hand, I want myself to be in the best form and give it my best shot for the procedure (that is, have no stress).
On the other hand, I scared if i miss this job opportunity, I may not find another job..

My gynae will give 2 weeks MC for ER and ET.
Shall I tell my employer that I need to go for op and need 2 weeks MC? and if they mind, then I'll give the job a miss lor...what you gals think? shall i tell?

sigh....

thanks a lot for 'listening' to me.

Melody and Novem, good luck!

You shld tell your prospective employer but be prepared tolose the job. From a hiring pt of view (and I've been doing some lately), I wld feel very pissed if the candidate was not honest with us. Perhps you can negotiate to start after the long MCs?

had my ET this morning, only have 6 embryos usabel, transfered 3, 3 will be frozen, need to go back for HCG jabs every 3 days till christmas day, no other medication given. pls pray hard hard for me can strike this round

Hi Melody,

how's your ER today? didn't see you, as we were in the other room. do keep us posted and all the best for your ET...

Hi novem,

That's good considering still got spare embryoes to freeze. I have checked with the nurse last time and they say the effect of the HCG is the same as progesterone, so not to worry. Just stay positive and eat well during these 2 weeks and u will make it. When will be your beta test?

Hi Melody,

How's your ER today?

Hi tomatoes,

The scan today had detected my bb's pulse. So happy & relieved! The size is 10mm now and est at 5.4 weeks old. Dr Loh say the progress is good esp if bb pulse is detected. Also got that painful progesterone jab again today, but think the pain is worthwhile as long as it's good for the pregnancy.

Hi Chemistry

Glad that everything is fine for you
10mm - are your referring to your bb or your sac? If you are referring to your bb, that's consider quite big....cos I think my bb was only about 5+mm when I was also 5weeks plus.

Anyway, most important that you are able to see your bb heartbeat. Continue to take care hor

Hi Novem

You might rest more cos these 2 weeks very important.

hi Chemistry,

thanks for your comfort, i will keep positive, and pray hard that there's implantation... how many blood test did you have before the beta test? my beta test is on 3/1, as 17th falls on Sunday..

Hi tomatoes,

Dunno it refer to what leh cos it only state 10mm under "size" in the report. Yah, will take extra care. U take care too.

Hi Novem,

I only had 2 blood tests, 1 which is on ET day for E2 and another is 5 days after ET for progesterone. Think u should also have that progesterone test cos it determines whether the HCG dosage is sufficient.

congrats to novem and chemistry!

novem, same here i also only have 3 left to freeze last time, hpefully u don't need them! do take things easy now...

chemistry, yah if 10mm quite big leh, ur bb must be growing very strong heehee. did gynae tell u your edd?

melody how's ur ER?

i think i very bad today, been craving for luncheon meat (so unhealthy!) and today finally gave in and bought one can to eat during dinner! Anybody been feeling very "nuah" (lazy) recently? i am so lazy and never do much work, feel very bad and yet no much improvement! tsk tsk!

Hi chemistry,

i can't resist opening my computer and checking you today, i'm so happy and relieved too for you.
Now, no need to worry anymore, the heartbeat is there. Continue to rest well.

I'm in my roller coaster emotion, one moment i'm so happy and have high hopes, the next thing, i'm so sad, i have a bit of cramp now and then, brown spotting a few days ago. Now, my abodomen is so heavy, it's called cramp, right? i feel that AF is gonna show up soon. Oh, well, it's not over yet until the beta. My greatest symptom is total psychic torture. This is the longest 2 weeks wait of my life. I'm counting the days/nights til my beta next week.

For the graduates - did you feel like your AF is about to come. Just a tiny bit of thing in my undies makes me freak out.
I had a brown spot few days back, not much. Yesterday i have a white thing, i'm thinking it might be the CM before AF. Did you westbb, tomatoes have this? I'm stil thinking positively, but sometimes, negative thoughts is powerful.

Best of luck, Novem. Rest for a few days.

HI westbb,

Thanks. Maybe 10mm is the size of the sac. I was so nervous during the scan. We didn't get to face the monitor and so didn't see anything. When the doc say "ah..there's a heart", i still didn't catch the hint and ask her is there a heartbeat. kekeke...

Hi berry,

I can understand how u feel cos i was the same during 2ww. I observe every single symptom and discharge i got. Whether got symptom or not, i also get worry. According to the nurse, most of the time our symptoms are caused by the medication such as HCG jab or progesterone rather than the pregnancy. It's coming to the end of this week and next week will be here soon. U have to tell yourself be patient and u will definitely be rewarded.

hi! i'm new to this thread. my hubby and i have been ttc for 15 mths, still no news. very disappointed month after month. thinking of trying test tube baby. any good gynaes to recommend? is it expensive??

berry, it's very normal to try to read into every sympton or non-symptom, can go crazy easily! i remembered once i jolt up from bed in cold sweat and thought i felt AF flow! anyway, yes i did feel AF-cramps before i tested. don't remember whether got CM, but everyone is different... all the best to ur beta, very soon already just a few more days! are u going to test urself first?

angieooi, i did mine at TMC (Dr Cheng). We've also got successful ladies here who went to GlenE and KKH too. Think so far, KKH is the most economical. Don't think of IVF first, ur gyane will do some checks on u and ur hubby, maybe u just need the less invasive procedures like IUI to succeed.

angie, if you scroll up the old mails, one of them had a document attached which listed details of the ladies here doing the IVF at various hospitals. You can check it out.

HI angieooi,

Yah, agree with westbb, go for a gynae checkup first. The gynae will check both u and your hubby before recommending a suitable treatment.

If u need recommendation of gynae, can refer to the document maya is referring too. All these gynaes are specialists in reproductive medicine.

Hi Berry,

How are u? Hope u are feeling better today!

hi Gals,

I have been having very bad back pain (right side only) since yesterday morning, even before my ET, I did tell the nurse about it, but she said it's ok, but it's not getting better, and i feel very "suan" /in pain when i am walking sitting and sleeping, should i go to see Dr Yeong? Don't think it's side effect of the all the jabs, right? dare not to take pill killer...

novem,

why dun u email dr yeong to find out ? He respond quite fast.. Was he the gynae that did the ET for u ? (I send you his email address early this week already)

Hi Poohy,

ya, he replied my email very fast (within 1/2 hour), he told me as long as i have no problem passing urine, it's likely to be muscular pain... if it's getting more serious, I will go down KK for a review... thanks for the email add

Hi Poohy,

ya, he replied my email very fast (within 1/2 hour), he told me as long as i have no problem passing urine, it's likely to be muscular pain... if it's getting more serious, I will go down KK for a review... thanks for the email add

Hi Westbb,
I don't have the nerve to test, HCG is still in the system for 10-14 days(?) so it might just be a negative, though i have around 5 test kits here i'm looking at everyday. Did you test before your beta? on what day?

Hi chemistry,

I feel okay now as westbb said, and i read also that it's alright to have AF symptoms, i'm just thinking that it will not show up as i'm on progesterone. I've been looking at my undies the whole day checking for anything,do you also had CM or wet thing?

Hey novem,
If the pain still there, go and have it check. It might be the wound not healing yet. Just try to rest more, don't walk much, lie on your side. Did you bleed after retrieval? Email to dr. yeong, don't trust those nurses.

Hi angie,

Don't even think of doing IVF if it's not necessary, the stress you have to go through is immeasurable, not to mention the financial burden. this is our last resort, bec. IUI and other drugs has failed for us. But i still suggest go and see a doctor early to help you. There are lots of other treatment first before IVF.

Okay, gotta go, have to check my undies again........

wow! seems like everyone is up super early!!
ok. thanks for your suggestions, will definetely go check first. can tell me how the checks go? like which day of CD to go for first check?

Hi novem,

Don't worry, as long as Dr Yeong say it ok, guess the pain will go off soon.

Hi berry,

I got white CM after my spotting stopped. Even till now, I'm still getting the white CM.

HI angieooi,

The tests I went thru are:

1. Ultrasound scan to check for cysts
2. Pap Smear
3. Blood test on Day 21 to check ovulation
4. HSG to check blockage of tubes
5. Sperm Analysis for my hubby.

I think these are pretty standard test which most gynae will make u go thru.

berry, u very cute leh, keep going to check ur undies. i'm one person who can't wait for beta to test, but also damn scare to test my own, so i waited until one day before beta test then i tested on the test kit i.e. i tested 13 days past transfer. exactly which day next week is ur beta?

Hi Westbb,

My 17th day is on Wednesday but working to make it earlier. Do you had high hopes that you made it bec. of your symptoms or sometimes you feel so low too? What symptoms makes you think that you made it? I have a mixed feelings now esp with this AF symptoms, but today it's gone. I wish i have a crystal ball to know the result asap.

Hi angieooi,

Yes, u can call KKH to make appt to see Dr SF Loh. But do note that his consultation rates are similar or may even be higher than some pte gynae cos he is a snr consultant. But most medication, tests and procedures are cheaper in KKH than pte gynae.

Hi berry,

So Mt E also test only on 17th day? I tot only KKH test so late. Think u can check with your gynae whether can do it 2 days earlier cos the last time KKH is actually wiling do it it 2 days earlier for me, but there is a risk that the count is not high enough and cause unnecessary worries.

Hi Berry

For me, I tested on my own on the 9th day after the ET and got a faint positive. No significant symptoms b4 that, so I thought gone case also. Try to tahan as late as possible.... as not to give any unnecessary negative thoughts.

Hi novem

Take good care of yourself and do go see your RE is the pain the terrible.

Hi angieooi

Yah, dun go straight to IVF. Do the normal tests first then decide what to do next. Your RE will be able to give us good advices.