Hi baby,

how old are you if u dun mind me asking? i think Dr Cheng is ok , just want the couples to try naturally , cause eventually natural baby still better.
Maybe he wants you to try iui before a big step to ivf..

WY Koo, the puregon dosage is closely related to your FSH level. My FSH level is high, so Dr Loh gave me high dosage as he say he knew that my no. of eggs will be low even with this high dosage. There is no OHSS for me.

Actually I have been seeing TCM to build up my health in 2007 & 2008. The chinese physician did mentioned that she will give me some medicines to take to unblock my tube but I don't know in the end, the medicines I have took previously is actually for gastric or blocked tube issue or to build up my womb). I did told her that I am trying for baby. But I did not see her faithfully as I only visited the chinese physician when I have gastric problem. I realized that my FSH has increased from 7.7 (in 2007) to 10.6 (in 2008). I don't know if it is the herbs that cause the increase in FSH or due to some other factors (nobody will know). I have checked with Dr Loh if taking clomids will increase FSH as I have been taking a few months at Dr Cheng there. But Dr Loh say clomid won't increase FSH. He also don't know what cause the increase. He told us once FSH hit 10, is very bad.

I am very skinny. Dr Loh told me if he were to give me 200IU dosage, I would have to abort the procedure before ER as my eggs won't be responding well to the low dosage. Age is 1 factor for increase dosage too. But for my case, is due to the FSH level.

tnt, let me check with my hubby on the total cost then I let you know tonight. I think after medisave and subsidy, need to fork out 3K plus hard cash bah. Need to double check with him.

But for FEt, the nurse told us will cost less than 2K and so for FET, most probably we won't be using the medisave and govt subsidy as not worth to use. Save it for another fresh cycle bah.

I've also booked to do IVF in July with Dr Loh. But i'm torned now. Not sure if i should try IUI first. Dr Loh didn't say anything to me when i told him i wanted to do IVF although he asked me to try clomid for another 3 cycles.

For me, I have no blocked tubes. Just slight PCOS but still ovulating monthly. Just that the ovulation date is hard to predict cos my AF can range from CD25 - CD35. My hubby Semen analysis also ok, just low morphology (3%) and low volume. But count and motility is ok.

Anyone in similar situation? Shld i try IUI first instead?

Boon Boon, my hubby not really comfortable with chinese herbs as he also feel that we won't know exactly what is the med given to us. The reason why I have been seeing this TCM is bcos she has managed to help my friend conceived naturally through the herbs where the gynae told her she has almost 0% chance to conceive. So I am amazed with the chinese physician. But when I see her, she keep telling me not to think of baby. Have then have, don't have then forget it. No baby also not a bad thing..

Sigh.. don't know why I always encounter gynae and chinese physician who are not keen to help me make my dream comes true.. Not supportive at all. Maybe I just have no baby luck with them.. Only Dr Loh is supportive so far.

Since my hubby don't encourage me to see chinese physician on baby issue, think I won't be seeing. Anyway, TCM don't guarantee success also. But I am keen in accup as some ang moh also went for accup and conceived through IVF.

Chris, do keep me update after your appt with Dr Loh on this sat

Lina, thanks for the encouragement but I still don't pin much hope. Pretty stress these few days over the need to be absence from work again over IVF..

Sunflower
Nurse say the usual procedure on D8 is : Nurse will scan no. of follicles and size, then I have to wait to speak to one of the doctors (not Dr Loh), who will decide the dosage for me. If things are not looking good, then they will arrange for me to see Dr Loh on same day, and see what he suggest. I would definitely say D5 scan is most ideal, but they will not bend the rules for us.

sunflower, no point for me to try IUI with a blocked tube as the chance is low. Dr Cheng is fine but his charges are not cheap. Moreover need to purchase those clearblue ovulation test kits from him every time can cost a bomb. Think trying naturally for another 6 months after seeing him is enough bah. I have been trying for years before I see him, so I don't want to waste anymore time to try naturally. But he just refused to do IVF for me. So I decided not to waste time and money to see him liao.

Kymmie, I think you should try IUI first if no blocked tube. Cos there are ladies doing IUI by Dr Loh and got triplets or twins. Don't jump straight into IVF if there are still high chances for you to conceive through taking clomids and IUI. Do consider Dr Loh's suggestion.

baby: Ya no point doing IUI then since chances for IUI not high compared to IVF.. Dont worry,... This is juz a test.. All our dreams will come true..

Kymmie: If Dr Loh ask u to do IUI then u sud juz do it coz usually he wont recommand IUI unless he is sure things can work out.. All the best..

hi baby,
for FET given shorter mc, if you deduct weekend, you only take a few days mc. Think you can give any excuse, fever, gastric, etc. And before the FET, also no need to return to hospital, so you won't need to take any leave to buy medication or take jab. You only need to go for scan.

Hi baby,

oic..ya, blocked tube abit hard for iui.. since u are more comfortable with Dr Loh, then continue with him..

Hi Kymmie,

usually Dr loh will suggest ivf when he feels thats the only solution for that couple. Just like me, he directed me straightaway to ivf without considering other methods. he say iui will be a waste of money for me, clomid is not going to work for me. Since he has asked u to try clomid, he must have some confidence that you can make it..Your cycle between cd25-35 is ok. i heard of cases ranging from 70-90 days per cycle, still can conceived naturally.

Lina, there is no pregnyl injection for FET?
I have took a lot of leaves recently over the polyps operation and IVF cycle. So now feel the stress in applying for more leave or MC. Really feel like resigning from work and relax at home for the time being..

sunflower, yes, so far I am very comfortable with Dr Loh and the nurses. The nurses are very nice

Yes Kymmie, give IUI a try.. Dr Loh told me for my case can forget about IUI.. haha..

Ladies, can provide me with Dr Zou address and contact?
Think I will go for accup starting from next week if there is slot. By the way, can do accup when having mense? No issue right?

Dr Loh didn't suggest IUI. He suggested i try clomid. I have already taken 3 rounds of clomid. Plus this 3 rounds suggested by him, it will be 6 rounds of clomid already. Its quite ironical cos when i told him i hv tried 3 rounds of clomid already by my pte gynae, he says i shouldn't take clomid if i am ovulating regularly. Clomid will end up messing things up for me. But he still prescribe clomid to me in the end.

When i ask him if i shld do IVF instead, he says if you want, we can do it... then he arranged for me to do progesterone blood test and book me under July IVF. There's no mention of IUI.

I think he feels i am still young. I m 32, hubby is 33. But i don't feel i m young anymore... haha.

Hi Kymmie,

oh, you already tried 3 cycles of clomid.. another 3 more cycles will be bad for health.. Maybe you can give him some suggestions.
i didnt give up trying naturally, so while waiting for ivf, i ask him if i could try naturally, but with injections. I want to produce better quality eggs.
although you might be ovulating, the egg quality might not be the best for the sperms. So maybe you can ask him to change clomid to Puregon.
Just a suggestion lar..

Kymmie, there is a limit for taking clomid. Take too many round is not good for us. You didn't ask Dr Loh whey he still prescribe clomid for you since he say it will mess things up. So are you taking now?

Maybe you will want to make 1 more appt with him for further discussion. Suggest IUI and hear what he say. If he think that IUI is one of the option, then you can consider that before jumping to IVF.

Dr Loh and the IVF nurses also say that I am still young.. sigh.. but I don't feel young anymore too. For my case very straightforward cos of 1 blocked tube. But your case, you have no problem, so he won't suggest IVF straightaway bah.

Hi baby

Sorry about having the wrong facts about your case ie you having OHSS. Must have mistaken you for someone else. I have been seeing TCM for almost a year to do accup + take medications. My Anti-mullaria (correct spelling) hormone was on the low average side @ 2.5 before i started TCM. When I fist saw my fertility Dr, he made me re-take the test becos he said, if too low, it means we will not respond well to stimulation. As it is, the same hormone turned out average @ 10.6, which makes it more favorable for me to do IVF. Apparently good range is 2.5 to 25. Not sure if it is due to TCM. Think it is still worth it to give Dr Zou esp accup a try before you embark on your FET.

I can understand your stress about work +FET. How about giving the excuse that you are having a relapse on your old problem (the reason you gave for your IVF sick leave)?

WY

Baby, no problem with accup during menses. i do it all the time, but let Dr zou know so that she will only poke the right spots. Normally, i poke front and back but sometimes with menses only front. He also dun do much massage.

I've been reading this forum since last month during my 2ww.

I just had a strangely discouraging review at KKIVF. any of you above 40 and had failed cycle before?

I find it funny that some of you mentioned that Dr Loh seems to support TCM with IVF, but when I checked w him, he said that he doesn't think TCM works.

Baby
Dr Zou's address : Blk 505 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 #01-2670, tel : 64560833. Closed on Wed.

She will stop accu during AF, usually resume on D5.

Baby,
I had FET the last time. We paid cash. The rational is that each person can only draw from her medisave 3 times max. the first time max amt is 6K, 2nd is 5K and etc. Each draw counts regardless of the amount drawn. So since FET is less than 2K, which is below the limit allowed, most people would rather use cash, so as not to fork out say 5K when the need comes.

BTW, govt grant is only for fresh cycles, not frozen. We only found out when we were registering for our FET.

Hi Lyn

Wrong spelling. It should be Anti-Mullerian hormone, AMH in short, normally tested at D2 of the menses cycle. Apparently it gives the Dr an indication if you will respond well to ovulation.

cheers.
wy

Hi Libby

The ladies here recommend 2-3 eggwhites/day. Personally, I only take 1 eggwhite/day and 4 eggyolks per week. Don't mind increasing my intake of eggwhite but will have diffulties disposing the eggyolks. Don't want to get high cholesterol too.

Lyn, typo error, should be ovulation stimulation

WY

Hi Koo,

Keke.. i thought 6 eggs white a day... haha i given libby wrong info liao..

Hi Libby ,

I think i will only get egg white and give the yolks to my dogs.. haha.. ;p

Hi Develyn

Whoa, you so cruel one :), dogs can also get heart attacks/problems one leh!

anyway, egg whites are protein in the purest, singular form. You can also get proteins from red meats, fish and chicken as well as soy proteins.

wy

sunflower,
yes, 1st cycle. happened to get lucky wif sf loh.

baby,
accu shld be ok. many ladies do accu wif ivf. most ivf gynaes seem ok wif accu during ivf process.

WY,
dat's good. rest well for ur ET. or is dat over liao?

libby,
a she. hope dun change la! haha!
lucrin jabs will stop the day before ER.

sophia,
best is they dun call u = good results. if they call u, probably means u need more jabs or something.
sometimes early HCG tests may be falsely positive due to pregnyl jabs taken by some. so, 17dp ET actually quite ok.

lina,
1st tri dun eat la...
2nd tri onwards if u wan, eat at clean places wif high levels of hygiene - i.e. only restaurants for me. $$$

tnt,
we spent less than $3k after deducting medisave. we did not qualify for grant bcos ET was before 17 aug 08 & also bcos we put in 3 embryos.

WY/develyn,
kkh ivf nurses give diff advises. some will say more egg whites wif high protein milk. try not to eat the egg yolks though

Itjabi, what op are you referring to?

WY Koo, I learned another new term today again - Anti-Mullerian hormone, AMH. So this AMH is the result from BT right? Later I go and check my BT results from Thomson. So far, I don't have any BT records given by KKIVF centre. Do any of you ladies got the records?
It is difficult for me to use this excuse as I went for polyps op and given 1 week MC that time. And I told my boss I need to go on HL due to complication caused by my 1st op.. So now canot use the same excuse liao. Maybe in the end, I might hold on to further IVF procedure. See how as I can sense that my bosses are unhappy about my long absence (HL) liao @_@

Lina, my hubby said the nurse got tell us no injection for FET ;p I blur lah.

Hazel, last time Dr Loh don't encourage and don't discourage TCM. Think he only start to discourage when he found out quite a no. of unsuccessful case for those who went for TCM. But of cos not all who went for TCM failed the cycle lah. Lina is one good example who went for TCM and conceive through IVF
So I think it depends on individually how comfortable you are with TCM. Thanks for the info for FET. Yes, the nurse also told yus not worth to use medisave. So for govt grant, only apply for fresh cycle.. hmmm..

libby, thanks for the address. I will call tomorrow

As for egg whites, best to take 3-4 per day. I didn't take that much as I very scare of egg whites after lucrin stage. It is best to take all the way til ET. Me not obedient lah.. sigh.. maybe that's why failed.. haha.. So you must be good gal and take more egg whites ok?

juju78,I am planning to do 1 month accup before I start my FET and see how it goes..

Just saw Dr Loh again for advice on my high FSH.

Baby, your FSH level is not high as compared to mine. Mine is doubled of yours man!!

Supposed to start ICSI this month but due to thehigh FSH, Dr Loh recommended Antangonist cycle so starting Puregon jab at D2 of my menses this month. Glad that he let me try IVF. Thought he'll discourage me due to my high FSH.

juju78: Did u have to pay full cash then for ur IVF? Transferred 3 embroyos better alsoo..Higher change of conceiving..How many r u expecting?? Soo cool..Must be a wonderful feeling
Did u have any syptoms during ur 2ww??

Baby, that's right, AMH is a hormone they test usu D2/3 of menses via BT. Personally, i have records of all the test results to show to the Drs. Actually, Baby, if you decide that IVF is the solution, then you should probably no longer undergo anymore tests, esp if you have done all the essential ones. I think there's no expiry dates for hormone tests and X-rays except for sperm anaylsis (6months to 1year, i think). My view is no point going for repeated tests and stress yourself out over the results. ISCI or IVF should be able to solve your solution.

Relapse should be fine to give as an excuse. Just say that the polyps came back again. No reason to believe that. besides, if FET, the leave will be shorter.

wy

baby,
i think having a bb is more important than job.
i was lucky my bosses were encouraging cos whole dept got family type, though direct boss & teammates a bit unhappy when i'm not around. made up for it by being there for them when they call me lor.
if u wan the BT records etc, can ask the nurse to make u copies. they shld be able to do dat, but do see dat they r not too bz la...

itjabi,
yes, paid full cash each time. after ET (cos signed medisave forms before ER), then the medisave rebates start to come in.
i din have a higher chance. maybe could be better if i had put in only 2, maybe can have twins.
now, only have 1.
no symptoms during 2ww, no nausea or anything in 1st tri also. got me so worried cos also din see anything during 2nd scan.
in the end, worry for nothing.

hi juju,

so u have a boy or gal? very fast u can see him/her le.. it will be wonderful to carry the baby on your arms the first time.

Hi WY,

you at london now right? maybe your AMH hormone is our FSH hormone. Maybe different country call it differently? Becos seems like it works the same way as our FSH hormone, use it to determine the dosage for puregon.

Hi Serene,

so meaning if you have a very high FSH, you dont need to inject lucrin to suppress hormones? But if you proceed straight to puregon stage, meaning you would need super high dosage? else your ovary would not respond well right? wat is the dosage he prescribed?

WY Koo/Baby
Tks for advise on egg whites.

Baby
Today, Nurse Sara says there's a patient who did her ER managed to retrieve more than 10 follicles this time round, compared to her previous 5 follicles. Her dosage remain the same, the only difference she did was go for accu at Dr Zou. Hope this is encouraging to you to try accu

Develyn
Later your dog got high cholesterol ah..

Juju
You will be blessed with a beautiful princess

Serene
Glad that Dr Loh is supportive to your new cycle. Good luck

Hi baby,

acutally Dr Loh is ok for accu..he only detest herbs.. accu is good, you can improve blood circulation too, which indirectly helps in your egg production.

Hi daffodils,

welcome, the peers here are very friendly and they have lots of info to share.. im sure you can get lots of support here.

Hi Sunflower,

How are you? Are you in your 2ww? To answer your question, AMH is not equal to FSH. My FSH level was also tested during the same examination of AMH (several hormones were tested during D2/3). The result was 6.1 (6 monhts ago was 7.5). don't worry too much if KKH didn't make you do it. This test was done in Paris 3 years ago.

WY