anyone hv been seeing Dr Tan TCM at Clementi?

I had been visiting Dr Tan TCM for accu n TCM medicine since Jan 2009 for natural TTC but stop for e past month bec Dr Tan told me no point continue if I m starting Stage 1 as Stage 1 will suppress our hormones n waste $ continue with TCM at tat stage. He said I shld resume at Stage 2.

I tink I will likely resume TCM at Stage 2. So far from wat I've read in the past postings, TCM did worked for some ivf patients.

Dec, abt cousin getting preggy i m kind of numb. My mum will also tell me that occasionally coz maybe she wanna find out when do i have plans for bb coz she feels that our urge for a bb is not that great. I have also never mentioned to her that i m actually having a hard time making a bb. Whenever she told me so and so is preggy i will juz smile and change the topic but of course i dun feel good and nowadays i m kind of take it more lightly coz one day i will have mine juz that some ppl need more time....
Try not to let ppl bring u down, they r simply more fertile then us but we r not infertile

1 question for those already had ivf done at KKH. Do we have to buy e Puregon pen ourselves or it is given free as part of e ivf treatment?

i visited my own gynae today and she told me lots and lots of things :

About food --- basically, she said it is a myth that pregnant woman cannot eat seafood, water melon, pineapple. She said the fact that IVF patients have to go thru lots of pain and agony to try to get pregnant, most Dr just will want to be very very very safe and thus will advise patients to avoid certain food and prescribe lots of medicine to support the pregnancy till week 12. She explained that when Doc said avoid seafood, they actually meant avoid those big big fish (which we seldom have in Spore), mussels, crabs and prawns cos their mecury content are usually higher. Her conclusion was : eat everything in moderation.

Notwithstanding what she said, I would still advise IVF patients to observe the Dont's as collated and posted by the gals here from 2ww till week 12.

Actually organge and papaya are fine, but dun eat everyday la... I ate them too. Heard durian is high in protein but can be heaty so shd avoid... but i hv been craving for durian

TNT - you must have received many words of consolation from the gals by now.. so i wont add more. just like to say 34 years old is still young la, i am 36 liao. so, dun worry abt the bad quality of eggs/ most imptly is get ur body back in good shape... take care!

now... some updates from me

baby is growing well at 10w3d... I can kinda see the head, hand and legs at the scan... heehee... at my next appt, i would be required to take this $300 OSCAR test to check for possibility of down symdrome (for preg woman >35 yrs). My gynae told me that I can stop all medications and crinone after week 12
yeah, hopefully, the bloatedness will go away then!

guess what?! I just realised I hv been talking and rubbing my bloated tummy (which contains wind and maybe fats) rather than the baby which is actually located below my big tummy.... blur me :D

Those in 2ww - hang on and think of the good things ahead tho it is hard not to be paranoid. BFP to you all!

oh one more thing to share... for those who use crinone and experience some itch at the V area, you can also drink vitagen/yogort to increase immunity! my gyane said craneberry juice helps to prevent infection at the urinary part not V, but it is good to drink also la...

no, i didn hear the heartbeat today, but can see the heartbeat... singlet... but we very happy already... will try for 3 if in time
one will be too lonely

Hi Tnt, happy to see that you are taking things positively.

Hi Paul le, congrats on your BFP! Pl take good care of yourself; know it is not easy since you are far away from home.
Pl spread some baby dusts to all of us!!!

Hi Bee, thanks for dropping in to encourage us. Am very happy for you that things are so far so good for you. Keep it up!

WY

Tnt, i was really terrified of the 'operation' but it was all over before i knew it. I walked out after 2 hours at the clinic. They gave me (1x)pain killer and (1x) antibiotic inserted rectally. No pain (touchwood!!!!) and a wee bit of brown discharge, guess it is stale blood. I had 4 eggs retrieved out of 6 follicles seen from the last scan. Apparently, they removed all the liquids in the ovaries and am therefore feeling less bloated now. They will call me tomolo to let me know of the fertilisation rate (hope it is good), and hopefully, the ET date. ET could be anytime from Saturday to Monday, i think.

P.S, my mom is a drop-out nurse (2yrs only), couldn't tahan the shifts. You've been a nurse for how long?

libby,
bird's nest good to take during 3rd tri. 1st tri cannot take tonics. 2nd tri dun take too much bird's nest, moderately will do.

tany,
1st tri jus dun over-exert urself, no cooling foods & drinks in 1st & 2nd tri, can intercourse unless gynae says no or, plain worried. no raw food cos dunno clean or not.
oh ya, dun use warm pack during 2ww or pregnancy cos might be too hot for embryo/baby(s)

tnt,
go see doc if ur fever still dun go away, ok?
dun take anymore panadol.

Paul Le
Congrats, must take care of yr health especially the 1st 3 mths, (people says is the dangerous stage)

Orangey
My total bill for my 1st IVF was less than $5k.

hi wy koo
tot ER u be under "GA" then dun now anyting le? why terrified?
me have been a assistant nurse since 1998, then staff nurse since 2003

develyn,
no probs. let me noe if u need dat extra bit. else go to waste cos quite ex.

libby,
u can only get puregon when they think you are ready. cos they need to coach you how to jab using puregon pen.
they also only let you buy the amount required for minimum jab. if need more, then they ask you buy extra.
u getting puregon on good friday? did u check whether kkh ivf centre is open? i dun remember they being open on PHs.

sophia,
papaya is ok. people say is only to aid digestion.
oranges are no-no cos will intro phlegm.

orangey,
if ur menses super irregular, talk to gynae to give you med to induce. dun ask nurse.

baby,
usu dr loh ok wif tcm med before ivf starts. once u start ivf meds, tcm meds r not encouraged less the meds clashes.

Hi ladies who want to get heat/cold pad
fyi..I bought one in OTO roadshow last yr and had been using it during my stage 2 till ET. It's costs abt $30 & re-usable. The heat can lasts abt 1 hr then u can heat it up by boiling it in a pot. It can be use as cold pad too..

Hi baby
Jus wondering how come u already book your fresh cycle in aug?? dun need lah, u'll get a positive in your FET in May! Jia You!

Hi Yong Wei
Glad to hear that u have pick yourself up! when r u seeing prof wong?

Hi WY Koo
Which hospital r u with? wishing u have healthy and good quality embies waiting for u!

Hi Develyn n libby
Pls maintain a healthy diet okie..

Hi Orangey
ya, am a 'useless' homemaker, din contribute to economic growth nor population. Was in Civil Svc for 12 yrs b4 i quited my work in yr 2006 for bb making plan...

Hi Lyn
jus tell yourself " I'll become a mum soon.." okie..dun let others pple pregrancy affect u okie!

equinox,
puregon pen is given together wif ur meds.

bee,
dun worry. though u can only feel a bloated tummy now, ur growing foetus can feel ur love! have faith & continue to rub & talk to ur li'l one!

December,

Haha, ya life is so unfair.. when u want it, it don’t get it, its always the case..dont get too upset over ur cousin, soon will be your turn.. I think it’s the same for everyone here, we always get asked the same qns during CNY too.

Fresh,

Gosh! You have so many eggs fertilized!! Whats the dosage you have ? sorry, guessed you have already mentioned, just cant remember.. :p ..your OHSS sounds quite bad leh, have to be on drip for 2 days.

Baby,

You are back! Glad that you have pick it up and continue your new cycle in may..wish u all the best! Hmm, depending where you do your BT, you shld have the results with them. Did you pass him the hard copy of BT you did at Thomson? The nurse would have already zap a copy.

Hi equinox,

I’m with Dr Tan for 1-year.. The bad thing is that I gained weight during this 1 year treatment , and my hb’s sperm count deteriorate by half.. This cycle I’m on puregon, so I only went for accupunture. He wants me to combine with his herbs, he mentioned it will aid my egg progression. I didn’t heed his advice becos im in dilemma as Dr Loh strictly say no to TCM herbs.

Lyn,

In fact , my FSH drop from 8.8 to 7.9 after a few mths of TCM treatment..

Bee,
My colleague eats pineapple every day when she is pregnant.. I guessed its possible, just need to limit yourself how much to take.

WK,

How come 4 out of 6? The other 2 ovulated on their own? When you have ur HCG jab? Hope you have all 4 fertilised with super grade!

Baby
Glad that meeting with Dr Loh went well, and plans are made, so you can look forward to.
Are you referring to Antagonist as well? ie. skip lucrin, go straight to puregon? Hope you can succeed in FET this time.

Why the nurse so insistent no TCM for you? Strange.. since you are not even mixing with any injection, it shd be good to tiao your body.

I find Dr Zou's appt easy to make, usually book sure can, maybe it's because I only go during day time. Her accu is ok (done by herself), not as painful as I experienced before. But I'm still as nervous each time lah, as I had bad experience before, but don't worry, not through Dr Zou. I'm sure you can accept it, like our sisters here

I suggest you bring all your reports to show her, and share with her your experience, she will jot down, and review each time you see her.

You definitely have BT on FSH, else Dr Loh won't know how much dosage to give you.

Equinox
I've posted early re. the hot pack.
The hot pack no need charger one. I bot the one in rectangular shape, inside contain blue colour gel. Soak it in hot water for 8 mins, then take out and put on your tummy. Maybe you shd try develyn or Fresh mention those winter type, can last longer.
So far my Lucrin jab doesn't cause me headache.

Fresh
Your OHSS quite serious leh, that time angela ask me eat up to 10 egg white a day, and drink a protein packet drink, then it helps, else will be put on drip like you. Got too many follicles, also another problem, headache!

Bee
I'm so excited for you, can start to see bb

WY Koo
Rest well after ER. Hope many fertilised with good grades!

JuJu
Huh? Cannot use warm pack during 2WW? I thot it can help to warm the womb and aid implantation

I will collect my puregon tom as Friday they are closed. My dosage with be 400iu, wonder how many bottle they allow me to buy. My next scan is 8 days later, how come so long? what if dosage is not enough or too high? Last time, at CareParagon, they will scan me every 3 days to confirm and adjust accordingly. Wonder how does KKH control all these?

Noi
I'm also another non contributer waiting to become mother..

equinox
oh, i dunno 2ww cannot take sour stuff... i thot shd be ok. eat with moderation lor

sunflower
ya, some gals dun believe the need to abstain from certain food... i dun like pineapple anyway, din loogy anything. that's right, eat with moderation. hubby wants me to take laksa, prawns and crabs etc... only after 20 weeks cos only then we will know if baby is 100% safe, healthy and normal... ohhhh... i will try to tahan

Orangey, how come when I ask the nurse at IVF centre, they say they don't have any record of FSH result from my BT? They ask me to check with Dr Loh but Dr Loh say he don't have the info. Faint! @_@

libby,
use before 2ww, try not to use after ET. in case temp is too high.
they will estimate how much puregon u need to buy. it will be abt sufficient for 6-7 days jab. any balance puregon, they will tell u to bring back on the last day in a cooler bag. the scan results 8 days later will determine if u need more puregon jabs or ready for next stage.
i was told to buy 3 x 400iu, my daily dosage was 200iu. remember there will be some extras inside each bottle.

oh, u will also be doing lucrin jabs + puregon jabs daily till 1 day before ER. unless there's a change in ur case.

i only did cycle monitoring & clomid wif care paragon, so no idea abt their ivf procedures.

libby, your turn will come soon.. u r already at stage 2... a few more weeks to go and u will be able to hear your bb heartbeat and see the bb too!

We need to do BT before we start IVF and during lucrin stage. So I believe the BT before I start IVF or during the lucrin stage should have the FSH results but the nurse say can't find from the system.

bee,
be on the safe side la... i only had sashimi VERY occasionally after 20 wks.

baby,
they shld have, maybe mixed up somewhere. usually need some time to check.

Lyn, the nurse did told me that Dr Loh mentioned before that some ladies who went for TCM, the BT results got worse for certain results. So she say better don't go for TCM since my FSH is already so high.. wait even lesser eggs then jialat.. sad

tnt, honestly speaking, I don't have confidence in the FET cycle. For the fresh cycle, with good lining and high pregesterone level, I also cannot conceived liao. Don't pin much hope for FET cycle. I am wondering why the embryos didn't grow further in my womb. If the embryos didn't break down further into more cells, there is no chance for implanation at all leh..

hi libby,

i went for my first scan after i finished my last jab. During the scan, only 1 follicle, the rest were too small, so no way to push them to grow. The doctor say can only rely on this follicle, so no increase in dosage, but need 2 more days of puregon to grow the only follicle. actually u r right, 8days later is too long to increase or decrease dosage accordingly. at the time, it may be too late as we can roughly noe how many follicles are reacting to the original dosage.

Juju
Noted, on the hot pack during 2ww. Tks!
Yes, need to continue lucrin with puregon.. hope mine can last that long. Wa.. that means, i need to buy more puregon tom.

Bee
Thanks for well wishes.. Heart fluttering when you wishing me hear bb's heartbeat

Baby
To play safe, do you want to take one more time? E2, FSH and LH on your next D2-D3 menses? But if you are starting FET, no need to inject puregon, so no hurry to take BT.
Fresh manage to conceive twice during her FET before, but things did not turn out well. So, don't lose hope on FET, some people can react better in FET than fresh cycle.

Juju
Ya.. buy more puregon to last me till scan date on day 8 of puregon.
Do you know Lucrin bottle is enough for how many shots?

libby,
the nurse will count for you how many bottles of puregon you need.
lucrin, usually enuff for 1 cycle of ivf bah...
i had 10 units of lucrin frm 18 jul - 12 aug.

yes, i am. jus hit 36 wks

equin0x, the puregon pen is included in the IVF package. So you don't need to buy. The nurse will pass to you when you are ready for the injection as she will need to guide you / your hubby with the injection.

juju78, the nurse told me don't see any TCM at all even for the sake of "tiao" my health. Since I did not see TCM for herbs in preparation for my last IVF cycle, then I think I will just go for accup when I am ready. Won't be taking any chinese herbs as my hubby also don't really encourage.

noi, we have a long chat with Dr loh today. Dr Loh has confirmed that for FET cycle, the success rate is much lower. Some more got to see if my frozen embryos can survive well or not before the ET. So I rather make the appt for fresh cycle 1st. Anyway the nurse at KKIVF also say ok to book aug slot 1st as it can be easier fully booked, can cancel the slot if I strike in May. July slots are already full, so we just book 1st.

Sunflower, all along I am okay. I still eat alot with good appetite since my AF reported. This failed cycle didn't put me down. Actually I thought Dr Loh will ask me to rest for 2 months before I start FET. But since he say can start next month as my mense is regular, so I will start as advised. Drag too long might not be good for the frozen embryos also

libby, what is Antagonist? For fresh cycle in Aug, Dr loh say I don't need to go through lucrin stage. I will straight away go for puregon injection plus one more type of injection (don't know what is that) after my AF reported. He say don't need to put ime in long injection liao. Good news for me

Dr loh gave me the puregon dosage based on my 2008 BT FSH result leh. That BT is done at Thomson Medical Centre. He say when he saw my old records, initially he prescribe me 400IU of puregon but last min he changed to 500IU. He told me if he were to give me lower dosage, I would have to abort the IVF program due to insufficient eggs. He say he is already expecting low no. of eggs at 500IU liao.

Sunflower, I also heard some say TCM can help to lower FSH. Actually yesterday I see my chinese physician, she also say can give me medicines to take to increase my no. of eggs (which means to lower FSH I suppose).. but seriously speaking, the medicine she gave me yesterday, I also don't know what is it for exactly as she say a lot. So I don't know if the medicine that is with me now is for what purpose. I think I will just motivate myself to exercise and see if it will reduce.

Hi baby,

i see..since the case, maybe you dont take the herbs first.. i think libby got her FSH reduced after she exercise..we should try too..

bee, were you in tears when you see your baby through the scan? I would be very touched if I were to succeed one day and to see my baby through the scan..
Enjoy these 9 mon ths, with your your baby growing bigger and bigger day by day in your womb
Nothing can be more happy than to see your baby growing well in your womb.

Tnt, aiyoh, i haven't had any surgery requiring anesthetic (correct spelling?) since I was 7 yrs old! Also, I had very bad experience when I did tests to see the inside of my womb and if my tubes are blocked. Am kinda psychologically blocked. I was just amazed at the skill and dedication of the medical team at my fertility clinic.

Hi Noi, aplogies for the delay reply as i just woke up from my nap. I am with the Centre of Reproductive Medecine (CRM in short) in the UK. There is a singaporean doctor practising at the centre but he is not my Dr. Accordingly, he is currently holidaying in singapore. Think he is Dr Yang (or Yeo?), 2nd most senior person from the medical team.

WY

Hi Juju, thanks for your advice. I am not having any heavy discharge/flow. Just a drop or two after the surgery and now, almost no flow at all ie blood is coagulating.

Hi Sunflower, my trigger ie Ovitrelle shots (HCG hormone) was 36 hrs before ER ie Monday, 6 Apr at 8pm. ER was at 9am today.
Apparently, not all follicles you see from the scan will contain an egg, let alone a matured egg. Probably, the other 2 follicles were empty or had eggs which are too small to be viable. During ER, they will flush out the ovaries so that they do not miss any ovocytes/eggs. Also, there could be situations when there are more eggs than seen from the scans. Anyway, don't worry, the Drs should know what they are doing.

Hope this helps,
WY

Juju
Wow! 36 weeks, congrats! Baby boy or gal?
Your lucrin jab seem quite short, less than 1 month.
Thanks for coming in to support us

Baby
Antagonist is jump straight to puregon/gonal f without supression (lucrin). zaza will be in this cycle once her AF reports anytime from now. A few others, like Jas also did hers before.

Sunflower, yup think I will execrise and see if my FSH got reduce or not.
Dr loh say can try naturally for this month and next month before ET. I am not pinning much hope for FET, so think I will still try naturally.

hi libby
r u asking me how is nuh monitor my stage 2? ok nuh will oso measured my blood test (E2 level)and consultant will scan me every 3 days to confirm and adjust my gonal f accordingly.

hi baby
jus wish u can succeed in ur FET in May..

and think i will just wait after my AF report tis month then will visit dr zou to see wats her advise whether i need accup? or tcm herbs? or both?
and as for the other injection u mentioned as u dun noe wats the name, think the name will be either Cetrotide or Orgalutran together with puregon since u be under antagonist cycle..