Just woke up from a good sleep. I was really nervous in the operating room and really prayed hard tt everything will be okay. Altho' I was sedated, I was still aware of the things happening around me..altho most of it felt like a dream. Tried to look at the Tv monitor to see my eggs but bcos I had no glasses on everything seemed so blur.
I remembered a sharp pain, but was a quick one and I assumed that was the pricking of the needle onto the ovaries. My gynae and the nurses were really nice and they explained over and over again what I will experience.
The total experience was not that bad for me. Thank god! Only felt a bit drodgy when I woke up but no nausea. The nurse did mention that I may feel crampy, sleepy and nauseated later in the day. But so far so good. Other than feeling crampy, a bit giddy and bloated, I am ok. Thanks for all the prayers and concern. Must really thanked all of you cos all your experiences really help to prepare me for the egg collection today.
They collected 22 eggs and nurse said tt the embrologist will call me tomorw between 9 -11 am to inform of me of the outcome. Pray for me ladies.

Hi tomatoes,

No, no, must not feel negetive ok. Rememeber u have very good quality embryos! YOur chance will be very good!

Hi dang,

Glad u have coped well! U have a lot of eggs!! Can i check what dosage of puregon did u inject and for how long before your retrieval?

Hi CT,

Did u go to kk for the test? How are feeling now? Hope the cramps had gone. Do rest well.

Hi Chemistry,
I have to inject about 150iu of puregon every night for about 8 days before retrieval.
Ya, but the nurse told me that they will select the best eggs for fertilisation.

chemistry / tomatoes

Thanks I did go for my beta yday but did not bother to call them for the results ... maybe I will do so tomorrow.

Tomatoes

You must be positive ok ... I'm sure you will succeed. We shall wait for your good news 2 soon.

Dang99

Really happy for you, you have so many eggs retrieved. When will be your transfer? You doing in SGH right? It's good that your embryolist will still call you to update ... btw, may I just chcek with you, after you start your stimulation jab, how many days later is your 1st scan?

westbb

Thanks, I do not have any frozen embryos tats y I would have to start all over again. I asked my RE and he mentioned I can start 1 month later but another RE told me it's better to do so min 3 months later.

And yes, I would say I'm coping well with the bad news .... it's all thanks to all the support from all of you here.

I'm planning my next cycle and is comparing the charges and services from different hospital. Meanwhile, I also hoping I may strike naturally even b4 I embarked on the next cycle ... hahaha (it's better to have a dream to hope for though I know it's quite impossible).

Hi dang,

YOur dosage is only half of mine leh! I'm taking 300iu together with 10iu of lucrin. Do u have to take Lucrin while taking the Puregon? Do update us of your progress, ok. Very keen to know cos I'm likely to be the next one after u to go for the egg retrival/transfer.

Hi CT,

If u do not suceed this cycle and still intend to do it with a govt hospital, u might want to consider trying NUH (if u do not want to go back to kkh anymore). My colleague say the RE (a Prof) there is very famous too. It might also be good to rest for 3 mths first. Probably u want to consider taking some chinese medication to build up your body during these 3 months as well. Who knows, with the chinese medication, u may strike naturally!

Ct,
My first scan is 5 days after the puregon jab and then followed by 2 more scans before the eggs are ready for collection.

Chemistry,
I took another jab, GnrH for about 8 days before the egg collection(not sure if its similar to Lucrin every morning.

The embrologist called me yesterday morning informed me tt they did ICSI on 20 eggs and 14 fertilised! I will be doing my transfer on Tuesday morning. Really nervous ! But up to this point im glad tt everything is looking fine.
Can I check with u ladies, can hubby be in the OT with me during the embryo transfer?

Chemistry,
Wll pray for you that your eggs collection will be okay! : )

CT,
Really glad tt u are taking everything so positively and yes! Who knows u may even strike naturally! : )

I'm back, how are you? Sorry CT to hear the bad news, but i salute you for your courage, i don't think i can have that if i fail, i might be crying for a few weeks. If you want to change doctor/hospital, you might try Mickey's doctor at Glen E. I know almost all the good IVF doctors from NUH moved there, the embryologist moved to Mt. E. (not so sure) but they say the one from Mt. E. now is very good too. I am doing it at Mt. E but can't help you yet with the breakdown of cost, they just say it's around 10-12k. I agree that if you go private, the service is really personalized.

Tomatoes, i'm so happy for your good quality eggs, it must be the diet that we follow. I really believe that it's all in the diet, the embryologist and luck of course.

I haven't read all your past post ladies, but please help me on my questions:

1. Who are having Gonal-F or Puregon? i want to know which one is better. Micky, and Westbb - yours are gonal-F? In US, they use Gonal-F, i haven't heard of this puregon, if most of the success cases are gonal-f, i will suggest that i use that too.

2. Anyone taking aspirin before and after the procedure. Esp to micky and westbb?

Thanks and i'll post again later. So busy now....

berry,

both gonal-f and puregon is widely used in the us and europe. The puregon is called follistim in those places. hope this helps.

Hi Dang,

Thanks for praying for me....

U really have a lot of eggs despite the low dosage of Puregon used. Did the embryologist tell u the grading of the embryos? Before u start the Puregon, do u take the down regulation jab as well. Was wondering if the protocol used by SGH is the same as that used by kkh. BTW, why do u need to go for IVF/ICSI?

Hi CT,

How? Did u call KKH to check your beta results. Still hoping there is a miracle for u. Will u need to see Dr Loh to review your case?

Last Friday, I was at kkh, someone called to check on her beta results and sad to hear that her beta results has no indication of pregnancy and she got no more frozen embryos for transfer. Dunno why, but I somehow felt discouraged with the negative results.... but I kept telling myself to be positive and have faith in the procedures.

Hi Berry,

I'm using Puregon. Not sure if it is better or worst than gonal-f. So how, when can u start your IVF/ICSI procedures and what protocol are u using?

Hi Chemistry,

Are you taking aspirin?

I only read one person here who used gonal-f, can't remember who she is....wonder if it's micky or westbb.

I really don't know when i can start the whole process again, i know the protocol would be changed to a shorter one, no more lucrin...my egg doesn't like it ;-)

Hi CT,
No medication given between now and the egg transfer tomorw.

Chemistry,
No jabs before puregon. Nurse told me tt mine is a short cycle. So they only start me off on Puregon.
The embroylogist will only tell me the grading of the eggs tomrw. I hav to go thru ICSI cos quality of hubby's sperm.

Chemistry

Yap I just called them .. as expected it's negative. I had an appt with Dr Loh this Wed but I duno if I wanted to go ... I'm sure he will not say much and as what his reply in his email, the reason is usually not clear.

Btw, dun be discouraged ... it's really up to the individual body for the IVF to be success or fail. You must be positive now ... dun worry, I'm confident you will strike.

Hi Dang,

Same here, my hubby sperm count and quality all no good. That's why i'm doing ICSI too. Your protocol is different from mine which is a long protocol, involving a down regulation jab for 2-3 weeks, followed by the stimulation jab. Do update us on your egg transfer tomorrow!

Hi Berry,

I'm not taking aspirin. What is that for? Gynae only prescribe me folic acid.

Aspirin to make the blood thinner. Any ladies taking it? or took it before IVF? maybe micky and westbb can help.

Yes, i'm taking folic acid too.

Hi CT,

I'm sorry to know that it's negetive. Will u be seeing Dr Loh at the IVF centre or Clinic D? Dr Loh mentioned b4 that chances for 2nd try will still be as good. Not all will suceed in first try because even couples with perfect body condition only have a 85% sucess rate after a year. So, don't give up and consider if u still want to continue with kkh. So far, how much did u spent on this cycle?

chemistry

I'll be seeing Dr Loh in Clinic D. I'm not giving up just that I have some concerns with financial and I also want to understand how other clinics work before I decide where to do my 2nd IVF. I hope to have more eggs and more embryo the next round.

So far, I've spent about total $7.5K (About half from medisave) in KKH including my hus medication and sperm storage charge. The charges is really reasonable compared to Pte clinics.

tomatoes, thanks for asking abt my bb... i'm going for scan this Friday, can't wait to see bb again hehe!

The nurse once told me before that so far she has seen that most success cases are singleton ones, only about 15% are twins and less than 3% are triplets. singletons still better lah, less risk. she also told me there are more boys than girls, about 2/3 are boys and 1/3 are girls.

I think it's a must to buy the insurance leh, by regulation or something??

CT, u never know, u may just guess it - strike naturally before ur next try it!!

dang, congrats on ur great fertilisation rate. all the best to ur transfer tomorrow! you are transfering three embryos? my hubby did stay in the room during transfer, we were shown on the screen the whole process.

berry, mine is gonal-F. I'm also prescribed baby aspirin (Cardiprin) after my transfer. Now still taking. Doc said supposed to make the blood goes to the womb for better support.

thanks westbb for your reply. i have peace of mind now taking this aspirin. I should be taking it now before the whole process starts, doc says to just stop it before retrieval and resume again. Take care.

Good luck dang on your transfer tomorrow.

Hi CT,

Glad that you are cooping well. I dun know whether I can take it if I dun succeed. Understand from your previous posts, you are gathering some info on pte IVF. Pls share wif me if its beneficial. Who knows we will be comrade if you decides to do IVF again.

Hi Dang,

May I know which gynae r u seeing for IVF? Did the nurse tell u y your cycle is shorter?

All the best to your egg transfer..

Hi Tomtatoes,

Hope to hear good news from you soon.

maltbibi

Sure no problem ... If you have any doubts, you may ask me directly too.

Btw, just a suggestion, I have both MSN and Yahoo Messenger. If any of you wan to discuss more, we may chat online.

MSN Account - [email protected]
Yahoo Messenger ID - tiggermyjrt

Transfered 3 embroys today! Not sure about the grade cos the embroylogist did not mention it. But Me and hubby saw my 3 embies and I was so overwhelmed by them, I nearly cried! I know they are not babies but the feeling of seeing them is something really indescribable.
We could see that one of the embroys have divided into 8 cells and gynae said tt they are all good embroys. I have 7 other embroys for storage.
Well ladies, from now on i jus hav to pray hard tt everything will be fine and get a positive result wen I do the HPT on 22 Nov.

CT & West BB,
Did u actually stay at home for 2 whole weeks??? Were u in bed most of the time ? I know I'm not supposed to exert myself but does that mean tt we cant even go out for 2 whole weeks?
Also, do u think the 1st week is the most crucial and after the second week i can actually walk around a bit more ? Do let me know..cos I think Ill be really bored!!!

Maltbibi,
My gyane is DR Juliana Abu-Wong. Yes, the nurse informed tt mine is short cycle which means I only start my Puregon jabs on Day 2 of my menses.

Thanks everyone for all the support!

Hi dang,

Congrats on the good embryos! Is there any discomfort in teh transfer process? Do they give u any medication to take for the next 2 weeks?

I think can should be able to move around a few days later. Just don't exert yourself by doing exercise, carry heavy stuff etc. Rent some VCD to watch and kill time loh.

Hi tomatoes,

How are u? Hope u are coping well. Check with u, can we take cold stuff during the stimulation stage? I was drinking coke and eating ice-cream for the last few days. Feel a bit guilty now leh...

dang99, i only bed-rest half a day at home and after that i cannot tahan liao and start to walk about in the house already :p mostly i only go downstairs to buy food and grocery and a couple of times took bus to go out too but no too much walking. most importantly don't exert yourself, use common sense and do whatever u feel comfortable. i practically surf every website on IVF/ICSI on the net, and everyday i think about what dinner to cook for my hubby haha... take it as a break from work lor, when u think that very soon u got to go back to work again u will treasure the 'holiday' more :pP

Hi dang99
Congrats on your huge no. of eggs retreive and the quality of your embryos!
Wow, 22 eggs is alot. For me, I only have 10 eggs retrieved and 9 fertilised.

I got bad news - I just came back from my RE visit and he said that my E2 (Estrogen) level is very low. From 1000+ on last sat and suddenly today is only 138. He said I must quickly build up my lining by eating the E2 pills (25 tabs a day). Tomorrow must go for another bloodtest again.

Haiz, I am getting pessimistic about my IVF now.

Hi dang99

congrats on your smooth transfer, hope to hear good news fm you soon, take good care of yourself.

Did your gynae tell you why don't need to take the suppression jab? and straight away started with stimulation jab, is yours special case? can we actually skip suppression jabs? how much you have paid so far? sorry if i ask too many questions.

Hi Tomatoes,

dun worry too much, believe your gynae is very experient, just follow his instructions and be optimistic, k? Jia You!

CT,

dun give up, you still have high chance, take your time to decide whether to stick with KKH for IVF. I am starting my jabs 16/11, a bit worried, duno able to jab myself or not, a bit scared...

Hi Tomatoes

Dont give up on yourself yet, ok.

Am sure Prof will do his best to help you build up your lining during this period. Try not to stress yourself too much as its not good for your health also.

Hi Tomatoes,

It's alright, don't worry at all, when i was on clomid, one of the side effect was the lining too, it's easy to "thicken" with medicine. Take care.

Hi tomatoes,

Wow, 25 pills a day is a lot!!! But dun worry, your RE monitor u so closely. The drop in E2 should be able rectified in time. Did your RE say what the drop means?

Hi novem, SSL, berry, chemistry

Thanks for your consolation. My RE said the drop will mean that the "soil" not strong enuff for the seed to grow. So he need to thicken them immediately.

Now, I am suffering from headache due to the side effect of the tablets.

Will try to be strong and think positively.

tomatoes

Dun worry ... your are under good hands, I'm sure the problem will be rectified and you will be alright. Dun think too much ok ... be positive and stay happy.

Hi Novem ,
No i wasnt told why mine is short cycle. But I sure saved some cost on medications. In total my ICSI costs about 8K(including the 6K that i can claim from medisave.

CT and West BB,
Do u think I can walk around more or like go out to shopping malls after 1 week? Wat did u ladies do forthe 2 weeks?

Tomatoes,
Dont worry . Everything will be fine. Just ealx and take care.

Does anyone know if its ok to take orange juice? I hav been feeling nauseated and orange juice helps to lessen it.

Hi dang99

It is alright to drink a glass of orange juice a day. I have checked with chinese sinseh b4 and she said oranges are not cooling but also dun take too much a day

My E2 levels are back to normal now. But I must still continue with the pills. Yucks! It really making me sick with all the nausea and headache now.

Hi Tomatoes,
Did u also get 14 days of Hospitalisation Leave? Sorry, I may hav missed out in the thread, where are u doing ur IVF/ICSI?
Ur gynae mentioned tt the ist week after the transfer is crucial right? Wat hav u been doing other resting in bed?

Hi dang99

I asked for 21 days of HL ;p I did mine at Gleneagles. Yes, my RE did not say anything about complete rest but my embryologist told me not to exert myself especially 1 week after the transfer. They did not ask me to have complete bed rest. For the past one week, I did go out of my house to see my RE and do bloodtest. Sometime to buy food also.

Hi Dang,

Understand that you can claim 6K for medisave in SGH. Issit 6K in full? I have checked we can claim onli up to 6K for procedures in KKH. Medications are not claimable.

Are u given any progrestrone jab after the egg transfer?

Do you happen to have the billings with you? Would appreciate if you can share it with me. Hope u dun mind. I would like to do some comparisons.

Thanks in advance

Best of luck and hope to hear good newz fm you soon

Just came back from my scan this morning. I only got 13 follicles ranging from 6mm to 12mm, of which only 4 are 12mm. So got to continue with the injections today. Will need to go back for a scan again tomorrow but doubt there will be any drastic progress. Likely i will have to continue with the jab till Tues.

chemistry

Dun worry ... at least you can grow your eggs slowly hwich i feel is better. At least they will monitor very closely. For me, i dun even have chance to stimulate more eggs.

So did Dr loh increase your dosage?

Hi Maltbibi,
Yes.I claimed a full 6K from my medisave. I paid abt 3k in cash for medications, embryo insurance & embryo storage. You're right..u cant claim medications cost from medisave. I havent got the detailed bill yet but will sure share it with u once i get it.
In total I paid abt $5300 for procedures/scan/blood test/ ICSI/ sperm culture & storage etc. Then another 1k plus for medications. I paid abt $2100 for embryo insurance and storage.

I am jabbing myself with pregnyl every 2 days and taking dregestorone(spelling?) abt 3X a day.

I really hope that god will answer my prayers and will succeed. But am feeling a bit worried cos I do not feel any symptons. Only my tummy is really bloated. The rest said tt they felt cramps & backache but dont think I feel so much of tt. They only feeling tt is unbearable for me is the feeling of FULLNESS after each meal> My tummy semmed to feel as is it has bloated 2X its size.
Really hope to feel some symptons soon to assure me that it is going to be a positive!

Hi CT,

I didnt get to see Dr Loh today cos his clinic is on today. I think Dr CT Yeong is there witha few other Drs. One of the Dr review my condition and he asked me to continue at 300 iu and go back again tomorrow for a scan/review. Hopefully tomorrow Dr Loh is there to explain my condition.

Hi Chemistry

I think your follicles are doing just fine. My RE told me b4 that our follicles should not grow too fast or too slow.

chemistry

I agree with tomatoes ... too fast also no good. They may burst before you even got a chance to retirve them.

Dun worry ... i think u are doing well.

Hi Dang,

Dun worry lah. Different pple may have different symptons. Perhaps bloatiness is one of the symptons.

Will keep my fingers cross and wait for your good news

dang99, u seemed to worry a lot about what to do/not to do, don't give urself so much stress over this. use common sense, don't exert yourself and don't walk too much too. my nurse said shopping is not too good in case you get too excited and forgot and shop til you 'drop'...

chemistry, as long as ur follies still growing then is good. last time i only have abt 10 on the scan leh, also only 3-4 are big ones. remember u only need 1 good eggie.

tomatoes, read in the other thread that u tested your beta and it indicates u preggie liao, did i read correctly? Congrats leh !!!!

Hi tomatoes/CT,

Thanks for explaining. At least now, I'm more relieve. But the bad thing is my medication is going to finish soon. Today, they have to jab me 3 times cos they try to save $$ for me by using the 100iu left in each cartridge. Now, i only left with only 400iu in the 4 used cartridge. Tomorrow, after the scan, I believe I'll have to buy more medication liao.