babylou
I am also seeing dr Zou. I have seen many TCM physicians so far but Dr zou is the most knowledgeable in IVF protocol. She knows exactly which stage at which time and even knows the different protocol of diff hospitals.

The rest I have seen knows what IVF is but not in details.

Hi Chris,
The "medicine" you're getting from Dr Zhou sounds like mine also. I also take the powdered drinks before ovulation. Wow, you go for acupunture 1-2 times per week? It's good that you're going so regularly. I hvn't gone to my TCM for so many mths now
Hard to go regularly since not in SIN. Haiz ...

BTW, realised that a lot of you ladies are seeing Dr Zhou. Is it hard to make an aptmt with her? My TCM Doc is always fully booked whenever Iwant to go see him! Dono if I should go see Dr Zhou instead. If I do acupunture only monthly, do you think it's still ok?

juju,
i am afraid i will miss if i close my eyes and the needle breaks! :D

oh Nancy, hope u feel better now. then u better stop taking the milk. Btw, why must it be ENSURE milk, other milk not as good? well... at Day 6, if the growth of the follicles is healthy, we will need to do two injections a day and was told the other injection needle is thicker. I may freak out then.

Kaira
thanks, oh TFC = thomson fertility centre.. guess most of you are with KKIVF

Bee,
wun la. jus aim properly & close eyes just before u poke... hee

Nancy,
how about other brands? can drink?
else, try to drink 1 glass first, with some food. dun drink on empty stomach. the 2nd glass, if u wan, drink later in the day also wif some food

Hi tintedsky,
Glad to have you back at the forum. You are raring to go, yeah! I admire your resilience. I wish you will be successful this time. How many do you intend to transfer?

Hi Iwant5bbs,
I have a 5 year-old boy. Had him naturally after many years of trying. I never expect my children's age-gap to be more than 2 years apart, cos my siblings are all very close in age. I hope that 5 years will be the maximum age-gap for my boy and the next one, so this year must strike!

tintedsky,
glad to see you back here again! All the best for your coming ivf and I will be praying for you. Looking forward to hear good news from you this time!

Lina,
you are so calm and positive, admire you.

Wish you good luck this time round and will have a baby in this year of Ox!

juju78

Wat scan r u toking abt? I havent dun any scan at all.. When am i suppose to go for scan? Did i miss something out?

Hi sierra79,

Our situation seems almost the same...
Those that tou have mention sound familiar
hahahha..... I have tried those too...
We have been trying for 3 yrs already and hubby wan me to try IVF cos he said i'm not getting
young anymore, going to turn 33 this yr.
I dun have a budget but i have heard so many
unsuccessful cases of IVF, so i wanna budget
myself just incase the 1st time is not successful.

sierra79,
Which hospital and doctor did you go to?
I'm really clueless abt this and need some advise
And i heard, we have to go for many injection if we chose to do IVF, is that true?

Thanks for welcoming me to the post and the helpful advise.

Hi, Thanx for the nice & warm welcome ladies. I also seeking comfort in this forum. Hv been emotional lately. Last yr has been 1 hell of roller coaster ride. Hoping this yr will be a better yr for all of us.

Itjabi,
can't remember. either E2 blood test or routine vaginal scans. u check with nurse. dat time busy wif ivf & work, din manage to keep a proper record. also lost my ivf timetable...

Started puregon last wk. Went thru the scan on Sat. Very happy with the result. After 1week of jabs, got 10 eggs. 4 are at the right size abt 18.5 to 16.5. The other 6 at 13 to 10. Got to have another 3 days of jabs to increase the size for the other 6. Told Dr Zou of my condition and is happy to know that I progressing for good. As this is my 2nd cycle, I'm happy this time is much much better than the 1st cycle with no TCM help.

Hi Mrs Choo,
Previously i was seeing a gynae in Raffles. But ever since we decided to do IVF, I'm now with KKH (Dr Sadhana).

For us, we're trying to go into this ivf with a +ve mind, so I'm not really trying to think about what if it fails ... on our 1st try. Guess we'll keep trying. But I also ahve budget, so I think i can only afford to try ivf for 3x max to utilise the grants and medisave grants.

If you're thinking of going KKH, what u can do is just to make aptmt with one of the doctors listed on the KK IVF centre. In your 1st aptmt, bring along all your previous test results and talk through with the Doc abt what options are open to you aside from ivf based on your test results. The doc will also send you to meet with a nurse at the KK IVF centre and the nurse will go through with you what the ivf process entails, costs etc etc etc. You can then decide whether or not to register lah. No obligations.

Yeps, the ladies here have all gone through ivf, so they know best. I'm only gonna start my 1st try in May09. Heh... but essentially you're right, involves a lot of self-administered injections esp during Stage 1 (abt 2 wks of Lucrin injections) before you hit Stage 2.

No harm gathering info. Maybe u can take the 1st step by heading down to the hospital of your choice, make an aptmt with a Doc tehre and talk with them abt your conception problems and ask for their advice on what your options are. Best of luck!

Sorry, can sumone provide me with Dr Zhou's contact no. again? Can't find it in the threads.. it's getting too long to wade through the past posts! Oh, and also her TCM clinic's address if posible? Want to see her on my next trip back since she seems highly recommended.

Can Dr Zhou speak English? Cos I don't speak Mandarin at all! Is it difficult to get an aptmt with her?? PLease help with the info ya, appreciate it!!

Hi Sierra79,

Dr Zou contact as follows: 64560833. Aye not too sure if she speak english tho she understands english terms and names of medications used for ivf. She's from china and has been in singapore for 16yrs. I normally speaks to her in mandarin leh. You can try speaking with her using simple english and see if she understands.

Hi Sierra79,

Her address as follows:-
Zou Yumin TAM Phsician & Acupuncturist
Blk 505 #01-2670 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8
(Opp Nanyang Polytechnic).
Tel: 64560833

The person who normally answers the phone and take down the appt is her assistant Liying.

Hi BlessBB,

So encouraging and happy for you to hear that you have better eggs with TCM help during your 2nd cycle.

I'll be starting my lucrin shots on 16/2 and have been advised by Dr Zou to have acupuncture sessions 2x a week. However I'm in a dilemma rite now on whether to take tcm from now all the way to puregon stage as Dr Zou has recommended that it will give optimum results. However I'm quite worried about the costs.. as I've spend a few hundreds the past month on medications and acupunctures already. Are you currently taking tcm together for your whole ivf cycle or just go for acupunctures only?
2120858.gif

Hi Chris,
Thanks so much for the details! Will try to call and make aptmt with her!!!

BTW, she can speak English rite? And she can also treat my hubby?

Ooops, didn't see your reply about Dr Zhou's command of English. hehe ... Hmm ... i hope she can ustand simple English. I really don't speak any Mandarin ...

Hi Chris,
Ok great! Thanks so much for the info & details. You've been extremely helpful
AMK is a bit far for me, my current TCM doc is at Clementi. ONly thing very difficult to get an aptmt with him. Argh! Mebe will give Dr Zhou a try

Juju
Thanks. Diarrhea has stopped and I have also stopped the milk powder altogether and switched to 2 boiled egg whites. Maybe tomorrow i can try taking half a cup after some food. Thanks for the advise

Bee
Tomorrow i am seeing dr for first scan. Dun know got response or not after 5 days. Hm......

BlesswBB
Glad to hear that the progress is good. Jia You !!!

Dear Grace_BB

i believe we are in the same boat. my son is 6 this year. i am hoping, wishing, praying that i will have another this year. i am planning to do FET in March, my next cycle. tot of doing accu to complement it. we jia yu each other k. wish u luck

Morning Ladies,
Happy Lunar New Year! Wishing all of us strike strike strike with Baby this year.

Jas,
You are a very brave girl. Good luck for your next cycle. I also need to lose some wt b4 embarking on my 1st cycle. Lets Jia You together!

Hi sierra,
Dr Zou appointment is quite easy to make. On weekdays, open till 9pm. She is able to open slightly later if you work late. My hubby is also seeing her and taking the medication. Your current TCM is Dr Tan in clementi? Which country do you normally travel to? You might want to check out on accupuncture in the country while you are on business trip. Heard that ivf accupuncture is so popular in many countries, doctors from China open up shops in european, australia and US too.

Hi GraceBB and Alyssa,
same here. My older child is 3yrs plus, also hope this year stike to make the age gap smaller. Do you tell your boy that you are going through this process?

Hi bliss,
thanks for your wishes.

Hi AshQshee,
Stay positive, best of luck for this year.

Hi BlesswBB,
with Dr Zou accupuncture, do you have more eggs this round?

Hey ladies,

For those under Dr Zou, she would be be giving you guys the packet powder to drink right? Do you know what is consist of? Purely herbs?

Hi Gals , I am back ... wa.. miss u all so much.. just taken a break to settle down with things and sign up for gym :D Need to slim down and learn to eat vegetables (cos i used to hate it so much)...

I have already seen Dr Loh and indeed he tells me it is not neccessary to see TCM but up to me.. lolz.. anyway, think most important is i have to keep fit to start everything during March. Dr Loh also promised to give me 400IU puregon (1st cycle i was given 200IU which only have 8 eggs) .. Heez.. hopefully i will get some frozen for FET if needed in future.. Anyone started with 400IU ? I abit scare that i will have OHSS but Dr Loh says it worth the try which i agree..

Hi Jas , how are u ?

Hi Zaza : Are u still in the thread ?

Hi Lina / Bee & gals who knows abt the story : My ILs were already peaced off by me.. Ooppss .. i think they really get up max to my nerve until i screamed all the sarcastic remarks on the phone and says all the hurting words to MIL.. well, it is bad.. but that's the only way that i can go thru the next cycle of IVF in peace bahz.. Maybe after everything then see if they forgive what i say.. but for now.. i am waiting for babies' dust to come around me again..

Hi develyn,
you did the right thing. Must let your mil know how you feel. Whether they can forgive or not can come later.

Hi Lina , yes i did it although my hubby feels that i should apologise as the words are really hurtful... i am being too depress and weak after MC to fight against anything.. i allow them to step on me and finally i stand up this weekend... so too bad if it was hurtful to them ... i agree that "Whether they can forgive or not can come later" ...

Hi Lina,
I'm posted overseas in Indonesia (but not in Jakarta). One of the smaller cities. So basically I've been based here for the past 1.5yrs liao. Infrastructure here not too good, so to be honest, I don't dare to seek TCM treatment here, let alone go see a Doc for anything!

Yes yes. I'm actually with Dr Tan at Clementi. He's a nice old man. He also opens till 9pm, but it's just so tough to get aptmt with him. I called last wk to make aptmt for mid-Feb already fully booked. *faint* It's good to know that Dr Zhou opens till late also, maybe if no choice will give her a try lah. Far also never mind lah ... only thing, I REALLY REALLY hope she can speak a bit of English ... or I'll have to bring a translator with me each time :p

Develyn,
Good to know that you're in a lighter mood now with the situation with your MIL
And great to hear that you're getting the deserved advice by Dr Loh for your next round of ivf. Hv u also seen Dr Zhou?

All the best to everyoneeeeeeeeeeeee !

Babydreamzy , nice qns.. i also want to know.. :D

Hi Sierra ,

Yes, Dr Loh was quite in a good mood on Sat when i see him.. this is the 1st time that he flipped though all records and discussed with me.. haha.. I have yet to see Dr Zou to be honest as
i wanted to concentrate more on slimming down and keeping fit.. honestly , i used to be a heavy smoker (of cos not during my IVF) and i hate vegetables... after the MC , i am so stress that i pick up smoking.. so i have to give everything up and stay healthy.. which no doctor can help me except myself.. i will see Dr Zou once my body is healthier and it will make more sense to see her by then for accupunture and herbs..

Hi Develyn,

You are soooo brave !!!! I only dare to complain and voice my unhappiness to my hubby. heehee
He went to "hint" his parents esp my mil to stop hounding me.
Yup i got some peace and quiet for a few months and now it's back hahahaa. But alot of times, when she nag too much I'll try to skip topic or avoid seeing her for 2 weeks to cool things down.

Hi sierra79,

Dr Zhou is a very nice lady, altho she closes on wednesdays however she will still come down to the shop (by appt) to attend to her patients who require acupuncture for that period.
I've also overheard her calling up her patients to follow-up with them on their response to the puregon shots, like size and number of the follicles etc and also providing her patients with advices on the next acupuncture treatments.

Hi Chris ,

Haha.. i believe your MIL still not mean till that extent bahz.. mine is already max to the top.. Now i think she already angry until explode le... well, blame my mum that i am not soft spoken.. heez... anyway , it should be a great time to cool things off after holding the grudges so long... *Bleahz*

Sianz ... Went for my E2 BT today and nurse just called me to say i am not responding well. So got to inject another week of lucrin.

Hi koko , that's normal de.. dun sianz la.. bo pian de.. juz jia you.. one week more... then next stage puregon.. and next ER .. next ET.. and lastly baby's dust on the way le..

Hi sierra,
i visited Dr Tan clementi once and gave up after he refuse to listen when i told him i am trying ivf. He insist on going natural. But my hubby still see him as his accupuncture is good. Hubby feedback that after each treatment as needles are poke on the lower part of tummy, he could feel sensation. I agree, so difficult to get appointment with Dr Tan. Give Dr Zou a try then.

Hi Lina,
Yeah, i find Dr Tan has this strong belief that couples should try natural means where possible. The urologist at Raffles said my hubby has vericoceles and urged him to go for the day op. Dr Tan scoffed at that, and said he'll treat my hubby with acupuncture naturally. No need to go for expensive op. Heh :D

Oh! I manage to make an aptmt with Dr Zhou for 2 weeks' time. But I think her asst don't understand English! She couldn't ustand what I was saying when I told her the date & time *faint* Eventually, i think they got one of the patients who was there to talk to me. Hahaha! We'll see how things go on the day itself, whether we both can ustand each other. I don't want her to get the wrong message and give me wrong treatment/medication :p

Oh ... but hor ... i think on the day I want to visit Dr Zhou might be hvg AF leh. Aiyah ... how ya ... will she be able to at least gimme the powdered drinks w/o acupuncture??

Any of you aldies visiting Dr Zhou soon? Will you be able to help me ask her ... visiting her for 1st time, want to tio body for ivf - esp to ensure healthy eggs, and that egg will "stick". if AF and no acupuncture, can she still give the med/drink??

Thanks ladies!

Hi Alyssa,
I want to do FET this cycle, but it seems that I'm not ovulating. So, if this month cannot, then I can be your cycle buddy next month.

hi ladies, thanks for the recommendation! Is Dr Zou better at treating men or women fertility problems? AMK is nearer to my house then Clement, definitely much more convenient!

Hi Ladies!
I am new to this thread. I am sort of planning for IVF this June. I have irregular period and my hb sperm count is very low. Currently seeing tcm to strengthen the body as much as possible.

Good luck to all sistas doing ivf now!!

Hi Chris,
Wow, Dr Zhou really seems like a caring doc. And she can actually remember her patients and follow up with them. That's good to hear
Will go see her on 13Feb, made aptmt liao

Develyn,
I hope you'll be able to lay off the smoking again. I'm sure it must hv been stressful after your MC, but hope you'll find the strength to stave off all the -ve habits and take on the +ve ones! Haha! I also don like vege leh. Can count how many times i eat vege in my entire life. But nowadays i try to eat if i can. Broccoli is my favourite. Leafy vege not my favourite. heh...