Hi Lina, thanks for the info. I will see Dr Zou this friday. Will the herbs prescribe by him clash with the iVF medicines eg puregon?

develyn / december
wah, u gals married so.. so... young. ur hb is lucky to hv u... so understanding and thoughtful.

btw, develyn, if u feel like apologising to your MIL again sometime, may i suggest u do it by phonecall instead of sms... she shd accept
, call is more sincere than sms la...

Nancy, shd be fine... remembered Jas said she had the following every morning

2 bottles of chicken essence
3 half boiled egg whites
2 GNC ultra women mega multivitamin
1 folic acid
1 packet of TCM powder medication

Some ladies take ENSURE milk too. Maybe Jas can share...

Dear Lina and Alyssa,
I brought my boy when I collected my first injections last year. Guess what! He went around telling EVERYONE including his teachers that "Mummy has to do injections so that I can have didi and meimei"!!!

I have decided not to tell him anything about the treatment from then on.

Hi all and Develyn & Jas,
I notice there are quite a few young ones like Develyn and Jas doing IVF. I wonder if there are other better options for you, since your are still young, like clomid, IUI or SO-IUI? Really kudos to you for having to endure such treatment.

Hi Grace
i understand, my 5 year old boy also knew abt my injection phase. very curious and question me non-stop.if i am doing FET next month, will definitely NOT tell hi. hope to give him a good surprise. he is really waiting for a sibling.

Hi Boon BOon,
What is FSH level and how do u test it?

Hi Alyssa,

I recall that you have a lot of eggs produced during ur IVF cycle. Could you kindly share what did you do to have lots of eggs? Hehe...Advance thanks!

Hi Grace,
for me, no choice, husband needs injections to have sperms so no way we can concieve naturally. I already knew that before we got married that IVF is actually our only way to concieve. IUI will not work as well. Sperms not strong enough.

Have been very moody nowadays, I dun understand why, cause I was not really disappointed as I was mentally prepared that our first cycle would fail, but when i go to KKH , i feel this sense of dread.... hmm i do not understand why.... but even I am surprised that i am feeling this way.

Hubby has been very supportative, asking me to be positive and cheer up, and encouraging me but really diffcult... strange....

Hi Bee , thanks ... :D

Hi Grace ,

Yes, we do consider SO-IUI and other option... For me , i just done with two cycle of clomids..
As my hubby is 10 years older than me (same with Dec) , i do not want to drag further.. It is also lucky that i went thru' IVF from a jump from clomid as i have thick eggs shells and need assisted hatching.. or i will be wasting more money and time.. heehee.. at the same time , govt gives some subsidise , u won't know if they will take away the next round.. :p As for Jas, ICSI also required.. another words , i should say we are all jumpers that wanna babies' dust soon.. we dun wan to leave with regrets later and want to try our best to reach it soon. Keke..

Hi Jas ,

Do understand that u are not superwoman.. i am not too.. i have been moody for the past 2 weeks after MC .. and having really bad depression.. Being dread to go KK , it might because u passed too much shops with babies' stuffs around.. looking other pregy women + women carrying the baby.. or when a baby called papa or mama.. it is sort of sour.. So dun be surprise that u are being moody..

Like you have said , we failed .. we goes to the next round.. it is normal to feel sad but u still have to go on.. and i will do it too..

Hugs... cheer up and jia you... sure can de !

Hi mel,
wow! 10kg weight lost, that is amazing. This should be safer compare to slimming centre. Do you need to drink the herbs during the slimming process?

hi develyn,
how's your 1st treatment with Dr Zou?

Hi babylou,
Dr Zou herbs will not clash with puregon or lucrin.

Hi GraceBB and Alyssa,
Opps, children are really innocent, will say and ask everything. For my 1st try i showed the photo of the embryo to my child and started explaining about the eggs. He fell really sick, even went hospital for fever during my 2WW. Then 2nd try, again i show him the photo and he fell sick again. Some belief that the older kid will get jealousy of the sibling/eggs and either show signs of rebellion or illness (in my case). So i also decided not to tell anything for future tries. For both of you, the older child is also via IVF?

I am a new member... have been following this thread for quite a while and am encouraged by many of you...

I am waiting to start my 1st IVF cycle in March with NUH, hope to find some support here...

Hi Develyn,

Well said! We will all jia you together!!!

How was your consultation with Dr. Zou ytd? Started on your accupuncture already?

Hi Bee ,

No use one.. MIL will just hang up the phone and pretend to be poor thing infront of my hubby.. I already did my part to apologise and i am not getting her to come in to destroy my mood on the next cycle or to make to argue with my hubby.. Like all of them says , i already apologise .. accept or not can come later.. fyi, non of SIL & MIL apologise for what they says to me when i MC.. and i think i already "ti dou" le.. During ILs absent these few days , the time with my hubby is so much sweeter.. i am really treasuring every moment as usually MIL will want to follow even for dinner , movie , beach..etc.. great time for couple time le.. i enjoy it first.. keke

Hi Grace,
for me, no choice, husband needs injections to have sperms so no way we can concieve naturally. I already knew that before we got married that IVF is actually our only way to concieve. IUI will not work as well. Sperms not strong enough.

Have been very moody nowadays, I dun understand why, cause I was not really disappointed as I was mentally prepared that our first cycle would fail, but when i go to KKH , i feel this sense of dread.... hmm i do not understand why.... but even I am surprised that i am feeling this way.

Hubby has been very supportative, asking me to be positive and cheer up, and encouraging me but really diffcult... strange....

Hi Develyn,

Your MIL is staying with you or?

How come she can still tag along with you & hubby for movies etc?

Jas,

When the actual thing happens, no matter how mentally prepared we are, i'm sure we will remain down for a period of time.

Give yourself some time to get over it and then stand right up again for your next try. I'm sure you will be able to have your bundle of joy soon! ^_^

jas - cheer up... i am so rooting for you... you'll get your bundle(s) of joy soon...

lina - yeah.. i think it is quite safe..
no herbal remedies.. but the accupunture effect lasts for a while, even after the treatment... but you have to rememeber, to maintain the loss, the lifestyle will have to change.. remember that when a good accupunturist jabs the needle at the correct points, he is supposed to check with you if you have the 'suan suan' feeling.. cos it is supposed to trigger the nerves firing the electrical impulses...
are you going for 1?? have fun??

grace_bb - your little one is so cute!!

develyn - hope that the IL issues are settled soon...

torishotaka - welcum to the thread

develyn - how was the accupunture last nite? managed to get the qns for me????

jas - cheer up and jia you all the way

Just did my scan... and i have 6 eggs of size btw 11-15mm, 5 eggs btw 4-8mm (kinda small). if i rem correctly, ideal size shd be 11mm after D5 GonalF. Doc said i can start the other injection (to prevent the releasing of follicles).

For this jap, i can't do it myself... so I will be doing the jap at the centre everyday at lunch (centre is quite near my work place, so very convenient)

Nurse said I will expect to feel more bloated n experience some colourless discharge. She told me to increase to 4 egg whites a day and eat more red meat (source of protein). My next scan is this Friday.

develyn
oh, your MIL is a tough cookie! u have done ur part so need not feel bad anymore! cheer up, keep ur spirit high... good for health too!

Hi Dec , thanks god .. she is not staying with me.. for the past 2 years , she will always call to see where we are gtg and wanted to join.. we cannot say nope.. so almost every dating she will be there - of cos on bed then she will not be la.. keke just joking.. so i guess it is a perfect time to put a stop and have dating time.

Hi Bee ,

Yeah .. now she act like i am snatching the son away.. worse , she is a step mum of my hubby... possessive bahz.. i have come out with a new slogan for all these nonscence : Dunno , dun care & dun bother.. and i am more happy now..
So, just let her take her time to forgive bahz..
I have my aim and will jia you for bb.. heez

Hi Zaza , sorry .. i am always on the line in office and cannot use my hp at the same time to text u... yesterday i finish almost 10.55pm and went straight home to zzz... heez too tired.

Ok, i spoken to Dr Zou and she says u need not worry , on next Sunday around the timing , there are a few young lady doing IVF will be there for accup. and can do translation for u if needed..

She gets me to pass you the important qns that she wants to know .. u take down okie.

1) What u have done so far to conceive ? IUI..etc
2) Usually your menses lasted for how long ?
3) Normal days , do u have white discharge ?
4) Your quality of your hubby sperm ?
5) When IVF starting ?
6) U want accup or u dun mind to drink herbs stuffs..
7) Do u have blood tissues clog during your normal menses ?
8) Any miscarriage or abortion in the past ?

Okay , that's abt all.. the rest she will have to see u and conclude what to ask more.. lolz...

If u have any problem translating to her next Sun , give me a ring okie... or i might be there for accup. Not sure yet.. she says one week 2 times.. my next appt will be this sat 1.30pm.

Hi Develyn,

Oic... Wow, she is really quite possessive of the son... So many years of marriage already and still want to tag along... keke...

Anyway, just let the matter settle down and you concentrate on your dream!!!

Jia You oh...

Hi Lina and Zaza,

Accupuncture slimming didn't work on me. After 32, I feel it is very hard for me to reduce my weight. I am still trying to reduce my weight by taking no oil food (basically boil, steam ...). Fortunately, I managed to reduce 1.5kg~2kg during in Jan. I will be going for a blood test for "Triglycerides". As my last test, it shows over the limit.

Hi Develyn,

Glad that you offer to do execise together but unfortunately I am staying West so can't join you for swimming exe. Anyway, let's try hard together to achieve our goal.

Hi Alyssa,

If you do hormone test, it will show you FSH, LH etc so I was told high FSH is likely to be a poor responder to fertility medication

Hi torishotaka,
welcome to the thread.

Hi jas,
do stay positive and stay happy. We are all here to cheer each other up.

Hi develyn,
have heard of MIL following the couple on some of the outing but your MIL seems to follow you everywhere. Did you feel numb after the electrical accupuncture from Dr Zou?

Hi mel,
that's true, lifestyle will need to change, if not weight will return. I have friends who want to slim down, will let them know about accupuncture.

Hi bee,
hope your eggs grow quickly.

Hi boon boon,
how about checking the food calories that you eat daily?

I would like to ask all the brave mothers and mothers-to-be out there, how do you do the injections to your tummies?

I have a phobia for needles, almost fainted during my blood-drawing session last week...

Is the needle very long and do you have to push all the way into the tummy??? Painful??

Hi Dec ,

Well, i really enjoy greatly on every moment with hubby recently after her disappearance... haha and i hope to keep it at that level.. lolz.

Hi Boon Boon ,

Come on.. slimming down is not easy.. try to join some yoga or aqua aerobic.. trust me , if u have kaki to go with , sure can de... jia you..
I recently also loss weight with gym and swim..
maybe also after my MC , i have no appetite to eat much.. If u are determine , sure can one..

Hi Lina ,

I will put a stop liao.. heez.. need more quality time kissing my hubby everywhere and anyhow i want it to be without the present of any others.. no need to answer calls in middle of the night and concentrate with more huggies.. hee...

Yeah .. the accupunture quite numb de... very tiring after that leh.. like kana electocuted.. haha.. but i have a more relax sleep at night.. :D Btw , Dr Zou give me accupuntures and herbs to recover from MC and prepare me for the next cycle.. lucky i never drag till next month.. feel good and confident that the 2nd try , sure ke yi de... ;p

Hi Torishotaka ,

Welcome to the thread... i used to be very scare with he injection.. but trust me .. it is thin and short... just like ants bite pain.. just focus.. u did it for getting a cute baby... so it is all worthwhile.. :D

Hi Zaza , the charge for accupunture only $25.00 which include 20min front and 20min back.. the herbs cost me $40.00 for 5 days (2 times a day , 2 sachets per time) - meaning i will be drinking 4 sachets a day.. total she give me 20sachets..
It is very reasonable.. but haha i spend $20 over for taxi fare there.. hubby will be drive me there next time.. lolz...

Hi all, i m re-considering if i should go to Thomson Medical Centre (TMC) for my ivf cos the cost for the whole process is 15K which is kinda of ex, wat other options i can consider beside TMC? can anyone advise me? Furthermore, is Dr Zou a chinese physician?Does she helps those doing ivf to yield a better results after taking her medicine? we need how long nd to tio body in order to show the best results? Anybody considering TMC/TFC for ivf this round?

Hi Snow White ,

Indeed TMC sure to be more expensive as they are also using gonalF .. a very expensive jab.. u can consider NUH, SGH or KK. Govt hospital have another $3000 grant.. but u have to know that govt. hospital using subsidise only transfer 2 embryo at a time.. while private hospital like TMC , gleneagle ..etc they are transferring 3 embryo per cycle. if got budget , dun push yourself too much as u still need money for check up and vitamin after u suceed.. more and more of us in this forum is seeing Dr. Zou to tio body as she understands abt. IVF and easy to let her understand what we are facing.. whearea must TCM dun even know what's the process of IVF.. i just went to Dr Zou and she asks me to tio for 2mths as i will be starting 2 mths later for my 2nd ivf try.. u may want to consider..

I had my scan at TMC today. Dr cheng said few eggs are growing to abt 14mm. Started the second jab to prevent the eggs from releasing by itself. As i have more close to 20 eggs, may have to do FET. In case of OHSS and pregnant, may be life threatening. Hm..anyone with similar situation before?

Bee
I was there at the clinic at 10am. Guess missed you. Mostly "ang mo" there today. Your progress sounds good. U need not have 2 extra days of Gonalf. When is the expected ER?

Hi develyn,
Wah! Very the on-the-spot decision ya that you decided to see Dr Zhou
Oh, oh .. saw your posted qns as well on what to expect from Dr Zhou. Good for me to know as well. I'm seeing her on 13Feb in the evening... 630pm. Fixed aptmt liao.
But i didn't tell them hubby also coming along. Must inform them issit?

Like Zaza, I hope there'll be somebody around to translate for me!! I speak not a single word of Mandarin!

Hi Jas , can i check with u ... u have been with Dr Zou to tio before starting all process ? Or u only started when u are in the mid of IVF process ?

Hi Sierra ,

Yes.. i am kinda of weird .. i thought of calling to understand the waiting time and the person happily misunderstood that i wan it today and tell me to come down by 8.30pm (yesterday i called up at 7.56pm).. then i was like blur.. give her all my contacts and tell myself , i have to do it sooner or later.. So i took a cab down and welcome all injections... lolz .. but not as scary as i think.. Heez..

Great that u have booked appointment like Zaza did.. yes, u may get a chinese friend (who can write) and pass it to Dr Zou.. Try to translate all that u wanna tell her like past experience.. of cos no need essay.. haha.. i can also PM u my no. , incase u need help to translate , u can call me also.. :D

Zaza / Sierra : Not sure if i told u .. i can speak chinese but i can't really write.. hahaha.. stop guessing , i am a chinese.. just that i have return my written chinese back to the school..

Hi develyn,
glad Dr Zou help you in sleeping better. Have you tried her herbs, bitter but you will get used to it. And continue to stay positive. You don't need to rush to Dr Zou, you can call her if cannot make it on time.

Hi Sierra,
Dr Zou assistance (who is a local) speaks english but i only saw her during weekdays morning and afternoon time. Not sure what time she finish work. She would be able to help you translate. I saw Dr Zou using the computer, suppose if she has email address, you can also get your chinese friend to translate. Next time i ask if she has email address.

Hi Snow White,

Just to share with you, my previous gynae was from TMC. After my husband & I were advised to do ICSI, we were referred to Dr. Cheng. We actually had an appt made to see him.

But after much consideration and calculations, we decided to do the program at NUH instead to take advantage of the govt subsidy of $3k. In times like these, $3k can go a long way...

Honestly, govt hospitals are not so bad, so far I find the environment very conducive and the nurses very caring and helpful.

Hi Lina , i check on the web that they recommend ppl who will be starting ivf to detox for 1-2mths.. but i dunno how to detox in natural way as i dun wan to mix the herbs with other pills. Any idea ? Btw , the herbs are ok.. hwvr i dunno if i continue to take folic acid as per dr loh request.. i forget to ask her also... any idea ?

Hi Seirra
The assistant at Dr Zou is Li Ying. She is off abt 530pm weekdays and after which Dr zou's hubby and/or assistant from China will take over. Li ying is off on sundays.

hi develyn,
not sure about the detox. As for folic acid, i continue taking as you might never know, still have chance to strike naturally during the rest period.

Hi nancy,
6 hard boil eggs for stage 2?