Hi Poohy & CT
Dun know if I should do the jabs myself or ask my hubby to do it for me. Me having shivers now ;p

maya, it's an insurance for newborns who need to go for special care ward. i thought it's a must for all hospital, but apparently may not.

tomatoes, welcome back. glad u enjoyed ur trip. if u can do the jab yourself will be more convenient lor, no need to wait for hubby to do. if ask hubby to do will get him more involved hehe

Hi Westbb

How are you doing?

If I ask my hubby to do it, it is better for him to be involved? or Should I not do that?

Some say that it will bring more stress to our hubbies.

What do you think?

tomatoes

dun think too much now ... u see how both of u react when the nurse teach you on Sat... see who more phobia

For me I prefer to do myself cos I scare my hus will break the needle inside me ... hahahha ... but anyhow he can still be involved ... like my hus he will prepare the needle for me while I do the jab myself. He keep wanting to jab for me but I keep resisted ... but had promised to let him try tmr but very scared it will be more painful :p

tomatoes,

my view is unless u think hubby do will cause u more pain, then do it yourself (if u dare lah). Else better to get hubby to do it... they shd have their fair share of stress in this ART journey. Anyway, u can get hubby to help do the jab every morning .. so each day the moment u wake up, the first thing is to get the jab done.

maya,

i think its mandatory in kkivf to buy the neonatal insurance. I heard the nurse at kkivf telling a couple to bring a blank cheque down and depending on the number of embryo, they will ask u to fill the cheque accordingly

Hi Poohy & CT

Actually I asked my hubby before, he said he can do it for me.... but he will do it slowly 'cos he is scare.... Oh my god! I told him slowly will cause prolong pain.. must quickly poke so that the pain will be gone b4 I knew it mah.

Then he gave me that blank look.... I think I better do it myself...

tomatoes, if u are injecting using freehand, the poking part must be fast fast one, but the injecting part cannot be too fast hor, might be painful. Agree with CT, sat see how both of u react to the nurse's demo first... for me i definitely ask my hubby do cos i can never dare to do it myself. i only sit there and squeeze out my fat only. :p

Hi Westbb

Luckily I have accumulated lotsa of tummy fats from my BKK trip (eating junk food). So I hope it will not be painful

tomatoes

Oh ya if I din rem wrongly you mentioned earlier tat you will start next month right ... so u decided to start earlier?

Hi CT & Tomatoes,

I might be starting the jabs in Oct too if eveything goes smoothly for my visit in early Oct. BTW, if hubby not around during my next visit, u think gynae will refer me to IVF/ICSI? Cos my hubby on ICT during my next appt. I hope to get the referral first and book appt for counselling and blood test so that I'm in time for my next cycle.

Hi CT

Yalor, I am starting earlier 'cos my hubby thinks that if I am to go thru' procedure in Oct/Nov, he may not have the time to take care of me because of his work. So both of us agree to start earlier lor.

Anyway, we did try this cycle, so if we fail, then we will continue to proceed with the Gonal F injections. Ouch!

Hi Chemistry
You will be doing next month? Hope your menses dun come this cycle and no need to go thru ICSI liao

Poohy

I will be, this sat will be my CD21. Most probably will start the jabs on the same day also. I was saying if I did not strike this cycle, I will continue with Gonal F the next cycle. My RE also told me even if I conceived naturally, the Lucrin jabs won't do any harm. Anyway, I really doubt I will strike as I did not BD much on my fertile days....

Hi all, just came back from counselling and saw results of my blood test. Yes, this insurance thing MUST buy, even before confirming if you are pregnant or not. Actually, quite horrible that they force you to buy this bec if it turns out you're not pregnant, no refund!! And implanting 3 eggs is nearly $700!
My results were ok except one very impt one - my FSH is high, meaning that I'm having a dwindling supply of eggs. I guess age is fast catchin up with me.
And I saw the needles! The small one, big one and the injector one. The big one really made my knees weak!
And timing is impt, for the various phases. Long story.....If I'm going on this treatment, I still need to do a final blood test with hubby, the social worker counselling and then can start on D21 of cycle. If i'm going on this, I may try in Feb, still need to think abt this bec really, it's a lot on the women. Men just donate sperm only......but the jabs, the headaches, the bloaty feeling, the soreness after extraction, the pain, looks like only the women endure all these.
And yes, the medisave no need to come up with $6k if you are doing in KKH bec the drugs are not covered, only the extraction, implantation, fertilisation part are covered. Drugs can be pretty expensive....!!

Tomatoes, need to ask you something. Were you given any fertility drugs by your RE? Before the drugs did you do a hormone blood test? My gynae is overseas now and his nurse told me that i need to do a hormone blood test before i can start on any fertility drugs. In addition, you mentioned that you had endos condition. Did you go thru any surgery? Would you mind telling me how much it cost in total?

thanks in advance

tomatoes

all the best and hope you can start your injection smoothly this Sat. Any reason why is your gynae giving you Suprefact instead of Lucrin?

Btw, you doing wit Pro Chris Chen isit? See todays' report, Gleneagles had the highest success rate.

Maya

Before I went for the counselling wit the medical social worker I also had the same thinking as you that woman will be the one suffering. But during the couselling Caroline will explain to you the emotional stress the hus is going to face too ... i think the counseling is really good and it will bring you closer to understanding the whole emotional phase that both you and yr hus is going to go thru and also the hus job is really not so simple. There's definitely certain amount of stress they are going thru which the social worker will highlight.

CT,

can share more on what the medical social worker shared with u on the potential stress faced by the husband ? Just wanna learn more

Hi CT

I dun know why Prof Chen gave me Suprefact instead of Lucrin. But I know it is his practice to use Suprefact. So I juz go along with him lor. Assuring to see Gleneagles has the highest success rates but it charges the highest fees also. But I guess ultimately is depends on the individual state of health despite the high success rates.

Hi Cherry
Before I went to see Prof Chen, I brought along my previous blood test results. He knows that my hormones was not very regular then and he found fibroids in my uterus after scanning. During the lap, he found endo. My lap surgery cost me about $6k including medisave.

After that, the lap, I was on suppressing drugs for 3 mths for healing purposes. After this, I went for my IUI which no bloodtest was done b4 he gave me any fertility drugs.

It is the practice of my RE to clear any underlying problems which we may have b4 suggesting IUI or IVF to make sure our uterus can support the foetus. So have to spend more on my side

tomatoes

I can't recall all tat she said but she stressed that as the wife, we should not have this thinking tat we are the main person suffering as 95% of the procedure involved us. Our hus will equally will be faced with the emotional stress or even more. It's not as simple or easy as we woman think for the man to collect his sperm in an enclosed room or even the toilet ... hehhe

She also mentioned that though physically we are suffering with all the injection pain, bloatedness etc but our hus will equally be painful when they see us suffer and could not help in any way. We will complain to them our pain and sufferings and they may not know how to help us, and this can be very torturing to them.

She also remind us that woman and man uses different part of the brain to think ...hahha ... so what we want from our hus we must tell them directly especially along the IVF route. We cannot let them guessed wat we want .. if we wan a hug or kiss when we complain of pain, make sure we tell them directly instead of letting our hus to guess. We must also discussed how we wan our hus to be involved in this whole process.

I felt her counselling is rather useful ... actually not only for this IVF procedure but is like a booster or lesson learnt for marriage as a whole.

Hi CT

Yah, I really agree with you. The counselling session is really useful. IVF is a painful procedure and alot of understanding and support is needed for each other.

If I break down during the process, I know I can come to you guys for support beside my hubby

Thanks for sharing with us...

tomatoes

ya agree that we can always come here for support if ever we break down in the process besides our hubby.

I'm getting very emotional this 2 days also .. in the night duno why always feel like crying ... maybe I'm too stressed. Sometimes I can take it very easy, I will tell myself it's jus a procedure, a gamble dun take too hard, if failed I jus have to try again ... sometime I will feel very stressed up .. keep thinking IVF is the last hope for me .. If i failed really no hope liao ... sighhh This is just the initial stage and I'm so tensed liao ... I cannot imagined what will happen after the embryo transfer ...

CT
It might be the side effect of the Lucrin. Try to relax more and think positive. You must try to think that you will be able to see your bb soon after going thru all these.... Yes, we all know that it is gamble but if we dun think this way and be pessimistic, it will be more demoralising.

But when we are in our 2ww, we will then learnt to be mentally prepared for disappointment if any (touch wood). But that will later. Now we must be POSITIVE! At least we are happier this way

The articles on the ratings of IVF success is really useful.. thanks poohy!Now, i'm gettg really worried cos I'm doing my IVF at SGH..and they got the lowest success!!!
Anyone knows if I can transfer to a diff. hospital.. so far I only did the blood test andwill only start the jabs/medicines next month...HELP !!!

dang,

actually u cant take the ivf rating at face value. Like what the report say, individual medical condition, age also play a very impt part in the ivf success rate. The report is trying to tell us the comparison may be slightly skewed due to the patient condition that constitutes their study population. Not to mention, I feel that the price plays a very important part too..

Can take it as a gauge only not absolute.

If you really feel uncomfortable abt sgh, maybe u can transfer to kkivf. If you look at the price versus success rate, I think kkivf is doing very well. Not to mention a high percentage of the patient population in kkivf that constitutes the success rate is above 35 years old.

Moreover, kkivf sees the highest percentage of patients doing ivf per year. Thus the ivf centre there would have had the chance to have very experienced RE, also a more fine-tuned (as per cost, procedure, drug used) protocol for the ivf procedure.

Another thing is the cost in sgh would be closer to kkivf than other private hospital... So if cost is a major concern, then I think kkivf is a good choice.

This is just my opinion lah of course... for reference only...

May help if we don't raise our hopes too high (easier said than done I guess). Seriously, the chances at 35-40% is not fantastic. And with the latest info, KKH success is abt 3 women out of 10........sigh! Maybe I'm just too pessimistic given my age and my tests results. Seems to confirm that my chances are not going to be good.

CT, I think it's the drugs, I understd will cause mood swings.

Dang, I think you can transfer but you porb'ly have to register and start all over again as a new patient in the other centres. I don't think they will allow you to transfer your records or bring along your records to another centre.

Hi dang

I totally agree with what Poohy has said. KKIVF is a good alternate choice. The article on ST is only for reference only. Doesn't mean that I go Gleneagles will definitely give me a BB. It still depends on alot of other factors.

Poohy,

I would like to go seek second opinion and wanted to find out from you how is DR CT Yeong.
Does he see patients only at KK?

I am new to this thread and very happy to have found all of you. My husband and myself have been trying for more than 3 years but have not been successful so far. My husband got less than 2% of normal sperm and my current gynae is asking us to try IUI.

After reading about the IVF success rate today in the straits time, I am wondering if we should try IVF directly. Can anyone tell me how to go about starting IVF at KKH? Thank U.

cherry,

as mentioned by many others, dr ct yeong is a knowledgable, professional and caring RE. From seeing him in the past 2 years for my subfertility problems and even miscarriage management, it has always been a pleasant experience. He has shown a lot of care, concern and encouragement which makes me feel it is exceptional for a doctor in a busy public hospital like kkh. He is also systematic and careful (not hasty) in diagnosis. Overall it has been a very personable experience for my hubby and me. (We even intend to write letter of commendation to the kkh management and relevant medical body. Probably after he deliver our bb next year)

He is a gynae in the reproductive medicine unit in kkh. Thus he only sees patient in kkh.

If you would like to seek a 2nd opinion with him, get ready your current medical records (so that he can help u look thru it and potentially dun need to repeat any tests u done before). Call the kkh central appt and specify you want to see dr yeong. If you want him to do u/s scan for u during the consultation itself, u can make appt with him at kkh amk clinic or the TPS. He is available after office hours at these 2 clinics on wednesday, friday and saturday.

puppy,

u need to make an appt with one of the gynae from the reproductive medicine unit at kkh. They will review your hubby's SA and your medical condition (if any) and assess whether they will recommend u to do ivf.

In that case, they will issue u with a referal to the kkivf centre and you will be counselled on the protocol, mental preparation, etc.

The cost between IVF and IUI is vast. Thus do seek professional opinion if u really require IVF. Best is to talk to kkh RE to assess and see whether they recommend IVF directly
Alternatively, kkivf offers the SO-IUI procedure is cheaper than ivf. It offers a slightly increased success rate to normal IUI. You may be able to consider that.

It may be possible to also work on improving your hubby's sperm quality through vitamins, hormone support or lifestyle changes (eg. wearing boxer, not taking hot bath etc).

maya..

dun be discouraged.. 35-40% is actually very high. Your condition may warrant higher percentage of success ... though age is a deciding factor... but over at overseas forum, I have even heard people who are in their 40s and 50s conceive successfully with ivf/icsi. It is possible, be positive..

tks poohy for the encouragement. I'm giving myself until yr end till Jan05 for natural conceiving. Then (very probly) go for ICSI in Feb 05.

Puppy, are you over 30? Nearing mid30s? Then may want to consider IVF, dun waste time. Yougner you are, chances better. IUI success rates lower than IVF.

Poohy,

Do we just call up kkh for the appointment?
Will we have to wait very long before seeing the doctor?

Time is not on our side since we are already over 30. I guess we should start soon...

It's just been very demoralising waiting month after month but still no news

CT, i understand how you feel cos that's how i felt too. even now i also worry everyday dunno how's my bb doing, is it still growing healthily or not... there are so much worries at each step before/during/after the IVF. i think we can only take it one step at a time and try to think positive. it's always hard and we will support each other here. take care!

Maya,

Yup yup, we are over 30 already. That's why we have to start really soon, in 1-2 months time.

My gynae wanted me to take clomid and do IUI if there's enough eggs ovulating. But I am not sure if this will work since my husband sperm count is kinda low.

Have you gone for any test yourself?
Mind revealing which hospital and gynae?

puppy,

if u r going to see a specific gynae at kkh, meaning private patient, call kkh central appt, tell them u wanna see the specific gynae and ask them what are the time slots available and see how u can fit into your schedule. The waiting time for appt shd not be too long.... less than 30 min for my case.

Whether to go for ivf or iui, I think the RE will be the best person to prescribe based on your condition and his professional diagnosis. I think they will be in the best position to discuss your personal estimated success rate doing iui or ivf/icsi (and pros and cons).

There are 4 gynae in kkh which are specialist in the kkivf:
Dr Sheila Loh
Dr SF Loh
Dr CT Yeong
Dr Sadhana

so if u make an appt with any of them, the diagnosis may be faster and they are more experienced in this area.

poohy,
thanks for your reply. can i check where do you go to see him? AMK or TPS; which is a better place. I can only see him after office hours.

cherry,

no problem. for after office hours, dr yeong is only available in TPS on wednesday evening. He is available on friday and saturday evening at amk kkh clinic.

The rate at TPS is very slightly (less than $10 if i din remember wrongly) higher than kkh amk clinic or clinic D.

I find the queue time and service at TPS to be excellent. The amk kkh clinic is small and crowded. There are only 2-3 nurses and the waiting time is exceptionally long especially to make payment and collect medicine there (my own experience). If you dun mind, TPS is the best environment to see him.

I see dr yeong on wednesday evenings at TPS myself.

westbb

thanks I'm trying to stay positive but I'm also afraid I could not take it if I pin too much hope. Anyway, I'll try my best .. I tell myself I have to be brave and determined ... i'll do my best for my little bb coming on the way ... hehehe

Poohy,

Saw in a few posts back you are a patient of Dr CT Yeong and seems like he's a good doctor. Do you know if he has done IVF before?

I will discuss with my husband before making appointment.Can you let me know roughly how much it costs per visit? Any differences if we were to go after hours?

Also, in your previous posts you mention about SO-IUI. Is it same as clomid + IUI?

Sorry for asking so many questions at one go..

poohy, i just called and the nurse keep telling me to either go to Clinic B(or is it D) or AMK becos he only see pregn women at TPS. Cannot see infertility case at TPS! Ok then, i will try to call back and make a change of appointment becos for S$10 difference, i think i would get better attention and shorter waiting time. thanks again.

cherry,

I was first refered to clinic D to see dr yeong in my 2nd appt. Then he asked me whether we prefer to see him after office hours at TPS... that's how we end up in TPS for the past 2 years. And throughout these 2 years, we had been seeing him on infertility problems. My sis-in-law and another gal (okea from the infertility specialist thread) are seeing him at TPS for infertility problems too. So just ignore what the nurse say ... I dun think you need to even tell them that you are pregnant or not. Insist that you can only make it after office hours.

puppy,

yup, I had been seeing dr yeong on infertility and later SO-IUI and then now pregnancy. And of course he has performed IVF... he is one of the 4 specialists available to perform this procedure in kkivf centre as I have listed in previous post.

Going to kk amk clinic after office hours shd be the same rate as seeing him in Clinic D of kkh. However going to TPS to see him will entails a very slightly higher consultation charges (as I mentioned in my previous post). His consultation charges at TPS is abt $50. Clinic D or AMK KK clinic shd be slightly lower. As usual first consultation is slightly more exp... I cant remember exact but it should $60-70. The costs of the medicine depends on what medicine u r prescribed.

SO-IUI is different from clomid in the stimulation of the follicles. Instead of clomid, SO-IUI will use injections (similar to those use in IVF protocol) to stimulates abt 3 mature follicles. The jab is administered yourself at home daily as per the ivf protocol. Similarly, follicular scans will be scheduled from cd7 onwards every other days to determine follicle size, whether the injection dosage needs to be adjusted till the follicle reach mature size. A hcg injection will be given at this point to further mature the follicles and caused ovulation to occur. An IUI will be performed at this point using washed sperm.

The main diff between SO-IUI and clomid-IUI is that:
- The drug administered ie. The FSH injections used in SO-IUI are fsh hormone used directly to stimulate the follicles. The clomid however works by making your brain thinks u dun have enough fsh/lh and thus act to produce more FSH and LH on its own to stimulate the follicles to maturity. Clomid may or may not be able to produce multiple follicles. However it is possible to produce multiple follicles with fsh injection since the dosage can be adjusted accordingly throughout the cycle to stimulate the follicles..

The main diff between SO-IUI and IVF/ICSI is that
1. the number of mature follicles at trigger time should not exceed 3 (if more than 3, then will convert to IVF like in the case of westbb). This is to prevent very high order multiple pregnancy...
2. normally there will be no down regulation using drug like lucrin prior to the administration of the FSH injections (eg. puregon)
3. Eggs will not be harvested from your body unlike IVF
4. IUI will be performed to insert the post washed sperm (instead of embryos in the case of ivf) directly through the cervix into the uterus. (fertilisation is inside your body and not in-vitro)

The cost is abt $1k-$1.5k depending on how much FSH jabs u requires... Mine is cheaper (at abt $1.2k) becos as PCOS patient I respond very rapidly to only 100iu daily dosage of puregon and thus was ready to ovulate by cd9.

hope I not too long winded

westbb,

hope u r doing great
when is your first checkup and u/s scan ??? Must update us on the number of bb hor.. so excited for u...

do not be overly concerned abt the success rate of each hospital. it really depends on your health condition, age and how serious is the infertility problem.
sigh, i was shocked i paid double since i did mine at glene. but so far no regrets, coz i succeeded.

Poohy,
Tnank you for taking time to explain the differences. I will discuss with my husband tonight and see what's the decision.
Hope you'll have a smooth pregnancy and delivery.

Cherry,
Looks like you are going to see Dr Yeong too. Maybe I'll see you and Poohy there sometime ..

For the rest of us who are still trying, pray that God will bless all of us with this precious bundle of joy soon!