hi wanBB,
i dunno. but i don't have to go for jabs. i was just given dusphaston pills, hormone pills to support my pregnancy. to be taken twice a day. my guess is perhaps my blood test results is good enough to just take pills at the moment. what are u jabbed with? i had daily progesterone already during the 2ww for 17 days. the travelling was a torture. seems quite pointless coz the jab was less than 5 minutes.

Still no news from govt regarding babymaking incentives hor?

Can i also ask those with KKIVF and Dr Zou, do you all stop the TCM once you start lucrin jabs? Or is it ok to jab lucrin/puregon and take TCM at the same time? I have no chance to ask Dr Loh about this yet

Hi Momo,
It would be better do not take it on the same time (at least 2 hour different should be ok).

For me, once I start IVF programme I stop the TCM.
Baby dust for you, cheers ^_^

Hi Elle,

Err, I don't think so leh. The key to the drink or food is to provide additional protein to the body during the IVF process. Why protein? Based on my superficial knowledge, protein is the basic building block for the follicles and also to prevent OHSS with intake of additional fluid.

U don't have to drink this protein brand, Ensure. Can drink Complan or go GNC for protein shake formula. You can mix the powder with milk if you want to but it is not necessary.

Or if you like egg white, then can eat egg whites during your injection period until the 2ww. I eat hard-boiled eggs, never raw egg whites, but it is up to your preference.

Anyway, there are ladies who didn't consume either items but still hit IVF jackpot, so if you don't like the taste for protein drink or egg whites, then don't force yourself lah.

Hi RuRu Cat, ic..thanks for the info.

I am now at 2ww and did not take any protein drink or egg white. But while following this forum, I learn about this which is great.
Not sure if this explains why I am getting alot of gas building up in my stomach. Sign of bloatness or goner ? Oh dear...

Merlenna, I didn't have any progesterone injections during my 2wws. Dr give me inserts instead of injections. But have to inject HCg on 3rd and 6th day. Now having progesterone injections for twice a week until 12th weeks of pregnancy. It takes 3 mins to inject the oil based medication. And i really hate it. Lucky for me i stay near the clinic so traveling time is still short.

Hi Cale,

You can take hard boiled egg whites too, if you can't take the raw ones. But the nurses emphasized to me to take the raw ones. Other high protein sourced food/supplements need to be broken down before the body absorbs the protein. Moreover, natural products have always been the recommended way to get the nutrients your body needs. Just ensure that if you are taking raw ones, not to have any of the yolk as only the yolk carries salmonella.

But don't force yourself if you can't take. There are others. Try taking protein shake. What I normally do is to make strawberry milkshake together with 1/2 spoons of protein shake added.

Hi WanBB,

do you mean have to travel to the hospital everyday during the 2WW to inject the progesterone? I am doing ivf in KKH, heard that they give progesterone injections for IVF, but I thought are to be injected at home on our own?

I would like to know if we are kept awake during ET. I know that sedation will be given, so does it mean it will make us fully unconscious during the whole process of ET?

Bliss
There is no sedation for ET. You will be conscious throughout the process - just like having a pap smear.

Hi Momo Bear,
I'm also waiting for the baby-making incentives. It should be announced during the Rally, usually 2 weeks after National Day by PM Lee at the University Cultural Centre. IVF treatments may be subsidised... I'm just waiting for a confirmation over the media.

Hi joie,

thanks thanks. I think I have typed by mistake. I meant sedation during ER actually, not ET. :p

I knew how it was like for ET, it is like the procedure for IUI, had done that before, painless and only very slight discomfort.

hi wanBB,
yeah different ppl different protocol. but i understand the dread you feel towards the injections. but lucky you live near..

hi bliss,
progesterone needs to be injected into the muscles. that can't be done on your own. you need a nurse to properly do it. wrong move you might hit a nerve. its not like lucrin or puregon that can be injected into the fats.

during ET, you'd be awake. u need to. they will confirm ur embryos belong to you. you need to certify ur name and ic. can't be sedated for that right? hehe.. then once they insert the embryos, you can go off. very fast. less than an hr. as for ER, yeah you need to be sedated coz they need to insert the needle to drain your follicles depending how many you have. it may take awhile, it may be fast. all the follicles have to be taken be it mature or not..

Bliss, i nv have any progesterone injection during my 2ww. Dr give me inserts instead. I have 2 HCG injections which I do it at home on day 3 and 6 past transfer.
Et is a very simple process compared to ER. I even wear my contact lens. So I can see what the dr is doing. hee hee..

Merlenna, I'm okay with all injections except for the killer oil based one..

Hi ladies, I am new and currently in the 2WW stage. Do I really have to wait for the blood test to confirm the pregnacy or I can purchase those urine test kit in the market. 2 weeks are very long wait.....

Hi WanBB,

are you having ivf at KKH? When I had my iui at KKH previously, the nurse told me that the progesterone injections are used for ivf, whereas progesterone pessaries are used during iui. So I wonder what I will be given for this time ivf during the 2WW at KKH. So after taking the 2 HCG injections, you will not be able to take the home pregnancy test too early since the HCG may be still in the blood, right? Then it might be more than 2WW, is it?

I am also fine with all the injections, not afraid of injectins all along, just that the oil based one you mentioned was really so uncomfortable ah? Sounds bit scary...

Hi Jean and Bliss,

You know what all IVF ladies fear the most? I think definitely the 2ww. Everyday is a longggg... day and when you develop symptoms like pulling pain at the stomach, we over-obsess over the possibility of being pregnant.

Hi Bliss,

You are right, with the HCG shot in our body, if we test too early with DIY urine kit, then sure show false positive.

I read somewhere that this lady has this ingenious idea- we start to test with urine kit on the 4th day postET (the result sure false positive) and test daily until urine test kit shows negative (that is the stage where the injected HCG is out of our body system and our body may (or may not) be producing too minute an amount of HCG for the urine test to pick up) then the urine test kit result after this negative will be taken as the most accurate.

Of course this idea will waste alot of $, we need around 10 sticks (D4pET to D12pET) but at least we have something to do during this period and not keep waiting for the blood test date. I think after spending $15k on IVF, spending $100+ for the urine test kit is not much in retrospective right?

What do you ladies think?

Jean, you have HCG injection? if so, have to wait at least 5 days to get true result. I got a false positive 3 days after my HCG jab.

bliss tan, I did my ivf at gleneagles with dr foong. he use pessaries during 2wws and injections after confirming pregnancy. Better don't test it too early if you have HCG injections. Might give you false result. it's still 2ww with HCG. Cos you will receive them at day 3 and 6. So by day14 (blood test), everything will be out of your system.
progesterone injection is oil based so cannot just inject it into our bum fast. Must slowly squeeze in. It takes a long time and very painful for me. But i heard from the nurse, it depends on individual. Some will feel it painful and some feel nothing. she also told me that one side will be more painful than the other. I realise my left bum cannot take the injection that well. Right bum still feels okay.

Ruru Cat & mystyy
Thx... I thk no raw egg whites for me. Duno lah.. my DH said wait eat liao, ur tummy cannot take it, lagi worse! C how then.

Can't wait for the Rally... no $, no IVF, no chance for kids! Govt shd c the link there lah...

Hope all ladies here in ww2 r feeling good!

WanBB,

sounds bit frightening about the progesterone injection...
But for the sake to have baby, any pain is worth it.

Yes, the 2WW waiting is definitely torturing especially if the result were to be devastating. I had very uncomfortable side effects during the 2WW when inserting progesterone pessaries for 17 days. I had all the pregnancy signs, that confused me so much, tiredness, headaches, feeling nausea, giddiness, cramps, constipation, bloatedness etc. I could never forget how depressed and devastated I was the previous time when I had a negative urine test at home before I went to the hospital for pregnancy blood test. I cried for days and finally calm down, stopped myself from misery and started to plan for the next ivf again. At that stage, my heart and soul was like torn apart... sounds terrible but it was so real to me.

Well for now, I keep telling myself not to let myself be devastated and miserable no matter what the outcome will be this time. Well, it is definitely not easy, but have to be strong no matter what.

Praying hard for myself and everyone of you here.

bliss tan
No wonder they say mothers very 'wei ta'...

And they say u wil only know aft u become a mother urself. Else sometimes, most of us wil take our mothers for granted.

hi ladies!

i pray for all of you going through either the stage 1, 2 or 3, all the best and that you will get a positive at the end of this trying period. babydust to all of you. can understand your anxiety and nervousness but have faith that you will be pregnant at the end of it.

my 3 darlings are doing fine at the moment, growing well and even sort-of danced around when i went for my scan yesterday. i stopped my bum injections last week and this week is the end of my 1st trimester.

babydust to all of you! jia yoh!

Haven't been able to get on my PC because every 2 days or so it crashes. Just a little update.

I've just started on 450 iu Gonal F injections on 11 August. On top of that, I'm also on Clomid. To tell you the truth, I'm hoping to have some bloating so that at least I'll know that there are lots of follicles growing.

Hi Cale, Josephine and Nita

Looks like we are going to be cycle buddies. Cale, all the best for your ER tomorrow. By the way, how many rounds of jabs did you get? Yours is really fast. Take plenty of rest after your ER, okay?

To all who are currently on the 2WW

All the best to you. Hang in there! Positive results will come.

Mala,

Yup, our time are so close. Why you take clomid? Which hospital you go?

Today is Cale ER.

I got 7 Jab, 16 Aug will be back to KK to check my Egg. How about you Mala?

hi all in the 2ww,

How are you all coping? The anxiety must be getting intense right. I must admit I am looking forward for next Monday blood test. Currently, I am having mood swing...Can get angry and sad easily. My lower back is also constantly aching...but my breast is not as painful its just full. My cramp comes & goes and my bloatedness and heartburns gets worst when night come. Perhaps less movements... I am trying to keep myself positive and calm...hope my dream do come true tis round. To all of us jia yoh...

Miss Hae,
Its nice to hear that all your babies are doing well and so called happily dancing. Its the best moments to capture and will never be forgotten in every Mother's memory...Btw, are you working? How do you cope at work? I assume this is the time where you are constantly tired. Finally the 1st trimster is over...so called the crucial time. Welcome to the 2nd trimester...

Hi Bliss Tan,

Not everyone after ET from KKH will be taking the progestrone jab. Like me I am taking the pregnyl jab on the tummy like lucrin & puregon. It is to be taken about 4 time only within the 2WW. I should say the 1st week only...and you could DIY at home if you are comfortable enough to mix the medication on your own.

Rurucat,

we started ivf on the same date, 5 Aug, rite?
So you are doing in which hospital huh? When to expect starting of puregon injections then?

Hi Josephine

I'm with Thomson Fertility Centre under Dr LC Cheng. This is my 3rd fresh cycle. I also had a FET.So it looks like its my 4th ivf.

The doctor decided to do something different to increase my chances so he decided to put me on Clomid as well. It seems it may help the follicles to grow and the eggs to mature.

I will be seeing the doctor for a scan this Saturday 14 Aug to check the response.

I'm also doing acupuncture. Are you? It certainly helps me relax. How are you doing with the jabs? Take care and all the best to you. Let's keep each other updated.

Hi cAtZeYe,

you mean you are taking the pregnyl jab after the ET? I thought pregnyl is to be injected once just before the ER, to prepare the eggs for maturation? Oh.. I didnt know about that. So you currently in your 2WW? What form of progesterone are you taking then?

Thanks for the info.

Hi cAtZeYe,

all the best to you, hope to hear your good news next Monday. It is not easy but you have reached this stage so far. You must be very brave. Jia you!

Sorry, haven't login for 2 days. I had my ER yest. It was terrible for me. Cos after resting for 3 hrs, I woke up feeling alert and eager to go home. But was unable to pass urine and got quite a bit of bleeding. The nurse told me its normal. But a few minutes after I changed, I got sudden giddiness, nausea whole body sweating. Very scary feeling. The nurse put me bk to bed and monitor 2 more hrs. Again, I thot i was better and get up again, but got faintness again, then eventually vomit and felt better. Then yest whole day cannot walk properly cos tummy very cramp and bloated. Until now oso the same leh.
Can I ask if anybody felt this way oso? And is it ok to go ahead with ET 2mr with the cramp and bloatedness?

Hi Cale,
Ur puregon days seems much shorter than mine, but at least we can be cycle buddies since your ER is 1 day after mine
Do update us when you feel better after ur ER

Hi Bliss,
I oni started acu after i start my ivf, but dun feel comfortable, so i'm just taking the med now. If you think acu dun benefit you then stop loh, at least lessen the needdle pricks that we are already having haha....I done my ER yest so today just went to see her. Ya, i agree that the charges are very expensive man....everytime take 2 weeks med is abt $170+ already.

Ya, me too, now if I have one i will be very happy already, dun wana hope for too much
Our doc oso told us that it is due to unexplainable reason why we can't conceive cos my menses is regular and hubby sperm count ok.

I totally understands your feeling of wanting to experience motherhood. I wasn't a religious person to start with, but after going thru so much, i'd oso decided to put my faith in Guan Yin, I will go to the one in Si Ma Lu whenever i can.

*babay dust to all*

Hello ladies

Today's newpapers say liao, this sun, govt will announce details on babymaking goodies.

Btw, anyone ... those with KKIVF and Dr Zou, do you all stop the TCM once you start lucrin jabs? Or is it ok to jab lucrin/puregon and take TCM at the same time? I have no chance to ask Dr Loh about this yet

hi bliss tan,

yup before ET it will be a 10000iu to be jab through our thigh. After ET those ladies who have lesser than 15 eggs will be on pregnyl and those more than 15 have to take progestrone. So I am not taking any progestrone but only got my pregnyl as my HCG booster...

Hi all, was wondering how long is the average number of days you had to be on puregon? I should be starting on puregon anytime soon. I am 'assigned' to be on 150iu and will check back on Day5.
I kinda need to plan coz high possibility of following hubby abroad on 15 Sept. Quite worried now that I won't make it in time.

Hi Maykel,

oh my god, your ER sounded terrible and painful. I can feel your pain.
Your husband was there to accompany you and bring you home, right?

So did you manage to pass urine for these 2 days? I heard that need to drink lots of water and make yourself let out of the hormone medication through urinating, to prevent OHSS. How many eggs were retrieved? Hope all will be smoothly for you.

Waiting to hear from you a smooth and successful ET!
Take good care.

Hi Josephine,
The ER process is alright for me. After i was put on the sedation, i fell into deep sleep and not aware of what's going on. The next moment when i wake up which is 1 hour later, the ER already completed and I was resting at the recovery area. Sleep for another hour, and the nurse discharge me liao. Got a bit of bleeding and feeling quite bloated now. Can only walk very slowly. I was told that they extracted 21 eggs, will know how many fertilised on Thur, right before my ET. Need to go back to KK for daily progesterone jabs for 17 days after the ET

Hi Maykel,
How are you feeling now? Hope you are recovering better now. Do you still have bleeding? Nurse told me the bleeding should stop 1 day later. How many eggs extracted? Have plenty of rest and don't walk around ya. Boss your hubby to do thing for you, hee
. All the best to your ET tomorrow. Keep us updated ya.

Hi Mala,
I was on total of 9 jabs of puregon for 9 days. May be due to my PCOS condition, i was responding quite well to the puregon. All the best to your 14 aug scanning and pray that you have lots of big big follicle

Hi austere,
Have you injected with the puregon previously? Are you responding well based on the dosage given? Understand from nurse that usually takes about 8-12 days for puregon stage, but it varies depending on your response.

Hi All in 2ww,

I am having cramps off and on. No sore breast not feeling nausea. Very bloated.....stand up straight also problematic.....very constipated....I dun think i am pregnant as the cramps are quite intense. I think my OHSS has worsen!!! Feeling very uncomfortable and yet went back to work since Mon.

Feel so sick..........dun even want to eat dinner tonight!

Hi Mala,
What is FET stands for?
14 Thrusday or 16 Saturday?

I am not doing any acupuntare. Scare with needle stick in body. Hehehehe

My jab so far ok leh. 3rd day after first lucrin jab a bit itchy and there small rashes. And I read on article one of the allergy symptom was itchy & rashes. Scare that I am allergy then straight away go to 24 hrs KK hahahaha. And the doctor said it is not allergy because if it is allergy straight away itchy and rashes (*paranoid already) Wakakakaka.

Then start puregeon, first inject no pain but after awhile i feel pain. It is painful than lucrin injection. Hahahaha :D

You too oh, keep updated.

Hi Cale,

Got Hospitalisation leave? If got, how many days you got? Wow 21 eggs, a lot leh. So Thursday, you will go back to KK? Who is the doctor doing your ER?

It just felt so encouraging to hear the updates from each of you. Really hope we can be done and successfully accomplish our task.

I will start my lucrin on 16 Sept (est). Heehee i know it's still long. Hubby initially dun really want this due to so much needles, injections and scans. But after i shared all your stories and told him that we are not alone n the whole procedure seems ok, he finally is agreeable. Of course i still have this last month to "stirke" before embarking this journey.

I am just so excited and really hope we can carry our baby in our arm.

Jia you

hi maykel,
your ER sound so severe.. i had something like yours although i vomitted days later. i too had to walk holding on to tummy. couldn't hold pee for long for the 1st 2 days. i think its because of the high number of eggs extracted. rest well yeah? don't worry, ET will still go on. i was still in pain especially waiting for the procedure to start.. i remembered wanting to keel at the clinic coz i couldn't bear sitting any longer, but the doc and nurse reassured me that it will be ok. after seeing the embryos, i don't care really.. hope you feel better soon!

hi cale,
great no. of eggs you got there. looks like your protocol same as mine. bleeding is normal coz the needle entered 21 times for you.. so take care of yourself. just take the progesterone jabs one day at a time. 17 days will pass very soon. haha, for me, i just dread going back and forth the clinic since i'm from the east. like a gd advice i once got, let the world wait for you.. take your time walking..

hi bebecraze,
bloated is a good sign. cramps are also normal. c'mon don't rule anything out yet. you haven't got the results confirmation. think positive thoughts yeah?!

Oh btw, for those who have just done ER, how do you inform ur boss that you need to go on 2 week hospitalisation leave? How long before did you inform the boss?

Hi Kurn,

Welcome to the thread. ^_^
Hopefully we all successfully accomplish what we want.

How long have you been TTC?

For me, I am thinking to told my boss on the day I got the hospitalisation leave. Hahaha :D

Hi bebecraze,
Like what cAtZeYe said, the severe bloatness may be a good sign. Think on the bright side.

Hi Josephine,
I was given 2 weeks hospitalisation leave inclusive of ER day. Thursday morning have to go back to KK for the ET. My doctor is SF Loh. Who is your doctor?

Hi Marlenna,
I am also from the east. It's quite troublesome to travel to KK just for a 5 min jabs
. Did you take the progesterone jabs on your thigh or butt? Last time how many eggs is retrieved and fertilised?

Hi Cale..
Good numbers of eggs u have! Do have a good rest and hope that all your eggs fertilise beautifully..How many eggs do u intend to transfer? Hope to be able to do my ER soon..maybe next week..??
I'm getting worried..today is my 5th day of puregon..I do not have any effect on it so far..no bloatedness, no cramping... Is it normal?
Will be going back to KK this Friday for scanning.. I hope that I will have many follicles with eggs...Hmm...

Will pray hard that everything will be okay...

Hi Bliss,

I think there is a confusion as to whether I am in Stage 1 r 2 as different gynae has different IVF protocol. My gynae starts me on 21days of Yasmine, follows by Lucrin then Puregon, whereas ladies under KKH starts on Lucrin 1st, then Puregon.

I am now in D5 of Puregon shots (Lucrin shot in the morning) and Puregon 200iu shot at nite. I am under the care of Dr Christine Yap at mt e. I just went for my 1st scan this morning.

My gynae says the shorter the period the eggs mature to 18mm, the "younger" the eggs so they are of better quality, so I told her then please increase the dosage so I can also have fresh eggs leh. She says it is a delicate balance becos I may have OHSS if too high dosage. Ha..ha.. She says I should be going for my ER next mon or tues. Very excited. Going for 2nd scan on thurs to see if eggs are growing well.

Hi Kurn,

I think it is advisable to inform your boss once you start your puregon jabs that in about 12 days time you will be on mc for 2 weeks so the boss has time to make alternative arrangement.

Hi austere,

Don't worry. If you start your Puregon by next monday, you should complete your ER/ET by end August and can accompany ur HB. Like I say, the fastest our egg matures, the fresher and better the quality.

Hi Josephine,

Been trying for almost 2-3 years already. Really hope we can progress like all of u here. : )

Cale,
My doc is also SF Loh. Hope he can do miracle for us.

I heard alot of the accunputure thingy. Any chinese sinseh to recommend? Is it for hubby and wife or just wife?