hi k0k0
yes, i am doing 5D ET. Some websites mentioned that 5D ET has been increasingly adopted by many centres as it actually increases chances of implantation.. i will stay guided by the emryologist

Thanks all

Reckoned there are two school of thoughts... some said 24hrs bed-rest after ET while some said it is a myth to stay in bed as there is no scientific proof. Will see how, maybe ET is tmr leh...

Hi Libby ,

U have done 2 cycles ? How many FET did u went through... u are really brave.. yeah, i did agree with Dr Loh to go for 3 embies transfer...
Do the gynae share why it does not succeed ?

Hi Koko,

I bought strawberry flavour. I am not a milk lover but no choice. I hv also tried choco flavour cos the pharmacist gives me sample to try. To me, choco tastes better than strawberry.

I do feel bloated too and v moody. My stomach keeps making noises till i feel v paiseh with my colleagues leh..haha

Hi Bee.. our thoughts are the same la... just want you to rest to stabilise your embies :D
See how is the ET tomorrow and keep us posted okie.. Best of luck !

hi develyn

i did 1 fresh cycle and 1 FET. both failed due to difficult transfer. but now i've changed to Dr Loh, he's able to do it for me much better than my previous gynae, so keeping fingers cross, this time will succeed.

Hi Libby ,

Is FET consider one cycle to deduct the 5k for 2nd chance as i see that u write u can 4k for this time.. abit confuse.

develyn,
ya Good luck to you. Hope u hit the jackpot.

Me too want to know how to prevent thick egg shell. I also have this problem.
I heard avoid taking shell seafood. Donno whether is true.
Really envy my friends. 2 of them got pregnant naturally within 3mths even thou they take precaution for 9yrs. Sometimes really very angry with myself. Sigh...

bee,
don hv to be 24hrs bed rest lah. Its advisable to lay on bed after ET and also try to walk abit around the house to help blood circulation during yr 2ww.

Libby,
Wow,you quit your job to do ivf? I salute you! Dr Loh is very well known so you are in good hands.
I am also not a milk person .. did you buy Ensure or Ensure Life? I am confused which one we should be drinking

Bee,
Ya, I also read 5 days transfer may result in higher chance of pregnancy too. So, your chances are good

Babydreamzy,
Where did you buy Ensure from? Got sample somemore .. keke
Did you buy Ensure or Ensure Life?

Hi all ,

i went to see Dr Loh yesterday and he told me that i can start do IVF then ask me to arrange with IVF centre for appoinment. Appoinment was made on next week, can anyone advise me after next week appoinment when they will ask me to start stage 1 ?
Do i have to wait till my AF to come then i can start the jabbing ?

Dear Libby

Just to tell you that I have done the same thing as you. After failing 2 fresh cycles and 1 FET, I decided to quit from my well paying job to concentrate on IVF.
I am now resting at home and preparing for my next cycle. All the best to us and everyone trying!

Hi, I've just got retrenched last week. IVF is part of my plans in the next 2 months while I was having my job. My ex-boss did try to look for a possible internal transfer for me, which looks promising that I could get the role in another dept. However, I'm at a loss now whether or not I should decline should the offer comes thru, or just stay at home to concentrate on IVF treatment. If I do stay at home, I'll be full-time concentrating on getting pregnant. Not sure if this is good as it may probably add more stress on myself as I don't have any work to distract me except to keep thinking about getting pregnant. And also with the bad job market now, whether it's a good decision to be unemployed. But if I were to take on this new role (which i don't think it will be stressful), I'm worried that with the side effects of IVF (vomitting, headaches), I will need to take many sick leave and it would not be fair to my potential boss. =(

Bee,
good luck and all the best, you can do it.. waiting for your good news

My puregon is 600 and it is quite high so it is rather painful no matter I inject it fast or slow.
KOKO,
the doc explained that every stage in age, our chances will drop quite high. ANything after 36 years old will have to take like 500 or 600 per jab. It's quite normal. Even with such high dosage, we can only produce 2 to 3 follicles max. That's the difference.

To boost the male sperms, last the gyne recommend is Mega Men from GNC.

Charmaine,

If you can afford to stay at home by all means. On the other hand, it is good to have something to distract you. For the next 9 months the situation is going to get worse. Which means if you give up the job, you must be able to sustain for the next 9 to 10 months.

As for being fair or not to employers, it is no longer a question as nowadays working society, there is no fairness. You can be as hardworking, loyal and go all the way out for work. Once your boss is in bad mood or not happy, he can still ask you to go within 24 hours without mercy
. This is life
As long as you have done your best, is what matters

Good luck for your IVF. Not all people will get side effects. So far throuhg my lucrin and puregon cycle I did not experience any side effect. Only when I forget to eat my breakfast in the morning I will feel the nausea. Maybe cause the injections are too strong the night before.

Dear Libby/December,

Guess we are in the same shoes too.. I quitted my job more than 6mths ago to prepare myself for ivf and at the same time trying to conceive naturally. Had been trying since 3yrs ago and have gone thro 2 IUI and 2 SOIUI and even visited chinese sinsehs but was not successful. For me it was quite a tough decision however I'm not young anymore and having a child is a once in a lifetime matter as once you missed the "window-period" you can never turn back the clock.

I am also worrying about finances and how long my savings is able to last me thro IVF as I understand that it is not a sure strike procedure and many sisters out here have gone for a few tries. I've decided to go for 2-3 tries before I really start looking for a job.

Hi ladies-who-has-quit-job-to-ivf

I personally feel it is right choice to do if a child is really what you want. I myself is on contract employment ending this year, so job instability is unknown in economic downturn like this. My gynae advise me to ivf soon. I was in a dilemma too because I wonder if I should focus on finding a new permanent job instead. Finally i give in to prioritizing starting a family. Age doesn't wait for me. I won't want to look back and regret not trying for a child years down the road when it is too late. So what if I have a job? I can always focus on a career 5 years later,but no doubt job expectation will need to compromise, maybe employer prefer younger hires. Maybe my pay then won't be as good as somebody who never left. But at least I keep hopes that I can find a job to provide me a source of income. So go for it ya! Just sharing my thots here!

wow this thread is moving really fast...

to the ladies who are seeing Dr Loh and not reacting well to puregon, the reason why i changed my gyne to raffles, it is because she suggested an antagonist cycle, which is mainly used for people that do not react well to puregon. I felt that in a private hospital, you have more options so as to speak. You might want to ask Dr Loh if that is suitable for you and avaliable in KKH .

the success rate in raffles is 40% but it is based on scanned fetus and heartbeat on week 6 so to me that is good enough for me to do my ivf in june with Dr Thong. according to Dr thong, they deal a lot with older patients so success rates will be slightly lower... hehe anyway good luck to everyone esp those in 2ww

bee,

I totally agree with BlesswBB, lay on bed as much as you can and walk a bit around the hse to help blood circulation during 2ww.

How I wish I can call you and share with you my past experience coz I really not very good in English writing

Anyway, I believe Rebecca, Cindy or Shamsiah will tell you what to take note after transfer. Pls follow their instructions closely.

nancy,

Ya.....must drink more fluids. I really wondering when will I fully recover...hmm...worry...

Oh...no problem....hope I can do FET next month or April. If I am not wrong you intend to do on Apr/May? Btw, are you working? Think you are feeling better now...can start to 'bu' your body!? Pls take good care of yourself before transfer. Jia you!!

Hi Koko/Babydeamzy

Today was my 2nd shot of Puregon.. and its not painful compare to yday.. I did the jab myself.. gosh i was feeling very nervous i woke up at 4.30am just to do it.. hehe

And also im having discharge and also some bleeding. My menses just ended last week thursday.. Any of u ladies experience this too?

wow, seems like a lot of you ladies have either left your job or intending to leave to concentrate on getting pregnant. I myself have entertained the thought of leaving my job so I could concentrate on ivf. Esp since now posted overseas, so definitely not easy to juggle everything. But thought of being jobless is a bit scary for me, cos don't think we can survive with single income. So no choice ... have to be realistic and continue working. I admire those ladies who have sacrificed their career to pursue their dream of having a baby, Think it's very admirable. At the end of the day, the problem of conceiving may not lie with us. But yet the sacrifices have to come from us (leave job, go through jabs and all). Such is life.

But I hope God will see all our sacrifices and grant us all our wish for a baby soon

Me seeing Dr Zhou this evening for 1st apptmt. But my AF came, today 4th day. Still ok rite? Will she still do acupuncture?

Hi all-new-comers ,

Welcome...

Hi Bee ,

Wow, Raffles sucessful rates 40% .. btw , how many embies will u be transferring at private ?
3 right ? I really hope you make it... now i am with TCM Dr Zou to tio body.. gtg to gym and swimmingto reduce weight.. hope all are in order that i can react better with Puregon for the 2nd shot..

Hi Blesswbb ,

Yes, i really hope to strike jackpot ! Pray hard bahz.. I heard alot saying prevent eating shells stuffs too and also to reduce weight.. So i am hitting this two important points before IVF.. I am always convincing myself that if i can't hit jackpot natually then hope IVF give me a consolation prize later bah.. My colleague just got a new GF for few mths and only after ONE romantic night , the gal is pregnant for 2mths now.. and he confess that is only one time , they are thinking of abortion.. siaoz !!! We are trying so hard and ppl out there are taking the BB away.. quite sad to hear that.. Maybe they will regret in future.. *Smack*

Btw, please rest well... hope embies grows healthily... JIA YOU !

Hi Sierra ,

I do agree - got money = quit - No money = work ... no use to quit your job then get pregnant and cannot subtain with luxury essence.
For me , no money so i work.. haha..

Dr Zou will still do accup. even if you are having AF... no worries .. :p

Hi babylou,
glad to know that your hubby echo scan is ok.

Hi juju,
agree, the lady boss that i worked with are usually mean, stingy and bossy.

Hi charmaine,
If you choose to stay home, can take on a relax part time job while focusing on ivf. You can still earn some cash for the treatment and keep your mind off the whole process.

Hi Sierra,
should not be a problem with accupuncture. My menses came on 3rd day before and she also did accupuncture for me.

Hi develyn,
we should counsel those people intending to go through abortion. If they know our story, may change their mind.

i went to supermarket to get the brazil nuts, could not find at ntuc. But at cold storage, found those energy bars with only some brazil nuts content. Anyone know where we can get brazil nuts only?

Hi Lina ,

Yes, i did.. haiz but i think she is still going ahead as he says that the gf ONLY 29 and dun wan the burden... kaoz... 29 , i am 26 and yearning for one asap... so sad.

Btw anyone knows what is FSH and how to know the level ?

thanks thanks, my siblings are okay to postpone the BD lunch
didnt tell them exactly what i am going thru... except my mum. Plan to do so only if it is successful!

My ET is confirmed tmr. All five embryos are still growing and they shd become blastocyts tmr. After transfering 3, they will continue to culture the other 2 but will likely not recommend to freeze them... i think they probably thought it is not worthwhile since chances of them living are low.

For those who are at ER /ET stage, god will bless us!

hi breezy
would be glad to hear ur experience.... i read on this thread that we are not allowed to post any numbers/email... how to do PM, u can post in mandarin?

humbug
600 puregon seemed very high...sure got a little pain. Take a deeper breath before u inject! btw, what is the highest dosage used at KK? At TFC, i think the highest dosage is 450IU GonalF

Bee
All the best for the ET tomorrow. Jia you
U are transferring 3 embryos? Is it 3 grade 1 embryos? ET on valentine day !! hee TFC froze the 12 embryos yesterday they they gave me a set of pics.

They put them in 3 straws which 4 in each. I calcualted think only June can start ET. Hm...

hi develyn,
hehe i assume when you are talking about raffles, you are talking to me?? hmm... i dunno how many i will transfer... but i told the doctor, i want to transfer 3... twins or triplets nevermind.... haha she just said... we will counsel you on that later hahaha. i think she was just worried :p

i have not even got my butt down to walking for exercising... hmmm but i did see Dr Zhong to tio so am taking her medication 1 packet a day... she says dun need to really go for accupuncture until near the ivf date so i will wait till i do ivf.

nancy
ya, will be transfering 3 embryos... as of yesterday, 1 advance (cannot be graded, dunno why), 3 grade 1- and grade 1-2... today, i didn't ask. how i hope tmr is now! i dun think i can stay at home for 2 weeks during 2ww.. i will go crazy! :D
i thought you hv 14 embryos... so wat happened to the other 2? do u hv to wait for 2 menses cycle before FET?

Ellsa
dun mention, we can understand how u feel... i also got very worried when i hv spotting and bleeding during stage 1 only... and needed many confirmation from the centre/Dr.

Hi develyn,

may i check with you when we will start stage 1 once after the briefing section ? do i have to wait for my AF to come ?

hi develyn,

Follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) is one of the most important hormones involved in the natural menstrual cycle as well as in pharmacological (drug-induced) stimulation of the ovaries. It is the main hormone involved in producing mature eggs.

Besides FSH, E2 is also very important.

Because of my FSH and E2 issue, I am not encouraged to proceed to do IVF. Anyway, I have made an appt to see Dr Loh and wanted to seek for his opinion on my case.

Hi ladies, for those doing ivf in KKH, how much is the total cost? Which dr would you recommend? For those drinking Ensure milk, when do you start drinking that?for what purpose?For those with Dr Zou, what is the taste of her medicine on lst visit?Will she change her medicine accordingly on subsequent visits?how long is best to tio body before starts ivf?
Boon Boon-what FSH and E2 issue did you have? Which doctor are you with now?
For those in 2ww-hv a good rest & take care. Hope to hear good news from you guys soon.
For those with high FSH, did your doctor advise what are the steps u need to take next?
humbug-are you with KKH?u're with which doctor now? Is 600IU puregon the highest?how much were you giving in the previous ivf?when are you going to start your ivf prog? I agree & support those who quit their job to concentrate fully in baby making, cos I myself am one of them too. hehe ;P Let's jia you together & make this wish come true for all of us here, Yeah!!!

Hi Jas ,

Yes... of cos writing to u lor :p
Oh great if u can transfer 3.. more chances on twins or triplets.. I am tio-ing my body with Dr Zou.. so far quite ok bah but might stop the herbs and do accupunture alone.. Yeah , try to keep fit till your next cycle..

Hi Fairyrose ,

Yes, you will have to wait AF comes before they start you on lucrins :D

Hi Boon Boon ,

Thank you for your explanation - meaning i will be able to know the result only when i check with KK right?

Why you are not encourage to do IVF ? I thought u already decided to do it ? Hmm.. that time Dr Loh also says that i should do SO-IUI..etc but i insisted.. cos i dun want to spend more time and money.. mind to share if u are facing the same ?

Hi mel,
thanks, will keep a look out at organic section.

Hi snowwhite,
Dr Zou medication will vary depending on your menses cycle. During menses, you stop drinking the herbs for about 4 days before you continue. As for the length of tcm required depending on individual. You could consult her for advice.

Hi Snow-white,

in Y06, I wanted to start IVF and went to care@paragon. after checking my D2 blood, the result shown my FSH level at 8.5 and E2 is less that 50. Plus overweight. so, I was advised not to proceed to do IVF.

So currently I am trying to tio my body and hopefully the two hormone number will be gettting better. As my hubby thinks if the sucessful rate is relatively low and the IVF treatment will put me in danger then no point doing it.

Anyway, since I saw many of you are trying to do IVF with Dr Loh so I am planning to see him and discuss with him on my case.

Hi Develyn,

D2/3 blood test (hormone test) is important. If hormone is imbalance, one need a lot of drug to inject in order to produce eggs (that is why Dr will do the test before deciding how much drug to give out). But again, the quality of eggs may not be good if it is over stimulate...

At first very insisted but after talking to my husband, he disagreed with my action. So I change my appt time to next month to see Dr Loh and then to discuss with him again.

Breezy
Thanks. Hope u get can get more rest and get well completely. I just went back to dr Zou this am to continue the TCM treatment. As for work, I am luckier as I am self employed so I can arrange my own time. If not, very difficult to go TFC every morning for jabs.

Can u advise me on the FET procedure? Rebecca only briefly mentioned Lucrin to me. I have yet to ask her details. I am on oral pills till 24 feb for menses to come. Assuming menses come in March 1st then next one April 1st, I can only go back May 1st for scans and prepare lining. Pls correct me if i can wrong.

Bee
Hm.. the embryologist picked the best 12 embryos to freeze. One didn't divide on day 3 and the other is not so good grade. Wow, if triplets will be fun. You are tall can carry the weight. Really hope u can have a successful ET. Pls try to rest as much as u can in 2ww, i know can really bored to tears and pull out the hair, but it will be over in no time. Easily said then done i know but since we already went thru so much and spent so much and this is the last stage, pls be good
I can PM u my mobile. Bored can call or sms me