Luvnhope,
Ivf success rate is abt 35-40% so let's say 10 couples went for ivf which means 3 or 4 couples would be successful. That would drive up the premium 2 folds or more.

Btw, the premium now for 2 embies transfer has increased to 290+. It used to be abt 180 only abt 2 to 3 yrs back. Reason being there were too many who claimed n the insurance co "cannot take it".

Luvnhope,
Ivf success rate is abt 35-40% so let's say 10 couples went for ivf which means 3 or 4 couples would be successful. That would drive up the premium 2 folds or more.

Btw, the premium now for 2 embies transfer has increased to 290+. It used to be abt 180 only abt 2 to 3 yrs back. Reason being there were too many who claimed n the insurance co "cannot take it".

Eskimo, I see. R u in the insurance line? You seem well versed in this area.

Luvnhope,
Nope!!! Hehehe... buy enuff policies to know a bit
the increase in premium for ivf was in the news some time back. And i paid only 180 abt 3 yrs back for 2 embies transfer.

Ladies: the increase in premium only happen in ard April 2011 I think. Cos when I do my first time in 2010. I paid a cheaper rate. Now also have to test more blood test like hep a, b, c and HIV. Hep c is the additional one also. Y make is so difficult for people like us.

The prie increase start in may 2011..had my tt on 15th April 2011 n was only paying 180+..after I submit my premium,clinic mention I am e last batch to pay for 180+.. during my nove,fet,I pay 280+ liao

so sian right...have to pay insurance and kenna slaughtered...

so far i know is that based on my age group, is 40% success rate

like one of you all mentioned...like casino roulette....

I think even with 10% chance of success rate of having baby, we will still fight! as we wanna live with no regret!

JY sistas!

how are you hanging there Babyjourney? what a long wait i have ... until March2012 then can start IVF....

now having my first menses after Lucrin Injection... hopefully this will be the last menses until i gave birth LOLx

Dee, u went for lap recently right? How long did u rest after that before the pain wore off? My last lap was in 06 so can't remember much now..

Hope, I hv been trying to stay stress-free and relax but i think i too relax liao. I did not follow the dos and donts this week, had cold and liang food, need some spanking liao. :p

Now praying for menses to come on time and dont delay too much. Anxious to start IVF. Like you, I hope this will be the last menses until we give birth. Let's JY together!!!

hey saggiegirl, is this your first time trying ivf? i was really scared the first time too... i didnt have much time to panic coz my doctor put me on short protocol and allows me to start immed the following mth.. (he was dr loh, got power).. then a few weeks later menses come and i was thrown into this "procedure" not knowing what to expect! just follow blindly, didnt know what each step really entails and what to look out for... that was good in a way, coz i dont know what shd i worry abt the next step... now i know much more...

actually, i find that i like going to kkh coz each visit is like a step nearer my hope and dream... but when i got bfn, i didnt like it anymore... now that i am on second ivf, i am looking ahead with hope again! like wat the rest says, must try no matter what the success rate.. i dont want to look back years later and regreting not trying.. jia you!

cock cock> yes my first time...

i very very scared of pain!...

the KKH ask me to do HSG..i cry till tears come out and in the end give up and doctor have to pacify me...

well in the end i dun have blocked tubes....make me go thru the pain and have nightmares for 3 days..

anyone seeking tcm? do you do acupuncture while on 2ww? i super kia su... now a bit of flu, with sore throat and runny nose... restless at home...

saggiegirl u made me laugh! was that the test to find out if your fallopian tubes are blocked? me too! i thot only scan from tummy then got to insert dye and turn body here and there.. the insertion was v painful for me and the nurses have to pacify me too! imagine, i m much older than you!!

the ultrasound scan which u will be going through for the ivf definitely not as bad.. and the injection is actually bearable.. just focus on your desired outcome.. what is that little pain man! jia you.. but dont think or worry too much... my fren always tell me "if u worry before it is necessary, you worry more than necessary"

cock cock> it is really painful leh
... *cry*...until i got nightmares and cannot eat for 3 days..

but doctor do blood test previously and my hormone level is good... and got eggs ...heehee...

Got u/s scan?? what is the scan for??

I very very scared as the day comes slowly....

for me, i do short protocol.. day 2 of my AF got to scan through insertion(tell you, quite messy and i dont like it).. i think the purpose is find out if got cycst or condition and lining good. then start injections.. then subsequently got 2 or 3 more such scans to see how many follicles after injections, and to track their growth.. one reached desired stage, there will be other instructions on jab and advice on ER and ET... but dont think too far ahead... it is also "fun" to go one step at a time.. if you know too much, u may "dread".. if all ladies here can go through, why cant u? right?

Hi Tub,
Ya, I went for lap 2 weeks ago. The first 2 days very painful, 3rd day also pain but not as bad, and it substantially improved by the 4th day. I was out from the 4th day, but gotta walk slowly. The wound site will continue to give that dull ache even till now.

Doctor gave me 1 month hospitalization leave (my previous lap in 2009, I've got 1.5months!). When's your lap? What's your lap supposed to clean up?

I'm here on-time for my appt with 3-4 before me. Heh. Any questions you gals need me to ask?

Dear gals who visit laoshi,
Does laoshi update you on anything after doing distant healing for you?

Girl Girl: Don't think too much. For now till u start your program, tiao both your hubby and your health. Cut down on coffee and tea. Change your diet. Eat more healthy.

We all will come to a stage whereby those pain is nothing to us as long as to help us achieve our goal.

Sashamama: Do you feel better after laoshi do the distant healing for you. If not you may want to sms or call laoshi for update.

Babysmurf> yeah... i only take one small mini cup of coffee everyday ...and i start to yawn as early as 10am!

Hubby not very open to TCM..
..how how?

i do eat healthy and cook some meals at home ...dinners, weekend lunches...

Sahsamama, i have the same question as Babyjourney, where is Dr Loh now? TMC or the new Novena Medical Center?

tell us more about the HB scan ya.

Girl Girl: cut down on liang, oily and fried food. As for your hubby, can get him to eat multi- minerals/ vitamins for men. Heard that kiwi will help for men. Cos all these can only see the result in about 3 months time.

Can anyone tell me the process of IVF?

I know IUI, need to do the jab on the 2nd day of menses until the 7 or 10 days. How about IVF? Do i need to call the hospital once i have my menses ?

Girl Girl & Cock Cock, me same went thru hell for HSG. It was the most painful procedure Ive ever been thru. I wept too but when the nurse told me if I give up, they have to do it all over again, I fret and tahan!!! Tahan till its over. I asked them y cnt they just give us GA. Knock us out.... hahaha

Dee, Lap must b hospitalized ah? I tot day surgery? No?

lucky for me, i did mine in thomson medical, not kkh.. they are so nice and gentle... in kkh, some of the ultrasound scan i did was quite "rough" i must say.. no proper soft tissues for us to wipe.. in thomson, they provide so much tissues and gave me panty liner somemore, haha...

Dee, I'm going to clear my endo and probably doing the op with dr loh at Tmc. He's not given the green light for lap. Saw him a few days bk and he suggested saline sonography first. I can't take 2 weeks leave now cos just went on hospitalization leave for Ivf. If I do, will hv to wait till June hols. Waste of time in the mean time.

Your boss ok with u taking leave? Now I know why sone people quit to ttc or do Ivf. Sigh.

i1BB> at least u can tahan...for me i cannot and scream till i tink next door also can hear...till the handsome doctor had to pacify me like a baby...

i tink Dr Tan's email can find from KKH website...correct me if i am wrong..

cock cock> ok lar last time i got do scan at KKH, got tissue to wipe... but hubby dun want TMC

Hope, ron, eski, i1BB,

Thanks all for your advice... I will go back to check it out with them on the policy and procedures. I am also now considering to change to another gynea instead. Thanks!!!

I did HSG last month at Thomson too last month. Very professional and no pain too. I am more embarass than pain actually becoz 1 doctor and 2 nurses staring at me down there.....hahaha. So, I feel like digging a hole and disappear at that moment. Its like pap smear only the duration is slightly longer.

kittykatty> that is good to hear that... i never do pap smear before...

when i tink back, i still have the shudders...

wondering how to tahan childbirth...

saggiegirl, i only did the test at thomson coz my gynae from there.. then found out i need ivf.. reluctant to spend $$ so come to KKH.. i am now reassign to dr sadhana.. so far, my experience with her q good.. she was polite and nice...

cock cock> i see... true..actually they should allow the same subsidy for pte hospital as well...

haiz...

I scared she not nice...i got see one Gleneagles doctor quite nice...

Dr Sadhana Nadarajah - Director, KKIVF & Senior Consultant (Reproductive Medicine, IVF & Adolescent Gynaecology)

Dr Tan Heng Hao - Head, Reproductive Medicine & Consultant (Reproductive Medicine, IVF, Laparoscopy & Hystero)

i1BB,
Yes my dear ... must be hospitalised. I was supposed to stay 2 nights but I insisted on discharging on NYE because I don't want to count down in the hospital. Best is stay 2 nights ... it was a bad idea for me to go home early, as it was painful walking to washroom, to living room, to bedroom, to kitchen etc etc. My previous lap I stayed 4 nights.

Aiyo, I tell you, Dr Tan HH didn't give me his gmail add. *upset*
My appt with him was 2 days ago. I asked for his email, he said don't have, gave me the KKIVF generic email instead. Said the email will be forwarded to the relevant doctors upon receipt. *blurdy hxll* ... I'm just seconds from telling him I knew he has the gmail add and it's on the forum ... lol

- Ask him if I shd take DHEA (since I have low ovarian reserve), he said no need cuz not proven to help.
- Ask him if shd take aspirin/heparin or medrol (cuz it's supposed to help with implantation, increase endometrial oxygenation & decrease miscarriage rate), he also said not proven so no need. But if I want, he can give me aspirin the next round.

I also found out then if transfer 3 embbies, no more govt co-fund! So dumb right? (ya, I meet the criteria of being able to trsf 3 instead of 2 ...
) Of course that is provided I even have 3 to begin with. I have only 1 the last round. Sianzzzz

Cock cock,
You shared earlier that you had only 1 embbie in your first try and more in your 2nd try? Did you have low ovarian reserve too? What did you do differently that improve the egg quantity?

Babysmurf,
"Dr Sadhana Nadarajah is the director and Dr Tan HH is the head" ...
Director and head different?? So Dr Loh was director AND HEAD?

Dear HOPE,
Thx for giving me the other number to try but I also did not get thru yesterday though!

Dear Wendy,
Thx for your email!!! I'll reply you after this!!!

Dear Saggie,
Ya, was using iPad, bday pressie from hubby last Nov cos I said i can't go for weekly massage (sometimes twice a week) liao. lol. But I read after first trimester can massage so i'm gonna resume. lol!!!

Dear BBjourney and HOPE,
Dr Loh at TMC Clinic. He's probably gonna have afternoon clinics there next time cos my next appt on a Monday is at 230pm. As for his email add, he says can use his old one [email protected] or his new one [email protected].

I asked about his phone lines that cannot get through. He says too many people are calling. He has 2000-3000 patients and many are trying to get him via KK but KK at first refused to give his new number. Recently they gave though, cos too many angry calls. And he said once when he was on the phone, there were 3 more calls incoming. The line is very very hot!!! He says it will settle down soon and best way is to email him or walk-in

Dear babysmurf,
I had a nightmare on Monday then it kept bothering me so I asked for healing on Wednesday. Laoshi said ok and I asked what did I need to do and if she would update me on my baby but she didn't reply me. I smsed again yesterday asking whether she did the healing and whether she can still sense my baby but she also didn't reply. I guess she is busy.

Dear psp,
For IVF, there are mainly 2 stages and 3 procedures.
Stage 1: starts suprefact (or equivalent) jabs to suppress our own hormones so that when stage 2 comes, our body can react better to it. This usually starts on day 21 of your menses and will continue for 1 month til ER (egg retrieval).

Stage 2: starts stimulation jabs (like puregon or gonal f, etc) to stimulate our follicles to grow. Some women with some probs might have additional medication to thicken lining or help egg growth etc. this lasts about 2-3 weeks depending on how fast and how many of your follicles grow. The last 1-2 weeks of this, you need to go back to scan once every 2-3 days to check on egg growth in case medication needs to be adjusted.

Procedure 1: Egg retrieval (ER) happens when you have some follicles above 16mm thereabouts. It is a 30mins procedure and you are put on anaesthetic where doc uses a tool to suck out all your follicles. The process is not painful, you'd just feel giddy after the procedure due to the anaesthetic and you'd feel bloatedness too.

Procedure 2: the embryologist will draw out eggs from your follicles and pick the best sperms to merge with your eggs. hopefully embryos will be formed and they'd be graded.

Procedure 3: after 2-5 days after ER, you will go back for ET (embryo transfer) if you have embryos to transfer. The best 2 will be placed in your uterus. It is a 5-10min procedure which is not painful, just some discomfort and you are awake totally during the process.

Lastly will be the 2week-wait!!! Whether the embryo burrows into your lining to implant and whether after implantation the embryo will grow or not are no longer controlled though doctor will give you some hormonal medicine or jabs to help thicken your lining to add implantation and to aid the embryo to grow.

If you have more than 2 embryos formed, the rest of the embryos will be frozen and therefore when you wish, you can thaw them and go for FET (frozen embryo transfer) and you don't have to go thru all the jabs.

If you confirm IVF, the nurse will show you a chart and timeline and explain in greater detail. Feel free to ask if you have further questions!